ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Downtown Business High

Los Angeles, CA · Grades 9-12 · 819 students · Los Angeles Unified

A foundation in the reported results. Look across subjects and student groups.

82% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 61% in math. 97.7% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

Patterns to investigate · 2025

Solid Base

71.9% Met or Exceeded · unweighted grade–subject rate average

Do those results extend across subjects and student groups?

Findings can overlap. They describe reported results, not what caused them. Definitions and limits →

Math

61%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

82%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

819

Total enrollment

Graduation

97.7%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 69%2022: 58%2023: 43%2024: 60%2025: 61%2019: 82%2022: 89%2023: 83%2024: 84%2025: 82%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 69%2022: 58%2023: 43%2024: 60%2025: 61%2019: 82%2022: 89%2023: 83%2024: 84%2025: 82%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201969%82%
202258%89%
202343%83%
202460%84%
202561%82%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has held the 93rd-percentile line every tested year since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “72% proficient” and call it done. Downtown Business deserves a closer read. Four in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Downtown Business's low-income kids hit 82.1% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

199 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Downtown Business High scores 75 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 93rd percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 72% meet the standard today, versus 75% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 94th percentile · Scope Score 79 of 1002022 · 95th percentile · Scope Score 81 of 1002023 · 90th percentile · Scope Score 73 of 1002024 · 95th percentile · Scope Score 78 of 1002025 · 93rd percentile · Scope Score 75 of 100
ELABlue(Increased)MathBlue(Maintained)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1182%89%83%84%82%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1169%58%43%60%61%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Two-thirds of students here meet the standard. Two in five clear it by a lot.

ELA82% met or exceeded
Exceeded 50%Met 33%Nearly Met 13%Not Met 5%
Math61% met or exceeded
Exceeded 38%Met 24%Nearly Met 19%Not Met 20%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school7544%72%97.7%71.0%16.4%0.3%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope7554
% Exceeded44%20%
% Met+72%43%
Grad rate97.7%92.5%
College readiness71.0%43.0%
Absence16.4%23.1%
Suspension0.3%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

82.1% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 72% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 72%, district —, state 43%72%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 71%, district 36%, state 32%71% · −0 vs school
MaleMale: this school 71%, district 41%, state 42%71% · −0 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 62%, district 36%, state 32%62% · −10 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 73%, district 42%, state 44%73% · +1 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 87%, district 78%, state 72%87% · +15 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 19%, district 14%, state 15%19% · −53 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 73%, district 65%, state 56%73% · +1 vs school

5 of 13 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic50.9% AP · 56.9% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
Asian40.4% AP · 33.0% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.5% AP · 0.5% enroll.
Black3.2% AP · 5.3% enroll.
White3.0% AP · 2.7% enroll.
Two or more races2.1% AP · 1.7% enroll.
English learners0.7% AP · 3.3% enroll.
Students with disabilities1.6% AP · 4.1% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

80%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 168 of 211 completers · includes community colleges

211Completers
51%
Other colleges107 completers · Outside the California community college system
29%
California community colleges61 completers · Enrolled within a year
20%
Not recorded enrolled43 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Where the class of 2023 went
80%enrolled in college within a year
  • University of California37 (18%)
  • California State University37 (18%)
  • California community college61 (29%)
  • In-state private16 (8%)
  • Out-of-state, 4-year17 (8%)
  • Not enrolled43 (20%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic

See the full roll →

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 18 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Students per teacher18 · district 20
Teaching staff46 teachers
Avg. experience14.4 years
Fully credentialed91%
Intern / emergency permit3.3%
PrincipalSean Teer
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$60,420 – $122,706
Principal salary$154,576 – $170,030
Superintendent salary$440,000

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP courses offered37 (CCI)
AP exam qualifiers110 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers56 students
Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 16.4%, district 22.8%, state 23.1%16.4% · −6.7pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 0.3%, district —, state 3.3%0.3% · −3.0pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1215.2%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $20,720 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

