Public school · Mountain View-Los Altos Union High

Mountain View High

Mountain View · 9–12 · 2,187 students (2024–25)

95thpercentileStrong

The dots are California’s 1,500 scored public high schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
82 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
In 2024–25, 95% of the class graduated in four years (554 of 584); across California, 89%. Source
Source
CDE four-year adjusted cohort graduation rate (ACGR), 2024–25
Students
students in the four-year graduation cohort: 584
Comparison
California: graduates divided by students in the four-year cohort across 2,281 public schools’ rows (our combination, not CDE’s published state rate; 432,702 of 487,177).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four high schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Sign in to save this school

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How are students doing in English and math?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
57%
Met standard
23%
Below standard
20%

80% met or exceeded · 463 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaMountain View-Los Altos Union High
Exceeded57%27%55%
Met23%30%24%
Nearly met13%20%12%
Not met7%23%9%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
52%
Met standard
17%
Below standard
31%

69% met or exceeded · 468 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaMountain View-Los Altos Union High
Exceeded52%14%50%
Met17%16%17%
Nearly met13%21%13%
Not met18%49%20%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Grade 11 tests are one part of the picture. Graduation, preparation and college destinations answer different questions below.

Ask: How do you help students strengthen their skills while keeping graduation and post-school plans on track?

Things worth knowing

Open a finding for the evidence
In grade 11, 80% met or exceeded the standard in English and 69% in math, against 57% and 30% statewide.grade 11 · spring 2025
80%English · met or exceeded the standard69%Math · met or exceeded the standard
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grade 11: 463 in English, 468 in math
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 11 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 432,651 in English and 431,903 in math tested).
198 of 2,221 students missed 10% or more of school days, close to the average Mountain View-Los Altos Union High school.2024–25
9 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
Source
CDE chronic absenteeism file, 2024–25
Students
all students counted for chronic absence (CDE’s eligible enrollment): 2,221
Comparison
198 of 2,221. District and California figures are averages of school rates (2 Mountain View-Los Altos Union High schools; 1,500 scored California high schools), our calculation.
1.1% of students (25 of 2,265) were suspended at least once in 2024–25, about a third of the rate at the average California high school.2024–25
1.1%of students were suspended at least once, 2024–25
Source
CDE suspension file, 2024–25
Students
all students enrolled during the year (CDE’s cumulative enrollment): 2,265
Comparison
25 of 2,265. District and California figures are averages of school rates (2 Mountain View-Los Altos Union High schools; 1,500 scored California high schools), our calculation.

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school80%
California57%

Tested: 463 here · 432,651 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school80%
Mountain View-Los Altos Union High79%

Tested: 463 here · 993 in Mountain View-Los Altos Union High. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 3 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaMountain View-Los Altos Union High
Exceeded57%27%55%
Met23%30%24%
Nearly met13%20%12%
Not met7%23%9%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school69%
California30%

Tested: 468 here · 431,903 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school69%
Mountain View-Los Altos Union High67%

Tested: 468 here · 1,003 in Mountain View-Los Altos Union High. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 3 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaMountain View-Los Altos Union High
Exceeded52%14%50%
Met17%16%17%
Nearly met13%21%13%
Not met18%49%20%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

How have results changed?

School pattern, spring 2025High CeilingThe average Exceeded rate across the reported grades and subjects is at least 50%.
School pattern, spring 2025Solid BaseThe average Met + Exceeded rate across the reported grades and subjects is at least 65%.

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

After graduation

Do students finish prepared, and where do they go?

Preparation · separate measures and cohorts

Graduated in four years

95%

Across California: 89%

2024–25 · 554 of 584 students in the four-year cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, adjusted cohort graduation records. Comparison is SchoolScope’s combination of graduates and cohort counts across the reference schools, not CDE’s published state rate.

College / career Prepared

81%

Across California: 52%

2024–25 · Students in the CDE College/Career Indicator cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, College/Career Indicator overall Prepared. Prepared is CDE’s overall classification, not AP participation or a college admission rate.

Completed UC/CSU courses

83%

Average California high school: 56%

2024–25 · High-school graduates completing A–G

Source and definition

California Department of Education, A–G completion records. Course completion is separate from college enrollment.

