ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Washington (George) High

San Francisco, CA · Grades 9-12 · 2,068 students · San Francisco Unified

High scores, healthy climate, strong attendance. We looked for a catch — we didn't find one.

69% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 52% in math. 91.7% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Strong All-Around

What this means for your family

Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

PrincipalJohn Schlauraff
Grades9-12
Enrollment2,068 students

Math

52%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

69%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

2,068

Total enrollment

Graduation

91.7%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 55%2022: 55%2023: 58%2024: 58%2025: 52%2019: 65%2022: 72%2023: 75%2024: 79%2025: 69%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 55%2022: 55%2023: 58%2024: 58%2025: 52%2019: 65%2022: 72%2023: 75%2024: 79%2025: 69%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201955%65%
202255%72%
202358%75%
202458%79%
202552%69%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has held the 86th-percentile line every tested year since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “61% proficient” and call it done. Washington (George) deserves a closer read. More than half of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Washington (George)'s low-income kids hit 61.8% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

404 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Washington (George) High scores 68 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 86th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Proficiency here is back to its pre-pandemic level — 61% meet the standard, about where the school stood in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 85th percentile · Scope Score 70 of 1002022 · 88th percentile · Scope Score 71 of 1002023 · 91st percentile · Scope Score 74 of 1002024 · 92nd percentile · Scope Score 75 of 1002025 · 86th percentile · Scope Score 68 of 100
ELAOrange(Declined Significantly)MathGreen(Increased)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1165%72%75%79%69%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1155%55%58%58%52%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Three in five of students here meet the standard. One in four clear it by a lot.

ELA69% met or exceeded
Exceeded 31%Met 38%Nearly Met 19%Not Met 12%
Math52% met or exceeded
Exceeded 26%Met 26%Nearly Met 23%Not Met 25%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school6829%61%91.7%84.1%21.9%1.3%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope6854
% Exceeded29%20%
% Met+61%43%
Grad rate91.7%92.5%
College readiness84.1%43.0%
Absence21.9%23.1%
Suspension1.3%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

61.8% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 60% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 60%, district —, state 43%60%
AsianAsian: this school 67%, district 69%, state 72%67% · +7 vs school
MaleMale: this school 60%, district 49%, state 42%60% · −0 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 60%, district 50%, state 44%60% · +0 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 54%, district 36%, state 32%54% · −6 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 40%, district 22%, state 32%40% · −20 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 54%, district 71%, state 56%54% · −6 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 73%, district 63%, state 56%73% · +12 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 18%, district 19%, state 15%18% · −42 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 20%, district 10%, state 11%20% · −40 vs school
FilipinoFilipino: this school 58%, district 48%, state 65%58% · −3 vs school
HomelessHomeless: this school 57%, district 22%, state 22%57% · −3 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: too few students to report‹11
American Indian/Alaska NativeAmerican Indian/Alaska Native: too few students to report‹11
Pacific IslanderPacific Islander: too few students to report‹11
Foster YouthFoster Youth: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic8.0% AP · 15.0% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native2.3% AP · 1.8% enroll.
Asian70.6% AP · 56.2% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander3.1% AP · 3.8% enroll.
Black1.8% AP · 4.6% enroll.
White10.0% AP · 10.7% enroll.
Two or more races4.2% AP · 7.9% enroll.
English learners8.2% AP · 12.3% enroll.
Students with disabilities2.1% AP · 3.3% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

90%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 425 of 475 completers · includes community colleges

475Completers
58%
Other colleges276 completers · Outside the California community college system
31%
California community colleges149 completers · Enrolled within a year
11%
Not recorded enrolled50 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

90%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Washington (George)'s class of 2023, 90% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 475 completers, 90% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 123 (26%)California State University 113 (24%)California community college 149 (31%)In-state private 20 (4%)Out-of-state, 4-year 18 (4%)Out-of-state, 2-year 2 (0%)Not enrolled 50 (11%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 122 of Washington (George)'s 476 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — San Diego the most common landing, with 28 enrollees.

Applied284fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted235
Enrolled122
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
San Diego 28Davis 26Riverside 16Berkeley 15Santa Cruz 11Los Angeles 9Irvine 8Santa Barbara 6Merced 3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 148 enrolled, 2022

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 90% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (149) than at UC (123).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 22 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Washington (George)'s teachers are authorized to teach 22 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics 1.

Students per teacher22 · district 22
Teaching staff109 teachers
Avg. experience12.9 years
Fully credentialed81%
First-year teachers9%
Intern / emergency permit1.9%
PrincipalJohn Schlauraff
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$69,525 – $131,654
Principal salary$150,963 – $163,648
Superintendent salary$328,879

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers322 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers1 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught22
ShowHide the 22 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (6)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science A · Computer Science Principles · Precalculus · Statistics
Sciences (4)Biology · Chemistry · Environmental Science · Physics 1
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (4)Macroeconomics · Microeconomics · Psychology · United States History
World Languages & Cultures (3)Chinese Language and Culture · Japanese Language and Culture · Spanish Language and Culture
Arts (3)2-D Art and Design · 3-D Art and Design · Drawing

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 21.9%, district 25.8%, state 23.1%21.9% · −1.1pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 1.3%, district —, state 3.3%1.3% · −2.0pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1221.6%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $21,249 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $21,249, CA average $14,491$21,249 · spent at this school
District current expense · FY 2024–25$26,762 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 60%Instruction support 12%Student services 15%Administration 6%Buildings & maintenance 7%Other 1%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$17,416 per pupil
2019$17,139 per pupil
2018$17,228 per pupil
2017$13,640 per pupil
2016$11,532 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

More than half of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 50% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino20.2% · district 36.7% · CA 56.1%
White13.4% · district 13.1% · CA 19.9%
Asian48.0% · district 27.7% · CA 10.2%
Black4.2% · district 7.3% · CA 4.8%
Other14.3% · district 15.1% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch51.8% · CA 64%
Median income$133K · CA $85K
Median home value$1.61M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+65% · CA 35%
ZIP population41,995
Median age45 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Find contact and visit details →

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Washington (George) HighPublicStrong29%61%School being viewed
Lincoln (Abraham) HighPublicStrong30%56%2.2 mi
Independence HighPublicNeeds Support16%42%1.8 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in San Francisco →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

20 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with San Francisco Unified.

District information →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Elementary · K–5

Chin (John Yehall) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 63/100
Alamo ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 66/100
Alvarado ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 49/100
Argonne ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 59/100
Harte (Bret) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 11/100
Bryant ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 25/100
Cleveland ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 22/100
Sloat (Commodore) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 47/100
Lau (Gordon J.) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 59/100
Webster (Daniel) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 45/100
Milk (Harvey) Civil Rights ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 39/100
Taylor (Edward R.) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 34/100
El Dorado ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 11/100
Key (Francis Scott) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 63/100
McCoppin (Frank) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 45/100
Peabody (George) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 71/100
Moscone (George R.) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 23/100
Carver (George Washington) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 12/100
Glen Park ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 35/100
Grattan ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 64/100
Guadalupe ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 25/100
Chavez (Cesar) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 23/100
Hillcrest ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 16/100
Parker (Jean) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 43/100
Jefferson ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 47/100
Feinstein (Dianne) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 45/100
Chinese Immersion School at DeAvilaAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 82/100
San Francisco Public MontessoriAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 30/100
Cobb (William L.) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 21/100
Huerta (Dolores) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 37/100
Garfield ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 42/100
Yick Wo ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 51/100
Muir (John) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 37/100
Ortega (Jose) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 51/100
Serra (Junipero) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 17/100
Lafayette ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 57/100
Flynn (Leonard R.) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 33/100
Longfellow ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 29/100
Marshall ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 15/100
McKinley ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 49/100
Miraloma ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 56/100
Monroe ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 43/100
Parks (Rosa) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 29/100
Redding ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 16/100
Stevenson (Robert Louis) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 71/100
Sanchez ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 17/100
Sheridan ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 23/100
Sherman ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 43/100
Malcolm X AcademyAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 13/100
Spring Valley ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 27/100
King (Thomas Starr) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 59/100
Sunnyside ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 46/100
Sutro ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 56/100
Ulloa ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 57/100
Visitacion Valley ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 18/100
West Portal ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 46/100
Lee (Edwin and Anita) NewcomerAlternative · verify enrollment route
Mission Education CenterAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 11/100
New Traditions ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 65/100
Drew (Charles) College Preparatory AcademyAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 23/100
Sunset ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 71/100
Tenderloin CommunityAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 18/100
Lakeshore Alternative ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 35/100

Middle · 6–8

Giannini (A.P.) MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 63/100
Aptos MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 57/100
Francisco MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 33/100
Hoover (Herbert) MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 51/100
Denman (James) MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 26/100
Lick (James) MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 25/100
Marina MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 47/100
King Jr. (Martin Luther) Academic MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 24/100
Presidio MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 65/100
Roosevelt MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 65/100
Visitacion Valley MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 12/100
Everett MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 12/100
Brown Jr. (Willie L) MiddleAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 42/100
Carmichael (Bessie)/FECAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 14/100
Revere (Paul) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 15/100
Buena Vista/ Horace Mann K-8Alternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 23/100
Rooftop ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 49/100
Lilienthal (Claire) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 69/100
Yu (Alice Fong) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 76/100
Lawton AlternativeAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 73/100
San Francisco Community AlternativeAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 34/100

High school · 9–12

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Washington (George) High a good high school?
Washington (George) High has a Scope Score of 68 out of 100, placing it in the 86th percentile of California high schools and ranked #237 statewide. 28.6% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 8.8 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Washington (George) High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 60.5% of students at Washington (George) High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 28.6% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 31.9% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 28.6% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 841 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Washington (George) High rank in California?
Washington (George) High ranks #237 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 86th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Washington (George) High?
21.9% of students at Washington (George) High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 1.3%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Washington (George) High compare to other schools in San Francisco?
Washington (George) High scores 68/100 (86th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 2,068 students. Use the schools in San Francisco page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Washington (George) High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Washington (George) High in San Francisco, 61.8% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 38.8% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Washington (George) High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 22.9 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (47.0% Math proficient); Asian students (72.7% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 55.7 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 185 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Washington (George) High?
Washington (George) High's teachers are authorized to teach 22 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, 3-D Art and Design, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Chinese Language and Culture, Computer Science A, Computer Science Principles, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, Japanese Language and Culture, Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, Physics 1, Precalculus, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, United States History. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Washington (George) High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 122 Washington (George) High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

College readiness carries this score. The test levels clear the state's too.

84.1% of students leave measurably college-ready, versus 43.0% statewide.

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate91.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard28.6%19.8%22%
College readiness84.1%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded60.5%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism21.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.3%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)19.5%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Washington (George) High: reading the evidence

Washington (George) posts 28.6% exceeding the standard — versus 19.8% statewide — with climate numbers better than most. That doesn't make it perfect. It makes it worth a visit to find what numbers can't measure.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Washington (George) High is ranked #237 statewide · #3 of 18 in San Francisco Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate91.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard28.6%19.8%22%
College readiness84.1%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded60.5%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism21.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.3%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)19.5%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 55 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 64 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 79 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 68 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 57 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 1.8pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 61 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.1pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 18.0% · index 55 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1140431%38%19%12%69%+20
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1143726%26%23%25%52%+28

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide33513%37%47%4%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged18561.8%+23+24
Asian22172.7%+2−2
Hispanic/Latino7252.1%+26+13
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Washington (George) High ←—6828.6%60.5%1.3%
Lincoln (Abraham) High2.2 mi6629.8%55.6%0.8%
Independence High1.8 mi4315.8%41.6%1.6%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
91.7%
AP Exam Prepared
84.1%
A-G Completion
72.5%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
89.5%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20197085#23128.7%60.3%14.5%2.0%
20227188#18728.0%63.9%18.8%1.9%
20237491#15033.8%66.6%19.2%2.0%
20247592#12536.6%68.8%20.1%2.4%
20256886#23728.6%60.5%21.9%1.3%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female15.2%23.6%+8.4pp
Male13.0%20.0%+7.0pp
Asian6.1%10.2%+4.1pp
Black/African American44.6%60.2%+15.6pp
Filipino10.1%17.5%+7.4pp
Hispanic/Latino32.0%38.1%+6.1pp
Two or More Races16.7%18.9%+2.2pp
White15.6%24.7%+9.1pp
Students with Disabilities31.4%35.1%+3.7pp
English Learners26.6%32.9%+6.3pp
Foster Youth50.0%66.7%+16.7pp
Homeless25.0%36.0%+11.0pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged16.4%25.6%+9.2pp
All Students14.1%21.6%+7.5pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
20252842351223.903.954.05
20242832061193.823.934.03
20232962061283.853.954.01
20222922231483.934.034.11
2021242163943.743.904.02
2020186143953.733.853.96
2019217124823.713.923.98
2018251136833.623.803.90
2017233130853.603.803.88
2016214144953.553.733.80
2015190116843.603.863.89
2014194110763.593.803.90

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20252202115
Berkeley20242002016
Berkeley20232162622
Berkeley20222022522
Berkeley20211501711
Davis202523910126
Davis20242438641
Davis20232398137
Davis20222529239
Davis20211957726
Irvine2025213268
Irvine20242032213
Irvine2023203227
Irvine2022233206
Irvine202117583
Los Angeles2025196169
Los Angeles20241787‹3
Los Angeles202319296
Los Angeles2022190147
Los Angeles202116384
Merced20251211183
Merced202456554
Merced2023666110
Merced202270656
Merced202155486
Riverside202513512416
Riverside202485638
Riverside2023865911
Riverside20221088217
Riverside202185553
San Diego20252046628
San Diego2024203205
San Diego2023213269
San Diego20222166120
San Diego20211574320
Santa Barbara2025176576
Santa Barbara2024169284
Santa Barbara2023178235
Santa Barbara2022184283
Santa Barbara2021136174
Santa Cruz202516010811
Santa Cruz202418010926
Santa Cruz202319812221
Santa Cruz20222019328
Santa Cruz20211407617
Universitywide2025284235122
Universitywide2024283206119
Universitywide2023296206128
Universitywide2022292223148
Universitywide202124216394

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
3-D Art and Designthis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Chinese Language and Culturethis school
Computer Science Athis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
Japanese Language and Culturethis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Microeconomicsthis school
Physics 1this school
Precalculusthis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
United States Historythis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count16
AP enrollment612
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 71 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections10
Physics sections8
Chemistry sections22
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,070

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California12325.9%
California State University11323.8%
California community college14931.4%
In-state private204.2%
Out-of-state, 4-year183.8%
Out-of-state, 2-year20.4%
Not enrolled5010.5%

475 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 90% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/washington-george-high-9081"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Washington (George) High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Washington (George) High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.