Public school · Manhattan Beach Unified

Mira Costa High

Manhattan Beach · 9–12 · 2,473 students (2024–25)

95thpercentileStrong

The dots are California’s 1,500 scored public high schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
83 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
In 2024–25, 99% of the class graduated in four years (626 of 634); across California, 89%. Source
Source
CDE four-year adjusted cohort graduation rate (ACGR), 2024–25
Students
students in the four-year graduation cohort: 634
Comparison
California: graduates divided by students in the four-year cohort across 2,281 public schools’ rows (our combination, not CDE’s published state rate; 432,702 of 487,177).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four high schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Sign in to save this school

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How are students doing in English and math?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
50%
Met standard
31%
Below standard
19%

81% met or exceeded · 626 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCalifornia
Exceeded50%27%
Met31%30%
Nearly met12%20%
Not met7%23%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
36%
Met standard
26%
Below standard
38%

62% met or exceeded · 614 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCalifornia
Exceeded36%14%
Met26%16%
Nearly met20%21%
Not met18%49%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Grade 11 tests are one part of the picture. Graduation, preparation and college destinations answer different questions below.

Ask: How do you help students strengthen their skills while keeping graduation and post-school plans on track?

Things worth knowing

Open a finding for the evidence
In grade 11, 81% met or exceeded the standard in English and 62% in math, against 57% and 30% statewide.grade 11 · spring 2025
81%English · met or exceeded the standard62%Math · met or exceeded the standard
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grade 11: 626 in English, 614 in math
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 11 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 432,651 in English and 431,903 in math tested).
1.3% of students (35 of 2,645) were suspended at least once in 2024–25, against 3.2% at the average California high school.2024–25
1.3%of students were suspended at least once, 2024–25
Source
CDE suspension file, 2024–25
Students
all students enrolled during the year (CDE’s cumulative enrollment): 2,645
Comparison
35 of 2,645. The California figure is an average of school rates (1,500 scored California high schools), our calculation.
Hispanic or Latino students here (98 tested in English, 93 in math, grade 11, spring 2025) met or exceeded the standard far more often than Hispanic or Latino students across California in the same grades (49% and 19%).grade 11 · spring 2025
76%English · met or exceeded45%Math · met or exceeded
Source
CDE CAASPP research file, spring 2025
Students
Hispanic or Latino students in grade 11: 98 in English, 93 in math
Comparison
California: the same group in the same grades, CDE’s statewide rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation). Both gaps are more than twice the margin of error for 98 students in English and 93 in math.

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school81%
California57%

Tested: 626 here · 432,651 in California.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCalifornia
Exceeded50%27%
Met31%30%
Nearly met12%20%
Not met7%23%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school62%
California30%

Tested: 614 here · 431,903 in California.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCalifornia
Exceeded36%14%
Met26%16%
Nearly met20%21%
Not met18%49%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

How have results changed?

School pattern, spring 2025Solid BaseThe average Met + Exceeded rate across the reported grades and subjects is at least 65%.

Ask: Math is lower than in 2019 here (68% to 62%) and across California (32% to 30%). How does the school check what’s working in math?

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

After graduation

Do students finish prepared, and where do they go?

Preparation · separate measures and cohorts

Graduated in four years

99%

Across California: 89%

2024–25 · 626 of 634 students in the four-year cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, adjusted cohort graduation records. Comparison is SchoolScope’s combination of graduates and cohort counts across the reference schools, not CDE’s published state rate.

College / career Prepared

86%

Across California: 52%

2024–25 · Students in the CDE College/Career Indicator cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, College/Career Indicator overall Prepared. Prepared is CDE’s overall classification, not AP participation or a college admission rate.

Completed UC/CSU courses

84%

Average California high school: 56%

2024–25 · High-school graduates completing A–G

Source and definition

California Department of Education, A–G completion records. Course completion is separate from college enrollment.

Destinations · class of 2023

Where graduates went

91% enrolled in college within 12 months · 562 high-school completers

  • University of California75 · 13%
  • California State University44 · 8%
  • California community college100 · 18%
  • In-state private42 · 7%
  • Out-of-state, 4-year248 · 44%
  • Out-of-state, 2-year3 · 1%
  • Not enrolled50 · 9%

Source: CDE college-going records, class of 2023. Shares are our arithmetic: count ÷ completers. A dash is unavailable, not zero. “Not enrolled” does not describe employment, military service or other routes.

