ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Menlo-Atherton High

Atherton, CA · Grades 9-12 · 2,158 students · Sequoia Union High

High scores, healthy climate, strong attendance. We looked for a catch — we didn't find one.

69% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 51% in math. 90.7% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Strong All-Around

What this means for your family

Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

PrincipalKarl Losekoot
Grades9-12
Enrollment2,158 students

Math

51%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

69%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

2,158

Total enrollment

Graduation

90.7%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 55%2022: 52%2023: 49%2024: 54%2025: 51%2019: 74%2022: 71%2023: 67%2024: 72%2025: 69%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 55%2022: 52%2023: 49%2024: 54%2025: 51%2019: 74%2022: 71%2023: 67%2024: 72%2025: 69%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201955%74%
202252%71%
202349%67%
202454%72%
202551%69%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has held the 88th-percentile line every tested year since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “60% proficient” and call it done. Menlo-Atherton deserves a closer read. One in four of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

The headline number: 39.5% of students scored in the top band on the state test. The California average is 19.8%.

453 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Menlo-Atherton High scores 70 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 88th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 60% meet the standard today, versus 65% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 89th percentile · Scope Score 74 of 1002022 · 90th percentile · Scope Score 72 of 1002023 · 89th percentile · Scope Score 72 of 1002024 · 93rd percentile · Scope Score 75 of 1002025 · 88th percentile · Scope Score 70 of 100
ELAGreen(Declined Significantly)MathGreen(Declined Significantly)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1174%71%67%72%69%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1155%52%49%54%51%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Three in five of students here meet the standard. One in three clear it by a lot.

ELA69% met or exceeded
Exceeded 44%Met 25%Nearly Met 14%Not Met 17%
Math51% met or exceeded
Exceeded 35%Met 16%Nearly Met 17%Not Met 32%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school7039%60%90.7%80.5%18.0%3.1%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope7054
% Exceeded39%20%
% Met+60%43%
Grad rate90.7%92.5%
College readiness80.5%43.0%
Absence18.0%23.1%
Suspension3.1%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard about even with the same group statewide.

At Menlo-Atherton High in Atherton, 40.7% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 37.0% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Menlo-Atherton High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 3.7 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (15.9% Math proficient); White students (92.5% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 67.7 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 167 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 60% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 60%, district —, state 43%60%
MaleMale: this school 59%, district 56%, state 42%59% · −1 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 61%, district 59%, state 44%61% · +1 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 87%, district 78%, state 56%87% · +27 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 31%, district 30%, state 32%31% · −29 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 28%, district 26%, state 32%28% · −32 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 2%, district 3%, state 11%2% · −58 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 26%, district 20%, state 15%26% · −34 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 89%, district 86%, state 72%89% · +29 vs school
Pacific IslanderPacific Islander: this school 28%, district 29%, state 33%28% · −32 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: this school 21%, district 42%, state 26%21% · −39 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 64%, district 61%, state 56%64% · +4 vs school
American Indian/Alaska NativeAmerican Indian/Alaska Native: too few students to report‹11
FilipinoFilipino: too few students to report‹11
HomelessHomeless: too few students to report‹11
Military-ConnectedMilitary-Connected: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored

In the 2020-21 federal collection — the newest there is — Hispanic students were 39% of Menlo-Atherton's enrollment but 8% of its AP seats; ask the school what's changed since.

Hispanic8.0% AP · 39.5% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.3% enroll.
Asian18.1% AP · 8.1% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 4.6% enroll.
Black0.0% AP · 4.6% enroll.
White60.1% AP · 38.1% enroll.
Two or more races13.8% AP · 4.8% enroll.
English learners0.0% AP · 18.0% enroll.
Students with disabilities1.4% AP · 1.0% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

80%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 383 of 482 completers · includes community colleges

482Completers
53%
Other colleges256 completers · Outside the California community college system
26%
California community colleges127 completers · Enrolled within a year
21%
Not recorded enrolled99 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

80%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Menlo-Atherton's class of 2023, 80% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 482 completers, 80% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 58 (12%)California State University 46 (10%)California community college 127 (26%)In-state private 26 (5%)Out-of-state, 4-year 125 (26%)Out-of-state, 2-year 1 (0%)Not enrolled 99 (21%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 67 of Menlo-Atherton's 487 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Santa Cruz the most common landing, with 18 enrollees.

Applied233fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted167
Enrolled67
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Santa Cruz 18Davis 14Berkeley 10Los Angeles 8Santa Barbara 7San Diego 5Merced 4Irvine ‹3Riverside ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 80% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (127) than at UC (58).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 18 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Menlo-Atherton's teachers are authorized to teach 25 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — well above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics C: Mechanics.

Students per teacher18 · district 18
Teaching staff143 teachers
Avg. experience15.7 years
Fully credentialed85%
First-year teachers5%
PrincipalKarl Losekoot
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$86,466 – $160,056
Principal salaryUp to $240,608
Superintendent salary$333,125

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers293 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers47 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught25
ShowHide the 25 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (5)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science A · Computer Science Principles · Statistics
Sciences (6)Biology · Chemistry · Environmental Science · Physics 1 · Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism · Physics C: Mechanics
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (3)Psychology · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (4)Chinese Language and Culture · French Language and Culture · Latin · Spanish Language and Culture
Arts (4)2-D Art and Design · 3-D Art and Design · Art History · Drawing
AP Capstone (1)Seminar

+11 via online provider (Subject Virtual School, Edgenuity) — not taught by school staff

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 18.0%, district 25.0%, state 23.1%18.0% · −5.0pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 3.1%, district —, state 3.3%3.1% · −0.1pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1217.6%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $20,162 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

$769 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $20,162, CA average $14,491$20,162 · spent at this school
Federal share$769 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$31,271 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 53%Instruction support 13%Student services 16%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 9%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$20,527 per pupil
2019$19,977 per pupil
2018$19,367 per pupil
2017$16,314 per pupil
2016$15,522 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

One in four of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 51% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino42.5% · district 46.3% · CA 56.1%
White34.6% · district 31.6% · CA 19.9%
Asian7.8% · district 11.5% · CA 10.2%
Black3.2% · district 1.7% · CA 4.8%
Other11.8% · district 8.9% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch33.0% · CA 64%
Median income$217K · CA $85K
Median home value$2.00M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+73% · CA 35%
ZIP population40,721
Median age40 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Find contact and visit details →

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Menlo-Atherton HighPublicStrong39%60%School being viewed
Palo Alto HighPublicStrong55%75%1.7 mi
Summit Preparatory Charter HighCharterSolid13%31%2.8 mi
Tide AcademyPublicDeveloping18%41%1.6 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Atherton →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

20 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Sequoia Union High.

District information →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Menlo-Atherton High a good high school?
Menlo-Atherton High has a Scope Score of 70 out of 100, placing it in the 88th percentile of California high schools and ranked #203 statewide. 39.5% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 19.6 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Menlo-Atherton High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 60.1% of students at Menlo-Atherton High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 39.5% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 20.6% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 39.5% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 913 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Menlo-Atherton High rank in California?
Menlo-Atherton High ranks #203 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 88th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Menlo-Atherton High?
18.0% of students at Menlo-Atherton High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 3.1%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Menlo-Atherton High compare to other schools in Atherton?
Menlo-Atherton High scores 70/100 (88th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 2,158 students. Use the schools in Atherton page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Menlo-Atherton High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Menlo-Atherton High in Atherton, 40.7% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 37.0% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Menlo-Atherton High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 3.7 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (15.9% Math proficient); White students (92.5% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 67.7 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 167 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Menlo-Atherton High?
Menlo-Atherton High's teachers are authorized to teach 25 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, 3-D Art and Design, Art History, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Chinese Language and Culture, Computer Science A, Computer Science Principles, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, French Language and Culture, Latin, Physics 1, Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism, Physics C: Mechanics, Psychology, Seminar, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Menlo-Atherton High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 67 Menlo-Atherton High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

How far the top scorers get carries this score.

39.5% of students scored in the top band on the state test. The California average is 19.8%.

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate90.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard39.5%19.8%22%
College readiness80.5%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded60.1%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism18.0%23.1%5%
Suspension rate3.1%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)12.8%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Menlo-Atherton High: reading the evidence

Menlo-Atherton posts 39.5% exceeding the standard — versus 19.8% statewide — with climate numbers better than most. That doesn't make it perfect. It makes it worth a visit to find what numbers can't measure.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Menlo-Atherton High is ranked #203 statewide · #2 of 8 in Sequoia Union High.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate90.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard39.5%19.8%22%
College readiness80.5%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded60.1%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism18.0%23.1%5%
Suspension rate3.1%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)12.8%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 54 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 76 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 77 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 68 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 60 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 0.9pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 52 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · → no change vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 44 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1145344%25%14%17%69%+21
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1146035%16%17%32%51%+27

