ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Rio Americano High

Sacramento, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,891 students · San Juan Unified

High scores, healthy climate, strong attendance. We looked for a catch — we didn't find one.

65% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 35% in math. 95.2% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

Math

35%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

65%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,891

Total enrollment

Graduation

95.2%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 43%2022: 37%2023: 42%2024: 32%2025: 35%2019: 59%2022: 60%2023: 70%2024: 52%2025: 65%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 43%2022: 37%2023: 42%2024: 32%2025: 35%2019: 59%2022: 60%2023: 70%2024: 52%2025: 65%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201943%59%
202237%60%
202342%70%
202432%52%
202535%65%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has held the 72nd-percentile line every tested year since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “50% proficient” and call it done. Rio Americano deserves a closer read. One in three of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Rio Americano's low-income kids hit 50.0% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

448 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Rio Americano High scores 61 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 72nd percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Proficiency here is back to its pre-pandemic level — 50% meet the standard, about where the school stood in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 75th percentile · Scope Score 64 of 1002022 · 78th percentile · Scope Score 63 of 1002023 · 85th percentile · Scope Score 68 of 1002024 · 71st percentile · Scope Score 60 of 1002025 · 72nd percentile · Scope Score 61 of 100
ELAGreen(Increased Significantly)MathGreen(Increased)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1159%60%70%52%65%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1143%37%42%32%35%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Two in five of students here meet the standard. One in five clear it by a lot.

ELA65% met or exceeded
Exceeded 29%Met 35%Nearly Met 14%Not Met 21%
Math35% met or exceeded
Exceeded 15%Met 20%Nearly Met 28%Not Met 38%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school6122%50%95.2%75.2%22.0%5.2%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope6154
% Exceeded22%20%
% Met+50%43%
Grad rate95.2%92.5%
College readiness75.2%43.0%
Absence22.0%23.1%
Suspension5.2%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

50.0% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 50% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 50%, district —, state 43%50%
WhiteWhite: this school 56%, district 41%, state 56%56% · +6 vs school
MaleMale: this school 50%, district 33%, state 42%50% · +0 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 49%, district 35%, state 44%49% · −1 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 37%, district 24%, state 32%37% · −13 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 46%, district 28%, state 32%46% · −4 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 2%, district 6%, state 11%2% · −48 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 36%, district 25%, state 72%36% · −14 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 54%, district 41%, state 56%54% · +4 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 19%, district 13%, state 15%19% · −31 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: this school 20%, district 15%, state 26%20% · −30 vs school
HomelessHomeless: too few students to report‹11
FilipinoFilipino: too few students to report‹11
Pacific IslanderPacific Islander: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic16.7% AP · 19.5% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.3% AP · 0.7% enroll.
Asian8.9% AP · 7.6% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.3% AP · 0.4% enroll.
Black2.0% AP · 3.5% enroll.
White66.1% AP · 61.9% enroll.
Two or more races5.6% AP · 6.4% enroll.
English learners0.8% AP · 6.0% enroll.
Students with disabilities0.7% AP · 8.5% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

89%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 355 of 399 completers · includes community colleges

399Completers
45%
Other colleges178 completers · Outside the California community college system
44%
California community colleges177 completers · Enrolled within a year
11%
Not recorded enrolled44 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

89%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Rio Americano's class of 2023, 89% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 399 completers, 89% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 25 (6%)California State University 78 (20%)California community college 177 (44%)In-state private 20 (5%)Out-of-state, 4-year 55 (14%)Out-of-state, 2-year 0 (0%)Not enrolled 44 (11%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 46 of Rio Americano's 397 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Davis the most common landing, with 16 enrollees.

Applied120fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted91
Enrolled46
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Davis 16Santa Barbara 8Santa Cruz 8Berkeley 4Los Angeles 3Irvine ‹3Merced ‹3Riverside ‹3San Diego ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 49 enrolled, 2024

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 89% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (177) than at UC (25).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 24 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Rio Americano's teachers are authorized to teach 22 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics 1.

Students per teacher24 · district 23
Teaching staff78 teachers
Avg. experience13.1 years
Fully credentialed88%
First-year teachers12%
Intern / emergency permit0.8%
PrincipalCliff Kelly
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$60,000 – $118,000
Principal salary$153,210 – $185,821
Superintendent salary$392,080

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers182 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers43 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught22
ShowHide the 22 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (3)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science Principles
Sciences (4)Biology · Chemistry · Environmental Science · Physics 1
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (6)European History · Macroeconomics · Microeconomics · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (2)French Language and Culture · Spanish Language and Culture
Arts (3)2-D Art and Design · 3-D Art and Design · Drawing
AP Capstone (2)Research · Seminar

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended more, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 22.0%, district 22.7%, state 23.1%22.0% · −1.0pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 5.2%, district —, state 3.3%5.2% · +1.9pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1221.7%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $17,232 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$292 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $17,232, CA average $14,491$17,232 · spent at this school
Federal share$292 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$19,542 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 59%Instruction support 16%Student services 8%Administration 8%Buildings & maintenance 8%Other 1%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$12,962 per pupil
2019$12,705 per pupil
2018$13,148 per pupil
2017$11,096 per pupil
2016$10,446 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

One in three of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 38% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino17.9% · district 26.4% · CA 56.1%
White57.7% · district 45.5% · CA 19.9%
Asian12.0% · district 11.7% · CA 10.2%
Black3.5% · district 5.9% · CA 4.8%
Other8.9% · district 10.5% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch39.9% · CA 64%
Median income$128K · CA $85K
Median home value$810K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+60% · CA 35%
ZIP population25,500
Median age45 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Rio Americano HighPublicSolid22%50%School being viewed
El Camino Fundamental HighPublicDeveloping12%35%2.2 mi
George Washington Carver School of Arts and SciencCharterNeeds Support8%32%2.3 mi
Rosemont HighPublicNeeds Support7%23%2.6 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Sacramento →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

12 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with San Juan Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Elementary · K–5

Gold River Discovery Center K-8Published boundary overlapScope Score 43/100
Cambridge Heights ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 44/100
Cameron Ranch ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 23/100
Carmichael ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 27/100
Cottage ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 21/100
James R. Cowan Fundamental ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 47/100
Coyle Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 14/100
Del Dayo ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 43/100
Del Paso Manor ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 30/100
Mary Deterding ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 46/100
Harry Dewey Fundamental ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 32/100
Dyer-Kelly ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 9/100
Thomas Edison Language Institute K-8Published boundary overlapScope Score 26/100
Greer ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 20/100
Howe Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 9/100
Thomas Kelly ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 14/100
Mariemont ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 50/100
Mission Avenue Open ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 35/100
Pasadena Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 22/100
Charles Peck ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 19/100
Albert Schweitzer ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 26/100
Skycrest ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 28/100
Whitney Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 13/100

Middle · 6–8

High school · 9–12

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Rio Americano High a good high school?
Rio Americano High has a Scope Score of 61 out of 100, placing it in the 72nd percentile of California high schools and ranked #463 statewide. 22.1% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 2.3 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Rio Americano High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 49.8% of students at Rio Americano High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 22.1% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 27.6% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 22.1% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 888 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Rio Americano High rank in California?
Rio Americano High ranks #463 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 72nd percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Rio Americano High?
22.0% of students at Rio Americano High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 5.2%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Rio Americano High compare to other schools in Sacramento?
Rio Americano High scores 61/100 (72nd percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,891 students. Use the schools in Sacramento page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Rio Americano High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Rio Americano High in Sacramento, 50.0% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 29.1% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Rio Americano High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 20.9 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (23.4% Math proficient); White students (70.8% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 61.5 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 194 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Rio Americano High?
Rio Americano High's teachers are authorized to teach 22 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, 3-D Art and Design, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Computer Science Principles, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, European History, French Language and Culture, Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, Physics 1, Research, Seminar, Spanish Language and Culture, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Rio Americano High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 46 Rio Americano High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

College readiness carries this score. The test levels clear the state's too.

75.2% of students leave measurably college-ready, versus 43.0% statewide.