One destination in detail

University of California

UC fall 2025 entry · matched school records · counts, not a school rating

Applied
367
Admitted
260
Enrolled
100

Source: UC admissions by source school. “Masked” gives no numeric bound; “+” marks a partial count; a dash is unavailable.

UC years and campus records

UC reports fall first-year applicants, admits and enrollees separately. These records do not establish the school’s effect on admission. “+” is a partial SchoolScope sum across linked codes; missing contributions may be zero. A reported zero remains zero. Never assume zero or a positive hidden value for missing or masked counts.

  • Fall 2025Applied 367 · Admitted 260 · Enrolled 100
  • Fall 2024Applied 361 · Admitted 236 · Enrolled 105
  • Fall 2023Applied 325 · Admitted 200 · Enrolled 78
  • Fall 2022Applied 354 · Admitted 198 · Enrolled 101
  • Fall 2021Applied 359 · Admitted 233 · Enrolled 117
  • Fall 2020Applied 358 · Admitted 240 · Enrolled 110
  • Fall 2019Applied 271 · Admitted 173 · Enrolled 86
  • Fall 2018Applied 348 · Admitted 195 · Enrolled 94
  • Fall 2017Applied 338 · Admitted 210 · Enrolled 100
  • Fall 2016Applied 276 · Admitted 174 · Enrolled 81
  • Fall 2015Applied 271 · Admitted 169 · Enrolled 73
  • Fall 2014Applied 239 · Admitted 155 · Enrolled 64
  • Fall 2013Applied 243 · Admitted 157 · Enrolled 68
  • Fall 2012Applied 236 · Admitted 174 · Enrolled 73
  • Fall 2011Applied 244 · Admitted 188 · Enrolled 71
  • Fall 2010Applied 245 · Admitted 224 · Enrolled 86
  • Fall 2009Applied 220 · Admitted 196 · Enrolled 74
  • Fall 2008Applied 244 · Admitted 223 · Enrolled 87
  • Fall 2007Applied 237 · Admitted 210 · Enrolled 99
  • Fall 2006Applied 220 · Admitted 203 · Enrolled 101
  • Fall 2005Applied 199 · Admitted 188 · Enrolled 96
  • Fall 2004Applied 183 · Admitted 145 · Enrolled 78
  • Fall 2003Applied 204 · Admitted 175 · Enrolled 85
  • Fall 2002Applied 193 · Admitted 165 · Enrolled 80
  • Fall 2001Applied 178 · Admitted 153 · Enrolled 69
  • Fall 2000Applied 159 · Admitted 122 · Enrolled 67
  • Fall 1999Applied 156 · Admitted 132 · Enrolled 72
  • Fall 1998Applied 141 · Admitted 114 · Enrolled 75
  • Fall 1997Applied 133 · Admitted 111 · Enrolled 58
  • Fall 1996Applied 119 · Admitted 96 · Enrolled 49
  • Fall 1995Applied 77 · Admitted 63 · Enrolled 37
  • Fall 1994Applied 84 · Admitted 75 · Enrolled 39

Campus records · fall 2025

  • BerkeleyApplied 271 · Admitted 47 · Enrolled 27
  • DavisApplied 183 · Admitted 63 · Enrolled 6
  • IrvineApplied 203 · Admitted 70 · Enrolled 11
  • Los AngelesApplied 315 · Admitted 37 · Enrolled 21
  • MercedApplied 34 · Admitted 32 · Enrolled Masked
  • RiversideApplied 76 · Admitted 69 · Enrolled 3
  • San DiegoApplied 259 · Admitted 60 · Enrolled 5
  • Santa BarbaraApplied 309 · Admitted 114 · Enrolled 19
  • Santa CruzApplied 157 · Admitted 123 · Enrolled 8

Do not add campus application or admission counts: a student may appear at multiple campuses.

Courses and opportunities

What could my child study here?

AP course authorizations

College Board AP Course Audit Ledger · 2025 - 2026. Authorization does not confirm this term’s schedule, access or enrollment.

Math & Computer Science 5
  • Calculus AB
  • Calculus BC
  • Computer Science A
  • Computer Science Principles
  • Statistics
Sciences 4
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Environmental Science
  • Physics C: Mechanics
English 2
  • English Language and Composition
  • English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science 6
  • European History
  • Human Geography
  • Microeconomics
  • Psychology
  • U.S. Government and Politics
  • United States History
World Languages & Cultures 3
  • Chinese Language and Culture
  • French Language and Culture
  • Spanish Language and Culture
Arts 5
  • 2-D Art and Design
  • 3-D Art and Design
  • Art History
  • Drawing
  • Music Theory
AP Capstone 2
  • Research
  • Seminar

Courses, access and preparation

AP course or exam pathway qualifiers
492 of 546 Prepared students · 90.1%

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI, all students · 634 eligible students. Cohort includes the current four-year graduation cohort and only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Qualifies through two AP exams scored 3+, two AP courses completed with C− or better, or a qualifying combination in different subjects. Share among Prepared students, not all exam takers or course authorizations.

Career pathway: CCI CTE+ qualifiers
11 students

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI: completed a CTE pathway with C− or better in its capstone plus an additional criterion. Not all CTE completers or a list of courses offered.

Ask before choosing courses

Which courses will run when my child attends, what prerequisites apply, and how do students get support entering advanced or career pathways?

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

15 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
22in 100 at the average California high school

384 of 2,604 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school15 in 100
at the average California high school22 in 100
1.3%of students were suspended at least once (35 of 2,645), 2024–25
3.2%at the average California high school

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grade 11 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

63 English · 61 math tested

English62% / 49%
Math30% / 21%

White

375 English · 366 math tested

English81% / 68%
Math61% / 42%

Hispanic or Latino

98 English · 93 math tested

English76% / 49%
Math45% / 19%

Two or more races

75 English · 77 math tested

English83% / 67%
Math71% / 42%

Asian

64 tested per subject

English94% / 80%
Math80% / 67%

Students with disabilities

75 English · 70 math tested

English56% / 18%
Math30% / 6%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrade 11 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Manhattan Beach Unifiedvs California
Low-income · 63 tested in English, 61 in math
English62%062%+1349%
Math30%030%+921%
White · 375 tested in English, 366 in math
English81%081%+1368%
Math61%061%+1942%
Hispanic or Latino · 98 tested in English, 93 in math
English76%076%+2749%
Math45%045%+2619%
Two or more races · 75 tested in English, 77 in math
English83%083%+1667%
Math71%071%+2942%
Asian · 64 tested
English94%094%+1480%
Math80%080%+1367%
Students with disabilities · 75 tested in English, 70 in math
English56%056%+3818%
Math30%030%+246%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Manhattan Beach Unified, and across California. ■ Green: a group that is behind statewide does much better here, by 10 points or more and more than twice the margin of error.

No published rate here for Black or African American, Filipino, American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander, homeless and military-family students, English learners and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

Hispanic or Latino students and students with disabilities here did far better than the same groups statewide.

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Mira Costa High in Manhattan Beach, 61.9% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 61.9% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Mira Costa High’s rate for low-income students matches its district average in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (29.5% met or exceeded the Math standard); White students (80.5% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 32.5 percentage points: low-income students in Math. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 63 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. White: 60%2. Hispanic or Latino: 15%3. Two or more races: 13%4. Asian: 10%5. Black or African American: 1%6. Filipino: 1%Unallocated share: <1%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. White60%
  2. Hispanic or Latino15%
  3. Two or more races13%
  4. Asian10%
  5. Black or African American1%
  6. Filipino1%
  7. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  8. Pacific Islander—
  9. Not reported—
  10. Unallocated share<1%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
White60%
Hispanic or Latino15%
Two or more races13%
Asian10%
Black or African American1%
Filipino1%
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—
Not reported—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

7 in 100 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (7%, 173 of 2,473). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers105
Average experience18 years
First-year teachers0%
91% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 91.12%: 89.9 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 98.6 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

Schools on the path into this high school

Explore schools on the map ↗

Historical links and nearby options · confirm your child’s address and current assignment with the district.

  1. ElementaryAurelia Pennekamp ElementaryHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  2. MiddleManhattan Beach MiddleHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  3. High schoolMira Costa HighThis campus · grades 9-12
All recorded links and nearby alternatives

Elementary links

  • Aurelia Pennekamp Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    99th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Grand View Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    97th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Meadows Avenue Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    97th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Pacific Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    99th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Opal Robinson Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    99th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

Middle-school links

  • Manhattan Beach Middle

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    94th percentile · Strong · middle · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

Links do not guarantee placement. Charter, magnet, transfer and other admission routes can differ. Each school’s percentile compares its own level and peer class; the stages are not one ranking.

Getting in

Ask Manhattan Beach Unified which school serves your address.

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
1401 Artesia Boulevard, Manhattan Beach 90266

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. Math is lower than in 2019 here (68% to 62%) and across California (32% to 30%). How does the school check what’s working in math?
  2. Which courses and career pathways are running this year, and who can enroll?
  3. How do counselors help students plan for college, training or work?
  4. What support is available when a student falls behind on graduation requirements?

Call (310) 318-7337 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Nearby high schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar high schools2025 statewide percentile
  • Los Gatos HighLos Gatos-Saratoga Union High · 1,914 enrolled · 6.8% meal eligibility95thStrong
  • Vista del Lago HighFolsom-Cordova Unified · 1,782 enrolled · 7.3% meal eligibility90thStrong
  • Acalanes HighAcalanes Union High · 1,256 enrolled · 7.3% meal eligibility95thStrong
  • Lynbrook HighFremont Union High · 1,702 enrolled · 6.5% meal eligibility99thStrong
  • Monta Vista HighFremont Union High · 1,630 enrolled · 6% meal eligibility98thStrong
  • Dougherty Valley HighSan Ramon Valley Unified · 3,039 enrolled · 8.1% meal eligibility97thStrong
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 0–15% meal eligibility and 1,237–4,946 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is Mira Costa High a good high school?
Mira Costa High is in the 95th percentile (Strong) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. Its Scope Score is 83 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In 2024–25, 99% of the class graduated in four years (626 of 634); across California, 89%. The Scope Score combines 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate, exceeded standard, college/career readiness, met or exceeded the standard, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Mira Costa High's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 81% of students tested in grade 11 met or exceeded the English standard and 62% the math standard; 50% and 36% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 57% and 30% met or exceeded, 27% and 14% exceeded. 626 students were tested in English and 614 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does Mira Costa High rank in California?
Mira Costa High is in the 95th percentile of 1,500 California comprehensive high schools (Strong, 2025). Mira Costa High ranks #67 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Mira Costa High?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 14.7% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 384 chronically absent of 2,604 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 1.3%; 35 unduplicated suspended students of 2,645 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 15.1%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 1.4%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Mira Costa High compare to other schools in Manhattan Beach?
Mira Costa High is in the 95th percentile (Strong) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 2,473 students. Use the schools in Manhattan Beach page or the map view to compare nearby high schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Mira Costa High?
At Mira Costa High in Manhattan Beach, 61.9% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 61.9% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Mira Costa High’s rate for low-income students matches its district average in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (29.5% met or exceeded the Math standard); White students (80.5% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 32.5 percentage points: low-income students in Math. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 63 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Mira Costa High?
Mira Costa High had own-school AP authorizations for 27 of the 40 subjects in the College Board's 2025–26 AP program: 2-D Art and Design, 3-D Art and Design, Art History, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Chinese Language and Culture, Computer Science A, Computer Science Principles, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, European History, French Language and Culture, Human Geography, Microeconomics, Music Theory, Physics C: Mechanics, Psychology, Research, Seminar, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History. The audit records authorization, not whether a section ran that year or how students performed on AP exams. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Mira Costa High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 100 Mira Costa High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

Mira Costa High is ranked #67 statewide.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate98.7%92.9%25%
Exceeded standard42.7%20.3%22%
CCI overall Prepared86.1%51.7%20%
Met or exceeded71.6%43.8%18%
Chronic absenteeism15.1%22.7%5%
Suspension rate1.4%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)54.5%17.8%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.9% · index 63 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 20.3% · index 80 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
CCI overall Prepared
↑ vs CA 51.7% · index 76 on SchoolScope's high-school calibration scale; the state rate above is CDE's statewide student rate, not this school-model index
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.8% · index 76 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 22.7% · index 62 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 7.4pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 60 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 0.2pp higher vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 17.8% · index 100 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1162650%31%12%7%81%+33

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1161436%26%20%18%62%+38

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 11 · ELA59176.1%
2024 · Grade 11 · Math57554.1%
2023 · Grade 11 · ELA60367.5%
2023 · Grade 11 · Math60558.5%
2022 · Grade 11 · ELA53374.7%
2022 · Grade 11 · Math53860.0%
2019 · Grade 11 · ELA54282.1%
2019 · Grade 11 · Math53668.3%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide61325%32%39%5%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged6361.9%+0+13
White37580.5%+0+13
Hispanic/Latino9875.5%+0+27
Nearest high schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Susp
Mira Costa High ←—8395th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202542.7%71.6%1.4%
Redondo Union High2 mi7590th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202536.4%63.2%1.4%
Centinela Valley Independent Study2 mi333rd percentile · Needs Support · statewide · 20253.1%15.6%1.2%
California average—57School average · no percentile20.3%43.8%3.3%
Patricia Dreizler Continuation Highscored within its class, not statewide1.7 mi3085th percentile · Strong · within class · 20252.3%13.6%4.6%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders0.4%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$63,155 – $118,867
Average elementary principal salary$147,603
Average middle school principal salary$154,837
Average high school principal salary$170,960
Superintendent salary$344,148

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025: 83/100. Earlier scores are shown under the legacy model. The score models differ, so their results do not form one trend.

MeasureSource record
This school · CCI overall PreparedCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · all students in the current four-year graduation cohort, plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Overall CCI Prepared rate 86.1% · numerator 546 students classified Prepared · denominator 634 CCI students.
California · CCI overall PreparedCDE statewide CCI cohort · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · overall Prepared rate 51.7% · numerator 257,567 students classified Prepared · denominator 497,814 CCI students.
AP pathway among CCI Prepared studentsCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) ·AP pathway rate 90.1% · AP-pathway numerator 492 · denominator 546 (CCI Prepared students).This measure uses Prepared students as its denominator, not the whole CCI cohort; it is not an AP exam-taking rate or a count of AP courses offered. That cohort includes all students in the current four-year graduation cohort plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. In 2025 the pathway accepts two qualifying AP exams, two qualifying AP courses, or a combination of one of each in different subjects.

CDE's overall Prepared rate is this version's 20% high-school college-readiness score factor. The school rate is 546 of 634 CCI students, not the AP-only pathway or A–G completion rate. The California figure is CDE's statewide CCI student cohort, not an average of SchoolScope's comparable high schools or the SchoolScope school-rank pool.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201983/10096#56California comprehensive high schools · 1,512 schools
202281/10095#72California comprehensive high schools · 1,599 schools
202378/10094#95California comprehensive high schools · 1,633 schools
202478/10094#95California comprehensive high schools · 1,641 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

The legacy high-school model uses 2024–25 graduation records. Its readiness input uses the 2025 AP pathway share among Prepared students when available; otherwise it uses 2024–25 A-G completion. A reported zero remains zero. These inputs do not describe graduation or readiness in the earlier assessment years. The newer 2025 model instead uses CDE's overall Prepared rate.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 7.1% → 2025 · 14.7% · +7.6pp
Suspension rate2024 · 1.1% → 2025 · 1.3% · +0.2pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA62649.7%81.2%
2025 · Math61435.7%62.0%
2024 · ELA59141.3%76.1%
2024 · Math57524.5%54.1%
2023 · ELA60339.3%67.5%
2023 · Math60529.4%58.5%
2022 · ELA53346.7%74.7%
2022 · Math53830.9%60.0%
2019 · ELA54249.3%82.1%
2019 · Math53634.3%68.3%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

Graduation Rate
98.7%
AP pathway among Prepared
90.1%
2025 CDE CCI cohort · AP courses, exams, or both; share of students already Prepared, not course offerings
A-G Completion
84.3%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
91.1%

These source periods and populations differ: graduation uses an adjusted cohort, while A-G completion and college-going use separately reported groups. The rates are shown individually, without a shared performance tier.

YearExcMet+AbsentSusp
201941.8%75.2%5.5%1.1%
202238.8%67.4%9.8%1.1%
202334.4%63.0%6.7%1.5%
202432.9%65.1%7.7%1.2%
202542.7%71.6%15.1%1.4%

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female5.0%15.3%+10.3pp
Male4.8%14.0%+9.2pp
Asian1.7%9.9%+8.2pp
Black/African American3.6%14.3%+10.7pp
Filipino7.4%10.7%+3.3pp
Hispanic/Latino7.2%16.8%+9.6pp
Two or More Races4.6%10.4%+5.8pp
White4.9%15.9%+11.0pp
Students with Disabilities13.9%25.8%+11.9pp
English Learners14.3%11.1%-3.2pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged8.5%24.2%+15.7pp
All Students4.9%14.7%+9.8pp
Homeless—23.9%—

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

UC admissions, universitywideFollow separately reported UC application, admission and enrollment counts.2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledMean GPA (applied)Mean GPA (admitted)Mean GPA (enrolled)
20253672601004.044.124.18
20243612361053.994.114.15
2023325200784.024.084.15
20223541981014.014.144.20
20213592331173.964.104.15
20203582401103.894.014.04
2019271173863.924.014.05
2018348195943.854.014.02
20173382101003.753.944.00
2016276174813.773.943.96
2015271169733.783.954.03
2014239155643.733.913.95

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. GPA is each group's mean weighted, capped high-school GPA for 10th/11th-grade college-preparatory courses. SchoolScope leaves GPA unavailable when several CEEB codes contribute rather than combining their means. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here. Complete, matching counts can support a historical descriptive rate, but do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances. Series shown from 2014.

UC admissions by campusInspect campus records without adding overlapping populations.latest falls on file
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20252714727
Berkeley20242605019
Berkeley20232324121
Berkeley20222363826
Berkeley20212044619
Davis2025183636
Davis2024180668
Davis2023144557
Davis20221585710
Davis20211316114
Irvine20252037011
Irvine20241877811
Irvine2023175504
Irvine20221885812
Irvine2021151455
Los Angeles20253153721
Los Angeles20243073925
Los Angeles20232703019
Los Angeles20222823022
Los Angeles20212724229
Merced20253432masked
Merced20242727masked
Merced20232221masked
Merced20222827masked
Merced20211817masked
Riverside202576693
Riverside202452474
Riverside20235037masked
Riverside202253396
Riverside2021645310
San Diego2025259605
San Diego2024247533
San Diego2023228423
San Diego2022258405
San Diego20212359119
Santa Barbara202530911419
Santa Barbara202431012027
Santa Barbara2023263618
Santa Barbara20222975113
Santa Barbara20212837714
Santa Cruz20251571238
Santa Cruz20241571056
Santa Cruz202315311213
Santa Cruz2022181527
Santa Cruz2021161937
Universitywide2025367260100
Universitywide2024361236105
Universitywide202332520078
Universitywide2022354198101
Universitywide2021359233117

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. Campus totals are not interchangeable with Universitywide; students can apply to several campuses. Universitywide is separately reported; never derive it by adding campus rows. Universitywide applicant and admit counts are unduplicated. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here; these records do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances.

AP course catalogCheck course authorizations and distinguish outside providers.2025 - 2026
SubjectAuthorization recorded for
2-D Art and Designthis school
3-D Art and Designthis school
Art Historythis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Chinese Language and Culturethis school
Computer Science Athis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
European Historythis school
French Language and Culturethis school
Human Geographythis school
Microeconomicsthis school
Music Theorythis school
Physics C: Mechanicsthis school
Psychologythis school
Researchthis school
Seminarthis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotInspect the dated federal advanced-coursework snapshot.dated historical snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count24
AP enrollment1,337
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections12
Physics sections20
Chemistry sections20
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,469

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

College destinationsRead the completion cohort and its reported college destinations.class of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California7513.3%
California State University447.8%
California community college10017.8%
In-state private427.5%
Out-of-state, 4-year24844.1%
Out-of-state, 2-year30.5%
Not enrolled508.9%

562 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 91% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · an unavailable or suppressed cell is marked as missing; a reported zero remains distinct · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$15,289 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 6,030 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$704 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 2,473

Central federal expenditures attributed here$644 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 2,473

District current expense · FY 2024–25$18,693 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 64%Instruction support 7%Student services 9%Administration 9%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 1%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$15,289 per pupil
2020$14,588 per pupil
2019$14,901 per pupil
2018$12,960 per pupil
2017$12,113 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

12ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 90266
ShowHide table 12 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 90266
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$204,306
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)78.89%
ZCTA population34,210
Median age42.8 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/mira-costa-high-5808"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Mira Costa High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,500 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · UC fall first-year source records — masked = no numeric bound; + = partial observed count; Universitywide separately reported · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction