ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Contreras Learning Center-School of Social Justice

Los Angeles, CA · Grades 9-12 · 326 students · Los Angeles Unified

The scores are below where anyone wants them. Here's what they don't tell you.

37% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 10% in math. 66.7% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Math

10%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

37%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

326

Total enrollment

Graduation

66.7%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 8%2022: 7%2023: 6%2024: 6%2025: 10%2019: 34%2022: 27%2023: 39%2024: 49%2025: 37%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 8%2022: 7%2023: 6%2024: 6%2025: 10%2019: 34%2022: 27%2023: 39%2024: 49%2025: 37%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
20198%34%
20227%27%
20236%39%
20246%49%
202510%37%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has stayed near the 9th percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “24% proficient” and call it done. Contreras Learning Center-School of Social Justice deserves a closer read. Nearly all of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Test scores are one lens, and at this school they're a rough one right now. The sections below show the fuller picture — including the parts that are working.

89 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Contreras Learning Center-School of Social Justice scores 36 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 9th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Proficiency here is back to its pre-pandemic level — 24% meet the standard, about where the school stood in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 8th percentile · Scope Score 36 of 1002022 · 7th percentile · Scope Score 33 of 1002023 · 9th percentile · Scope Score 37 of 1002024 · 12th percentile · Scope Score 38 of 1002025 · 9th percentile · Scope Score 36 of 100
ELARed(Declined)MathOrange(Increased)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1134%27%39%49%37%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 118%7%6%6%10%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in five of students here meet the standard. 6% clear it by a lot.

ELA37% met or exceeded
Exceeded 9%Met 28%Nearly Met 20%Not Met 43%
Math10% met or exceeded
Exceeded 3%Met 7%Nearly Met 12%Not Met 78%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school366%24%66.7%58.3%34.9%1.0%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope3654
% Exceeded6%20%
% Met+24%43%
Grad rate66.7%92.5%
College readiness58.3%43.0%
Absence34.9%23.1%
Suspension1.0%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard about even with the same group statewide.

At Contreras Learning Center-School of Social Justice in Los Angeles, 37.6% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 40.9% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Contreras Learning Center-School of Social Justice trails its district average for low-income students by 3.3 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (9.4% Math proficient); Hispanic students (36.0% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 27.1 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 85 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 24% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 24%, district —, state 43%24%
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 23%, district 36%, state 32%23% · −1 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 24%, district 36%, state 32%24% · −0 vs school
MaleMale: this school 21%, district 41%, state 42%21% · −3 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 6%, district 9%, state 11%6% · −17 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 28%, district 42%, state 44%28% · +5 vs school
HomelessHomeless: too few students to report‹11
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: too few students to report‹11
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: too few students to report‹11
WhiteWhite: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic96.6% AP · 96.1% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
Asian1.7% AP · 1.5% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
Black1.7% AP · 1.3% enroll.
White0.0% AP · 1.1% enroll.
Two or more races0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
English learners3.4% AP · 38.9% enroll.
Students with disabilities6.8% AP · 8.0% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

42%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 41 of 97 completers · includes community colleges

97Completers
28%
Other colleges27 completers · Outside the California community college system
14%
California community colleges14 completers · Enrolled within a year
58%
Not recorded enrolled56 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Where the class of 2023 went
42%enrolled in college within a year
  • University of California5 (5%)
  • California State University15 (15%)
  • California community college14 (14%)
  • In-state private7 (7%)
  • Not enrolled56 (58%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic

See the full roll →

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 18 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Contreras Learning Center-School of Social Justice's teachers are authorized to teach 4 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — including English Language and Composition, Research, and Seminar.

Students per teacher18 · district 20
Teaching staff18 teachers
Avg. experience7.3 years
Fully credentialed98%
First-year teachers6%
PrincipalCarolina Arce
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$60,420 – $122,706
Principal salary$154,576 – $170,030
Superintendent salary$440,000

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers21 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught4
ShowHide the 4 AP courses by discipline
English (1)English Language and Composition
History & Social Science (1)U.S. Government and Politics
AP Capstone (2)Research · Seminar

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended less, than the state average.

34.9% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — a school visit will tell you more than this number.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 34.9%, district 22.8%, state 23.1%34.9% · +11.9pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 1.0%, district —, state 3.3%1.0% · −2.3pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1235.5%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $25,391 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

$2,273 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $25,391, CA average $14,491$25,391 · spent at this school
Federal share$2,273 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$29,292 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 52%Instruction support 16%Student services 12%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$18,180 per pupil
2019$16,355 per pupil
2018$15,793 per pupil
2017$13,247 per pupil
2016$13,549 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Nearly all of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 326 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 6% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino94.5% · district 73.2% · CA 56.1%
White2.1% · district 9.9% · CA 19.9%
Black2.1% · district 7.2% · CA 4.8%
Other1.2% · district 6.3% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch96.6% · CA 64%
Median income$53K · CA $85K
Median home value$692K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+35% · CA 35%
ZIP population30,172
Median age33 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Contreras Learning Center-School of Social JusticePublicNeeds Support6%24%School being viewed
Downtown Business HighPublicStrong44%72%0.4 mi
Orthopaedic HospitalPublicStrong24%55%2.1 mi
Alliance Ted K. Tajima HighCharterStrong26%59%0.4 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Los Angeles →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

16 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Los Angeles Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Elementary · K–5

Betty Plasencia ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 32/100
Tenth Street ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 26/100
Esperanza ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 38/100
Harvard ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 37/100
Frank del Olmo ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 44/100
Alexandria Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 53/100
Cahuenga ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 46/100
Commonwealth Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 40/100
Hobart Boulevard ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 34/100
Hoover Street ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 58/100
Leo Politi ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 30/100
Albion Street ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 31/100
Ann Street ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 21/100
Aragon Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 32/100
Hillside ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 36/100
Latona Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 38/100
Mt. Washington ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 60/100
Solano Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 52/100
Loreto Street ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 31/100
Magnolia Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 46/100
Rosemont Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 39/100
Charles H. Kim ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 58/100
Gratts Learning Academy for Young Scholars (GLAYS)Alternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 32/100
Charles White ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 40/100
Union Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 32/100
Los Angeles ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 27/100
Aldama ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 35/100
Gates Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 39/100
Griffin Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 40/100
Ninth Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 23/100
Toland Way ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 38/100
Micheltorena Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 53/100
Dr. Sammy Lee Medical and Health Science Magnet ElAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 58/100
Dayton Heights ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 40/100
Dorris Place ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 49/100
MacArthur Park Elementary School for the Visual anAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 25/100
Castelar Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 31/100

Middle · 6–8

High school · 9–12

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what changed in the last two years, and what the school is asking families for. Growth shows up in these numbers a year or two after it shows up in classrooms.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Contreras Learning Center-School of Social Justice a good high school?
Contreras Learning Center-School of Social Justice has a Scope Score of 36 out of 100, placing it in the 9th percentile of California high schools and ranked #1,504 statewide. 6.2% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 13.6 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Contreras Learning Center-School of Social Justice's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 23.6% of students at Contreras Learning Center-School of Social Justice met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 6.2% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 17.4% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 6.2% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 178 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Contreras Learning Center-School of Social Justice rank in California?
Contreras Learning Center-School of Social Justice ranks #1,504 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 9th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Contreras Learning Center-School of Social Justice?
34.9% of students at Contreras Learning Center-School of Social Justice are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 1.0%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Contreras Learning Center-School of Social Justice compare to other schools in Los Angeles?
Contreras Learning Center-School of Social Justice scores 36/100 (9th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 326 students. Use the schools in Los Angeles page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Contreras Learning Center-School of Social Justice serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Contreras Learning Center-School of Social Justice in Los Angeles, 37.6% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 40.9% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Contreras Learning Center-School of Social Justice trails its district average for low-income students by 3.3 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (9.4% Math proficient); Hispanic students (36.0% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 27.1 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 85 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Contreras Learning Center-School of Social Justice?
Contreras Learning Center-School of Social Justice's teachers are authorized to teach 4 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: English Language and Composition, Research, Seminar, U.S. Government and Politics. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate66.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard6.2%19.8%22%
College readiness58.3%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded23.6%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism34.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.0%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)9.0%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Contreras Learning Center-School of Social Justice: reading the evidence

Contreras Learning Center-School of Social Justice posts low test scores — and suspensions run below the state rate (1.0% vs 3.3%). If this is your zoned school, the numbers below are where to start a conversation, not where to end one.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Contreras Learning Center-School of Social Justice is ranked #1,504 statewide · #192 of 196 in Los Angeles Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate66.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard6.2%19.8%22%
College readiness58.3%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded23.6%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism34.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.0%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)9.0%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 29 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 39 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 64 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 41 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 46 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 3.4pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 62 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 0.2pp higher vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 40 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11899%28%20%43%37%−12
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11893%7%12%78%10%−14

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide960%6%78%16%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged8537.6%−3−1
Hispanic/Latino8636.0%−5−3
English Learners4010.0%+3−0
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Contreras Learning Center-School of Social Justice ←—366.2%23.6%1.0%
Downtown Business High0.4 mi7543.7%71.9%0.3%
Orthopaedic Hospital2.1 mi7124.1%54.6%0.4%
Alliance Ted K. Tajima High0.4 mi6926.4%59.1%1.8%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
66.7%
AP Exam Prepared
58.3%
A-G Completion
72.4%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
42.3%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
2019368#13945.4%21.0%35.3%1.5%
2022337#14942.7%16.9%46.7%1.1%
2023379#14834.5%22.7%35.8%1.0%
20243812#14376.6%27.2%31.6%0.8%
2025369#15046.2%23.6%34.9%1.0%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female36.7%35.5%-1.2pp
Male36.7%35.6%-1.1pp
Hispanic/Latino37.4%34.7%-2.7pp
Students with Disabilities59.5%48.3%-11.2pp
English Learners44.3%35.0%-9.3pp
Homeless40.7%53.2%+12.5pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged37.6%34.3%-3.3pp
All Students36.7%35.5%-1.2pp
06AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 06 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
English Language and Compositionthis school
Researchthis school
Seminarthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

07Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 07 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count5
AP enrollment59
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 20 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections1
Physics sections2
Chemistry sections4
Total enrollment (CRDC)465

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

08College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 08 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California55.2%
California State University1515.5%
California community college1414.4%
In-state private77.2%
Out-of-state, 4-year00.0%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled5657.7%

97 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 42% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/contreras-learning-center-school-of-social-justice-7795"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Contreras Learning Center-School of Social Justice — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Contreras Learning Center-School of Social Justice

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.