ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Charter high school

Oxford Day Academy

East Palo Alto, CA · Grades 9-12 · 108 students · San Mateo County Office of Education

The scores are below where anyone wants them. Here's what they don't tell you.

12% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 13% in math. 57.1% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

DistrictSan Mateo County Office of Education
PrincipalLatrice Bennett
Grades9-12
Enrollment108 students

Math

13%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

12%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

108

Total enrollment

Graduation

57.1%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2022: 0%2024: 0%2025: 13%2022: 13%2024: 6%2025: 12%20222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2022: 0%2024: 0%2025: 13%2022: 13%2024: 6%2025: 12%2022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
20220%13%
2023——
20240%6%
202513%12%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2022 to 2025

Has stayed near the 1st percentile since 2022.

Most rating sites would stop at “12% proficient” and call it done. Oxford Day Academy deserves a closer read. Two-thirds of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Test scores are one lens, and at this school they're a rough one right now. The sections below show the fuller picture — including the parts that are working.

As a charter, Oxford Day Academy enrolls by application rather than address. That changes how you get in, but it doesn't change the score.

17 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Oxford Day Academy scores 24 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 1st percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2022 · 1st percentile · Scope Score 22 of 1002024 · 1st percentile · Scope Score 22 of 1002025 · 1st percentile · Scope Score 24 of 100
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade202220242025
Grade 1113%6%12%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade202220242025
Grade 110%0%13%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in ten of students here meet the standard. 3% clear it by a lot.

ELA12% met or exceeded
Exceeded 0%Met 12%Nearly Met 6%Not Met 82%
Math13% met or exceeded
Exceeded 6%Met 6%Nearly Met 13%Not Met 75%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2022–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school243%12%57.1%23.1%16.9%2.6%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope2454
% Exceeded3%20%
% Met+12%43%
Grad rate57.1%92.5%
College readiness23.1%43.0%
Absence16.9%23.1%
Suspension2.6%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

How every group of students does here

At Oxford Day Academy in East Palo Alto, 6.3% of hispanic students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 and 38.8% statewide. Other subgroups: Hispanic students (6.7% Math proficient). Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 16 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 12% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 12%, district —, state 43%12%
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 6%, district —, state 32%6% · −6 vs school

6 of 8 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic87.5% AP · 91.2% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
Asian0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 1.0% enroll.
Black12.5% AP · 7.8% enroll.
White0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
Two or more races0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
English learners6.3% AP · 34.3% enroll.
Students with disabilities12.5% AP · 10.8% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

52%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 14 of 27 completers · includes community colleges

27Completers
37%
Other colleges10 completers · Outside the California community college system
15%
California community colleges4 completers · Enrolled within a year
48%
Not recorded enrolled13 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

52%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Oxford Day Academy's class of 2023, 52% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 27 completers, 52% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 1 (4%)California State University 9 (33%)California community college 4 (15%)In-state private 0 (0%)Out-of-state, 4-year 0 (0%)Out-of-state, 2-year 0 (0%)Not enrolled 13 (48%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history
Applied9fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted9
Enrolled‹3
ShowHide the UC campus list
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Berkeley ‹3Davis ‹3Merced ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 52% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (4) than at UC (1).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 54 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Students per teacher54 · district 34
Teaching staff3 teachers
Avg. experience5.7 years
Fully credentialed22%
Intern / emergency permit18.2%
PrincipalLatrice Bennett
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$58,893 – $140,753
Principal salary$191,424 – $191,424
Superintendent salary$260,000

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP courses offered4 (CCI)
AP exam qualifiers3 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 16.9%, district 16.9%, state 23.1%16.9% · −6.2pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 2.6%, district —, state 3.3%2.6% · −0.6pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Two-thirds of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 108 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

Hispanic or Latino99.1% · district 82.4% · CA 56.1%
Other0.9% · district 8.6% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch66.7% · CA 64%
Median income$152K · CA $85K
Median home value$1.83M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+49% · CA 35%
ZIP population46,879
Median age40 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Oxford Day AcademyCharterNeeds Support3%12%School being viewed
Palo Alto HighPublicStrong55%75%2.1 mi
Menlo-Atherton HighPublicStrong39%60%2.0 mi
KIPP Esperanza HighCharterSolid16%40%0.4 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in East Palo Alto →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

20 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check enrollment with this charter school

Ask the school about applications, priorities and deadlines for your child’s grade.

School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Charter enrollment details

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what changed in the last two years, and what the school is asking families for. Growth shows up in these numbers a year or two after it shows up in classrooms.

  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Oxford Day Academy a good high school?
Oxford Day Academy has a Scope Score of 24 out of 100, placing it in the 1st percentile of California high schools and ranked #1,630 statewide. 3.1% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 16.7 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Oxford Day Academy's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 12.1% of students at Oxford Day Academy met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 3.1% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 9.0% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 3.1% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 33 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Oxford Day Academy rank in California?
Oxford Day Academy ranks #1,630 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 1st percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Oxford Day Academy?
16.9% of students at Oxford Day Academy are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 2.6%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Oxford Day Academy compare to other schools in East Palo Alto?
Oxford Day Academy scores 24/100 (1st percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 108 students. Use the schools in East Palo Alto page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Oxford Day Academy serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Oxford Day Academy in East Palo Alto, 6.3% of hispanic students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 and 38.8% statewide. Other subgroups: Hispanic students (6.7% Math proficient). Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 16 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
How many students from Oxford Day Academy go to UC?
UC masks this number for Oxford Day Academy — fewer than three enrollees in fall 2025 — a privacy protection for small cohorts, not a signal about the school. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center).

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 6 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate57.1%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard3.1%19.8%22%
College readiness23.1%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded12.1%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism16.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate2.6%3.3%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Oxford Day Academy: reading the evidence

Oxford Day Academy posts low test scores — and attendance holds near the state average — families haven't checked out. If this is your zoned school, the numbers below are where to start a conversation, not where to end one.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Oxford Day Academy is ranked #1,630 statewide.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate57.1%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard3.1%19.8%22%
College readiness23.1%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded12.1%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism16.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate2.6%3.3%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 18 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 38 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 44 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 34 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 61 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 2.4pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 54 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 0.5pp higher vs 2024
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11170%12%6%82%12%−37
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11166%6%13%75%13%−11

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Hispanic/Latino166.3%—−33
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Oxford Day Academy ←—243.1%12.1%2.6%
Palo Alto High2.1 mi8855.0%74.8%1.3%
Menlo-Atherton High2 mi7039.5%60.1%3.1%
KIPP Esperanza High0.4 mi5616.3%40.0%9.0%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
57.1%
AP Exam Prepared
23.1%
A-G Completion
85.0%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
51.9%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
2022221#15830.0%6.5%17.6%1.7%
2024221#16310.0%3.1%19.3%2.1%
2025241#16303.1%12.1%16.9%2.6%
05UC admissions, universitywide2021–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 05 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
202599‹34.024.02—
202463‹33.67——
202399‹33.753.75—
20221110‹33.613.69—
20219643.573.68—

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

06UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20256‹3‹3
Berkeley20245‹3‹3
Berkeley20236‹3‹3
Berkeley20229‹3‹3
Davis20256‹3‹3
Davis20239‹3‹3
Davis20227‹3‹3
Los Angeles20235‹3‹3
Los Angeles20215‹3‹3
Merced202599‹3
Merced202377‹3
Merced2022109‹3
Merced202166‹3
Riverside20216‹3‹3
Santa Cruz20227‹3‹3
Santa Cruz20216‹3‹3
Universitywide202599‹3
Universitywide202463‹3
Universitywide202399‹3
Universitywide20221110‹3
Universitywide2021964

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

07Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 07 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count2
AP enrollment16
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sectionsnot reported
Physics sections2
Chemistry sections2
Total enrollment (CRDC)102

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

08College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 08 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California13.7%
California State University933.3%
California community college414.8%
In-state private00.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year00.0%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled1348.1%

27 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 52% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/oxford-day-academy-5269"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Oxford Day Academy — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Oxford Day Academy

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.