ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Charter high school

Hawthorne Math and Science Academy

Hawthorne, CA · Grades 9-12 · 567 students · Hawthorne

High scores, healthy climate, strong attendance. We looked for a catch — we didn't find one.

82% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 57% in math. 93.9% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Strong All-Around

What this means for your family

Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

DistrictHawthorne
PrincipalAnakonia Matsumoto
Grades9-12
Enrollment567 students

Math

57%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

82%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

567

Total enrollment

Graduation

93.9%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 73%2022: 53%2023: 43%2024: 51%2025: 57%2019: 95%2022: 88%2023: 81%2024: 85%2025: 82%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 73%2022: 53%2023: 43%2024: 51%2025: 57%2019: 95%2022: 88%2023: 81%2024: 85%2025: 82%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201973%95%
202253%88%
202343%81%
202451%85%
202557%82%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has held the 91st-percentile line every tested year since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “69% proficient” and call it done. Hawthorne Math and Science Academy deserves a closer read. Four in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Hawthorne Math and Science Academy's low-income kids hit 80.9% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

As a charter, Hawthorne Math and Science Academy enrolls by application rather than address. That changes how you get in, but it doesn't change the score.

129 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Hawthorne Math and Science Academy scores 74 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 91st percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 69% meet the standard today, versus 84% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 96th percentile · Scope Score 83 of 1002022 · 91st percentile · Scope Score 73 of 1002023 · 88th percentile · Scope Score 70 of 1002024 · 90th percentile · Scope Score 72 of 1002025 · 91st percentile · Scope Score 74 of 100
ELABlue(Increased)MathGreen(Increased)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1195%88%81%85%82%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1173%53%43%51%57%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Two-thirds of students here meet the standard. One in three clear it by a lot.

ELA82% met or exceeded
Exceeded 48%Met 34%Nearly Met 11%Not Met 7%
Math57% met or exceeded
Exceeded 27%Met 29%Nearly Met 19%Not Met 24%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school7438%69%93.9%69.9%10.5%0.8%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope7454
% Exceeded38%20%
% Met+69%43%
Grad rate93.9%92.5%
College readiness69.9%43.0%
Absence10.5%23.1%
Suspension0.8%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

80.9% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 69% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 69%, district —, state 43%69%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 67%, district 37%, state 32%67% · −2 vs school
MaleMale: this school 70%, district 38%, state 42%70% · +0 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 67%, district 36%, state 32%67% · −2 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 68%, district 38%, state 44%68% · −1 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: this school 68%, district 37%, state 26%68% · −1 vs school

8 of 14 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic67.6% AP · 68.6% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.6% AP · 0.5% enroll.
Asian15.1% AP · 10.8% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.3% enroll.
Black15.1% AP · 15.3% enroll.
White1.7% AP · 3.8% enroll.
Two or more races0.0% AP · 0.7% enroll.
English learners5.0% AP · 8.3% enroll.
Students with disabilities2.2% AP · 4.2% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

96%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 116 of 121 completers · includes community colleges

121Completers
50%
Other colleges60 completers · Outside the California community college system
46%
California community colleges56 completers · Enrolled within a year
4%
Not recorded enrolled5 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

96%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Hawthorne Math and Science Academy's class of 2023, 96% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 121 completers, 96% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 24 (20%)California State University 29 (24%)California community college 56 (46%)In-state private 3 (2%)Out-of-state, 4-year 3 (2%)Out-of-state, 2-year 1 (1%)Not enrolled 5 (4%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 20 of Hawthorne Math and Science Academy's 124 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — San Diego the most common landing, with 6 enrollees.

Applied62fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted45
Enrolled20
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)

6 of 9 campuses are masked below UC's privacy floor — a protection, not a verdict.

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 31 enrolled, 2018

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 96% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (56) than at UC (24).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 24 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Hawthorne Math and Science Academy's teachers are authorized to teach 12 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Computer Science Principles.

Students per teacher24 · district 26
Teaching staff28 teachers
Avg. experience19.4 years
Fully credentialed90%
First-year teachers4%
PrincipalAnakonia Matsumoto
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$62,726 – $132,630
Principal salary$168,381 – $167,122
Superintendent salary$315,195

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers72 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught12
ShowHide the 12 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (4)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science Principles · Precalculus
Sciences (2)Biology · Environmental Science
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (3)U.S. Government and Politics · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (1)Spanish Language and Culture

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 10.5%, district 21.9%, state 23.1%10.5% · −12.6pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 0.8%, district —, state 3.3%0.8% · −2.4pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–128.0%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $16,590 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

$1,068 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $16,590, CA average $14,491$16,590 · spent at this school
Federal share$1,068 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$23,941 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 62%Instruction support 11%Student services 10%Administration 6%Buildings & maintenance 11%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$15,538 per pupil
2019$13,458 per pupil
2018$13,250 per pupil
2017$12,663 per pupil
2016$12,717 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Four in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 567 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 55% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino64.5% · district 71.7% · CA 56.1%
White4.4% · district 2.6% · CA 19.9%
Asian8.8% · district 2.5% · CA 10.2%
Black17.3% · district 18.7% · CA 4.8%
Other4.9% · district 4.5% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch83.1% · CA 64%
Median income$78K · CA $85K
Median home value$875K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+27% · CA 35%
ZIP population93,826
Median age34 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Hawthorne Math and Science AcademyCharterStrong38%69%School being viewed
Lennox Mathematics, Science and Technology AcademyCharterStrong21%55%1.1 mi
Environmental Charter High - LawndaleCharterStrong24%60%2.6 mi
Animo Inglewood Charter HighCharterStrong21%46%3.0 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Hawthorne →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

14 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Hawthorne Math and Science Academy a good high school?
Hawthorne Math and Science Academy has a Scope Score of 74 out of 100, placing it in the 91st percentile of California high schools and ranked #156 statewide. 37.6% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 17.8 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Hawthorne Math and Science Academy's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 69.4% of students at Hawthorne Math and Science Academy met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 37.6% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 31.8% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 37.6% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 258 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Hawthorne Math and Science Academy rank in California?
Hawthorne Math and Science Academy ranks #156 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 91st percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Hawthorne Math and Science Academy?
10.5% of students at Hawthorne Math and Science Academy are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 0.8%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Hawthorne Math and Science Academy compare to other schools in Hawthorne?
Hawthorne Math and Science Academy scores 74/100 (91st percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 567 students. Use the schools in Hawthorne page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Hawthorne Math and Science Academy serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Hawthorne Math and Science Academy in Hawthorne, 80.9% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 41.0% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Hawthorne Math and Science Academy outperforms its district average for low-income students by 39.9 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (53.6% Math proficient); Hispanic students (79.2% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 5.1 percentage points for black students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 110 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Hawthorne Math and Science Academy?
Hawthorne Math and Science Academy's teachers are authorized to teach 12 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Computer Science Principles, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, Precalculus, Spanish Language and Culture, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Hawthorne Math and Science Academy go to UC?
In fall 2025, 20 Hawthorne Math and Science Academy graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

How far the top scorers get carries this score.

37.6% of students scored in the top band on the state test. The California average is 19.8%.

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate93.9%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard37.6%19.8%22%
College readiness69.9%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded69.4%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism10.5%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.8%3.3%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Hawthorne Math and Science Academy: reading the evidence

Hawthorne Math and Science Academy posts 37.6% exceeding the standard — versus 19.8% statewide — with climate numbers better than most. That doesn't make it perfect. It makes it worth a visit to find what numbers can't measure.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Hawthorne Math and Science Academy is ranked #156 statewide.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate93.9%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard37.6%19.8%22%
College readiness69.9%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded69.4%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism10.5%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.8%3.3%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 58 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 73 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 71 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 74 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 66 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.9pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 63 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · → no change vs 2024
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1112948%34%11%7%82%+34
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1112927%29%19%24%57%+33

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide25213%42%41%4%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged11080.9%+40+43
Hispanic/Latino7779.2%+39+40
Black/African American3384.8%+42+52
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Hawthorne Math and Science Academy ←—7437.6%69.4%0.8%
Lennox Mathematics, Science and Technology Academy1.1 mi6820.8%55.4%2.3%
Environmental Charter High - Lawndale2.6 mi6824.2%59.7%0.6%
Animo Inglewood Charter High3 mi6520.9%46.5%0.5%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
93.9%
AP Exam Prepared
69.9%
A-G Completion
81.5%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
95.9%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20198396#5752.8%84.3%4.6%1.4%
20227391#15034.0%70.0%19.6%0.6%
20237088#20130.7%61.9%11.4%1.5%
20247290#16133.5%67.8%11.4%0.9%
20257491#15637.6%69.4%10.5%0.8%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female2.5%8.1%+5.6pp
Male1.5%8.0%+6.5pp
Asian4.9%13.7%+8.8pp
Black/African American1.2%8.0%+6.8pp
Filipino0.0%0.0%+0.0pp
Hispanic/Latino2.3%7.3%+5.0pp
White0.0%7.7%+7.7pp
Students with Disabilities7.7%16.7%+9.0pp
English Learners2.6%13.6%+11.0pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged2.2%8.6%+6.4pp
All Students2.0%8.0%+6.0pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
20256245203.693.823.96
20246846163.643.753.80
20236445253.663.803.90
20228247273.613.813.91
20216848273.643.743.82
20207057183.673.693.78
20196242233.613.763.78
20186745313.523.673.74
20176048293.493.633.67
20164531173.533.693.83
20154925173.213.493.49
20143829193.433.653.76

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley2025336‹3
Berkeley2024284‹3
Berkeley2023334‹3
Berkeley20223887
Berkeley20212463
Davis2025207‹3
Davis20242311‹3
Davis2023175‹3
Davis202228103
Davis2021153‹3
Irvine2025477‹3
Irvine20245711‹3
Irvine20234774
Irvine2022599‹3
Irvine2021532717
Los Angeles20254655
Los Angeles20244155
Los Angeles20234333
Los Angeles20224933
Los Angeles2021413‹3
Merced20251817‹3
Merced202499‹3
Merced20231818‹3
Merced202225195
Merced20211615‹3
Riverside202530244
Riverside202435233
Riverside202330216
Riverside202248213
Riverside20214217‹3
San Diego202542196
San Diego20243714‹3
San Diego202331115
San Diego202237164
San Diego2021398‹3
Santa Barbara2025194‹3
Santa Barbara2024276‹3
Santa Barbara2023263‹3
Santa Barbara2022267‹3
Santa Barbara2021264‹3
Santa Cruz20251611‹3
Santa Cruz20242113‹3
Santa Cruz2023169‹3
Santa Cruz2022239‹3
Santa Cruz2021179‹3
Universitywide2025624520
Universitywide2024684616
Universitywide2023644525
Universitywide2022824727
Universitywide2021684827

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
Precalculusthis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count11
AP enrollment179
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections2
Physics sections5
Chemistry sections5
Total enrollment (CRDC)576

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California2419.8%
California State University2924.0%
California community college5646.3%
In-state private32.5%
Out-of-state, 4-year32.5%
Out-of-state, 2-year10.8%
Not enrolled54.1%

121 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 96% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/hawthorne-math-and-science-academy-0354"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Hawthorne Math and Science Academy — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Hawthorne Math and Science Academy

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.