ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

San Diego High

San Diego, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,602 students · San Diego Unified

No single number tells this school's story. Here's the honest picture.

60% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 23% in math. 88.4% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

Contact

PrincipalFranny Del Carmen-Aguilar
Grades9-12
Enrollment1,602 students

Math

23%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

60%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,602

Total enrollment

Graduation

88.4%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 12%2022: 14%2023: 20%2024: 20%2025: 23%2019: 37%2022: 53%2023: 48%2024: 47%2025: 60%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 12%2022: 14%2023: 20%2024: 20%2025: 23%2019: 37%2022: 53%2023: 48%2024: 47%2025: 60%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201912%37%
202214%53%
202320%48%
202420%47%
202523%60%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Climbed from the 22nd to the 47th percentile since 2019 — past roughly 300 high schools.

Most rating sites would stop at “42% proficient” and call it done. San Diego deserves a closer read. Two-thirds of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

San Diego's low-income kids hit 50.0% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

319 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

San Diego High scores 52 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 47th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

The pandemic drop is behind this school: 42% of students meet the standard today, above the 25% who did in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 22nd percentile · Scope Score 44 of 1002022 · 35th percentile · Scope Score 47 of 1002023 · 42nd percentile · Scope Score 50 of 1002024 · 37th percentile · Scope Score 48 of 1002025 · 47th percentile · Scope Score 52 of 100
ELAGreen(Increased Significantly)MathYellow(Increased Significantly)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1137%53%48%47%60%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1112%14%20%20%23%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Two in five of students here meet the standard. One in ten clear it by a lot.

ELA60% met or exceeded
Exceeded 25%Met 35%Nearly Met 23%Not Met 17%
Math23% met or exceeded
Exceeded 9%Met 15%Nearly Met 25%Not Met 52%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school5217%42%88.4%45.3%28.4%0.6%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope5254
% Exceeded17%20%
% Met+42%43%
Grad rate88.4%92.5%
College readiness45.3%43.0%
Absence28.4%23.1%
Suspension0.6%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

50.0% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 42% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 42%, district —, state 43%42%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 31%, district 36%, state 32%31% · −10 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 33%, district 35%, state 32%33% · −9 vs school
MaleMale: this school 42%, district 50%, state 42%42% · −0 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 42%, district 51%, state 44%42% · +0 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 72%, district 71%, state 56%72% · +31 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 17%, district 21%, state 15%17% · −25 vs school
HomelessHomeless: this school 21%, district 23%, state 22%21% · −20 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: this school 32%, district 27%, state 26%32% · −10 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 0%, district 10%, state 11%0% · −42 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 57%, district 63%, state 56%57% · +15 vs school
Military-ConnectedMilitary-Connected: too few students to report‹11
FilipinoFilipino: too few students to report‹11
AsianAsian: too few students to report‹11
Pacific IslanderPacific Islander: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic71.2% AP · 78.5% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.2% enroll.
Asian3.9% AP · 2.3% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
Black12.2% AP · 9.9% enroll.
White9.8% AP · 5.5% enroll.
Two or more races2.9% AP · 3.6% enroll.
English learners7.8% AP · 22.3% enroll.
Students with disabilities3.4% AP · 18.4% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

70%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 339 of 485 completers · includes community colleges

485Completers
33%
Other colleges158 completers · Outside the California community college system
37%
California community colleges181 completers · Enrolled within a year
30%
Not recorded enrolled146 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

70%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of San Diego's class of 2023, 70% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 485 completers, 70% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 76 (16%)California State University 54 (11%)California community college 181 (37%)In-state private 8 (2%)Out-of-state, 4-year 20 (4%)Out-of-state, 2-year 0 (0%)Not enrolled 146 (30%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 51 of San Diego's 425 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — San Diego the most common landing, with 24 enrollees.

Applied152fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted107
Enrolled51
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
San Diego 24Berkeley 9Santa Cruz 7Davis 4Los Angeles 4Irvine ‹3Merced ‹3Riverside ‹3Santa Barbara ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 69 enrolled, 2023

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 70% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (181) than at UC (76).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 26 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

San Diego's teachers are authorized to teach 3 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — including Environmental Science, Psychology, and World History: Modern.

Students per teacher26 · district 23
Teaching staff82 teachers
Avg. experience15.3 years
Fully credentialed82%
PrincipalFranny Del Carmen-Aguilar
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$55,375 – $124,275
Principal salaryUp to $187,294
Superintendent salary$300,404

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers116 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers59 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught3
ShowHide the 3 AP courses by discipline
Sciences (1)Environmental Science
History & Social Science (2)Psychology · World History: Modern
IBDiploma Programme (DP)

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended less, than the state average.

28.4% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — a school visit will tell you more than this number.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 28.4%, district 20.2%, state 23.1%28.4% · +5.4pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 0.6%, district —, state 3.3%0.6% · −2.6pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1228.3%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $19,802 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$1,539 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $19,802, CA average $14,491$19,802 · spent at this school
Federal share$1,539 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$21,967 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 63%Instruction support 12%Student services 12%Administration 5%Buildings & maintenance 7%Other 1%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$15,976 per pupil
2019$14,540 per pupil
2018$14,457 per pupil
2017$11,416 per pupil
2016$11,708 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Two-thirds of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 33% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino66.1% · district 47.0% · CA 56.1%
White17.3% · district 22.9% · CA 19.9%
Asian1.2% · district 8.7% · CA 10.2%
Black7.7% · district 7.5% · CA 4.8%
Other7.7% · district 13.8% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch71.0% · CA 64%
Median income$92K · CA $85K
Median home value$793K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+58% · CA 35%
ZIP population51,805
Median age37 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
San Diego HighPublicDeveloping17%42%School being viewed
Coronado HighPublicStrong40%68%2.4 mi
East Village Middle College HighPublicSolid21%59%0.1 mi
e3 Civic HighCharterDeveloping10%24%0.7 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in San Diego →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

13 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with San Diego Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is San Diego High a good high school?
San Diego High has a Scope Score of 52 out of 100, placing it in the 47th percentile of California high schools and ranked #870 statewide. 16.8% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 3.0 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are San Diego High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 41.8% of students at San Diego High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 16.8% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 25.0% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 16.8% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 636 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does San Diego High rank in California?
San Diego High ranks #870 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 47th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at San Diego High?
28.4% of students at San Diego High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 0.6%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does San Diego High compare to other schools in San Diego?
San Diego High scores 52/100 (47th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,602 students. Use the schools in San Diego page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does San Diego High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At San Diego High in San Diego, 50.0% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 42.6% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. San Diego High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 7.4 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (12.7% Math proficient); Hispanic students (51.2% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 60.2 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 222 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at San Diego High?
San Diego High's teachers are authorized to teach 3 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: Environmental Science, Psychology, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from San Diego High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 51 San Diego High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate88.4%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard16.8%19.8%22%
College readiness45.3%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded41.8%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism28.4%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.6%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)17.8%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

San Diego High: reading the evidence

San Diego posts 42% meeting the standard and 16.8% exceeding it, against 43% and 19.8% statewide. The gaps and the bright spots below are the real read.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

San Diego High is ranked #870 statewide · #21 of 37 in San Diego Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate88.4%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard16.8%19.8%22%
College readiness45.3%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded41.8%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism28.4%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.6%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)17.8%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 52 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 51 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 57 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 54 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 51 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 6.0pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 63 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.1pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 53 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1131925%35%23%17%60%+12
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 113179%15%25%52%23%−0

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide3967%26%58%10%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged22250.0%+7+12
Hispanic/Latino20951.2%+10+12
White6485.7%+11+24
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
San Diego High ←—5216.8%41.8%0.6%
Coronado High2.4 mi7540.4%68.3%1.8%
East Village Middle College High0.1 mi5420.6%59.5%1.0%
e3 Civic High0.7 mi499.7%24.0%7.9%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
88.4%
AP Exam Prepared
45.3%
A-G Completion
52.2%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
69.9%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20194422#11817.2%24.7%14.7%5.2%
20224735#103210.2%33.8%36.9%2.7%
20235042#94816.6%34.1%36.7%2.8%
20244837#103611.7%33.2%34.5%1.7%
20255247#87016.8%41.8%28.4%0.6%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female15.6%33.1%+17.5pp
Male12.1%24.0%+11.9pp
Asian0.0%4.8%+4.8pp
Black/African American6.7%27.5%+20.8pp
Hispanic/Latino14.7%31.8%+17.1pp
Two or More Races10.0%27.5%+17.5pp
White18.6%18.4%-0.2pp
Students with Disabilities13.7%35.6%+21.9pp
English Learners13.2%35.3%+22.1pp
Homeless27.9%38.5%+10.6pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged14.4%32.8%+18.4pp
All Students13.5%28.3%+14.8pp
Filipino—15.8%—
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
2025152107513.773.924.07
2024186133583.784.024.18
2023169123693.753.964.06
20223214123.634.004.07
20214423123.613.923.96
20205328143.653.984.11
20194427123.613.794.04
20186029173.343.833.90
20175124153.443.943.97
2016281893.673.814.04
201511753.713.863.76
201418983.524.024.02

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley202575149
Berkeley202491145
Berkeley2023832210
Berkeley2022134‹3
Berkeley202112‹3‹3
Davis202550254
Davis202454314
Davis202359323
Davis2022134‹3
Davis2021239‹3
Irvine2025695‹3
Irvine202410624‹3
Irvine2023897‹3
Irvine202215‹3‹3
Irvine2021283‹3
Los Angeles20258974
Los Angeles2024121147
Los Angeles20231201813
Los Angeles20221844
Los Angeles2021293‹3
Merced20254237‹3
Merced20241916‹3
Merced202334283
Merced202263‹3
Merced202164‹3
Riverside20255141‹3
Riverside20244830‹3
Riverside202334134
Riverside2022104‹3
Riverside2021187‹3
San Diego20251214924
San Diego20241326729
San Diego20231296726
San Diego20222373
San Diego202132146
Santa Barbara20258824‹3
Santa Barbara202490326
Santa Barbara202374288
Santa Barbara2022155‹3
Santa Barbara2021114‹3
Santa Cruz202560427
Santa Cruz202489706
Santa Cruz20237352‹3
Santa Cruz20216‹3‹3
Universitywide202515210751
Universitywide202418613358
Universitywide202316912369
Universitywide2022321412
Universitywide2021442312

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
Environmental Sciencethis school
Psychologythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count10
AP enrollment205
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 30 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections1
Physics sections8
Chemistry sections12
Total enrollment (CRDC)837

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California7615.7%
California State University5411.1%
California community college18137.3%
In-state private81.6%
Out-of-state, 4-year204.1%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled14630.1%

485 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 70% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/san-diego-high-7219"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="San Diego High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · IB World Schools directory (name-matched, 0.90 gate) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

San Diego High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.