ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

North High

Torrance, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,812 students · Torrance Unified

High scores, healthy climate, strong attendance. We looked for a catch — we didn't find one.

85% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 55% in math. 99.1% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Strong All-Around

What this means for your family

Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

Math

55%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

85%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,812

Total enrollment

Graduation

99.1%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 44%2022: 45%2023: 48%2024: 49%2025: 55%2019: 78%2022: 84%2023: 83%2024: 84%2025: 85%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 44%2022: 45%2023: 48%2024: 49%2025: 55%2019: 78%2022: 84%2023: 83%2024: 84%2025: 85%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201944%78%
202245%84%
202348%83%
202449%84%
202555%85%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Climbed from the 80th to the 91st percentile since 2019 — past roughly 200 high schools.

Most rating sites would stop at “70% proficient” and call it done. North deserves a closer read. Two in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

North's low-income kids hit 81.8% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

459 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

North High scores 74 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 91st percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

The pandemic drop is behind this school: 70% of students meet the standard today, above the 61% who did in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 80th percentile · Scope Score 67 of 1002022 · 90th percentile · Scope Score 72 of 1002023 · 90th percentile · Scope Score 73 of 1002024 · 89th percentile · Scope Score 71 of 1002025 · 91st percentile · Scope Score 74 of 100
ELABlue(Increased)MathGreen(Increased)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1178%84%83%84%85%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1144%45%48%49%55%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Two-thirds of students here meet the standard. One in three clear it by a lot.

ELA85% met or exceeded
Exceeded 54%Met 31%Nearly Met 10%Not Met 5%
Math55% met or exceeded
Exceeded 25%Met 30%Nearly Met 22%Not Met 23%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school7439%70%99.1%52.2%14.3%2.2%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope7454
% Exceeded39%20%
% Met+70%43%
Grad rate99.1%92.5%
College readiness52.2%43.0%
Absence14.3%23.1%
Suspension2.2%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

81.8% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 70% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 70%, district —, state 43%70%
MaleMale: this school 70%, district 65%, state 42%70% · +0 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 70%, district 65%, state 44%70% · −0 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 62%, district 49%, state 32%62% · −8 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 64%, district 51%, state 32%64% · −6 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 87%, district 82%, state 72%87% · +17 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 68%, district 66%, state 56%68% · −2 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 80%, district 74%, state 56%80% · +10 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 32%, district 32%, state 15%32% · −38 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: this school 54%, district 43%, state 26%54% · −16 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 20%, district 31%, state 11%20% · −50 vs school
FilipinoFilipino: this school 92%, district 77%, state 65%92% · +23 vs school
Pacific IslanderPacific Islander: too few students to report‹11
HomelessHomeless: too few students to report‹11
Military-ConnectedMilitary-Connected: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic34.1% AP · 44.7% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.2% enroll.
Asian45.8% AP · 29.3% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.4% AP · 0.7% enroll.
Black4.3% AP · 7.2% enroll.
White7.9% AP · 10.6% enroll.
Two or more races7.5% AP · 7.4% enroll.
English learners1.6% AP · 9.0% enroll.
Students with disabilities1.0% AP · 9.7% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

84%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 363 of 432 completers · includes community colleges

432Completers
30%
Other colleges131 completers · Outside the California community college system
54%
California community colleges232 completers · Enrolled within a year
16%
Not recorded enrolled69 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

84%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of North's class of 2023, 84% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 432 completers, 84% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 42 (10%)California State University 56 (13%)California community college 232 (54%)In-state private 5 (1%)Out-of-state, 4-year 25 (6%)Out-of-state, 2-year 3 (1%)Not enrolled 69 (16%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 45 of North's 447 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — San Diego the most common landing, with 12 enrollees.

Applied116fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted94
Enrolled45
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
San Diego 12Irvine 11Riverside 7Berkeley 4Los Angeles 4Davis 3Merced ‹3Santa Barbara ‹3Santa Cruz ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 51 enrolled, 2014

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 84% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (232) than at UC (42).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 27 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

North's teachers are authorized to teach 20 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics C: Mechanics.

Students per teacher27 · district 26
Teaching staff77 teachers
Avg. experience17.0 years
Fully credentialed90%
First-year teachers1%
Intern / emergency permit1.3%
PrincipalPaul Nitake
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$62,009 – $122,300
Principal salary$154,486 – $196,119
Superintendent salary$335,280

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers175 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers54 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught20
ShowHide the 20 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (5)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science Principles · Precalculus · Statistics
Sciences (4)Biology · Chemistry · Environmental Science · Physics C: Mechanics
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (6)Human Geography · Macroeconomics · Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (3)French Language and Culture · Japanese Language and Culture · Spanish Language and Culture

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 14.3%, district 9.4%, state 23.1%14.3% · −8.8pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 2.2%, district —, state 3.3%2.2% · −1.0pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1213.7%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $17,688 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$10 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $17,688, CA average $14,491$17,688 · spent at this school
Federal share$10 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$16,002 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 63%Instruction support 11%Student services 9%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 9%Other 1%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$11,441 per pupil
2019$11,279 per pupil
2018$11,194 per pupil
2017$10,632 per pupil
2016$10,442 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Two in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 46% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino46.7% · district 34.7% · CA 56.1%
White9.6% · district 18.5% · CA 19.9%
Asian22.9% · district 27.0% · CA 10.2%
Black7.7% · district 4.1% · CA 4.8%
Other13.3% · district 15.7% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch44.6% · CA 64%
Median income$108K · CA $85K
Median home value$924K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+45% · CA 35%
ZIP population33,084
Median age42 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
North HighPublicStrong39%70%School being viewed
West HighPublicStrong41%69%2.2 mi
Torrance HighPublicStrong36%66%2.5 mi
Environmental Charter High - LawndaleCharterStrong24%60%1.6 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Torrance →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

14 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Torrance Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is North High a good high school?
North High has a Scope Score of 74 out of 100, placing it in the 91st percentile of California high schools and ranked #143 statewide. 39.5% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 19.6 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are North High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 69.8% of students at North High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 39.5% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 30.3% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 39.5% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 917 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does North High rank in California?
North High ranks #143 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 91st percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at North High?
14.3% of students at North High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 2.2%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does North High compare to other schools in Torrance?
North High scores 74/100 (91st percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,812 students. Use the schools in Torrance page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does North High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At North High in Torrance, 81.8% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 55.4% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. North High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 26.4 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (46.4% Math proficient); Hispanic students (80.5% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 51.6 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 209 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at North High?
North High's teachers are authorized to teach 20 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Computer Science Principles, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, French Language and Culture, Human Geography, Japanese Language and Culture, Macroeconomics, Physics C: Mechanics, Precalculus, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from North High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 45 North High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

How far the top scorers get carries this score.

39.5% of students scored in the top band on the state test. The California average is 19.8%.

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate99.1%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard39.5%19.8%22%
College readiness52.2%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded69.8%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism14.3%23.1%5%
Suspension rate2.2%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)38.2%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

North High: reading the evidence

North posts 39.5% exceeding the standard — versus 19.8% statewide — with climate numbers better than most. That doesn't make it perfect. It makes it worth a visit to find what numbers can't measure.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

North High is ranked #143 statewide · #3 of 4 in Torrance Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate99.1%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard39.5%19.8%22%
College readiness52.2%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded69.8%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism14.3%23.1%5%
Suspension rate2.2%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)38.2%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 63 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 76 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 60 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 75 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 63 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 3.0pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 56 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 0.9pp higher vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 18.0% · index 86 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1145954%31%10%5%85%+36
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1145825%30%22%23%55%+31

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide46617%29%50%4%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged20981.8%+26+44
Hispanic/Latino21080.5%+26+42
Asian10095.0%+13+21
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
North High ←—7439.5%69.8%2.2%
West High2.2 mi7641.0%68.8%1.7%
Torrance High2.5 mi7435.7%65.6%2.0%
Environmental Charter High - Lawndale1.6 mi6824.2%59.7%0.6%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
99.1%
AP Exam Prepared
52.2%
A-G Completion
60.2%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
84.0%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20196780#29728.9%61.1%8.8%3.5%
20227290#16436.1%64.7%13.9%1.1%
20237390#16337.7%65.5%14.9%2.1%
20247189#17534.3%66.3%11.2%1.3%
20257491#14339.5%69.8%14.3%2.2%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female9.4%14.9%+5.5pp
Male7.0%12.5%+5.5pp
Asian3.9%6.0%+2.1pp
Black/African American12.3%16.0%+3.7pp
Filipino4.6%3.8%-0.8pp
Hispanic/Latino9.1%16.6%+7.5pp
Pacific Islander0.0%27.8%+27.8pp
Two or More Races12.6%18.8%+6.2pp
White9.0%13.5%+4.5pp
Students with Disabilities17.0%25.4%+8.4pp
English Learners14.0%19.5%+5.5pp
Homeless14.8%50.0%+35.2pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged9.4%16.2%+6.8pp
All Students8.1%13.7%+5.6pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
202511694453.883.964.08
202414993433.813.964.11
202313774423.874.044.07
202214479463.854.034.12
202112577403.813.984.06
20209664313.783.923.99
201911970403.844.054.11
201810966343.713.984.11
201711165433.713.984.03
20168561403.673.833.93
201510254333.763.984.11
201412081513.844.044.07

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley202562124
Berkeley20247263
Berkeley202370125
Berkeley2022731610
Berkeley2021615‹3
Davis202551273
Davis20244621‹3
Davis202360236
Davis20225617‹3
Davis202148207
Irvine2025972611
Irvine20241113112
Irvine2023106185
Irvine20221202810
Irvine2021100197
Los Angeles20259284
Los Angeles20241131111
Los Angeles202310264
Los Angeles2022109119
Los Angeles202197108
Merced20254242‹3
Merced20242321‹3
Merced20231110‹3
Merced20221010‹3
Merced202117163
Riverside202571637
Riverside202454417
Riverside2023433011
Riverside202248343
Riverside202146324
San Diego2025932912
San Diego202499185
San Diego202398183
San Diego2022106295
San Diego202186296
Santa Barbara20257022‹3
Santa Barbara202476223
Santa Barbara202377204
Santa Barbara20228417‹3
Santa Barbara20217015‹3
Santa Cruz20252720‹3
Santa Cruz20244324‹3
Santa Cruz20232813‹3
Santa Cruz202229165
Santa Cruz2021218‹3
Universitywide20251169445
Universitywide20241499343
Universitywide20231377442
Universitywide20221447946
Universitywide20211257740

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
French Language and Culturethis school
Human Geographythis school
Japanese Language and Culturethis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Physics C: Mechanicsthis school
Precalculusthis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count17
AP enrollment493
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 223 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections22
Physics sections12
Chemistry sections21
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,776

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California429.7%
California State University5613.0%
California community college23253.7%
In-state private51.2%
Out-of-state, 4-year255.8%
Out-of-state, 2-year30.7%
Not enrolled6916.0%

432 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 84% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/north-high-6277"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="North High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

North High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.