ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Charter high school

Taft Charter High

Woodland Hills, CA · Grades 9-12 · 2,221 students · Los Angeles Unified

High scores, healthy climate, strong attendance. We looked for a catch — we didn't find one.

65% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 40% in math. 96.4% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Strong All-Around

What this means for your family

Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.

How archetypes are assigned →

Math

40%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

65%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

2,221

Total enrollment

Graduation

96.4%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 41%2022: 40%2023: 42%2024: 39%2025: 40%2019: 66%2022: 73%2023: 67%2024: 62%2025: 65%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 41%2022: 40%2023: 42%2024: 39%2025: 40%2019: 66%2022: 73%2023: 67%2024: 62%2025: 65%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201941%66%
202240%73%
202342%67%
202439%62%
202540%65%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has held the 85th-percentile line every tested year since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “53% proficient” and call it done. Taft Charter deserves a closer read. More than half of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Taft Charter's low-income kids hit 58.2% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

As a charter, Taft Charter enrolls by application rather than address. That changes how you get in, but it doesn't change the score.

462 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Taft Charter High scores 68 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 85th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Proficiency here is back to its pre-pandemic level — 53% meet the standard, about where the school stood in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 83rd percentile · Scope Score 69 of 1002022 · 88th percentile · Scope Score 71 of 1002023 · 87th percentile · Scope Score 70 of 1002024 · 83rd percentile · Scope Score 67 of 1002025 · 85th percentile · Scope Score 68 of 100
ELAGreen(Increased)MathGreen(Increased)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1166%73%67%62%65%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1141%40%42%39%40%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

More than half of students here meet the standard. One in four clear it by a lot.

ELA65% met or exceeded
Exceeded 37%Met 28%Nearly Met 17%Not Met 18%
Math40% met or exceeded
Exceeded 20%Met 21%Nearly Met 20%Not Met 39%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school6828%53%96.4%76.2%24.7%0.8%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope6854
% Exceeded28%20%
% Met+53%43%
Grad rate96.4%92.5%
College readiness76.2%43.0%
Absence24.7%23.1%
Suspension0.8%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

58.2% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 53% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 53%, district —, state 43%53%
MaleMale: this school 52%, district 41%, state 42%52% · −1 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 44%, district 36%, state 32%44% · −8 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 54%, district 42%, state 44%54% · +1 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 60%, district 65%, state 56%60% · +8 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 38%, district 36%, state 32%38% · −15 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 18%, district 14%, state 15%18% · −35 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 72%, district 78%, state 72%72% · +20 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: this school 49%, district 30%, state 26%49% · −4 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 68%, district 56%, state 56%68% · +15 vs school

6 of 16 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored

In the 2020-21 federal collection — the newest there is — Hispanic students were 39% of Taft Charter's enrollment but 23% of its AP seats; ask the school what's changed since.

Hispanic23.4% AP · 38.7% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.4% AP · 0.2% enroll.
Asian19.8% AP · 10.9% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.1% enroll.
Black3.9% AP · 7.2% enroll.
White49.9% AP · 40.3% enroll.
Two or more races2.7% AP · 2.6% enroll.
English learners0.5% AP · 5.0% enroll.
Students with disabilities1.7% AP · 11.9% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

61%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 284 of 467 completers · includes community colleges

467Completers
41%
Other colleges192 completers · Outside the California community college system
20%
California community colleges92 completers · Enrolled within a year
39%
Not recorded enrolled183 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Where the class of 2023 went
61%enrolled in college within a year
  • University of California47 (10%)
  • California State University95 (20%)
  • California community college92 (20%)
  • In-state private18 (4%)
  • Out-of-state, 4-year31 (7%)
  • Out-of-state, 2-year1 (0%)
  • Not enrolled183 (39%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic

See the full roll →

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 22 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Taft Charter's teachers are authorized to teach 29 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — well above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics C: Mechanics.

Students per teacher22 · district 20
Teaching staff103 teachers
Avg. experience15.0 years
Fully credentialed83%
First-year teachers8%
Intern / emergency permit4.2%
PrincipalYun Yu
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$60,420 – $122,706
Principal salary$154,576 – $170,030
Superintendent salary$440,000

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers253 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers50 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught29
ShowHide the 29 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (6)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science A · Computer Science Principles · Precalculus · Statistics
Sciences (5)Biology · Chemistry · Environmental Science · Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism · Physics C: Mechanics
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (8)European History · Human Geography · Macroeconomics · Microeconomics · Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (2)French Language and Culture · Spanish Language and Culture
Arts (4)2-D Art and Design · 3-D Art and Design · Drawing · Music Theory
AP Capstone (2)Research · Seminar

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 24.7%, district 22.8%, state 23.1%24.7% · +1.7pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 0.8%, district —, state 3.3%0.8% · −2.5pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1224.5%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $20,314 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

$1,049 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $20,314, CA average $14,491$20,314 · spent at this school
Federal share$1,049 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$29,292 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 52%Instruction support 16%Student services 12%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$18,180 per pupil
2019$16,355 per pupil
2018$15,793 per pupil
2017$13,247 per pupil
2016$13,549 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

More than half of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 2,221 students, this school is well above the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 34% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino39.0% · district 73.2% · CA 56.1%
White39.7% · district 9.9% · CA 19.9%
Asian7.9% · district 3.4% · CA 10.2%
Black5.9% · district 7.2% · CA 4.8%
Other7.5% · district 6.3% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch56.6% · CA 64%
Median income$133K · CA $85K
Median home value$1.21M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+56% · CA 35%
ZIP population27,748
Median age43 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Taft Charter HighCharterStrong28%53%School being viewed
Canoga Park Senior HighPublicDeveloping14%37%2.7 mi
Henry David Thoreau Continuationcontinuation comparison groupPublicSolid6%12%0.1 mi
Owensmouth Continuationcontinuation comparison groupPublicSolid2%9%2.6 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Woodland Hills →

See them on the map →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

13 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check enrollment with this charter school

Ask the school about applications, priorities and deadlines for your child’s grade.

