ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in
Henry M. Gunn High · Palo AltoPublic

Henry M. Gunn High: High scores, healthy climate, strong attendance. We looked for a catch — we didn't find one.

Henry M. Gunn posts 62.9% exceeding the standard — versus 19.8% statewide — with climate numbers better than most. That doesn't make it perfect. It makes it worth a visit to find what numbers can't measure.

780 Arastradero Road, 94306 (opens in new tab)·Palo Alto Unified·Palo Alto·Grades 9-12·1,643 students·12% low-income·2024–25 CAASPP·(650) 354-8200
Scope Score
91
Strong High Ceiling
ranked #15 statewide · #2 of 3 in Palo Alto Unified
377 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Henry M. Gunn High scores 91 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 99th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How we score →

High Ceiling — Ask what happens for a kid who shows up behind — a high ceiling for the top can sit right next to thin support at the bottom, and the score alone won't show you which.

Most rating sites would stop at “82% proficient” and call it done. Henry M. Gunn deserves a closer read. It sits at the 99th percentile of 1,647 California high schools — but the ranking is the least interesting thing on this page.

Henry M. Gunn's low-income kids hit 69.6% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

Context — never part of the Scope Score
Where the class of 2023 went
87%enrolled in college within a year
  • University of California63 (13%)
  • California State University30 (6%)
  • California community college69 (15%)
  • In-state private39 (8%)
  • Out-of-state, 4-year212 (45%)
  • Out-of-state, 2-year1 (0%)
  • Not enrolled62 (13%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic

See the full roll and the UC register →
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
This schoolCA avg
Scope9154
% Exceeded63%20%
% Met+82%43%
Grad rate97.2%92.5%
College readiness87.1%43.0%
Absence13.9%23.1%
Suspension0.8%3.3%

The seven-year arc

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide

Has held the 99th-percentile line every tested year since 2019.

ELABlue(Increased)MathBlue(Increased)

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 82% meet the standard today, versus 85% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1188%87%83%84%84%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1183%82%79%78%80%

Where its students land

ELA
Exceeded 63%Met 21%Nearly Met 7%Not Met 8%
Math
Exceeded 63%Met 18%Nearly Met 11%Not Met 9%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded

The story this school is actually telling

Proficient by 11th grade
82%
State 43%
Graduate
97%
State 92%
Pass an AP exam
87%
State 43%

Of 100 students here: 82 are proficient by 11th grade → 97 graduate → 87 pass an AP exam. The gaps between those bars are the questions to ask.

69.6%
Low-income · ELA · met standard

Henry M. Gunn's most underrated number

69.6% of low-income students met the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. That's the strongest kind of signal a school can post: it holds across income lines.

Henry M. Gunn low-income: 69.6%State low-income: 38.2%

The 7 things our score weighs

Graduation rate
97.2%
State 92.5%
4.7pp above state avg
Exceeded standard
62.9%
State 19.8%
43.0pp above state avg
College readiness
87.1%
State 43.0%
AP course or exam readiness above state avg
Met or exceeded
82.4%
State 43.2%
39.1pp above state avg
Chronic absenteeism
13.9%
State 23.1%
9.2pp below state avg
Suspension rate
0.8%
State 3.3%
2.4pp below state avg
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
44.7%
State 18.0%
26.7pp above state avg
Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.

How every group of students does here

At Henry M. Gunn High in Palo Alto, 69.6% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 51.4% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Henry M. Gunn High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 18.2 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (50.0% Math proficient); Asian students (88.9% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 67.7 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 46 students tested.

All students at this school: 82% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 82%, district —, state 43%82%
MaleMale: this school 80%, district 80%, state 42%80% · −2 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 89%, district 92%, state 72%89% · +7 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 85%, district 82%, state 44%85% · +3 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 82%, district 83%, state 56%82% · −0 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 60%, district 48%, state 32%60% · −23 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 51%, district 46%, state 32%51% · −32 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 84%, district 88%, state 56%84% · +2 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 45%, district 37%, state 15%45% · −38 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 33%, district 33%, state 11%33% · −49 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: too few students to report‹11
FilipinoFilipino: too few students to report‹11
Pacific IslanderPacific Islander: too few students to report‹11
HomelessHomeless: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic6.7% AP · 10.8% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.2% enroll.
Asian52.6% AP · 45.4% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.7% enroll.
Black0.6% AP · 1.4% enroll.
White31.1% AP · 32.4% enroll.
Two or more races9.0% AP · 9.1% enroll.
English learners0.4% AP · 2.0% enroll.
Students with disabilities2.0% AP · 8.1% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Showing up, and staying in class

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 13.9%, district 10.2%, state 23.1%13.9% · −9.2pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 0.8%, district —, state 3.3%0.8% · −2.4pp vs state
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1213.2%

Where the path goes

The path below follows attendance boundaries — scores shown for each next step.

K-12 Feeder Path

Feeder patterns derived from NCES attendance boundary data. Boundaries are approximate and may have changed — verify with your school district for current assignments.

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score
87%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Henry M. Gunn's class of 2023, 87% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 476 completers, 87% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 63 (13%)California State University 30 (6%)California community college 69 (15%)In-state private 39 (8%)Out-of-state, 4-year 212 (45%)Out-of-state, 2-year 1 (0%)Not enrolled 62 (13%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate.

Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 74 of Henry M. Gunn's 421 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Berkeley the most common landing, with 18 enrollees.

Applied325fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted260
Enrolled74
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Berkeley 18Davis 10Santa Cruz 9Santa Barbara 8Los Angeles 7Irvine 6Riverside 6Merced 5San Diego 5

campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 106 enrolled, 2014

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 87% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (69) than at UC (63).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The people teaching here

Context — never part of the Scope Score
Student : teacherStudent to teacher ratio: this school 17:1, district 18:117:1
PrincipalWendy Stratton
Teaching staff121 teachers
Avg. experience15.9 years
Fully credentialed87%
First-year teachers1%
Intern / emergency permit0.7%
Salary Schedule
Teacher salary schedule$91,546 – $168,598
Principal salary$210,710 – $225,110
Superintendent salary$415,045

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course Breadth
AP exam qualifiers330 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers104 students
Advanced Coursework

Henry M. Gunn's teachers are authorized to teach 28 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — well above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics C: Mechanics.

AP subjects taught28
Math & Computer Science (5)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science A · Computer Science Principles · Statistics
Sciences (6)Biology · Chemistry · Environmental Science · Physics 1 · Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism · Physics C: Mechanics
English (1)English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (5)Human Geography · Macroeconomics · Microeconomics · Psychology · United States History
World Languages & Cultures (6)Chinese Language and Culture · French Language and Culture · German Language and Culture · Japanese Language and Culture · Spanish Language and Culture · Spanish Literature and Culture
Arts (5)2-D Art and Design · 3-D Art and Design · Art History · Drawing · Music Theory

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

What gets spent here

Context — never part of the Scope Score
Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $34,120, CA average $14,491$34,120 · spent at this school
Federal share$183 per student

$183 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

District current expense · FY 2024–25$33,959 per student

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction63%
Instruction support10%
Student services9%
Administration7%
Buildings & maintenance9%
Other1%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$24,917 per pupil
2019$22,497 per pupil
2018$23,038 per pupil
2017$20,962 per pupil
2016$19,648 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood it serves

Context — never part of the Scope Score
Asian46.1%
District 42.2% · CA 10.2%
White27.4%
District 27.2% · CA 19.9%
Hispanic13.1%
District 16.1% · CA 56.1%
Other12.2%
District 12.8% · CA 9.0%
Black1.2%
District 1.7% · CA 4.8%
Low IncomeFree/reduced lunch eligible 11.7% (52pp below CA avg)
Neighborhood — American Community Survey
Median income$210K · CA $85K
Median home value$2.00M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+81% · CA 35%
ZIP population27,183
Median age42 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Worth Knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 79% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Frequently asked questions

Is Henry M. Gunn High a good high school?

Henry M. Gunn High has a Scope Score of 91 out of 100, placing it in the 99th percentile of California high schools and ranked #15 statewide. 62.9% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 43.0 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.

What are Henry M. Gunn High's CAASPP test scores?

On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 82.4% of students at Henry M. Gunn High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 62.9% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 19.5% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 62.9% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 759 student-subject combinations were assessed.

How does Henry M. Gunn High rank in California?

Henry M. Gunn High ranks #15 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 99th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.

What is the attendance and school culture like at Henry M. Gunn High?

13.9% of students at Henry M. Gunn High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 0.8%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.

How does Henry M. Gunn High compare to other schools in Palo Alto?

Henry M. Gunn High scores 91/100 (99th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,643 students. Use the schools in Palo Alto page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.

How does Henry M. Gunn High serve low-income and underrepresented students?

At Henry M. Gunn High in Palo Alto, 69.6% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 51.4% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Henry M. Gunn High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 18.2 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (50.0% Math proficient); Asian students (88.9% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 67.7 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 46 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.

What AP courses are offered at Henry M. Gunn High?

Henry M. Gunn High's teachers are authorized to teach 28 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, 3-D Art and Design, Art History, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Chinese Language and Culture, Computer Science A, Computer Science Principles, Drawing, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, French Language and Culture, German Language and Culture, Human Geography, Japanese Language and Culture, Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, Music Theory, Physics 1, Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism, Physics C: Mechanics, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Spanish Literature and Culture, Statistics, United States History. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.

How many students from Henry M. Gunn High go to UC?

In fall 2025, 74 Henry M. Gunn High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Your other options

Private alternatives nearby

Private schools within ~10 miles. These schools do not participate in state testing and cannot be scored or ranked.


For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Graduation rate · 25%
97.2%
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 61 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard · 22%
62.9%
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 100 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness · 20%
87.1%
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 80 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded · 18%
82.4%
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 84 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism · 5%
13.9%
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 63 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
▲ 4.1pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate · 5%
0.8%
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 63 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
▼ 0.6pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC) · 5%
44.7%
↑ vs CA 18.0% · index 96 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1137763%21%7%8%84%+36
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1138263%18%11%9%80%+57

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, no valid result was published, or the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide38840%39%20%1%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged4669.6%+18+31
Asian19988.9%−2+15
White9481.9%−3+20
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Henry M. Gunn High ←9162.9%82.4%0.8%
Palo Alto Middle College High2.8 mi9453.1%78.1%1.2%
Palo Alto High3 mi8855.0%74.8%1.3%
Los Altos High1.6 mi8352.5%73.8%1.1%
California average5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
Graduation Rate
97.2%
AP Exam Prepared
87.1%
A-G Completion
91.4%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
87.0%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20199299#1969.5%85.5%4.5%1.1%
20229199#2265.5%84.8%9.9%1.7%
20239099#2361.2%80.7%12.2%1.6%
20249099#2061.0%80.6%9.8%1.4%
20259199#1562.9%82.4%13.9%0.8%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
Group20192025Δ
Female3.5%14.1%+10.6pp
Male3.5%12.5%+9.0pp
Asian1.8%11.0%+9.2pp
Black/African American4.8%25.0%+20.2pp
Filipino10.0%
Hispanic/Latino8.0%18.3%+10.3pp
Pacific Islander7.1%
Two or More Races2.5%14.1%+11.6pp
White4.2%13.6%+9.4pp
Students with Disabilities11.3%32.6%+21.3pp
English Learners7.8%13.1%+5.3pp
Homeless22.2%45.0%+22.8pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged9.0%16.4%+7.4pp
All Students3.5%13.2%+9.7pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
2025325260743.994.044.04
2024362260964.004.044.12
2023348254644.014.054.07
2022351252994.074.134.17
2021344219793.964.054.12
2020324268764.004.034.05
2019330218833.964.054.11
2018332234823.944.044.09
2017324236783.904.014.03
2016335262893.923.984.03
2015324248763.914.014.03
20143302711063.893.963.97

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20252614018
Berkeley20242945733
Berkeley20232803518
Berkeley20222743921
Berkeley20212664826
Davis20252737510
Davis20242976810
Davis2023287695
Davis20222759816
Davis20212638213
Irvine2025267546
Irvine20242945411
Irvine2023257294
Irvine2022272367
Irvine202125635‹3
Los Angeles2025274277
Los Angeles20243092811
Los Angeles202329722‹3
Los Angeles2022297275
Los Angeles2021293307
Merced20251071065
Merced202476733
Merced202381795
Merced202270667
Merced202161553
Riverside20251381206
Riverside2024124955
Riverside2023120833
Riverside2022108838
Riverside202182614
San Diego2025291465
San Diego2024320407
San Diego202330124‹3
San Diego2022297467
San Diego2021297548
Santa Barbara2025284998
Santa Barbara2024308718
Santa Barbara20232946311
Santa Barbara20222908219
Santa Barbara20212906710
Santa Cruz20252211629
Santa Cruz20242521558
Santa Cruz202324715916
Santa Cruz2022234969
Santa Cruz2021207897
Universitywide202532526074
Universitywide202436226096
Universitywide202334825464
Universitywide202235125299
Universitywide202134421979

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
3-D Art and Designthis school
Art Historythis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Chinese Language and Culturethis school
Computer Science Athis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
Drawingthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
French Language and Culturethis school
German Language and Culturethis school
Human Geographythis school
Japanese Language and Culturethis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Microeconomicsthis school
Music Theorythis school
Physics 1this school
Physics C: Electricity and Magnetismthis school
Physics C: Mechanicsthis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Spanish Literature and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
United States Historythis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count26
AP enrollment927
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 32 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections12
Physics sections21
Chemistry sections23
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,939

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California6313.2%
California State University306.3%
California community college6914.5%
In-state private398.2%
Out-of-state, 4-year21244.5%
Out-of-state, 2-year10.2%
Not enrolled6213.0%

476 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 87% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/henry-m-gunn-high-2904"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Henry M. Gunn High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-07methodology · data updates · CSV · report issue

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction