ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Charter high school

Animo Leadership High

Inglewood, CA · Grades 9-12 · 634 students · Lennox

High scores, healthy climate, strong attendance. We looked for a catch — we didn't find one.

66% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 25% in math. 99.3% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

DistrictLennox
PrincipalDanielle Berger
Grades9-12
Enrollment634 students

Math

25%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

66%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

634

Total enrollment

Graduation

99.3%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 26%2022: 19%2023: 24%2024: 29%2025: 25%2019: 70%2022: 61%2023: 61%2024: 71%2025: 66%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 26%2022: 19%2023: 24%2024: 29%2025: 25%2019: 70%2022: 61%2023: 61%2024: 71%2025: 66%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201926%70%
202219%61%
202324%61%
202429%71%
202525%66%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has held the 80th-percentile line every tested year since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “46% proficient” and call it done. Animo Leadership deserves a closer read. Four in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Animo Leadership's low-income kids hit 66.2% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

As a charter, Animo Leadership enrolls by application rather than address. That changes how you get in, but it doesn't change the score.

152 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Animo Leadership High scores 65 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 80th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Proficiency here is back to its pre-pandemic level — 46% meet the standard, about where the school stood in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 78th percentile · Scope Score 66 of 1002022 · 74th percentile · Scope Score 61 of 1002023 · 76th percentile · Scope Score 64 of 1002024 · 84th percentile · Scope Score 68 of 1002025 · 80th percentile · Scope Score 65 of 100
ELAGreen(Declined Significantly)MathOrange(Maintained)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1170%61%61%71%66%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1126%19%24%29%25%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Two in five of students here meet the standard. One in ten clear it by a lot.

ELA66% met or exceeded
Exceeded 28%Met 38%Nearly Met 21%Not Met 13%
Math25% met or exceeded
Exceeded 7%Met 18%Nearly Met 39%Not Met 36%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school6518%46%99.3%78.0%12.9%0.3%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope6554
% Exceeded18%20%
% Met+46%43%
Grad rate99.3%92.5%
College readiness78.0%43.0%
Absence12.9%23.1%
Suspension0.3%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

66.2% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 46% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 46%, district —, state 43%46%
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 46%, district 37%, state 32%46% · −0 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 45%, district 37%, state 32%45% · −1 vs school
MaleMale: this school 43%, district 35%, state 42%43% · −2 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 49%, district 39%, state 44%49% · +3 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 12%, district 12%, state 15%12% · −34 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 5%, district 10%, state 11%5% · −41 vs school
HomelessHomeless: too few students to report‹11
AsianAsian: too few students to report‹11
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: too few students to report‹11
Pacific IslanderPacific Islander: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic99.1% AP · 98.6% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.5% AP · 0.2% enroll.
Asian0.0% AP · 0.2% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
Black0.5% AP · 0.6% enroll.
White0.0% AP · 0.5% enroll.
Two or more races0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
English learners2.7% AP · 15.2% enroll.
Students with disabilities0.5% AP · 9.5% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

81%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 125 of 155 completers · includes community colleges

155Completers
52%
Other colleges81 completers · Outside the California community college system
28%
California community colleges44 completers · Enrolled within a year
19%
Not recorded enrolled30 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Where the class of 2023 went
81%enrolled in college within a year
  • University of California29 (19%)
  • California State University47 (30%)
  • California community college44 (28%)
  • In-state private2 (1%)
  • Out-of-state, 4-year3 (2%)
  • Not enrolled30 (19%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic

See the full roll →

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 21 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Animo Leadership's teachers are authorized to teach 10 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — including Calculus AB, Biology, and Spanish Language and Culture.

Students per teacher21 · district 21
Teaching staff32 teachers
Avg. experience10.9 years
Fully credentialed97%
PrincipalDanielle Berger
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$62,510 – $119,293
Principal salaryFrom $137,322
Superintendent salary$279,234

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers96 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught10
ShowHide the 10 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (1)Calculus AB
Sciences (1)Biology
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (3)Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History
World Languages & Cultures (2)Spanish Language and Culture · Spanish Literature and Culture
Arts (1)Drawing

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 12.9%, district 17.3%, state 23.1%12.9% · −10.2pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 0.3%, district —, state 3.3%0.3% · −2.9pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