School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Elementary · K–5

Calvert Charter for Enriched StudiesPublished boundary overlapScope Score 26/100
Serrania Avenue Charter for Enriched StudiesPublished boundary overlapScope Score 44/100
Nestle Avenue CharterPublished boundary overlapScope Score 49/100
Tarzana ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 38/100
Melvin Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 38/100
Shirley Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 46/100
Winnetka Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 28/100
Stanley Mosk ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 36/100
Vanalden Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 28/100
Wilbur Charter for Enriched AcademicsPublished boundary overlapScope Score 57/100
Fullbright Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 25/100
Lanai Road ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 67/100
Sunny Brae Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 30/100
Hart Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 15/100
Hamlin Charter AcademyAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 37/100
Emelita Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 37/100
Encino Charter ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 54/100
Topanga Elementary CharterAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 67/100
Woodlake Elementary Community CharterAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 46/100
Limerick Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 39/100
Napa Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 35/100
Reseda ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 44/100
Woodland Hills Elementary Charter for Enriched StuAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 58/100

Middle · 6–8

High school · 9–12

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Charter enrollment details

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Taft Charter High a good high school?
Taft Charter High has a Scope Score of 68 out of 100, placing it in the 85th percentile of California high schools and ranked #244 statewide. 28.4% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 8.6 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Taft Charter High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 52.8% of students at Taft Charter High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 28.4% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 24.4% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 28.4% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 918 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Taft Charter High rank in California?
Taft Charter High ranks #244 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 85th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Taft Charter High?
24.7% of students at Taft Charter High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 0.8%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Taft Charter High compare to other schools in Woodland Hills?
Taft Charter High scores 68/100 (85th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 2,221 students. Use the schools in Woodland Hills page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Taft Charter High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Taft Charter High in Woodland Hills, 58.2% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 40.9% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Taft Charter High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 17.3 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (30.5% Math proficient); White students (71.7% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 43.7 percentage points for disabilities students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 249 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Taft Charter High?
Taft Charter High's teachers are authorized to teach 29 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, 3-D Art and Design, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Computer Science A, Computer Science Principles, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, European History, French Language and Culture, Human Geography, Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, Music Theory, Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism, Physics C: Mechanics, Precalculus, Psychology, Research, Seminar, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

College readiness carries this score. The test levels clear the state's too.

76.2% of students leave measurably college-ready, versus 43.0% statewide.

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate96.4%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard28.4%19.8%22%
College readiness76.2%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded52.8%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism24.7%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.8%3.3%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Taft Charter High: reading the evidence

Taft Charter posts 28.4% exceeding the standard — versus 19.8% statewide — with climate numbers better than most. That doesn't make it perfect. It makes it worth a visit to find what numbers can't measure.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Taft Charter High is ranked #244 statewide · #29 of 196 in Los Angeles Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate96.4%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard28.4%19.8%22%
College readiness76.2%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded52.8%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism24.7%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.8%3.3%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 61 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 64 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 74 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 62 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 54 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 0.8pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 63 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.3pp lower vs 2024
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1146237%28%17%18%65%+17
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1145620%21%20%39%40%+17

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide48511%23%59%7%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged24958.2%+17+20
White18771.7%+3+10
Hispanic/Latino18253.9%+13+15
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Taft Charter High ←—6828.4%52.8%0.8%
Canoga Park Senior High2.7 mi4913.9%37.3%1.0%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
Henry David Thoreau Continuationscored within its class, not statewide0.1 mi245.9%11.8%1.7%
Owensmouth Continuationscored within its class, not statewide2.6 mi241.8%8.9%1.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
96.4%
AP Exam Prepared
76.2%
A-G Completion
79.2%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
60.8%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20196983#25228.6%53.1%16.0%0.8%
20227188#18830.8%56.3%27.0%0.6%
20237087#20629.4%54.7%23.6%0.6%
20246783#27625.8%50.4%24.0%1.1%
20256885#24428.4%52.8%24.7%0.8%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female16.9%25.8%+8.9pp
Male14.6%23.4%+8.8pp
Asian7.5%12.4%+4.9pp
Black/African American24.0%39.7%+15.7pp
Filipino5.6%5.6%+0.0pp
Hispanic/Latino16.4%27.9%+11.5pp
Two or More Races20.5%19.3%-1.2pp
White15.1%22.5%+7.4pp
Students with Disabilities22.5%30.8%+8.3pp
English Learners18.8%39.6%+20.8pp
Homeless34.5%54.2%+19.7pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged16.5%31.5%+15.0pp
All Students15.7%24.5%+8.8pp
06AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 06 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
3-D Art and Designthis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Computer Science Athis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
European Historythis school
French Language and Culturethis school
Human Geographythis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Microeconomicsthis school
Music Theorythis school
Physics C: Electricity and Magnetismthis school
Physics C: Mechanicsthis school
Precalculusthis school
Psychologythis school
Researchthis school
Seminarthis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

07Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 07 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count22
AP enrollment825
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections8
Physics sections9
Chemistry sections14
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,375

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

08College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 08 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California4710.1%
California State University9520.3%
California community college9219.7%
In-state private183.9%
Out-of-state, 4-year316.6%
Out-of-state, 2-year10.2%
Not enrolled18339.2%

467 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 61% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/taft-charter-high-8612"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Taft Charter High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Taft Charter High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.