$1,095 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $20,720, CA average $14,491$20,720 · spent at this school
Federal share$1,095 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$29,292 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 52%Instruction support 16%Student services 12%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$18,180 per pupil
2019$16,355 per pupil
2018$15,793 per pupil
2017$13,247 per pupil
2016$13,549 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Four in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 49% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino57.4% · district 73.2% · CA 56.1%
White3.8% · district 9.9% · CA 19.9%
Asian28.3% · district 3.4% · CA 10.2%
Black2.3% · district 7.2% · CA 4.8%
Other8.2% · district 6.3% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch81.4% · CA 64%
Median income$67K · CA $85K
Median home value$694K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+39% · CA 35%
ZIP population37,336
Median age37 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Downtown Business HighPublicStrong44%72%School being viewed
Orthopaedic HospitalPublicStrong24%55%2.4 mi
Alliance Ted K. Tajima HighCharterStrong26%59%0.4 mi
Alliance Dr. Olga Mohan HighCharterStrong27%62%1.9 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Los Angeles →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

15 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Los Angeles Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: proximity. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask how the school challenges kids who clear the standard early. The gap between meeting and exceeding is where pacing shows.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Downtown Business High a good high school?
Downtown Business High has a Scope Score of 75 out of 100, placing it in the 93rd percentile of California high schools and ranked #120 statewide. 43.7% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 23.9 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Downtown Business High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 71.9% of students at Downtown Business High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 43.7% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 28.1% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 43.7% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 398 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Downtown Business High rank in California?
Downtown Business High ranks #120 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 93rd percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Downtown Business High?
16.4% of students at Downtown Business High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 0.3%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Downtown Business High compare to other schools in Los Angeles?
Downtown Business High scores 75/100 (93rd percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 819 students. Use the schools in Los Angeles page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Downtown Business High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Downtown Business High in Los Angeles, 82.1% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 40.9% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Downtown Business High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 41.2 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (60.7% Math proficient); Hispanic students (75.0% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 7.4 percentage points for hispanic students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 168 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

How far the top scorers get carries this score.

43.7% of students scored in the top band on the state test. The California average is 19.8%.

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate97.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard43.7%19.8%22%
College readiness71.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded71.9%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism16.4%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.3%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)6.3%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Downtown Business High: reading the evidence

Downtown Business has an average Met + Exceeded rate of 72% and an Exceeded rate of 43.7% across the reported grades and subjects. Ask how students are supported and challenged at different starting points.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Do those results extend across subjects and student groups?

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Downtown Business High is ranked #120 statewide · #7 of 196 in Los Angeles Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate97.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard43.7%19.8%22%
College readiness71.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded71.9%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism16.4%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.3%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)6.3%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 62 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 80 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 71 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 76 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 61 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 5.2pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 65 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · → no change vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 34 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1119950%33%13%5%82%+34
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1119938%24%19%20%61%+38

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide20313%36%47%4%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged16882.1%+41+44
Hispanic/Latino10875.0%+34+36
Asian6190.2%+10+16
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Downtown Business High ←—7543.7%71.9%0.3%
Orthopaedic Hospital2.4 mi7124.1%54.6%0.4%
Alliance Ted K. Tajima High0.4 mi6926.4%59.1%1.8%
Alliance Dr. Olga Mohan High1.9 mi6726.6%61.9%2.1%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
97.7%
AP Exam Prepared
71.0%
A-G Completion
87.6%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
79.6%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20197994#8544.1%75.2%12.5%0.4%
20228195#7447.4%73.4%25.3%0.3%
20237390#15931.6%63.2%15.0%0.3%
20247895#8741.2%71.6%11.1%0.3%
20257593#12043.7%71.9%16.4%0.3%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female11.2%14.0%+2.8pp
Male11.8%16.1%+4.3pp
Asian6.6%8.7%+2.1pp
Black/African American20.0%21.1%+1.1pp
Filipino4.7%4.7%+0.0pp
Hispanic/Latino13.4%18.9%+5.5pp
Two or More Races0.0%22.2%+22.2pp
White23.7%12.9%-10.8pp
Students with Disabilities16.7%17.9%+1.2pp
English Learners4.5%19.0%+14.5pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged11.4%16.1%+4.7pp
All Students11.5%15.2%+3.7pp
06Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 06 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count20
AP enrollment570
IB participationoffered · 58 enrolled
Dual enrollmentoffered · 6 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections5
Physics sections5
Chemistry sections9
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,043

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

07College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 07 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California3717.5%
California State University3717.5%
California community college6128.9%
In-state private167.6%
Out-of-state, 4-year178.1%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled4320.4%

211 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 80% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/downtown-business-high-2888"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Downtown Business High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Downtown Business High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.