Its district spends $13,999 per student, about the same as the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $13,999, CA average $14,491$13,999 · district average
District current expense · FY 2024–25$22,833 per student
District averageCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 68%Instruction support 10%Student services 6%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 9%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$13,999 per pupil
2019$14,180 per pupil
2018$14,978 per pupil
2017$11,495 per pupil
2016$11,027 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Four in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 634 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 45% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino98.0% · district 95.2% · CA 56.1%
White0.3% · district 0.3% · CA 19.9%
Asian0.2% · district 0.3% · CA 10.2%
Black1.3% · district 2.4% · CA 4.8%
Other0.3% · district 1.9% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch92.7% · CA 64%
Median income$66K · CA $85K
Median home value$756K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+22% · CA 35%
ZIP population36,060
Median age39 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Animo Leadership HighCharterStrong18%46%School being viewed
Hawthorne Math and Science AcademyCharterStrong38%69%1.1 mi
Lennox Mathematics, Science and Technology AcademyCharterStrong21%55%0.3 mi
Animo Inglewood Charter HighCharterStrong21%46%2.0 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Inglewood →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

16 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check enrollment with this charter school

Ask the school about applications, priorities and deadlines for your child’s grade.

School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: proximity. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Charter enrollment details

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Animo Leadership High a good high school?
Animo Leadership High has a Scope Score of 65 out of 100, placing it in the 80th percentile of California high schools and ranked #331 statewide. 17.8% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 2.1 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Animo Leadership High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 45.7% of students at Animo Leadership High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 17.8% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 28.0% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 17.8% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 304 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Animo Leadership High rank in California?
Animo Leadership High ranks #331 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 80th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Animo Leadership High?
12.9% of students at Animo Leadership High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 0.3%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Animo Leadership High compare to other schools in Inglewood?
Animo Leadership High scores 65/100 (80th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 634 students. Use the schools in Inglewood page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Animo Leadership High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Animo Leadership High in Inglewood, 66.2% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 41.5% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Animo Leadership High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 24.7 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (23.9% Math proficient); Hispanic students (66.4% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 42.9 percentage points for disabilities students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 142 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Animo Leadership High?
Animo Leadership High's teachers are authorized to teach 10 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: Biology, Calculus AB, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Spanish Literature and Culture, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

College readiness carries this score. The test levels sit close to the state's.

78.0% of students leave measurably college-ready, versus 43.0% statewide.

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate99.3%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard17.8%19.8%22%
College readiness78.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded45.7%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism12.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.3%3.3%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Animo Leadership High: reading the evidence

Animo Leadership posts 45.7% meeting the standard — versus 43.2% statewide — with climate numbers better than most. That doesn't make it perfect. It makes it worth a visit to find what numbers can't measure.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Animo Leadership High is ranked #331 statewide.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate99.3%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard17.8%19.8%22%
College readiness78.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded45.7%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism12.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.3%3.3%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 64 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 52 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 75 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 57 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 64 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 3.6pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 65 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.3pp lower vs 2024
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1115228%38%21%13%66%+18
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 111527%18%39%36%25%+1

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide1539%36%53%2%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged14266.2%+25+28
Hispanic/Latino14966.4%+24+28
Students with Disabilities1723.5%+12+7
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Animo Leadership High ←6517.8%45.7%0.3%
Hawthorne Math and Science Academy1.1 mi7437.6%69.4%0.8%
Lennox Mathematics, Science and Technology Academy0.3 mi6820.8%55.4%2.3%
Animo Inglewood Charter High2 mi6520.9%46.5%0.5%
California average5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
99.3%
AP Exam Prepared
78.0%
A-G Completion
83.9%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
80.6%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20196678#32918.8%48.0%8.2%2.1%
20226174#41510.9%39.8%21.0%0.5%
20236476#38514.5%42.8%18.0%0.7%
20246884#25621.9%50.0%16.5%0.7%
20256580#33117.8%45.7%12.9%0.3%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 05 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Spanish Literature and Culturethis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

06Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 06 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count7
AP enrollment221
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 33 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections3
Physics sections6
Chemistry sections6
Total enrollment (CRDC)652

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

07College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 07 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California2918.7%
California State University4730.3%
California community college4428.4%
In-state private21.3%
Out-of-state, 4-year31.9%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled3019.4%

155 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 81% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/animo-leadership-high-6313"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Animo Leadership High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Animo Leadership High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.