Destinations · class of 2023

Where graduates went

83% enrolled in college within 12 months · 563 high-school completers

  • University of California84 · 15%
  • California State University69 · 12%
  • California community college103 · 18%
  • In-state private44 · 8%
  • Out-of-state, 4-year164 · 29%
  • Out-of-state, 2-year3 · 1%
  • Not enrolled96 · 17%

Source: CDE college-going records, class of 2023. Shares are our arithmetic: count ÷ completers. A dash is unavailable, not zero. “Not enrolled” does not describe employment, military service or other routes.

One destination in detail

University of California

UC fall 2025 entry · matched school records · counts, not a school rating

Applied
341
Admitted
254
Enrolled
99

Source: UC admissions by source school. “Masked” gives no numeric bound; “+” marks a partial count; a dash is unavailable.

UC years and campus records

UC reports fall first-year applicants, admits and enrollees separately. These records do not establish the school’s effect on admission. “+” is a partial SchoolScope sum across linked codes; missing contributions may be zero. A reported zero remains zero. Never assume zero or a positive hidden value for missing or masked counts.

  • Fall 2025Applied 341 · Admitted 254 · Enrolled 99
  • Fall 2024Applied 334 · Admitted 248 · Enrolled 109
  • Fall 2023Applied 330 · Admitted 239 · Enrolled 89
  • Fall 2022Applied 309 · Admitted 204 · Enrolled 84
  • Fall 2021Applied 261 · Admitted 170 · Enrolled 68
  • Fall 2020Applied 234 · Admitted 178 · Enrolled 78
  • Fall 2019Applied 252 · Admitted 156 · Enrolled 62
  • Fall 2018Applied 228 · Admitted 155 · Enrolled 69
  • Fall 2017Applied 204 · Admitted 144 · Enrolled 68
  • Fall 2016Applied 217 · Admitted 184 · Enrolled 93
  • Fall 2015Applied 198 · Admitted 131 · Enrolled 54
  • Fall 2014Applied 215 · Admitted 148 · Enrolled 60
  • Fall 2013Applied 214 · Admitted 148 · Enrolled 59
  • Fall 2012Applied 220 · Admitted 164 · Enrolled 67
  • Fall 2011Applied 212 · Admitted 177 · Enrolled 92
  • Fall 2010Applied 200 · Admitted 182 · Enrolled 80
  • Fall 2009Applied 192 · Admitted 175 · Enrolled 71
  • Fall 2008Applied 156 · Admitted 149 · Enrolled 76
  • Fall 2007Applied 218 · Admitted 208 · Enrolled 104
  • Fall 2006Applied 180 · Admitted 167 · Enrolled 89
  • Fall 2005Applied 141 · Admitted 136 · Enrolled 63
  • Fall 2004Applied 128 · Admitted 111 · Enrolled 58
  • Fall 2003Applied 139 · Admitted 131 · Enrolled 81
  • Fall 2002Applied 116 · Admitted 99 · Enrolled 64
  • Fall 2001Applied 102 · Admitted 95 · Enrolled 49
  • Fall 2000Applied 94 · Admitted 80 · Enrolled 51
  • Fall 1999Applied 83 · Admitted 73 · Enrolled 37
  • Fall 1998Applied 97 · Admitted 90 · Enrolled 55
  • Fall 1997Applied 90 · Admitted 83 · Enrolled 47
  • Fall 1996Applied 91 · Admitted 82 · Enrolled 49
  • Fall 1995Applied 98 · Admitted 90 · Enrolled 50
  • Fall 1994Applied 74 · Admitted 69 · Enrolled 35

Campus records · fall 2025

  • BerkeleyApplied 251 · Admitted 30 · Enrolled 20
  • DavisApplied 265 · Admitted 68 · Enrolled 9
  • IrvineApplied 243 · Admitted 52 · Enrolled 6
  • Los AngelesApplied 261 · Admitted 23 · Enrolled 8
  • MercedApplied 92 · Admitted 91 · Enrolled Masked
  • RiversideApplied 119 · Admitted 107 · Enrolled 5
  • San DiegoApplied 281 · Admitted 57 · Enrolled 17
  • Santa BarbaraApplied 270 · Admitted 80 · Enrolled 10
  • Santa CruzApplied 222 · Admitted 170 · Enrolled 24

Do not add campus application or admission counts: a student may appear at multiple campuses.

Courses and opportunities

What could my child study here?

AP course authorizations

College Board AP Course Audit Ledger · 2025 - 2026. Authorization does not confirm this term’s schedule, access or enrollment.

Math & Computer Science 4
  • Calculus AB
  • Calculus BC
  • Computer Science A
  • Statistics
Sciences 6
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Environmental Science
  • Physics 1
  • Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism
  • Physics C: Mechanics
English 2
  • English Language and Composition
  • English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science 6
  • European History
  • Macroeconomics
  • Psychology
  • U.S. Government and Politics
  • United States History
  • World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures 5
  • Chinese Language and Culture
  • French Language and Culture
  • Japanese Language and Culture
  • Spanish Language and Culture
  • Spanish Literature and Culture
Arts 3
  • 2-D Art and Design
  • 3-D Art and Design
  • Drawing
AP Capstone 1
  • Seminar

Courses, access and preparation

AP course or exam pathway qualifiers
400 of 475 Prepared students · 84.2%

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI, all students · 584 eligible students. Cohort includes the current four-year graduation cohort and only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Qualifies through two AP exams scored 3+, two AP courses completed with C− or better, or a qualifying combination in different subjects. Share among Prepared students, not all exam takers or course authorizations.

Career pathway: CCI CTE+ qualifiers
114 students

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI: completed a CTE pathway with C− or better in its capstone plus an additional criterion. Not all CTE completers or a list of courses offered.

Dual enrollment (historical)
31 students · offered

2020-21

Source and what this counts

Federal Civil Rights Data Collection historical snapshot, not confirmation of current availability.

Ask before choosing courses

Which courses will run when my child attends, what prerequisites apply, and how do students get support entering advanced or career pathways?

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

9 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
10in 100 at the average Mountain View-Los Altos Union High school22in 100 at the average California high school

198 of 2,221 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school9 in 100
at the average Mountain View-Los Altos Union High school10 in 100
at the average California high school22 in 100
1.1%of students were suspended at least once (25 of 2,265), 2024–25
1.1%at the average Mountain View-Los Altos Union High school3.2%at the average California high school

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grade 11 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

65 English · 67 math tested

English48% / 49%
Math24% / 21%

White

141 English · 143 math tested

English84% / 68%
Math73% / 42%

Asian

138 English · 139 math tested

English91% / 80%
Math91% / 67%

Hispanic or Latino

106 English · 108 math tested

English57% / 49%
Math32% / 19%

Two or more races

62 tested per subject

English94% / 67%
Math84% / 42%

Students with disabilities

35 tested per subject

English46% / 18%
Math23% / 6%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrade 11 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Mountain View-Los Altos Union Highvs California
Low-income · 65 tested in English, 67 in math
English48%−149%−149%
Math24%−125%+321%
White · 141 tested in English, 143 in math
English84%+282%+1668%
Math73%073%+3142%
Asian · 138 tested in English, 139 in math
English91%−192%+1180%
Math91%091%+2467%
Hispanic or Latino · 106 tested in English, 108 in math
English57%+354%+849%
Math32%+329%+1319%
Two or more races · 62 tested
English94%+589%+2767%
Math84%+282%+4242%
Students with disabilities · 35 tested
English46%−147%+2818%
Math23%−326%+176%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Mountain View-Los Altos Union High, and across California. ■ Green: a group that is behind statewide does much better here, by 10 points or more and more than twice the margin of error.

Filipino students and English learners: fewer than 30 tested here. No published rate here for Black or African American, American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander, homeless and military-family students and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

Students with disabilities here did far better than the same group statewide.

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Mountain View High in Mountain View, 47.7% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 48.5% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Mountain View High’s rate for low-income students trails its district average by 0.9 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (23.9% met or exceeded the Math standard); White students (84.4% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 80.1 percentage points: English learners in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 65 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. White: 34%2. Asian: 28%3. Hispanic or Latino: 22%4. Two or more races: 12%5. Filipino: 2%6. Black or African American: 1%7. Pacific Islander: <1%Unallocated share: <1%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. White34%
  2. Asian28%
  3. Hispanic or Latino22%
  4. Two or more races12%
  5. Filipino2%
  6. Black or African American1%
  7. Pacific Islander<1%
  8. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  9. Not reported—
  10. Unallocated share<1%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
White34%
Asian28%
Hispanic or Latino22%
Two or more races12%
Filipino2%
Black or African American1%
Pacific Islander<1%
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Not reported—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

1 in 8 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (13%, 277 of 2,187). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers134
Average experience16 years
First-year teachers1%
94% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 94.02%: 114.4 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 121.7 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

Getting in

Ask Mountain View-Los Altos Union High which school serves your address.

mvhs.mvla.net

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
3535 Truman Avenue, Mountain View 94040

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. How do you support kids who arrive ahead, and kids who arrive behind?
  2. Which courses and career pathways are running this year, and who can enroll?
  3. How do counselors help students plan for college, training or work?
  4. What support is available when a student falls behind on graduation requirements?

Call (650) 940-4602 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Nearby high schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar high schools2025 statewide percentile
  • El Segundo HighEl Segundo Unified · 1,232 enrolled · 12.7% meal eligibility91stStrong
  • Valencia HighWilliam S. Hart Union High · 2,286 enrolled · 12.7% meal eligibility86thStrong
  • West Ranch HighWilliam S. Hart Union High · 1,777 enrolled · 12.5% meal eligibility95thStrong
  • Del Oro HighPlacer Union High · 1,634 enrolled · 12.9% meal eligibility91stStrong
  • Oak Park HighOak Park Unified · 1,483 enrolled · 12.4% meal eligibility98thStrong
  • Palo Alto HighPalo Alto Unified · 1,891 enrolled · 13.3% meal eligibility98thStrong
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 4.7–20.7% meal eligibility and 1,094–4,374 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is Mountain View High a good high school?
Mountain View High is in the 95th percentile (Strong) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. Its Scope Score is 82 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In 2024–25, 95% of the class graduated in four years (554 of 584); across California, 89%. The Scope Score combines 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate, exceeded standard, college/career readiness, met or exceeded the standard, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Mountain View High's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 80% of students tested in grade 11 met or exceeded the English standard and 69% the math standard; 57% and 52% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 57% and 30% met or exceeded, 27% and 14% exceeded. 463 students were tested in English and 468 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does Mountain View High rank in California?
Mountain View High is in the 95th percentile of 1,500 California comprehensive high schools (Strong, 2025). Mountain View High ranks #69 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Mountain View High?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 8.9% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 198 chronically absent of 2,221 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 1.1%; 25 unduplicated suspended students of 2,265 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 9.6%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 1.2%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Mountain View High compare to other schools in Mountain View?
Mountain View High is in the 95th percentile (Strong) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 2,187 students. Use the schools in Mountain View page or the map view to compare nearby high schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Mountain View High?
At Mountain View High in Mountain View, 47.7% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 48.5% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Mountain View High’s rate for low-income students trails its district average by 0.9 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (23.9% met or exceeded the Math standard); White students (84.4% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 80.1 percentage points: English learners in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 65 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Mountain View High?
Mountain View High had own-school AP authorizations for 27 of the 40 subjects in the College Board's 2025–26 AP program: 2-D Art and Design, 3-D Art and Design, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Chinese Language and Culture, Computer Science A, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, European History, French Language and Culture, Japanese Language and Culture, Macroeconomics, Physics 1, Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism, Physics C: Mechanics, Psychology, Seminar, Spanish Language and Culture, Spanish Literature and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. The audit records authorization, not whether a section ran that year or how students performed on AP exams. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Mountain View High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 99 Mountain View High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

Mountain View High is ranked #69 statewide.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate94.9%92.9%25%
Exceeded standard54.7%20.3%22%
CCI overall Prepared81.3%51.7%20%
Met or exceeded74.4%43.8%18%
Chronic absenteeism9.6%22.7%5%
Suspension rate1.2%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)20.2%17.8%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.9% · index 59 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 20.3% · index 93 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
CCI overall Prepared
↑ vs CA 51.7% · index 73 on SchoolScope's high-school calibration scale; the state rate above is CDE's statewide student rate, not this school-model index
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.8% · index 78 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 22.7% · index 67 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.8pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 61 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · → no change vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 17.8% · index 57 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1146357%23%13%7%80%+32

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1146852%17%13%18%69%+45

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 11 · ELA51382.1%
2024 · Grade 11 · Math51369.2%
2023 · Grade 11 · ELA48885.3%
2023 · Grade 11 · Math48469.4%
2022 · Grade 11 · ELA36584.1%
2022 · Grade 11 · Math35672.8%
2019 · Grade 11 · ELA42882.9%
2019 · Grade 11 · Math42371.4%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide47536%30%29%4%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged6547.7%−1−1
White14184.4%+2+17
Asian13891.3%−1+12
Nearest high schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Susp
Mountain View High ←—8295th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202554.7%74.4%1.2%
Homestead High1.8 mi7892nd percentile · Strong · statewide · 202549.9%71.3%1.8%
Fremont High1.9 mi6575th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202535.8%56.8%2.0%
California average—57School average · no percentile20.3%43.8%3.3%
Alta Vista Highscored within its class, not statewide0.3 mi2771st percentile · Solid · within class · 20250.0%20.1%6.0%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders1.4%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$106,025 – $205,547
Average high school principal salary$288,870
Superintendent salary$350,000

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025: 82/100. Earlier scores are shown under the legacy model. The score models differ, so their results do not form one trend.

MeasureSource record
This school · CCI overall PreparedCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · all students in the current four-year graduation cohort, plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Overall CCI Prepared rate 81.3% · numerator 475 students classified Prepared · denominator 584 CCI students.
California · CCI overall PreparedCDE statewide CCI cohort · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · overall Prepared rate 51.7% · numerator 257,567 students classified Prepared · denominator 497,814 CCI students.
AP pathway among CCI Prepared studentsCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) ·AP pathway rate 84.2% · AP-pathway numerator 400 · denominator 475 (CCI Prepared students).This measure uses Prepared students as its denominator, not the whole CCI cohort; it is not an AP exam-taking rate or a count of AP courses offered. That cohort includes all students in the current four-year graduation cohort plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. In 2025 the pathway accepts two qualifying AP exams, two qualifying AP courses, or a combination of one of each in different subjects.

CDE's overall Prepared rate is this version's 20% high-school college-readiness score factor. The school rate is 475 of 584 CCI students, not the AP-only pathway or A–G completion rate. The California figure is CDE's statewide CCI student cohort, not an average of SchoolScope's comparable high schools or the SchoolScope school-rank pool.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201986/10097#41California comprehensive high schools · 1,512 schools
202286/10097#35California comprehensive high schools · 1,599 schools
202386/10097#39California comprehensive high schools · 1,633 schools
202486/10097#35California comprehensive high schools · 1,641 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

The legacy high-school model uses 2024–25 graduation records. Its readiness input uses the 2025 AP pathway share among Prepared students when available; otherwise it uses 2024–25 A-G completion. A reported zero remains zero. These inputs do not describe graduation or readiness in the earlier assessment years. The newer 2025 model instead uses CDE's overall Prepared rate.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 10.8% → 2025 · 8.9% · −1.9pp
Suspension rate2024 · 1.1% → 2025 · 1.1% · +0.0pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA46357.5%80.1%
2025 · Math46851.9%68.6%
2024 · ELA51362.2%82.1%
2024 · Math51350.7%69.2%
2023 · ELA48859.0%85.3%
2023 · Math48449.8%69.4%
2022 · ELA36559.5%84.1%
2022 · Math35650.8%72.8%
2019 · ELA42861.5%82.9%
2019 · Math42351.3%71.4%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

Graduation Rate
94.9%
AP pathway among Prepared
84.2%
2025 CDE CCI cohort · AP courses, exams, or both; share of students already Prepared, not course offerings
A-G Completion
83.2%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
82.9%

These source periods and populations differ: graduation uses an adjusted cohort, while A-G completion and college-going use separately reported groups. The rates are shown individually, without a shared performance tier.

YearExcMet+AbsentSusp
201956.4%77.2%8.7%2.2%
202255.1%78.4%12.7%1.6%
202354.4%77.3%11.9%1.4%
202456.4%75.6%11.4%1.2%
202554.7%74.4%9.6%1.2%

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female8.2%9.6%+1.4pp
Male7.9%8.0%+0.1pp
Asian3.1%5.0%+1.9pp
Black/African American5.7%9.4%+3.7pp
Filipino5.5%4.1%-1.4pp
Hispanic/Latino15.8%14.6%-1.2pp
Two or More Races7.3%10.0%+2.7pp
White6.4%8.2%+1.8pp
Students with Disabilities15.4%17.3%+1.9pp
English Learners22.7%23.8%+1.1pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged18.2%15.2%-3.0pp
All Students8.1%8.9%+0.8pp
Pacific Islander—18.2%—
Homeless—32.4%—

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

UC admissions, universitywideFollow separately reported UC application, admission and enrollment counts.2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledMean GPA (applied)Mean GPA (admitted)Mean GPA (enrolled)
2025341254993.943.994.07
20243342481093.954.024.13
2023330239893.964.004.11
2022309204844.034.134.21
2021261170683.944.044.16
2020234178783.913.964.00
2019252156623.873.994.08
2018228155693.854.004.02
2017204144683.903.994.05
2016217184933.903.964.02
2015198131543.884.024.10
2014215148603.783.944.02

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. GPA is each group's mean weighted, capped high-school GPA for 10th/11th-grade college-preparatory courses. SchoolScope leaves GPA unavailable when several CEEB codes contribute rather than combining their means. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here. Complete, matching counts can support a historical descriptive rate, but do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances. Series shown from 2014.

UC admissions by campusInspect campus records without adding overlapping populations.latest falls on file
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20252513020
Berkeley20242303528
Berkeley20232192715
Berkeley20221962310
Berkeley20211513218
Davis2025265689
Davis2024258385
Davis20232528524
Davis20222077210
Davis2021181667
Irvine2025243526
Irvine2024240319
Irvine2023235263
Irvine2022203213
Irvine2021172314
Los Angeles2025261238
Los Angeles20242572210
Los Angeles2023241189
Los Angeles20222322412
Los Angeles2021198206
Merced20259291masked
Merced20247876masked
Merced202359573
Merced202251484
Merced202148473
Riverside20251191075
Riverside20241381128
Riverside2023105764
Riverside2022101639
Riverside202181586
San Diego20252815717
San Diego2024271417
San Diego202324629masked
San Diego2022235273
San Diego2021205313
Santa Barbara20252708010
Santa Barbara20242627418
Santa Barbara20232586522
Santa Barbara20222579124
Santa Barbara20212216215
Santa Cruz202522217024
Santa Cruz202423513723
Santa Cruz20232241277
Santa Cruz2022182659
Santa Cruz2021155726
Universitywide202534125499
Universitywide2024334248109
Universitywide202333023989
Universitywide202230920484
Universitywide202126117068

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. Campus totals are not interchangeable with Universitywide; students can apply to several campuses. Universitywide is separately reported; never derive it by adding campus rows. Universitywide applicant and admit counts are unduplicated. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here; these records do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances.

AP course catalogCheck course authorizations and distinguish outside providers.2025 - 2026
SubjectAuthorization recorded for
2-D Art and Designthis school
3-D Art and Designthis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Chinese Language and Culturethis school
Computer Science Athis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
European Historythis school
French Language and Culturethis school
Japanese Language and Culturethis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Physics 1this school
Physics C: Electricity and Magnetismthis school
Physics C: Mechanicsthis school
Psychologythis school
Seminarthis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Spanish Literature and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotInspect the dated federal advanced-coursework snapshot.dated historical snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count26
AP enrollment1,102
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 31 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections2
Physics sections17
Chemistry sections19
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,252

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

College destinationsRead the completion cohort and its reported college destinations.class of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California8414.9%
California State University6912.3%
California community college10318.3%
In-state private447.8%
Out-of-state, 4-year16429.1%
Out-of-state, 2-year30.5%
Not enrolled9617.1%

563 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 83% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · an unavailable or suppressed cell is marked as missing; a reported zero remains distinct · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$24,044 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 4,563 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$605 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 2,187

Central federal expenditures attributed here$270 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 2,187

District current expense · FY 2024–25$35,105 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 60%Instruction support 11%Student services 10%Administration 10%Buildings & maintenance 7%Other 2%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$24,044 per pupil
2020$21,936 per pupil
2019$23,203 per pupil
2018$20,860 per pupil
2017$19,911 per pupil
12ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 94040
ShowHide table 12 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 94040
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$187,781
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)78.30%
ZCTA population35,632
Median age35.6 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/mountain-view-high-4728"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Mountain View High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,500 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · UC fall first-year source records — masked = no numeric bound; + = partial observed count; Universitywide separately reported · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction