ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Balboa High

San Francisco, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,238 students · San Francisco Unified

Most kids here clear the bar, year after year. The question is what happens after that.

66% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 46% in math. 92.9% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

PrincipalCatherine Arenson
Grades9-12
Enrollment1,238 students

Math

46%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

66%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,238

Total enrollment

Graduation

92.9%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 39%2022: 47%2023: 43%2024: 44%2025: 46%2019: 63%2022: 68%2023: 60%2024: 70%2025: 66%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 39%2022: 47%2023: 43%2024: 44%2025: 46%2019: 63%2022: 68%2023: 60%2024: 70%2025: 66%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201939%63%
202247%68%
202343%60%
202444%70%
202546%66%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has stayed near the 70th percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “56% proficient” and call it done. Balboa deserves a closer read. Three in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Balboa's low-income kids hit 63.0% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

245 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Balboa High scores 60 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 70th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

The pandemic drop is behind this school: 56% of students meet the standard today, above the 51% who did in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 74th percentile · Scope Score 63 of 1002022 · 84th percentile · Scope Score 67 of 1002023 · 76th percentile · Scope Score 63 of 1002024 · 79th percentile · Scope Score 64 of 1002025 · 70th percentile · Scope Score 60 of 100
ELAOrange(Declined Significantly)MathOrange(Maintained)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1163%68%60%70%66%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1139%47%43%44%46%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

More than half of students here meet the standard. One in five clear it by a lot.

ELA66% met or exceeded
Exceeded 23%Met 42%Nearly Met 19%Not Met 16%
Math46% met or exceeded
Exceeded 18%Met 28%Nearly Met 19%Not Met 35%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school6021%56%92.9%70.8%25.9%4.8%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope6054
% Exceeded21%20%
% Met+56%43%
Grad rate92.9%92.5%
College readiness70.8%43.0%
Absence25.9%23.1%
Suspension4.8%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

63.0% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 56% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 56%, district —, state 43%56%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 54%, district 36%, state 32%54% · −2 vs school
MaleMale: this school 55%, district 49%, state 42%55% · −1 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 69%, district 69%, state 72%69% · +14 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 57%, district 50%, state 44%57% · +1 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 29%, district 22%, state 32%29% · −26 vs school
FilipinoFilipino: this school 51%, district 48%, state 65%51% · −4 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 10%, district 10%, state 11%10% · −45 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 13%, district 19%, state 15%13% · −43 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 79%, district 71%, state 56%79% · +23 vs school

5 of 15 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic23.3% AP · 30.2% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.5% AP · 0.8% enroll.
Asian64.8% AP · 53.7% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander6.1% AP · 2.2% enroll.
Black0.9% AP · 6.1% enroll.
White2.7% AP · 3.6% enroll.
Two or more races1.8% AP · 3.3% enroll.
English learners16.0% AP · 21.3% enroll.
Students with disabilities4.1% AP · 15.6% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

82%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 241 of 293 completers · includes community colleges

293Completers
44%
Other colleges128 completers · Outside the California community college system
39%
California community colleges113 completers · Enrolled within a year
18%
Not recorded enrolled52 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

82%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Balboa's class of 2023, 82% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 293 completers, 82% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 63 (22%)California State University 52 (18%)California community college 113 (39%)In-state private 4 (1%)Out-of-state, 4-year 9 (3%)Out-of-state, 2-year 0 (0%)Not enrolled 52 (18%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 60 of Balboa's 289 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Davis the most common landing, with 20 enrollees.

Applied152fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted120
Enrolled60
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Davis 20Santa Cruz 13Berkeley 12San Diego 4Los Angeles 3Merced 3Riverside 3Irvine ‹3Santa Barbara ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 71 enrolled, 2016

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 82% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (113) than at UC (63).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 20 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Balboa's teachers are authorized to teach 11 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics 1.

Students per teacher20 · district 22
Teaching staff75 teachers
Avg. experience12.4 years
Fully credentialed67%
First-year teachers7%
Intern / emergency permit4.2%
PrincipalCatherine Arenson
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$69,525 – $131,654
Principal salary$150,963 – $163,648
Superintendent salary$328,879

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers155 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers109 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught11
ShowHide the 11 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (3)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Statistics
Sciences (2)Biology · Physics 1
English (1)English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (2)Psychology · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (2)Chinese Language and Culture · Spanish Language and Culture
Arts (1)Drawing

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended more, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 25.9%, district 25.8%, state 23.1%25.9% · +2.8pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 4.8%, district —, state 3.3%4.8% · +1.6pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1225.5%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $23,810 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $23,810, CA average $14,491$23,810 · spent at this school
District current expense · FY 2024–25$26,762 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 60%Instruction support 12%Student services 15%Administration 6%Buildings & maintenance 7%Other 1%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$17,416 per pupil
2019$17,139 per pupil
2018$17,228 per pupil
2017$13,640 per pupil
2016$11,532 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Three in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 41% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino34.6% · district 36.7% · CA 56.1%
White3.5% · district 13.1% · CA 19.9%
Asian41.9% · district 27.7% · CA 10.2%
Black5.7% · district 7.3% · CA 4.8%
Other14.3% · district 15.1% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch63.7% · CA 64%
Median income$135K · CA $85K
Median home value$1.17M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+37% · CA 35%
ZIP population79,277
Median age43 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Find contact and visit details →

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Balboa HighPublicSolid21%56%School being viewed
Asawa (Ruth) SF Sch of the Arts, A Public SchoolPublicStrong44%73%1.7 mi
Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic HighPublicSolid17%41%1.9 mi
Academy (The)- SF @McAteerPublicSolid20%48%1.7 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in San Francisco →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

20 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with San Francisco Unified.

District information →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Elementary · K–5

Chin (John Yehall) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 63/100
Alamo ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 66/100
Alvarado ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 49/100
Argonne ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 59/100
Harte (Bret) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 11/100
Bryant ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 25/100
Cleveland ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 22/100
Sloat (Commodore) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 47/100
Lau (Gordon J.) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 59/100
Webster (Daniel) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 45/100
Milk (Harvey) Civil Rights ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 39/100
Taylor (Edward R.) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 34/100
El Dorado ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 11/100
Key (Francis Scott) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 63/100
McCoppin (Frank) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 45/100
Peabody (George) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 71/100
Moscone (George R.) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 23/100
Carver (George Washington) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 12/100
Glen Park ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 35/100
Grattan ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 64/100
Guadalupe ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 25/100
Chavez (Cesar) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 23/100
Hillcrest ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 16/100
Parker (Jean) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 43/100
Jefferson ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 47/100
Feinstein (Dianne) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 45/100
Chinese Immersion School at DeAvilaAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 82/100
San Francisco Public MontessoriAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 30/100
Cobb (William L.) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 21/100
Huerta (Dolores) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 37/100
Garfield ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 42/100
Yick Wo ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 51/100
Muir (John) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 37/100
Ortega (Jose) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 51/100
Serra (Junipero) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 17/100
Lafayette ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 57/100
Flynn (Leonard R.) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 33/100
Longfellow ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 29/100
Marshall ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 15/100
McKinley ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 49/100
Miraloma ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 56/100
Monroe ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 43/100
Parks (Rosa) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 29/100
Redding ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 16/100
Stevenson (Robert Louis) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 71/100
Sanchez ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 17/100
Sheridan ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 23/100
Sherman ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 43/100
Malcolm X AcademyAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 13/100
Spring Valley ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 27/100
King (Thomas Starr) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 59/100
Sunnyside ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 46/100
Sutro ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 56/100
Ulloa ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 57/100
Visitacion Valley ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 18/100
West Portal ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 46/100
Lee (Edwin and Anita) NewcomerAlternative · verify enrollment route
Mission Education CenterAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 11/100
New Traditions ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 65/100
Drew (Charles) College Preparatory AcademyAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 23/100
Sunset ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 71/100
Tenderloin CommunityAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 18/100
Lakeshore Alternative ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 35/100

Middle · 6–8

Giannini (A.P.) MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 63/100
Aptos MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 57/100
Francisco MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 33/100
Hoover (Herbert) MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 51/100
Denman (James) MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 26/100
Lick (James) MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 25/100
Marina MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 47/100
King Jr. (Martin Luther) Academic MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 24/100
Presidio MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 65/100
Roosevelt MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 65/100
Visitacion Valley MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 12/100
Everett MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 12/100
Brown Jr. (Willie L) MiddleAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 42/100
Carmichael (Bessie)/FECAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 14/100
Revere (Paul) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 15/100
Buena Vista/ Horace Mann K-8Alternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 23/100
Rooftop ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 49/100
Lilienthal (Claire) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 69/100
Yu (Alice Fong) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 76/100
San Francisco Community AlternativeAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 34/100
Lawton AlternativeAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 73/100

High school · 9–12

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask how the school challenges kids who clear the standard early. The gap between meeting and exceeding is where pacing shows.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Balboa High a good high school?
Balboa High has a Scope Score of 60 out of 100, placing it in the 70th percentile of California high schools and ranked #498 statewide. 20.7% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is near the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Balboa High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 55.7% of students at Balboa High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 20.7% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 35.0% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 20.7% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 492 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Balboa High rank in California?
Balboa High ranks #498 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 70th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Balboa High?
25.9% of students at Balboa High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 4.8%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Balboa High compare to other schools in San Francisco?
Balboa High scores 60/100 (70th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,238 students. Use the schools in San Francisco page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Balboa High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Balboa High in San Francisco, 63.0% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 38.8% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Balboa High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 24.2 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (44.8% Math proficient); Asian students (73.0% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 61.7 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 148 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Balboa High?
Balboa High's teachers are authorized to teach 11 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chinese Language and Culture, Drawing, English Literature and Composition, Physics 1, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Balboa High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 60 Balboa High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate92.9%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard20.7%19.8%22%
College readiness70.8%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded55.7%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism25.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate4.8%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)5.8%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Balboa High: reading the evidence

Balboa posts 56% meeting the standard, and 20.7% going well past it. Most kids here keep up. Fewer get pushed further. Ask the school what it does for a child who already finds the work easy.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Balboa High is ranked #498 statewide · #6 of 18 in San Francisco Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate92.9%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard20.7%19.8%22%
College readiness70.8%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded55.7%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism25.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate4.8%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)5.8%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 57 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 55 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 71 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 65 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 54 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 0.4pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 45 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 1.9pp higher vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 33 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1124523%42%19%16%66%+17
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1124718%28%19%35%46%+22

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide24210%31%52%8%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged14863.0%+24+25
Asian12673.0%+3−1
Hispanic/Latino6947.8%+22+9
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Balboa High ←—6020.7%55.7%4.8%
Asawa (Ruth) SF Sch of the Arts, A Public School1.7 mi8143.7%73.1%2.4%
Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic High1.9 mi5517.1%41.4%5.6%
Academy (The)- SF @McAteer1.7 mi5420.4%47.7%2.4%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
92.9%
AP Exam Prepared
70.8%
A-G Completion
70.6%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
82.3%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20196374#40024.2%50.9%19.5%3.9%
20226784#26027.4%57.3%24.8%1.7%
20236376#40021.1%51.4%25.9%2.4%
20246479#34223.5%56.6%25.5%3.0%
20256070#49820.7%55.7%25.9%4.8%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female21.9%27.5%+5.6pp
Male17.0%23.9%+6.9pp
Asian3.6%7.9%+4.3pp
Black/African American42.2%65.8%+23.6pp
Filipino12.6%24.7%+12.1pp
Hispanic/Latino31.2%37.8%+6.6pp
Pacific Islander47.5%47.1%-0.4pp
Two or More Races40.7%39.2%-1.5pp
White25.6%21.3%-4.3pp
Students with Disabilities35.3%39.9%+4.6pp
English Learners27.8%35.4%+7.6pp
Homeless50.0%36.2%-13.8pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged19.5%27.2%+7.7pp
All Students19.1%25.5%+6.4pp
Foster Youth—60.0%—
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
2025152120603.803.904.01
2024149105633.853.994.04
2023148105663.873.973.99
202213696693.904.064.13
202112477403.763.934.05
202012097623.843.974.09
201911268383.854.044.10
201813892643.884.054.15
201713292653.793.994.07
201612894713.783.953.99
201510970443.794.024.09
201413690663.773.923.98

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20251301712
Berkeley20241081711
Berkeley2023115119
Berkeley20221071310
Berkeley20218673
Davis20251374320
Davis20241255019
Davis20231323918
Davis20221223823
Davis2021982511
Irvine20259714‹3
Irvine2024115167
Irvine20231058‹3
Irvine2022939‹3
Irvine20217763
Los Angeles202599113
Los Angeles2024107107
Los Angeles2023107‹3‹3
Los Angeles20229663
Los Angeles20217543
Merced202575733
Merced202427243
Merced202347455
Merced202239373
Merced202134293
Riverside202562563
Riverside202440263
Riverside202351373
Riverside20223222‹3
Riverside202130163
San Diego202598234
San Diego2024100194
San Diego2023112124
San Diego202280146
San Diego2021706‹3
Santa Barbara20258118‹3
Santa Barbara20247722‹3
Santa Barbara202391113
Santa Barbara20227818‹3
Santa Barbara202149115
Santa Cruz2025966413
Santa Cruz202496638
Santa Cruz2023976021
Santa Cruz2022904820
Santa Cruz202170418
Universitywide202515212060
Universitywide202414910563
Universitywide202314810566
Universitywide20221369669
Universitywide20211247740

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chinese Language and Culturethis school
Drawingthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Physics 1this school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count11
AP enrollment443
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 67 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections4
Physics sections14
Chemistry sections4
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,201

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California6321.5%
California State University5217.8%
California community college11338.6%
In-state private41.4%
Out-of-state, 4-year93.1%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled5217.7%

293 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 82% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/balboa-high-0288"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Balboa High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Balboa High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.