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide46525%26%41%8%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged16740.7%+4+2
White18792.5%+7+31
Hispanic/Latino16745.5%+3+7
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Menlo-Atherton High ←—7039.5%60.1%3.1%
Palo Alto High1.7 mi8855.0%74.8%1.3%
Summit Preparatory Charter High2.8 mi5913.0%30.7%4.0%
Tide Academy1.6 mi5217.9%41.4%2.3%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
90.7%
AP Exam Prepared
80.5%
A-G Completion
65.5%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
79.5%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20197489#16141.1%64.6%15.2%4.8%
20227290#15739.7%61.6%23.8%4.6%
20237289#17737.7%57.8%22.3%3.6%
20247593#11443.9%63.1%17.1%3.1%
20257088#20339.5%60.1%18.0%3.1%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female13.8%19.0%+5.2pp
Male16.0%16.3%+0.3pp
Asian3.8%4.1%+0.3pp
Black/African American19.7%37.5%+17.8pp
Filipino0.0%18.2%+18.2pp
Hispanic/Latino21.7%24.4%+2.7pp
Pacific Islander31.7%42.4%+10.7pp
Two or More Races8.4%10.6%+2.2pp
White7.6%7.9%+0.3pp
Students with Disabilities28.8%35.0%+6.2pp
English Learners29.3%31.7%+2.4pp
Homeless69.6%57.1%-12.5pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged24.8%30.0%+5.2pp
All Students14.9%17.6%+2.7pp
American Indian/Alaska Native—16.2%—
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
2025233167673.933.983.98
2024227162573.873.924.02
2023215157603.944.024.05
2022235143573.954.024.08
2021245152513.783.913.95
2020211159663.873.943.91
2019221129423.843.984.03
2018211132453.884.013.98
2017216132463.803.983.98
2016186150553.873.953.97
2015175121423.833.964.00
2014173119493.803.963.96

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20251732310
Berkeley20241662613
Berkeley20231792515
Berkeley20221724127
Berkeley20211482817
Davis20251694914
Davis2024168427
Davis2023159529
Davis2022149519
Davis2021148425
Irvine202513816‹3
Irvine2024128133
Irvine2023138133
Irvine20221249‹3
Irvine202112313‹3
Los Angeles2025179158
Los Angeles2024176145
Los Angeles2023165157
Los Angeles2022168163
Los Angeles202115910‹3
Merced202558514
Merced202449484
Merced202344425
Merced202253506
Merced202142367
Riverside20256054‹3
Riverside202460426
Riverside20235428‹3
Riverside20225940‹3
Riverside20216322‹3
San Diego2025168255
San Diego202416922‹3
San Diego2023168214
San Diego202217722‹3
San Diego2021153315
Santa Barbara2025198447
Santa Barbara20241905712
Santa Barbara2023187416
Santa Barbara2022180437
Santa Barbara2021185497
Santa Cruz202514610718
Santa Cruz2024149806
Santa Cruz20231448911
Santa Cruz202213032‹3
Santa Cruz2021139624
Universitywide202523316767
Universitywide202422716257
Universitywide202321515760
Universitywide202223514357
Universitywide202124515251

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
3-D Art and Designthis school
Art Historythis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Chinese Language and Culturethis school
Computer Science Athis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
French Language and Culturethis school
Latinthis school
Physics 1this school
Physics C: Electricity and Magnetismthis school
Physics C: Mechanicsthis school
Psychologythis school
Seminarthis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school
Art Historyonline provider (Subject Virtual School)
Calculus ABonline provider (Edgenuity)
English Language and Compositiononline provider (Edgenuity)
English Language and Compositiononline provider (Subject Virtual School)
English Literature and Compositiononline provider (Edgenuity)
Environmental Scienceonline provider (Edgenuity)
Psychologyonline provider (Edgenuity)
Statisticsonline provider (Edgenuity)
Statisticsonline provider (Subject Virtual School)
United States Historyonline provider (Edgenuity)
World History: Modernonline provider (Edgenuity)

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count22
AP enrollment138
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 86 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections7
Physics sections14
Chemistry sections30
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,368

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California5812.0%
California State University469.5%
California community college12726.4%
In-state private265.4%
Out-of-state, 4-year12525.9%
Out-of-state, 2-year10.2%
Not enrolled9920.5%

482 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 80% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/menlo-atherton-high-3716"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Menlo-Atherton High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Menlo-Atherton High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.