ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in
University Preparatory · VictorvillePublic

University Preparatory: High scores, healthy climate, strong attendance. We looked for a catch — we didn't find one.

University Preparatory posts 56.7% exceeding the standard — versus 19.8% statewide — with climate numbers better than most. That doesn't make it perfect. It makes it worth a visit to find what numbers can't measure.

13853 Seneca Road, 92392 (opens in new tab)·Victor Valley Union High·Victorville·Grades 7-12·1,136 students·75% low-income·2024–25 CAASPP·(760) 243-5940·Website
Scope Score
90
Strong High Ceiling
ranked #22 statewide · #1 of 8 in Victor Valley Union High
565 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

University Preparatory scores 90 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 99th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How we score →

High Ceiling — Ask what happens for a kid who shows up behind — a high ceiling for the top can sit right next to thin support at the bottom, and the score alone won't show you which.

Most rating sites would stop at “87% proficient” and call it done. University Preparatory deserves a closer read. Two-thirds of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

University Preparatory's low-income kids hit 91.4% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

Context — never part of the Scope Score
Where the class of 2023 went
88%enrolled in college within a year
  • University of California46 (28%)
  • California State University31 (19%)
  • California community college54 (33%)
  • In-state private6 (4%)
  • Out-of-state, 4-year7 (4%)
  • Not enrolled20 (12%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic

See the full roll and the UC register →
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
This schoolCA avg
Scope9054
% Exceeded57%20%
% Met+87%43%
Grad rate100.0%92.5%
College readiness79.1%43.0%
Absence4.8%23.1%
Suspension0.7%3.3%

The seven-year arc

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide

Has held the 99th-percentile line every tested year since 2019.

ELABlue(Increased Significantly)MathBlue(Increased Significantly)

The pandemic drop is behind this school: 87% of students meet the standard today, above the 76% who did in 2019.

ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 783%80%63%89%90%
Grade 879%81%73%67%87%
Grade 1194%88%94%96%97%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 761%54%41%63%66%
Grade 866%54%60%49%69%
Grade 1159%61%60%60%77%

Where its students land

ELA
Exceeded 51%Met 40%Nearly Met 9%Not Met 0%
Math
Exceeded 38%Met 33%Nearly Met 24%Not Met 6%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded

The story this school is actually telling

Proficient by 11th grade
87%
State 43%
Graduate
100%
State 92%
Pass an AP exam
79%
State 43%

Of 100 students here: 87 are proficient by 11th grade → 100 graduate → 79 pass an AP exam. The gaps between those bars are the questions to ask.

91.4%
Low-income · ELA · met standard

University Preparatory's most underrated number

91.4% of low-income students met the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. That's the strongest kind of signal a school can post: it holds across income lines.

University Preparatory low-income: 91.4%State low-income: 38.2%

The 7 things our score weighs

Graduation rate
100.0%
State 92.5%
7.5pp above state avg
Exceeded standard
56.7%
State 19.8%
36.9pp above state avg
College readiness
79.1%
State 43.0%
AP course or exam readiness above state avg
Met or exceeded
86.6%
State 43.2%
43.4pp above state avg
Chronic absenteeism
4.8%
State 23.1%
18.3pp below state avg
Suspension rate
0.7%
State 3.3%
2.5pp below state avg
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
40.0%
State 18.0%
22.0pp above state avg

California's own answer to the same question

Context — never part of the Scope Score

California runs its own growth model — it follows individual children in grades 4 through 8 and compares each one against a prediction from their own prior scores. On that measure this school sits a little above the middle of California high schools in reading, and the 54th in math. We show it; we don't score it.

California's growth model, ranked against every California school
State model · readingmatched students, grades 4-8California growth model, reading: +11 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 82nd percentile of 7,519 reported schools.82nd pctile · +11 pts
State model · mathmatched students, grades 4-8California growth model, math: +2 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 54th percentile of 7,518 reported schools.54th pctile · +2 pts
this school| the tick is the middle of the California field

pts vs expected is scale-score points above or below what California's model predicted for these same children from their own prior-year scores. It is not a percentage and not a percent of anything. A typical California high school lands at −3 in reading, and the middle half of them fall between −13 and +5 — the spread is wide, so read the rank, not the sign. CDE blends two consecutive years into each published figure, so adjacent years share input data and no year-over-year trend can honestly be drawn from them. It covers grades 4-8 only, and it is not part of the Scope Score — we assessed it and left it out: it tracks school demographics roughly three times as strongly as our own growth measure does, and one published year is not enough to test how stable it is.

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.

How every group of students does here

At University Preparatory in Victorville, 91.4% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 42.3% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. University Preparatory outperforms its district average for low-income students by 49.1 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (69.4% Math proficient); Hispanic students (90.8% ELA proficient). Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 396 students tested.

All students at this school: 81% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 81%, district —, state 43%81%
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 79%, district 34%, state 32%79% · −1 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 80%, district 31%, state 32%80% · −0 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 80%, district 35%, state 44%80% · −0 vs school
MaleMale: this school 81%, district 31%, state 42%81% · +0 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 86%, district 44%, state 56%86% · +5 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 90%, district 62%, state 72%90% · +10 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: this school 57%, district 22%, state 26%57% · −24 vs school

7 of 15 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
The state's growth model, by student group

California follows these children individually and predicts each one's score from their own prior year. Each row is read against the same group at a typical California high school — not against zero, and not against this school's all-students figure, because the state's expectation already differs by group.

Reading
Hispanic or Latino students268 studentsHispanic or Latino students, reading: +8 scale-score points versus expectation, against −3 for the same group at a typical California high school, 268 students.+8 pts · +11 vs typical
Low-income students256 studentsLow-income students, reading: +12 scale-score points versus expectation, against −5 for the same group at a typical California high school, 256 students.+12 pts · +17 vs typical
English Only245 studentsEnglish Only, reading: +11 scale-score points versus expectation, against −3 for the same group at a typical California high school, 245 students.+11 pts · +14 vs typical
English Learner60 studentsEnglish Learner, reading: +7 scale-score points versus expectation, against −8 for the same group at a typical California high school, 60 students.+7 pts · +15 vs typical
Recently reclassified52 studentsRecently reclassified, reading: +8 scale-score points versus expectation, against −5 for the same group at a typical California high school, 52 students.+8 pts · +13 vs typical
Math
Hispanic or Latino students268 studentsHispanic or Latino students, math: −1 scale-score points versus expectation, against −13 for the same group at a typical California high school, 268 students.−1 pts · +12 vs typical
Low-income students256 studentsLow-income students, math: +2 scale-score points versus expectation, against −15 for the same group at a typical California high school, 256 students.+2 pts · +17 vs typical
English Only245 studentsEnglish Only, math: +1 scale-score points versus expectation, against −12 for the same group at a typical California high school, 245 students.+1 pts · +13 vs typical
English Learner60 studentsEnglish Learner, math: +8 scale-score points versus expectation, against −11 for the same group at a typical California high school, 60 students.+8 pts · +19 vs typical
Recently reclassified52 studentsRecently reclassified, math: +5 scale-score points versus expectation, against −15 for the same group at a typical California high school, 52 students.+5 pts · +20 vs typical
this school typical California high school, same group| the centre tick is 0 = as predicted

— 4 more groups are reported here with between 11 and 29 students. We hold those back on purpose: at that size the figure swings about 17 points on its own, and a quarter of such groups land past the state's top or bottom cut point by chance alone. They are listed with their student counts in the data appendix. — A group not listed at all had fewer than 11 students with a growth score, so California published nothing for it here. That is a privacy protection, not a judgment about those students. — Context only. None of this enters the Scope Score.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic64.2% AP · 69.6% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.7% AP · 0.1% enroll.
Asian20.5% AP · 11.8% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.4% enroll.
Black6.0% AP · 5.1% enroll.
White8.6% AP · 10.0% enroll.
Two or more races0.0% AP · 3.1% enroll.
English learners0.7% AP · 2.6% enroll.
Students with disabilities0.7% AP · 0.4% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Showing up, and staying in class

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 4.8%, district 30.2%, state 23.1%4.8% · −18.3pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 0.7%, district —, state 3.3%0.7% · −2.5pp vs state
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 7–82.5%
Grades 9–122.4%

Where the path goes

The path below follows attendance boundaries — scores shown for each next step.

K-12 Feeder Path
Elementary
No feeder data available for this level
High School
University Preparatory
90/100
This school

Feeder patterns derived from NCES attendance boundary data. Boundaries are approximate and may have changed — verify with your school district for current assignments.

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score
88%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of University Preparatory's class of 2023, 88% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 164 completers, 88% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 46 (28%)California State University 31 (19%)California community college 54 (33%)In-state private 6 (4%)Out-of-state, 4-year 7 (4%)Out-of-state, 2-year 0 (0%)Not enrolled 20 (12%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate.

Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 44 of University Preparatory's 174 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Riverside the most common landing, with 20 enrollees.

Applied125fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted100
Enrolled44
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Riverside 20San Diego 5Santa Cruz 5Berkeley 4Los Angeles 4Irvine 3Santa Barbara 3Davis ‹3Merced ‹3

campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 52 enrolled, 2022

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 88% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (54) than at UC (46).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The people teaching here

Context — never part of the Scope Score
Student : teacherStudent to teacher ratio: this school 26:1, district 23:126:1
PrincipalValerie Hatcher
Teaching staff44 teachers
Avg. experience11.1 years
Fully credentialed87%
First-year teachers18%
Intern / emergency permit4.5%
Salary Schedule
Teacher salary schedule$67,627 – $151,191
Principal salaryUp to $181,876
Superintendent salary$370,260

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course Breadth
AP exam qualifiers136 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
Advanced Coursework

University Preparatory's teachers are authorized to teach 17 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics 1.

AP subjects taught17
Math & Computer Science (4)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Precalculus · Statistics
Sciences (4)Biology · Chemistry · Environmental Science · Physics 1
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (5)European History · Macroeconomics · Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History
World Languages & Cultures (2)Spanish Language and Culture · Spanish Literature and Culture

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

What gets spent here

Context — never part of the Scope Score
Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $14,420, CA average $14,491$14,420 · district average
District current expense · FY 2024–25$22,861 per student

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction60%
Instruction support10%
Student services10%
Administration6%
Buildings & maintenance12%
Other2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$14,420 per pupil
2019$13,403 per pupil
2018$13,948 per pupil
2017$10,398 per pupil
2016$8,767 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood it serves

Context — never part of the Scope Score
Hispanic71.2%
District 70.6% · CA 56.1%
White10.3%
District 6.2% · CA 19.9%
Other7.8%
District 6.1% · CA 9.0%
Asian5.5%
District 1.4% · CA 10.2%
Black5.3%
District 15.7% · CA 4.8%
Low IncomeFree/reduced lunch eligible 74.6% (11pp above CA avg)
Neighborhood — American Community Survey
Median income$88K · CA $85K
Median home value$410K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+14% · CA 35%
ZIP population65,429
Median age32 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Worth Knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 77% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Frequently asked questions

Is University Preparatory a good high school?

University Preparatory has a Scope Score of 90 out of 100, placing it in the 99th percentile of California high schools and ranked #22 statewide. 56.7% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 36.9 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.

What are University Preparatory's CAASPP test scores?

On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 86.6% of students at University Preparatory met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 56.7% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 29.9% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 56.7% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 358 student-subject combinations were assessed.

How does University Preparatory rank in California?

University Preparatory ranks #22 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 99th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.

What is the attendance and school culture like at University Preparatory?

4.8% of students at University Preparatory are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 0.7%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.

How does University Preparatory compare to other schools in Victorville?

University Preparatory scores 90/100 (99th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,136 students. Use the schools in Victorville page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.

How does University Preparatory serve low-income and underrepresented students?

At University Preparatory in Victorville, 91.4% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 42.3% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. University Preparatory outperforms its district average for low-income students by 49.1 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (69.4% Math proficient); Hispanic students (90.8% ELA proficient). Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 396 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.

What AP courses are offered at University Preparatory?

University Preparatory's teachers are authorized to teach 17 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, European History, Macroeconomics, Physics 1, Precalculus, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Spanish Literature and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.

How many students from University Preparatory go to UC?

In fall 2025, 44 University Preparatory graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Your other options

Private alternatives nearby

Private schools within ~10 miles. These schools do not participate in state testing and cannot be scored or ranked.


For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Graduation rate · 25%
100.0%
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 64 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard · 22%
56.7%
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 95 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness · 20%
79.1%
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 76 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded · 18%
86.6%
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 87 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism · 5%
4.8%
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 71 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
▲ 0.3pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate · 5%
0.7%
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 63 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
▼ 0.6pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC) · 5%
40.0%
↑ vs CA 18.0% · index 87 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 719041%49%9%1%90%+42
Grade 819638%49%13%0%87%+41
Grade 1117975%21%3%1%97%+48
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 719035%32%27%6%66%+33
Grade 819640%29%23%8%69%+37
Grade 1117938%39%20%3%77%+53

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, no valid result was published, or the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide37723%54%23%0%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged39691.4%+49+53
Hispanic/Latino40290.8%+47+52
White5696.4%+44+35
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
University Preparatory ←9056.7%86.6%0.7%
Cobalt Institute of Math and Science1.4 mi6932.7%61.9%1.9%
Silverado High1 mi4510.4%31.3%3.5%
California average5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
Graduation Rate
100.0%
AP Exam Prepared
79.1%
A-G Completion
98.3%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
87.8%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20198095#8039.6%76.3%3.2%2.2%
20228095#7639.1%74.7%11.6%1.9%
20238195#7436.6%76.7%5.9%1.2%
20248297#5741.9%77.8%4.4%1.3%
20259099#2256.7%86.6%4.8%0.7%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
Group20192025Δ
Female0.9%1.8%+0.9pp
Male1.5%3.3%+1.8pp
Asian0.0%4.8%+4.8pp
Black/African American0.0%0.0%+0.0pp
Filipino0.0%0.0%+0.0pp
Hispanic/Latino1.6%2.2%+0.6pp
Two or More Races0.0%5.7%+5.7pp
White0.8%4.2%+3.4pp
English Learners0.0%0.0%+0.0pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged1.1%2.6%+1.5pp
All Students1.2%2.5%+1.3pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
2025125100443.843.894.00
202412998413.883.984.10
202312582473.864.044.10
2022144107523.944.074.13
202113297483.873.964.08
202014187473.753.934.06
201912270353.763.994.10
201812789483.864.014.08
201710981493.763.893.96
20169170433.753.944.04
20159268493.763.943.96
20147555253.653.773.94

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20253764
Berkeley2024456‹3
Berkeley20235096
Berkeley2022622010
Berkeley202137104
Davis2025153‹3
Davis20242412‹3
Davis20231710‹3
Davis20223013‹3
Davis20212410‹3
Irvine202592193
Irvine20241013010
Irvine202390184
Irvine2022117304
Irvine20211003116
Los Angeles20258374
Los Angeles202410287
Los Angeles202381105
Los Angeles2022111126
Los Angeles20219165
Merced20253434‹3
Merced202488‹3
Merced202397‹3
Merced202288‹3
Merced20212624‹3
Riverside2025918220
Riverside202481669
Riverside202383539
Riverside202292676
Riverside2021876514
San Diego202571225
San Diego2024914110
San Diego2023924518
San Diego2022955824
San Diego202179305
Santa Barbara20254193
Santa Barbara20243410‹3
Santa Barbara20233310‹3
Santa Barbara2022428‹3
Santa Barbara2021366‹3
Santa Cruz202519165
Santa Cruz20243124‹3
Santa Cruz20232719‹3
Santa Cruz20222516‹3
Santa Cruz202130213
Universitywide202512510044
Universitywide20241299841
Universitywide20231258247
Universitywide202214410752
Universitywide20211329748

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
SubjectTaught by
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
European Historythis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Physics 1this school
Precalculusthis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Spanish Literature and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count8
AP enrollment151
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections1
Physics sections3
Chemistry sections6
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,114

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California4628.1%
California State University3118.9%
California community college5432.9%
In-state private63.7%
Out-of-state, 4-year74.3%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled2012.2%

164 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 88% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

11California growth model, by student group2025 · scale-score points vs the state's prediction · shown, never scored
GroupReadingnCDE bandMathnCDE band
All Students+11381Accelerated+2381Average
Hispanic or Latino+8268Accelerated−1268Average
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged+12256Accelerated+2256Average
English Only+11245not categorised+1245not categorised
English Learner+760Accelerated+860Accelerated
Recently Reclassified Fluent-English Proficient Only+852not categorised+552not categorised
White+1839Accelerated+639Accelerated
Black or African American+2321Exceptional−1021Moderate
Asian−421Average+2421Exceptional
Two or More Races+916Accelerated+1816Accelerated
Filipino+2212Exceptional+1912Accelerated

Whole scale-score points above or below what CDE's model predicted for these same children from their own prior-year scores — not a percentage, not a percentile. Statewide a typical school lands near +1 with a spread of about 13 points either side, so read a figure against its group's own typical value, not against zero. Muted rows have fewer than 30 students with a growth score — published by CDE, held back from the narrative sections above because at that size the figure swings about 17 points on its own. “Not categorised” is CDE assigning no band — English Only, Recently Reclassified, and English Learners Only receive a value and no band, for every school in the state. It is not a missing number. Most figures blend two consecutive years, so adjacent published years share input data and no trend line can honestly be drawn across them. A group absent from this table had fewer than 11 students with a growth score and was never published. Grades 4-8 only. None of this enters the Scope Score — it is more strongly correlated with school demographics than our own growth measure, and one published year is not enough to test its reliability.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/university-preparatory-0064"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="University Preparatory — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-07methodology · data updates · CSV · report issue

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction