Public school · Manhattan Beach Unified

Grand View Elementary

Manhattan Beach · TK–5 · 550 students (2024–25)

97thpercentileStrong

The dots are California’s 5,721 scored public elementary schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
76 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Well above California in English and math: 84% and 82% met or exceeded the standard in grades 3–5, against 46% and 41% statewide. Source
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grades 3–5: 248 in English, 247 in math
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 3, 4 and 5 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 1,232,086 in English and 1,241,652 in math tested).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four elementary schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

Are children building strong foundations?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grades 3–5Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
55%
Met standard
29%
Below standard
16%

84% met or exceeded · 248 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaManhattan Beach Unified
Exceeded55%24%63%
Met29%22%24%
Nearly met12%21%8%
Not met4%33%5%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 3–5Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
51%
Met standard
31%
Below standard
18%

82% met or exceeded · 247 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaManhattan Beach Unified
Exceeded51%21%62%
Met31%20%24%
Nearly met12%25%10%
Not met6%34%4%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Reading and math results for the tested grades. These do not measure the experience in kindergarten or the early grades.

Ask: How do you help children who need more support in reading or math, and those ready for more challenge?

Things worth knowing

Open a finding for the evidence
In 2025, students in grades 4–5 scored above what the state expected from their own earlier scores. The state calls both results Accelerated.grades 4–5 · 2025
+19 ptsEnglish · above expected+14 ptsMath · above expected
Source
CDE growth model, 2025
Students
students with scores in both years in grades 4–5: 153 in English, 152 in math
Comparison
153 students in English and 152 in math in grades 4–5 with scores in both years. Points are scale-score points against the state’s expected score for each student; the category is CDE’s, quoted as published. It describes results, not causes.
About half reached the top of the state’s four levels, against 24% and 21% across California in the same grades.grades 3–5 · spring 2025
55%English · exceeded the standard51%Math · exceeded the standard
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grades 3–5: 248 in English, 247 in math
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 3, 4 and 5 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 1,232,086 in English and 1,241,652 in math tested).
24 of 574 students missed 10% or more of school days, close to the average Manhattan Beach Unified school.2024–25
4 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
Source
CDE chronic absenteeism file, 2024–25
Students
all students counted for chronic absence (CDE’s eligible enrollment): 574
Comparison
24 of 574. District and California figures are averages of school rates (5 Manhattan Beach Unified schools; 5,721 scored California elementary schools), our calculation.

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grades 3–5Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school84%
California46%

Tested: 248 here · 1,232,086 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school84%
Manhattan Beach Unified87%

Tested: 248 here · 1,058 in Manhattan Beach Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 5 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaManhattan Beach Unified
Exceeded55%24%63%
Met29%22%24%
Nearly met12%21%8%
Not met4%33%5%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 3–5Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school82%
California41%

Tested: 247 here · 1,241,652 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school82%
Manhattan Beach Unified86%

Tested: 247 here · 1,062 in Manhattan Beach Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 5 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaManhattan Beach Unified
Exceeded51%21%62%
Met31%20%24%
Nearly met12%25%10%
Not met6%34%4%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

Are students making progress?

The state’s growth measure153 students in English, 152 in math · grades 4–5 · 2025
English+19ptsCDE category: Accelerated
Math+14ptsCDE category: Accelerated

Points above or below what the state expected from the same students’ earlier scores.

School pattern, spring 2025High CeilingThe average Exceeded rate across the reported grades and subjects is at least 50%.
School pattern, spring 2025Growth EngineThe school’s aggregate cohort-change index clears our stronger-gains threshold. This is a school-level comparison across years, not tracking of individual children.
School pattern, spring 2025Strong All-AroundAt least half of students met or exceeded the standard in every tested grade, in both subjects, and the state’s growth measure was Average or above in both.

