ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Edward R. Roybal Learning Center

Los Angeles, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,130 students · Los Angeles Unified

No single number tells this school's story. Here's the honest picture.

57% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 11% in math. 92.7% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Math

11%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

57%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,130

Total enrollment

Graduation

92.7%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 36%2022: 16%2023: 15%2024: 19%2025: 11%2019: 67%2022: 43%2023: 49%2024: 45%2025: 57%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 36%2022: 16%2023: 15%2024: 19%2025: 11%2019: 67%2022: 43%2023: 49%2024: 45%2025: 57%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201936%67%
202216%43%
202315%49%
202419%45%
202511%57%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Slipped from the 56th to the 45th percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “34% proficient” and call it done. Edward R. Roybal Learning Center deserves a closer read. Four in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Edward R. Roybal Learning Center's low-income kids hit 56.6% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

259 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Edward R. Roybal Learning Center scores 51 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 45th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 34% meet the standard today, versus 52% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 56th percentile · Scope Score 56 of 1002022 · 46th percentile · Scope Score 50 of 1002023 · 49th percentile · Scope Score 52 of 1002024 · 45th percentile · Scope Score 51 of 1002025 · 45th percentile · Scope Score 51 of 100
ELAGreen(Increased Significantly)MathRed(Declined)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1167%43%49%45%57%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1136%16%15%19%11%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in three of students here meet the standard. One in ten clear it by a lot.

ELA57% met or exceeded
Exceeded 19%Met 38%Nearly Met 27%Not Met 17%
Math11% met or exceeded
Exceeded 3%Met 8%Nearly Met 27%Not Met 61%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school5111%34%92.7%52.6%34.9%0.3%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope5154
% Exceeded11%20%
% Met+34%43%
Grad rate92.7%92.5%
College readiness52.6%43.0%
Absence34.9%23.1%
Suspension0.3%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

56.6% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 34% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 34%, district —, state 43%34%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 34%, district 36%, state 32%34% · +0 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 34%, district 36%, state 32%34% · +0 vs school
MaleMale: this school 33%, district 41%, state 42%33% · −1 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 35%, district 42%, state 44%35% · +1 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 21%, district 14%, state 15%21% · −13 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 5%, district 9%, state 11%5% · −29 vs school

6 of 13 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic88.9% AP · 90.8% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.1% enroll.
Asian7.1% AP · 5.5% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.1% enroll.
Black2.0% AP · 2.1% enroll.
White1.2% AP · 0.7% enroll.
Two or more races0.8% AP · 0.7% enroll.
English learners12.6% AP · 21.8% enroll.
Students with disabilities4.7% AP · 18.3% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

50%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 100 of 199 completers · includes community colleges

199Completers
31%
Other colleges62 completers · Outside the California community college system
19%
California community colleges38 completers · Enrolled within a year
50%
Not recorded enrolled99 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

50%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Edward R. Roybal Learning Center's class of 2023, 50% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 199 completers, 50% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 17 (9%)California State University 40 (20%)California community college 38 (19%)In-state private 4 (2%)Out-of-state, 4-year 1 (1%)Out-of-state, 2-year 0 (0%)Not enrolled 99 (50%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 51 of Edward R. Roybal Learning Center's 255 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Riverside the most common landing, with 20 enrollees.

Applied134fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted125
Enrolled51
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Riverside 20San Diego 8Los Angeles 6Santa Barbara 6Irvine 3Merced 3Berkeley ‹3Davis ‹3Santa Cruz ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 50% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (38) than at UC (17).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 20 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Edward R. Roybal Learning Center's teachers are authorized to teach 14 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — including Calculus AB, Statistics, and Biology.

Students per teacher20 · district 20
Teaching staff57 teachers
Avg. experience10.3 years
Fully credentialed77%
First-year teachers4%
Intern / emergency permit10.3%
PrincipalBlanca Cruz
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$60,420 – $122,706
Principal salary$154,576 – $170,030
Superintendent salary$440,000

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers91 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers7 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught14
ShowHide the 14 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (2)Calculus AB · Statistics
Sciences (1)Biology
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (5)Human Geography · Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (2)Spanish Language and Culture · Spanish Literature and Culture
Arts (1)2-D Art and Design
AP Capstone (1)Seminar

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended less, than the state average.

34.9% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — worth asking about on a tour.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 34.9%, district 22.8%, state 23.1%34.9% · +11.9pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 0.3%, district —, state 3.3%0.3% · −3.0pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1235.1%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $26,850 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$2,261 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $26,850, CA average $14,491$26,850 · spent at this school
Federal share$2,261 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$29,292 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 52%Instruction support 16%Student services 12%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$18,180 per pupil
2019$16,355 per pupil
2018$15,793 per pupil
2017$13,247 per pupil
2016$13,549 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Four in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 19% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino89.9% · district 73.2% · CA 56.1%
White1.3% · district 9.9% · CA 19.9%
Asian1.7% · district 3.4% · CA 10.2%
Black2.9% · district 7.2% · CA 4.8%
Other4.2% · district 6.3% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch93.9% · CA 64%
Median income$87K · CA $85K
Median home value$1.20M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+49% · CA 35%
ZIP population62,692
Median age37 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Edward R. Roybal Learning CenterPublicDeveloping11%34%School being viewed
Downtown Business HighPublicStrong44%72%School being viewed
Orthopaedic HospitalPublicStrong24%55%2.5 mi
Alliance Ted K. Tajima HighCharterStrong26%59%0.4 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Los Angeles →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

15 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Los Angeles Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Elementary · K–5

Betty Plasencia ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 32/100
Tenth Street ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 26/100
Esperanza ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 38/100
Harvard ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 37/100
Frank del Olmo ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 44/100
Alexandria Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 53/100
Cahuenga ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 46/100
Commonwealth Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 40/100
Hobart Boulevard ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 34/100
Hoover Street ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 58/100
Leo Politi ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 30/100
Albion Street ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 31/100
Ann Street ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 21/100
Aragon Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 32/100
Hillside ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 36/100
Latona Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 38/100
Mt. Washington ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 60/100
Solano Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 52/100
Loreto Street ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 31/100
Magnolia Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 46/100
Rosemont Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 39/100
Charles H. Kim ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 58/100
Gratts Learning Academy for Young Scholars (GLAYS)Alternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 32/100
Charles White ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 40/100
Union Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 32/100
Los Angeles ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 27/100
Aldama ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 35/100
Gates Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 39/100
Griffin Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 40/100
Ninth Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 23/100
Toland Way ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 38/100
Micheltorena Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 53/100
Dr. Sammy Lee Medical and Health Science Magnet ElAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 58/100
Dayton Heights ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 40/100
Dorris Place ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 49/100
MacArthur Park Elementary School for the Visual anAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 25/100
Castelar Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 31/100

Middle · 6–8

High school · 9–12

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Edward R. Roybal Learning Center a good high school?
Edward R. Roybal Learning Center has a Scope Score of 51 out of 100, placing it in the 45th percentile of California high schools and ranked #899 statewide. 10.6% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 9.2 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Edward R. Roybal Learning Center's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 34.0% of students at Edward R. Roybal Learning Center met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 10.6% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 23.4% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 10.6% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 518 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Edward R. Roybal Learning Center rank in California?
Edward R. Roybal Learning Center ranks #899 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 45th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Edward R. Roybal Learning Center?
34.9% of students at Edward R. Roybal Learning Center are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 0.3%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Edward R. Roybal Learning Center compare to other schools in Los Angeles?
Edward R. Roybal Learning Center scores 51/100 (45th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,130 students. Use the schools in Los Angeles page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Edward R. Roybal Learning Center serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Edward R. Roybal Learning Center in Los Angeles, 56.6% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 40.9% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Edward R. Roybal Learning Center outperforms its district average for low-income students by 15.6 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (11.1% Math proficient); Hispanic students (56.8% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 47.7 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 248 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Edward R. Roybal Learning Center?
Edward R. Roybal Learning Center's teachers are authorized to teach 14 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, Biology, Calculus AB, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Human Geography, Psychology, Seminar, Spanish Language and Culture, Spanish Literature and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Edward R. Roybal Learning Center go to UC?
In fall 2025, 51 Edward R. Roybal Learning Center graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate92.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard10.6%19.8%22%
College readiness52.6%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded34.0%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism34.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.3%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)22.5%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Edward R. Roybal Learning Center: reading the evidence

Edward R. Roybal Learning Center posts 34% meeting the standard and 10.6% exceeding it, against 43% and 19.8% statewide. The gaps and the bright spots below are the real read.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Edward R. Roybal Learning Center is ranked #899 statewide · #131 of 196 in Los Angeles Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate92.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard10.6%19.8%22%
College readiness52.6%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded34.0%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism34.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.3%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)22.5%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 57 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 44 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 61 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 49 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 46 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.1pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 65 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.1pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 18.0% · index 60 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1125919%38%27%17%57%+8
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 112593%8%27%61%11%−13

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide2622%17%70%11%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged24856.6%+16+18
Hispanic/Latino24756.8%+16+18
Students with Disabilities3538.2%+22+21
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Edward R. Roybal Learning Center ←—5110.6%34.0%0.3%
Downtown Business High0 mi7543.7%71.9%0.3%
Orthopaedic Hospital2.5 mi7124.1%54.6%0.4%
Alliance Ted K. Tajima High0.4 mi6926.4%59.1%1.8%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
92.7%
AP Exam Prepared
52.6%
A-G Completion
91.0%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
50.3%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20195656#66015.7%51.7%32.7%0.6%
20225046#8659.8%29.6%37.2%0.3%
20235249#84013.1%32.1%41.5%0.4%
20245145#90110.5%32.0%36.0%0.4%
20255145#89910.6%34.0%34.9%0.3%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female32.2%34.6%+2.4pp
Male33.9%35.5%+1.6pp
Asian13.8%10.0%-3.8pp
Black/African American44.8%42.9%-1.9pp
Filipino36.4%23.8%-12.6pp
Hispanic/Latino33.2%35.3%+2.1pp
Students with Disabilities41.7%38.4%-3.3pp
English Learners36.6%46.3%+9.7pp
Homeless34.4%73.8%+39.4pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged33.5%35.6%+2.1pp
All Students33.3%35.1%+1.8pp
White—18.8%—
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
2025134125513.673.703.81
20248479283.763.793.86
20237452183.773.904.09
20223827153.723.873.97
2021302053.563.633.67
2020452143.473.75—
20195324123.573.813.98
20187543233.523.683.71
20176838193.573.783.82
20165438143.543.683.80
20158446263.573.853.89
20148459383.713.953.98

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley2025265‹3
Berkeley2024245‹3
Berkeley202334‹3‹3
Berkeley20221753
Berkeley20218‹3‹3
Davis20255315‹3
Davis202427133
Davis202311‹3‹3
Davis2022126‹3
Davis202183‹3
Irvine20255133
Irvine2024435‹3
Irvine202349‹3‹3
Irvine2022255‹3
Irvine202124‹3‹3
Los Angeles20257376
Los Angeles20245664
Los Angeles2023604‹3
Los Angeles20223544
Los Angeles202122‹3‹3
Merced202566633
Merced202426264
Merced2023109‹3
Merced20221010‹3
Merced2021119‹3
Riverside20251028720
Riverside202453455
Riverside202348304
Riverside20222113‹3
Riverside2021169‹3
San Diego202556228
San Diego202441225
San Diego202340229
San Diego2022176‹3
San Diego20216‹3‹3
Santa Barbara202581246
Santa Barbara2024349‹3
Santa Barbara2023276‹3
Santa Barbara2022147‹3
Santa Barbara2021166‹3
Santa Cruz20255323‹3
Santa Cruz202433173
Santa Cruz20232111‹3
Santa Cruz202273‹3
Santa Cruz20215‹3‹3
Universitywide202513412551
Universitywide2024847928
Universitywide2023745218
Universitywide2022382715
Universitywide202130205

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Human Geographythis school
Psychologythis school
Seminarthis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Spanish Literature and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count14
AP enrollment253
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections1
Physics sections3
Chemistry sections6
Total enrollment (CRDC)856

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California178.5%
California State University4020.1%
California community college3819.1%
In-state private42.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year10.5%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled9949.7%

199 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 50% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/edward-r-roybal-learning-center-7051"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Edward R. Roybal Learning Center — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Edward R. Roybal Learning Center

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.