ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Hiram W. Johnson High

Sacramento, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,682 students · Sacramento City Unified

The scores are below where anyone wants them. Here's what they don't tell you.

22% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 14% in math. 82.3% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

PrincipalGarrett Kirkland
Grades9-12
Enrollment1,682 students

Math

14%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

22%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,682

Total enrollment

Graduation

82.3%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 11%2022: 7%2023: 8%2024: 8%2025: 14%2019: 26%2022: 22%2023: 22%2024: 26%2025: 22%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 11%2022: 7%2023: 8%2024: 8%2025: 14%2019: 26%2022: 22%2023: 22%2024: 26%2025: 22%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201911%26%
20227%22%
20238%22%
20248%26%
202514%22%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has stayed near the 2nd percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “18% proficient” and call it done. Hiram W. Johnson deserves a closer read. Three in four of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Test scores are one lens, and at this school they're a rough one right now. The sections below show the fuller picture — including the parts that are working.

370 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Hiram W. Johnson High scores 29 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 2nd percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Proficiency here is back to its pre-pandemic level — 18% meet the standard, about where the school stood in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 3rd percentile · Scope Score 30 of 1002022 · 3rd percentile · Scope Score 29 of 1002023 · 3rd percentile · Scope Score 29 of 1002024 · 3rd percentile · Scope Score 30 of 1002025 · 2nd percentile · Scope Score 29 of 100
ELARed(Declined)MathOrange(Increased Significantly)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1126%22%22%26%22%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1111%7%8%8%14%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in five of students here meet the standard. 5% clear it by a lot.

ELA22% met or exceeded
Exceeded 4%Met 18%Nearly Met 26%Not Met 52%
Math14% met or exceeded
Exceeded 6%Met 8%Nearly Met 20%Not Met 66%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school295%18%82.3%10.2%42.7%9.9%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope2954
% Exceeded5%20%
% Met+18%43%
Grad rate82.3%92.5%
College readiness10.2%43.0%
Absence42.7%23.1%
Suspension9.9%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard behind the same group statewide.

At Hiram W. Johnson High in Sacramento, 19.9% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 29.4% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Hiram W. Johnson High trails its district average for low-income students by 9.6 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (13.0% Math proficient); Hispanic students (18.2% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 21.9 percentage points for two or more races students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 302 students tested.

Low-income students here trail the state average for their group by 18 points in ELA — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 18% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 18%, district —, state 43%18%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 16%, district 25%, state 32%16% · −2 vs school
MaleMale: this school 16%, district 35%, state 42%16% · −2 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 14%, district 28%, state 32%14% · −4 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 21%, district 37%, state 44%21% · +3 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 12%, district 10%, state 11%12% · −6 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 34%, district 42%, state 72%34% · +16 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 8%, district 16%, state 15%8% · −10 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: this school 10%, district 17%, state 26%10% · −8 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 15%, district 56%, state 56%15% · −3 vs school
Pacific IslanderPacific Islander: this school 5%, district 20%, state 33%5% · −13 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 0%, district 47%, state 56%0% · −18 vs school
HomelessHomeless: this school 10%, district 14%, state 22%10% · −8 vs school
FilipinoFilipino: too few students to report‹11
American Indian/Alaska NativeAmerican Indian/Alaska Native: too few students to report‹11
Foster YouthFoster Youth: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic36.0% AP · 49.6% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.5% enroll.
Asian53.1% AP · 24.8% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander1.1% AP · 2.9% enroll.
Black4.0% AP · 12.2% enroll.
White4.0% AP · 6.6% enroll.
Two or more races1.7% AP · 3.3% enroll.
English learners25.1% AP · 29.5% enroll.
Students with disabilities1.1% AP · 20.0% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

61%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 181 of 297 completers · includes community colleges

297Completers
22%
Other colleges64 completers · Outside the California community college system
39%
California community colleges117 completers · Enrolled within a year
39%
Not recorded enrolled116 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

61%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Hiram W. Johnson's class of 2023, 61% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 297 completers, 61% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 9 (3%)California State University 35 (12%)California community college 117 (39%)In-state private 16 (5%)Out-of-state, 4-year 3 (1%)Out-of-state, 2-year 1 (0%)Not enrolled 116 (39%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 19 of Hiram W. Johnson's 325 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Davis the most common landing, with 10 enrollees.

Applied57fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted45
Enrolled19
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)

7 of 9 campuses are masked below UC's privacy floor — a protection, not a verdict.

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 61% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (117) than at UC (9).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 22 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Hiram W. Johnson's teachers are authorized to teach 10 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — including Calculus AB, Chinese Language and Culture, and Spanish Language and Culture.

Students per teacher22 · district 23
Teaching staff88 teachers
Avg. experience12.9 years
Fully credentialed83%
First-year teachers1%
Intern / emergency permit2.9%
PrincipalGarrett Kirkland
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$61,429 – $132,487
Principal salary$161,216 – $185,549
Superintendent salary$325,000

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers11 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers25 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught10
ShowHide the 10 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (2)Calculus AB · Precalculus
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (2)United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (2)Chinese Language and Culture · Spanish Language and Culture
Arts (2)2-D Art and Design · Drawing

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended more, than the state average.

42.7% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — worth asking about on a tour.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 42.7%, district 24.6%, state 23.1%42.7% · +19.7pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 9.9%, district —, state 3.3%9.9% · +6.7pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1243.2%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $25,050 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$717 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $25,050, CA average $14,491$25,050 · spent at this school
Federal share$717 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$24,421 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 62%Instruction support 13%Student services 12%Administration 5%Buildings & maintenance 8%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$15,654 per pupil
2019$13,792 per pupil
2018$14,667 per pupil
2017$12,722 per pupil
2016$11,601 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Three in four of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 18% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino53.0% · district 42.2% · CA 56.1%
White6.2% · district 17.3% · CA 19.9%
Asian22.4% · district 16.2% · CA 10.2%
Black9.0% · district 12.1% · CA 4.8%
Other9.3% · district 12.3% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch77.5% · CA 64%
Median income$78K · CA $85K
Median home value$417K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+30% · CA 35%
ZIP population35,410
Median age37 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Find contact and visit details →

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Hiram W. Johnson HighPublicNeeds Support5%18%School being viewed
West CampusPublicStrong56%83%1.1 mi
Kit Carson International AcademyPublicSolid43%74%1.7 mi
SAVA - Sacramento Academic and Vocational Academyalternative comparison groupCharterDeveloping3%12%1.2 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Sacramento →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

10 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Sacramento City Unified.

District information →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Elementary · K–5

Camellia ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 55/100
Elder Creek ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 27/100
Earl Warren ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 38/100
Pacific ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 14/100
Parkway ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 14/100
Theodore Judah ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 47/100
William Land ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 65/100
Nicholas ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 13/100
Caleb Greenwood ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 65/100
Oak Ridge ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 15/100
Father Keith B. KennyAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 23/100
Edward Kemble ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment route
Ethel I. Baker ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 21/100
Woodbine ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 15/100
David Lubin ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 55/100
Phoebe A. Hearst ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 83/100
New Joseph Bonnheim (NJB) Community CharterAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 20/100
Washington ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 33/100
Bowling Green ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 22/100
Mark Twain ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 20/100
Peter Burnett ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 21/100
Tahoe ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 29/100
Alice Birney Waldorf-InspiredAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 19/100
Leonardo Da VinciAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 50/100

Middle · 6–8

High school · 9–12

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what changed in the last two years, and what the school is asking families for. Growth shows up in these numbers a year or two after it shows up in classrooms.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask what typically leads to a suspension, and what happens before it gets there.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Hiram W. Johnson High a good high school?
Hiram W. Johnson High has a Scope Score of 29 out of 100, placing it in the 2nd percentile of California high schools and ranked #1,606 statewide. 5.0% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 14.8 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Hiram W. Johnson High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 18.1% of students at Hiram W. Johnson High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 5.0% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 13.0% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 5.0% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 736 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Hiram W. Johnson High rank in California?
Hiram W. Johnson High ranks #1,606 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 2nd percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Hiram W. Johnson High?
42.7% of students at Hiram W. Johnson High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 9.9%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Hiram W. Johnson High compare to other schools in Sacramento?
Hiram W. Johnson High scores 29/100 (2nd percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,682 students. Use the schools in Sacramento page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Hiram W. Johnson High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Hiram W. Johnson High in Sacramento, 19.9% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 29.4% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Hiram W. Johnson High trails its district average for low-income students by 9.6 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (13.0% Math proficient); Hispanic students (18.2% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 21.9 percentage points for two or more races students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 302 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Hiram W. Johnson High?
Hiram W. Johnson High's teachers are authorized to teach 10 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, Calculus AB, Chinese Language and Culture, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Precalculus, Spanish Language and Culture, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Hiram W. Johnson High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 19 Hiram W. Johnson High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate82.3%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard5.0%19.8%22%
College readiness10.2%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded18.1%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism42.7%23.1%5%
Suspension rate9.9%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)11.2%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Hiram W. Johnson High: reading the evidence

Hiram W. Johnson posts low test scores — and English learners here beat the state average for their group by 6 points in Math. If this is your zoned school, the numbers below are where to start a conversation, not where to end one.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Hiram W. Johnson High is ranked #1,606 statewide · #14 of 14 in Sacramento City Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate82.3%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard5.0%19.8%22%
College readiness10.2%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded18.1%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism42.7%23.1%5%
Suspension rate9.9%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)11.2%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 45 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 38 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 37 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 37 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 40 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 4.0pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 22 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · → no change vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 42 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 113704%18%26%52%22%−27
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 113666%8%20%66%14%−10

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide3284%14%67%16%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged30219.9%−10−18
Hispanic/Latino17618.2%−14−21
English Learners1407.1%−2−3
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Hiram W. Johnson High ←—295.0%18.1%9.9%
West Campus1.1 mi8955.5%82.8%1.2%
Kit Carson International Academy1.7 mi5843.5%73.9%16.2%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
SAVA - Sacramento Academic and Vocational Academyscored within its class, not statewide1.2 mi182.5%12.0%1.5%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
82.3%
AP Exam Prepared
10.2%
A-G Completion
41.8%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
60.9%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
2019303#14613.5%18.9%31.4%10.9%
2022293#15563.4%14.8%46.1%8.8%
2023293#15923.5%14.7%39.8%10.8%
2024303#15904.2%16.9%38.7%9.9%
2025292#16065.0%18.1%42.7%9.9%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
What we can't show
  • — Low-income students here trail the state average for their group by 18 points in ELA — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female32.6%47.8%+15.2pp
Male30.8%39.0%+8.2pp
Asian15.1%21.1%+6.0pp
Black/African American51.5%58.8%+7.3pp
Filipino27.8%7.7%-20.1pp
Hispanic/Latino32.8%47.4%+14.6pp
Pacific Islander36.6%62.2%+25.6pp
Two or More Races44.1%53.6%+9.5pp
White36.6%42.1%+5.5pp
Students with Disabilities42.7%43.1%+0.4pp
English Learners28.0%38.9%+10.9pp
Foster Youth46.7%——
Homeless71.4%53.0%-18.4pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged33.5%44.8%+11.3pp
All Students31.6%43.2%+11.6pp
American Indian/Alaska Native—72.7%—
Military-Connected—37.5%—
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
20255745193.693.743.88
20244532133.733.904.05
20234029113.523.623.57
20223928123.753.903.89
20214735173.703.783.93
20202920103.733.924.05
2019321783.693.913.95
2018501983.383.814.04
2017261163.693.943.98
2016301693.583.793.97
2015201043.503.83—
2014281573.453.753.89

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley202537‹3‹3
Berkeley202430‹3‹3
Berkeley202325‹3‹3
Berkeley202226‹3‹3
Berkeley20213354
Davis2025501810
Davis202438185
Davis20233995
Davis2022349‹3
Davis202141176
Irvine2025223‹3
Irvine2024216‹3
Irvine202313‹3‹3
Irvine202216‹3‹3
Irvine2021154‹3
Los Angeles202526‹3‹3
Los Angeles202421‹3‹3
Los Angeles202321‹3‹3
Los Angeles202217‹3‹3
Los Angeles202121‹3‹3
Merced20253231‹3
Merced202426233
Merced202320186
Merced20221716‹3
Merced202124223
Riverside2025118‹3
Riverside2024117‹3
Riverside202363‹3
Riverside202275‹3
Riverside2021126‹3
San Diego20252894
San Diego202416114
San Diego2023143‹3
San Diego20221494
San Diego2021165‹3
Santa Barbara202586‹3
Santa Barbara202466‹3
Santa Barbara2023105‹3
Santa Barbara2022553
Santa Barbara2021177‹3
Santa Cruz20252815‹3
Santa Cruz2024149‹3
Santa Cruz2023187‹3
Santa Cruz202284‹3
Santa Cruz20212515‹3
Universitywide2025574519
Universitywide2024453213
Universitywide2023402911
Universitywide2022392812
Universitywide2021473517

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
Calculus ABthis school
Chinese Language and Culturethis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Precalculusthis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count12
AP enrollment175
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 436 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections2
Physics sections28
Chemistry sections16
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,903

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California93.0%
California State University3511.8%
California community college11739.4%
In-state private165.4%
Out-of-state, 4-year31.0%
Out-of-state, 2-year10.3%
Not enrolled11639.1%

297 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 61% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/hiram-w-johnson-high-4636"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Hiram W. Johnson High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Hiram W. Johnson High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.