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate95.2%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard22.1%19.8%22%
College readiness75.2%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded49.8%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism22.0%23.1%5%
Suspension rate5.2%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)4.9%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Rio Americano High: reading the evidence

Rio Americano posts 22.1% exceeding the standard — versus 19.8% statewide — with climate numbers better than most. That doesn't make it perfect. It makes it worth a visit to find what numbers can't measure.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Rio Americano High is ranked #463 statewide · #1 of 14 in San Juan Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate95.2%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard22.1%19.8%22%
College readiness75.2%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded49.8%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism22.0%23.1%5%
Suspension rate5.2%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)4.9%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 59 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 57 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 74 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 60 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 57 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.6pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 43 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.2pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 31 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1144829%35%14%21%65%+16
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1144015%20%28%38%35%+11

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide47310%29%50%12%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged19450.0%+21+12
White26770.8%+23+9
Hispanic/Latino7463.5%+29+25
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Rio Americano High ←—6122.1%49.8%5.2%
El Camino Fundamental High2.2 mi4912.2%35.3%6.1%
George Washington Carver School of Arts and Scienc2.3 mi457.9%31.6%3.4%
Rosemont High2.6 mi387.5%23.2%16.4%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
95.2%
AP Exam Prepared
75.2%
A-G Completion
56.2%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
89.0%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20196475#38021.3%50.9%13.0%5.7%
20226378#35321.4%48.3%30.3%3.3%
20236885#24629.5%55.7%23.5%5.8%
20246071#46918.0%42.2%22.6%5.4%
20256172#46322.1%49.8%22.0%5.2%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female12.2%22.6%+10.4pp
Male13.1%20.9%+7.8pp
Asian10.0%26.5%+16.5pp
Black/African American23.0%29.9%+6.9pp
Filipino14.3%21.4%+7.1pp
Hispanic/Latino15.4%25.2%+9.8pp
American Indian/Alaska Native15.4%——
Two or More Races16.8%17.2%+0.4pp
White11.0%19.6%+8.6pp
Students with Disabilities23.1%27.5%+4.4pp
English Learners14.1%32.8%+18.7pp
Homeless50.0%54.2%+4.2pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged21.6%27.6%+6.0pp
All Students12.6%21.7%+9.1pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
202512091463.964.034.13
202413889493.944.084.16
202313073273.864.024.06
202210856223.914.054.16
202114280333.824.014.07
20208860273.894.004.04
20197648273.914.044.08
20188046263.854.094.18
20178044223.783.984.05
201610068343.833.974.02
20158849303.743.983.92
201410375313.793.903.86

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20257084
Berkeley2024691410
Berkeley2023646‹3
Berkeley202267103
Berkeley202161116
Davis2025783816
Davis2024793411
Davis202384265
Davis202267183
Davis202183278
Irvine2025568‹3
Irvine2024443‹3
Irvine2023487‹3
Irvine20225893
Irvine2021477‹3
Los Angeles20256563
Los Angeles20246675
Los Angeles2023666‹3
Los Angeles2022617‹3
Los Angeles20217263
Merced20252929‹3
Merced20241918‹3
Merced20231715‹3
Merced20221413‹3
Merced20211714‹3
Riverside20253029‹3
Riverside20241210‹3
Riverside202318153
Riverside2022106‹3
Riverside20211611‹3
San Diego20256513‹3
San Diego202471227
San Diego20236611‹3
San Diego20226893
San Diego2021749‹3
Santa Barbara202580248
Santa Barbara202481275
Santa Barbara202385207
Santa Barbara20227413‹3
Santa Barbara202191143
Santa Cruz202568578
Santa Cruz2024724810
Santa Cruz202369375
Santa Cruz202257155
Santa Cruz2021713911
Universitywide20251209146
Universitywide20241388949
Universitywide20231307327
Universitywide20221085622
Universitywide20211428033

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
3-D Art and Designthis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
European Historythis school
French Language and Culturethis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Microeconomicsthis school
Physics 1this school
Researchthis school
Seminarthis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count20
AP enrollment604
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 5 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections5
Physics sections5
Chemistry sections20
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,942

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California256.3%
California State University7819.6%
California community college17744.4%
In-state private205.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year5513.8%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled4411.0%

399 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 89% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/rio-americano-high-6714"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Rio Americano High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Rio Americano High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.