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

4 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
3in 100 at the average Manhattan Beach Unified school18in 100 at the average California elementary school

24 of 574 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school4 in 100
at the average Manhattan Beach Unified school3 in 100
at the average California elementary school18 in 100
0.3%of students were suspended at least once (2 of 578), 2024–25
0.5%at the average Manhattan Beach Unified school1.6%at the average California elementary school
Attendance by grade
Chronically absent, 2024–25Per 100 studentsStudents
TK and kindergarten45 of 144
Grades 1–3513 of 257
Grades 4–546 of 173

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grades 3–5 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

White

156 English · 155 math tested

English83% / 60%
Math80% / 56%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrades 3–5 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Manhattan Beach Unifiedvs California
White · 156 tested in English, 155 in math
English83%−487%+2360%
Math80%−585%+2456%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Manhattan Beach Unified, and across California. None is green: no group that is behind statewide does 10 or more points better here than the same group statewide.

Hispanic or Latino students, students of two or more races and students with disabilities: fewer than 30 tested here. No published rate here for low-income, Asian, Black or African American, Filipino, American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander, homeless and military-family students, English learners and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

How each student group did

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Grand View Elementary in Manhattan Beach, 82.7% of White students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grades 3, 4 and 5, compared to 87.1% district-wide for those same grades and 60.2% statewide for those same grades. Grand View Elementary’s rate for White students trails its district average by 4.4 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: White students (80.0% met or exceeded the Math standard); Two or More Races students (84.6% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 37.6 percentage points: students with disabilities in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 156 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. White: 66%2. Two or more races: 13%3. Hispanic or Latino: 11%4. Asian: 8%Unallocated share: 1%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. White66%
  2. Two or more races13%
  3. Hispanic or Latino11%
  4. Asian8%
  5. Black or African American—
  6. Filipino—
  7. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  8. Pacific Islander—
  9. Not reported—
  10. Unallocated share1%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
White66%
Two or more races13%
Hispanic or Latino11%
Asian8%
Black or African American—
Filipino—
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—
Not reported—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

2 in 100 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (2%, 11 of 550). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers35
Average experience19 years
First-year teachers3%
97% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 97.33%: 25.5 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 26.2 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

The school path beyond this campus

Explore schools on the map ↗

Historical links and nearby options · confirm your child’s address and current assignment with the district.

  1. ElementaryGrand View ElementaryThis campus · grades K-5
  2. MiddleManhattan Beach MiddleHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  3. High schoolMira Costa HighInferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder
All recorded links and nearby alternatives

Middle-school links

  • Manhattan Beach Middle

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    94th percentile · Strong · middle · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

High-school links

  • Mira Costa High

    Inferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder

    95th percentile · Strong · high · 2025

Links do not guarantee placement. Charter, magnet, transfer and other admission routes can differ. Each school’s percentile compares its own level and peer class; the stages are not one ranking.

High-school endpoint evidence · Mira Costa High
Mira Costa HighScope 83estimated path

An inferred path through a middle-school overlap points to Mira Costa High. UC records 100 enrollees from Mira Costa High for fall 2025. Its AP Course Audit lists 27 authorized AP subjects for 2025 - 2026. Those figures come from dated records — if a child starting here today later attended Mira Costa High, that would be around 2035, and 10 years is a long time for a school to hold still, and by the state's 2023 count 91% of Mira Costa High's graduates enrolled in college somewhere, UC or not.

100 UC enrollees (fall 2025) · 27 authorized AP subjects (AP Course Audit 2025 - 2026) → full record on Mira Costa High's page
Source: UC & College Board AP Course Ledger

Getting in

Ask Manhattan Beach Unified which school serves your address.

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
455 24th Street, Manhattan Beach 90266

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. How do you support kids who arrive ahead, and kids who arrive behind?
  2. How do you teach early reading and check each child’s progress?
  3. What does extra support or enrichment look like during the school day?
  4. What are the school-day hours and after-school care options?

Call (310) 546-8022 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Nearby elementary schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar elementary schools2025 statewide percentile
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 0–10% meal eligibility and 275–1,100 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is Grand View Elementary a good elementary school?
Grand View Elementary is in the 97th percentile (Strong) of California’s regular public and charter elementary schools. Its Scope Score is 76 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In spring 2025, on California's state tests (CAASPP), Grand View Elementary was well above California in English and math: 84% and 82% met or exceeded the standard in grades 3–5, against 46% and 41% statewide. The Scope Score combines 6 dimensions for elementary schools: exceeded standard, met or exceeded the standard, grade 3-to-5 growth, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Grand View Elementary's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 84% of students tested in grades 3–5 met or exceeded the English standard and 82% the math standard; 55% and 51% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 46% and 41% met or exceeded, 24% and 21% exceeded. 248 students were tested in English and 247 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does Grand View Elementary rank in California?
Grand View Elementary is in the 97th percentile of 5,721 California comprehensive elementary schools (Strong, 2025). Grand View Elementary ranks #152 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), aggregate cohort comparison (2023 G3 → 2025 G5), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
Is Grand View Elementary getting better or worse?
SchoolScope compares Grand View Elementary's grade 3 results in 2023 with its grade 5 results in 2025, using school-level test aggregates. Students are not matched across years, and enrollment changes can affect the comparison. SchoolScope elementary standardized cohort gain: approximately 91st percentile on a calibrated reference scale, not an empirical school rank. This score compares school-level grade groups across ELA and Math, not matched students in California's separate growth model. It describes an aggregate change; it cannot establish how individual students progressed or what caused it. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Grand View Elementary?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 4.2% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 24 chronically absent of 574 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 0.3%; 2 unduplicated suspended students of 578 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 5.0%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 0.4%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Grand View Elementary compare to other schools in Manhattan Beach?
Grand View Elementary is in the 97th percentile (Strong) of California’s regular public and charter elementary schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 550 students. Use the schools in Manhattan Beach page or the map view to compare nearby elementary schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Grand View Elementary?
At Grand View Elementary in Manhattan Beach, 82.7% of White students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grades 3, 4 and 5, compared to 87.1% district-wide for those same grades and 60.2% statewide for those same grades. Grand View Elementary’s rate for White students trails its district average by 4.4 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: White students (80.0% met or exceeded the Math standard); Two or More Races students (84.6% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 37.6 percentage points: students with disabilities in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 156 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What middle school does Grand View Elementary feed into?
By attendance boundary, Grand View Elementary is zoned to Manhattan Beach Middle. Manhattan Beach Middle has a Scope Score of 72 out of 100. Boundaries come from the U.S. Department of Education's School Attendance Boundary Survey, a 2015-16 collection and the most recent national one — they are approximate and may since have changed. A boundary is also not a placement guarantee: magnet, charter, open-enrollment and inter-district transfer options mean students from one school often continue to several different ones. Confirm your address with the district before making an enrollment or housing decision. Data source: NCES School Attendance Boundary Survey, analyzed by SchoolScope.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

Grand View Elementary is ranked #152 statewide · #5 of 5 in Manhattan Beach Unified.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Exceeded standard53.1%21.4%42%
Met or exceeded83.0%42.7%23%
Growth (2023 G3 → 2025 G5)Strongaverage20%
Chronic absenteeism5.0%17.9%5%
Suspension rate0.4%1.6%5%
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 21.4% · index 81 · 50 = CA elementary-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 42.7% · index 81 · 50 = CA elementary-school midpoint
Growth (2023 G3 → 2025 G5)
↑ vs CA average · ≈91st calibrated reference pctile
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 17.9% · index 71 · 50 = CA elementary-school midpoint · ▼ 2.1pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 1.6% · index 60 · 50 = CA elementary-school midpoint · → no change vs 2024

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 38243%28%20%10%71%+28
Grade 48259%32%10%0%90%+46
Grade 58463%29%6%2%92%+44

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 3 ELA equal-school mean: 43.1%; n=5714 reporting schools

State grade 4 ELA equal-school mean: 44.6%; n=5721 reporting schools

State grade 5 ELA equal-school mean: 47.7%; n=5721 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 38241%32%13%13%73%+28
Grade 48152%36%12%0%88%+46
Grade 58461%24%11%5%85%+50

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 3 Math equal-school mean: 45.4%; n=5714 reporting schools

State grade 4 Math equal-school mean: 41.3%; n=5721 reporting schools

State grade 5 Math equal-school mean: 35.0%; n=5724 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 3 · ELA7766.2%
2024 · Grade 4 · ELA8391.6%
2024 · Grade 5 · ELA7593.3%
2024 · Grade 3 · Math7875.6%
2024 · Grade 4 · Math8394.0%
2024 · Grade 5 · Math7589.3%
2023 · Grade 3 · ELA8484.5%
2023 · Grade 4 · ELA7694.7%
2023 · Grade 5 · ELA8785.1%
2023 · Grade 3 · Math8588.2%
2023 · Grade 4 · Math7688.2%
2023 · Grade 5 · Math8780.5%
2022 · Grade 3 · ELA25086.3%
2022 · Grade 4 · ELA25084.6%
2022 · Grade 5 · ELA25087.9%
2022 · Grade 3 · Math24982.2%
2022 · Grade 4 · Math24976.9%
2022 · Grade 5 · Math24978.6%
2019 · Grade 3 · ELA34779.3%
2019 · Grade 4 · ELA34784.1%
2019 · Grade 5 · ELA34786.4%
2019 · Grade 3 · Math34781.0%
2019 · Grade 4 · Math34783.2%
2019 · Grade 5 · Math34781.4%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide8546%31%22%1%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
White15682.7%−4+23
Two or More Races2684.6%−0+26
Students with Disabilities1546.7%−5+26
Nearest elementary schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance · Grade gap = grade 3 vs grade 5, this year, different students; Cohort growth = school-level grade groups from different years, not matched children, in scale-score points — that's the measurement the Scope Score weights

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Grade gapCohort growthSusp
Grand View Elementary ←—7697th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202553.1%83.0%+16.1pp+87 pts0.4%
Pacific Elementary0.7 mi8299th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202561.1%83.3%+10.3pp—0.5%
Opal Robinson Elementary1.2 mi8699th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202567.0%88.9%+7.6pp—0.7%
Meadows Avenue Elementary1.2 mi7897th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202561.8%86.9%−0.6pp—1.4%
California average—39School average · no percentile21.4%42.7%−2.9pp—1.6%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders0.0%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$63,155 – $118,867
Average elementary principal salary$147,603
Average middle school principal salary$154,837
Average high school principal salary$170,960
Superintendent salary$344,148

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201976/10094#297California comprehensive elementary schools · 5,484 schools
202278/10095#247California comprehensive elementary schools · 5,704 schools
202385/10098#91California comprehensive elementary schools · 5,696 schools
202485/10099#40California comprehensive elementary schools · 5,711 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 6.3% → 2025 · 4.2% · −2.1pp
Suspension rate2024 · 0.4% → 2025 · 0.3% · −0.1pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA24854.8%84.3%
2025 · Math24751.4%81.8%
2024 · ELA23562.5%83.8%
2024 · Math23658.0%86.4%
2023 · ELA24764.0%87.8%
2023 · Math24860.1%85.5%
2022 · ELA25058.8%86.4%
2022 · Math24947.0%79.1%
2019 · ELA34756.8%83.3%
2019 · Math34747.5%81.8%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSuspGrade gap
2019———52.1%82.6%5.1%0.1%+3.7pp
2022———52.4%82.8%11.4%0.1%-1.0pp
2023———62.4%86.9%14.2%0.1%-3.6pp
2024———60.1%85.0%7.1%0.5%+20.4pp
20257697#15253.1%83.0%5.0%0.4%+16.1pp

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

Grade gap = this year's grade 3 vs grade 5 result, two different sets of students, not a trend for any one child — it is not the measurement the Scope Score's growth dimension uses. See §01 above and /methodology#verdicts for the school's actual scored (cohort) growth.
NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female4.9%4.4%-0.5pp
Male4.6%4.0%-0.6pp
Asian11.8%6.5%-5.3pp
Hispanic/Latino3.1%6.1%+3.0pp
Two or More Races3.3%0.0%-3.3pp
White4.4%4.5%+0.1pp
Students with Disabilities5.4%5.6%+0.2pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged21.4%10.3%-11.1pp
All Students4.8%4.2%-0.6pp
Homeless—16.7%—

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

California growth model, by student groupInspect CDE growth-model records and group sample sizes.2025 · scale-score points vs the state's prediction · shown, never scored
GroupELAnCDE bandMathnCDE band
All Students+19153Accelerated+14152Accelerated
English Only+19144not categorised+15144not categorised
White+1897Accelerated+1596Accelerated
Two or More Races+2124Exceptional+1624Accelerated
Students with Disabilities+1017Accelerated+1317Accelerated
Asian+2114Exceptional+1914Accelerated
Hispanic or Latino+3014Exceptional+2814Exceptional

CDE reports scale-score points versus its growth-model prediction — not a percentage or percentile. The table keeps the group records SchoolScope imported for this school, including rows below our narrative display threshold. Muted rows have fewer than 30 students with a valid growth score. SchoolScope uses that threshold for the shorter narrative view; the reported values stay visible here. “Not categorised” means this imported CDE row has a growth value without a performance category. CDE labels at least one imported estimate here WEIGHTED; that describes its aggregation method, not a year-over-year trend. A group absent from this table has no imported record shown here. Its absence alone does not establish its size or performance. CDE growth covers grades 4–8. SchoolScope does not use these CDE figures in its Scope Score.

Growth source detailSeparate historical trends, cohort comparisons and matched growth.CDE matched-student model and school-grade cohort record · distinct measures

School-grade cohort proxy · ELA endpoints

ELA · 2023 · Grade 3
62%
exceeded standard · 85% met or exceeded
CDE CAASPP 2023 · 84 ELA test records with scores
ELA · 2025 · Grade 5
63%
exceeded standard · 92% met or exceeded
CDE CAASPP 2025 · 84 ELA test records with scores

Minimum rounded subject-mean records with scores at the endpoints: 84 (school-grade cohort proxy).

These paired percentages describe ELA results for grade groups at this school in two years. The groups are not matched students. SchoolScope's scored growth measure uses a different school-level scale-score proxy across ELA and Math; California's matched-student model is a separate measure.

California growth model · reported-school field
State model · ELAmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

153 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,519 reported ELA ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, ELA: +19 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 94th percentile of 7,519 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.94th pctile · +19 pts
State model · mathmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

152 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,518 reported MATH ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, math: +14 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 84th percentile of 7,518 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.84th pctile · +14 pts
this school| center tick: 50th percentile in SchoolScope's retained-school field, calculated separately for ELA and Math

Source notes. CDE reports scale-score points versus its prediction for matched students, never a percentage. Among SchoolScope's retained California elementary school records, the median ELA estimate is +2 and the middle half fall between −5 and +9 scale-score points — the spread is wide, so read its position among reported schools, not the sign. CDE's 2025 Dashboard weighted school estimate uses assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25; adjacent reporting editions should not be read as independent annual changes. The CDE measure covers grades 4–8 and is not part of the Scope Score.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$15,289 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 6,030 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$847 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 550

Central federal expenditures attributed here$644 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 550

District current expense · FY 2024–25$18,693 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 64%Instruction support 7%Student services 9%Administration 9%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 1%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$15,289 per pupil
2020$14,588 per pupil
2019$14,901 per pupil
2018$12,960 per pupil
2017$12,113 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

09ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 90266
ShowHide table 09 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 90266
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$204,306
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)78.89%
ZCTA population34,210
Median age42.8 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/grand-view-elementary-0358"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Grand View Elementary — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=5,721 elementary schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction