ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic High

San Francisco, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,047 students · San Francisco Unified

High scores, healthy climate, strong attendance. We looked for a catch — we didn't find one.

56% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 26% in math. 91.4% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

PrincipalSuniqua Thomas
Grades9-12
Enrollment1,047 students

Math

26%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

56%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,047

Total enrollment

Graduation

91.4%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 30%2022: 25%2023: 18%2024: 30%2025: 26%2019: 59%2022: 50%2023: 59%2024: 63%2025: 56%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 30%2022: 25%2023: 18%2024: 30%2025: 26%2019: 59%2022: 50%2023: 59%2024: 63%2025: 56%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201930%59%
202225%50%
202318%59%
202430%63%
202526%56%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has stayed near the 57th percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “41% proficient” and call it done. Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic deserves a closer read. Two-thirds of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic's low-income kids hit 57.1% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

239 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic High scores 55 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 57th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Proficiency here is back to its pre-pandemic level — 41% meet the standard, about where the school stood in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 64th percentile · Scope Score 59 of 1002022 · 67th percentile · Scope Score 57 of 1002023 · 64th percentile · Scope Score 57 of 1002024 · 73rd percentile · Scope Score 61 of 1002025 · 57th percentile · Scope Score 55 of 100
ELAOrange(Declined Significantly)MathOrange(Declined Significantly)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1159%50%59%63%56%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1130%25%18%30%26%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Two in five of students here meet the standard. One in ten clear it by a lot.

ELA56% met or exceeded
Exceeded 22%Met 34%Nearly Met 18%Not Met 25%
Math26% met or exceeded
Exceeded 12%Met 14%Nearly Met 17%Not Met 57%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school5517%41%91.4%78.1%39.4%5.6%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope5554
% Exceeded17%20%
% Met+41%43%
Grad rate91.4%92.5%
College readiness78.1%43.0%
Absence39.4%23.1%
Suspension5.6%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

57.1% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 42% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 42%, district —, state 43%42%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 42%, district 36%, state 32%42% · +0 vs school
MaleMale: this school 41%, district 49%, state 42%41% · −1 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 42%, district 50%, state 44%42% · +1 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 23%, district 22%, state 32%23% · −19 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 66%, district 69%, state 72%66% · +24 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 5%, district 10%, state 11%5% · −37 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 15%, district 19%, state 15%15% · −26 vs school
FilipinoFilipino: this school 55%, district 48%, state 65%55% · +13 vs school
HomelessHomeless: this school 33%, district 22%, state 22%33% · −8 vs school

5 of 15 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored

In the 2020-21 federal collection — the newest there is — Hispanic students were 39% of Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic's enrollment but 21% of its AP seats; ask the school what's changed since.

Hispanic20.6% AP · 38.7% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native1.2% AP · 0.7% enroll.
Asian59.9% AP · 44.4% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander10.6% AP · 3.1% enroll.
Black2.4% AP · 7.9% enroll.
White1.8% AP · 1.4% enroll.
Two or more races3.5% AP · 3.7% enroll.
English learners12.7% AP · 23.0% enroll.
Students with disabilities4.4% AP · 16.5% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

78%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 176 of 226 completers · includes community colleges

226Completers
46%
Other colleges105 completers · Outside the California community college system
31%
California community colleges71 completers · Enrolled within a year
22%
Not recorded enrolled50 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

78%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic's class of 2023, 78% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 226 completers, 78% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 40 (18%)California State University 61 (27%)California community college 71 (31%)In-state private 3 (1%)Out-of-state, 4-year 1 (0%)Out-of-state, 2-year 0 (0%)Not enrolled 50 (22%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 47 of Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic's 212 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Davis the most common landing, with 19 enrollees.

Applied93fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted71
Enrolled47
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)

5 of 9 campuses are masked below UC's privacy floor — a protection, not a verdict.

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 60 enrolled, 2021

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 78% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (71) than at UC (40).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 19 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic's teachers are authorized to teach 11 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — including Calculus AB, Physics 1, and Statistics.

Students per teacher19 · district 22
Teaching staff60 teachers
Avg. experience11.1 years
Fully credentialed78%
First-year teachers7%
Intern / emergency permit1.3%
PrincipalSuniqua Thomas
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$69,525 – $131,654
Principal salary$150,963 – $163,648
Superintendent salary$328,879

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers121 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers66 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught11
ShowHide the 11 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (2)Calculus AB · Statistics
Sciences (2)Biology · Physics 1
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (3)U.S. Government and Politics · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (2)Chinese Language and Culture · Spanish Language and Culture

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended more, than the state average.

39.4% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — the data can't say why.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 39.4%, district 25.8%, state 23.1%39.4% · +16.4pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 5.6%, district —, state 3.3%5.6% · +2.3pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1239.9%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $24,320 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $24,320, CA average $14,491$24,320 · spent at this school
District current expense · FY 2024–25$26,762 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 60%Instruction support 12%Student services 15%Administration 6%Buildings & maintenance 7%Other 1%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$17,416 per pupil
2019$17,139 per pupil
2018$17,228 per pupil
2017$13,640 per pupil
2016$11,532 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Two-thirds of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 42% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino45.6% · district 36.7% · CA 56.1%
White1.4% · district 13.1% · CA 19.9%
Asian27.9% · district 27.7% · CA 10.2%
Black7.8% · district 7.3% · CA 4.8%
Other17.2% · district 15.1% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch67.7% · CA 64%
Median income$120K · CA $85K
Median home value$1.07M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+33% · CA 35%
ZIP population38,633
Median age43 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Find contact and visit details →

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic HighPublicSolid17%41%School being viewed
Balboa HighPublicSolid21%56%1.9 mi
KIPP San Francisco College PreparatoryCharterSolid10%37%1.5 mi
City Arts & Leadership AcademyCharterDeveloping5%22%2.2 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in San Francisco →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

19 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with San Francisco Unified.

District information →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Elementary · K–5

Chin (John Yehall) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 63/100
Alamo ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 66/100
Alvarado ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 49/100
Argonne ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 59/100
Harte (Bret) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 11/100
Bryant ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 25/100
Cleveland ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 22/100
Sloat (Commodore) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 47/100
Lau (Gordon J.) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 59/100
Webster (Daniel) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 45/100
Milk (Harvey) Civil Rights ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 39/100
Taylor (Edward R.) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 34/100
El Dorado ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 11/100
Key (Francis Scott) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 63/100
McCoppin (Frank) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 45/100
Peabody (George) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 71/100
Moscone (George R.) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 23/100
Carver (George Washington) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 12/100
Glen Park ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 35/100
Grattan ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 64/100
Guadalupe ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 25/100
Chavez (Cesar) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 23/100
Hillcrest ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 16/100
Parker (Jean) ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 43/100
Jefferson ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 47/100
Feinstein (Dianne) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 45/100
Chinese Immersion School at DeAvilaAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 82/100
San Francisco Public MontessoriAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 30/100
Cobb (William L.) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 21/100
Huerta (Dolores) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 37/100
Garfield ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 42/100
Yick Wo ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 51/100
Muir (John) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 37/100
Ortega (Jose) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 51/100
Serra (Junipero) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 17/100
Lafayette ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 57/100
Flynn (Leonard R.) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 33/100
Longfellow ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 29/100
Marshall ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 15/100
McKinley ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 49/100
Miraloma ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 56/100
Monroe ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 43/100
Parks (Rosa) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 29/100
Redding ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 16/100
Stevenson (Robert Louis) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 71/100
Sanchez ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 17/100
Sheridan ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 23/100
Sherman ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 43/100
Malcolm X AcademyAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 13/100
Spring Valley ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 27/100
King (Thomas Starr) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 59/100
Sunnyside ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 46/100
Sutro ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 56/100
Ulloa ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 57/100
Visitacion Valley ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 18/100
West Portal ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 46/100
Lee (Edwin and Anita) NewcomerAlternative · verify enrollment route
Mission Education CenterAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 11/100
New Traditions ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 65/100
Drew (Charles) College Preparatory AcademyAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 23/100
Sunset ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 71/100
Tenderloin CommunityAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 18/100
Lakeshore Alternative ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 35/100

Middle · 6–8

Giannini (A.P.) MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 63/100
Aptos MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 57/100
Francisco MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 33/100
Hoover (Herbert) MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 51/100
Denman (James) MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 26/100
Lick (James) MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 25/100
Marina MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 47/100
King Jr. (Martin Luther) Academic MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 24/100
Presidio MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 65/100
Roosevelt MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 65/100
Visitacion Valley MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 12/100
Everett MiddlePublished boundary overlapScope Score 12/100
Brown Jr. (Willie L) MiddleAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 42/100
Carmichael (Bessie)/FECAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 14/100
Revere (Paul) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 15/100
Buena Vista/ Horace Mann K-8Alternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 23/100
Rooftop ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 49/100
Lilienthal (Claire) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 69/100
Yu (Alice Fong) ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 76/100
Lawton AlternativeAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 73/100
San Francisco Community AlternativeAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 34/100

High school · 9–12

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic High a good high school?
Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic High has a Scope Score of 55 out of 100, placing it in the 57th percentile of California high schools and ranked #705 statewide. 17.1% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 2.8 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 41.4% of students at Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 17.1% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 24.4% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 17.1% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 474 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic High rank in California?
Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic High ranks #705 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 57th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic High?
39.4% of students at Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 5.6%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic High compare to other schools in San Francisco?
Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic High scores 55/100 (57th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,047 students. Use the schools in San Francisco page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic High in San Francisco, 57.1% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 38.8% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 18.3 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (26.4% Math proficient); Hispanic students (38.7% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 49.8 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 168 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic High?
Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic High's teachers are authorized to teach 11 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: Biology, Calculus AB, Chinese Language and Culture, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Physics 1, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 47 Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

College readiness carries this score. The test levels sit close to the state's.

78.1% of students leave measurably college-ready, versus 43.0% statewide.

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate91.4%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard17.1%19.8%22%
College readiness78.1%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded41.4%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism39.4%23.1%5%
Suspension rate5.6%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)7.6%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic High: reading the evidence

Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic posts 41.4% meeting the standard — versus 43.2% statewide — with climate numbers better than most. That doesn't make it perfect. It makes it worth a visit to find what numbers can't measure.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic High is ranked #705 statewide · #9 of 18 in San Francisco Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate91.4%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard17.1%19.8%22%
College readiness78.1%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded41.4%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism39.4%23.1%5%
Suspension rate5.6%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)7.6%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 55 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 51 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 75 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 54 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 42 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 7.0pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 41 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.6pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 36 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1123922%34%18%25%56%+8
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1123512%14%17%57%26%+3

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide23713%29%48%10%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged16857.1%+18+19
Hispanic/Latino11138.7%+13−0
Asian8673.3%+3−1
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic High ←—5517.1%41.4%5.6%
Balboa High1.9 mi6020.7%55.7%4.8%
KIPP San Francisco College Preparatory1.5 mi5310.2%37.0%14.2%
City Arts & Leadership Academy2.2 mi484.7%22.1%9.7%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
91.4%
AP Exam Prepared
78.1%
A-G Completion
71.2%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
77.9%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20195964#54515.8%44.1%20.6%4.9%
20225767#52816.7%37.5%37.9%3.8%
20235764#58914.6%38.4%36.8%5.0%
20246173#45121.8%46.8%32.5%6.2%
20255557#70517.1%41.4%39.4%5.6%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female22.4%43.4%+21.0pp
Male18.5%36.9%+18.4pp
Asian3.9%13.7%+9.8pp
Black/African American47.1%65.9%+18.8pp
Filipino17.2%20.0%+2.8pp
Hispanic/Latino28.4%50.7%+22.3pp
Pacific Islander41.5%75.0%+33.5pp
Two or More Races41.7%59.1%+17.4pp
White17.4%42.9%+25.5pp
Students with Disabilities38.3%55.7%+17.4pp
English Learners30.0%52.3%+22.3pp
Homeless25.7%44.2%+18.5pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged21.5%42.2%+20.7pp
All Students20.2%39.9%+19.7pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
20259371473.904.044.15
20248865283.813.894.07
20239567403.823.994.13
2022132101553.964.064.14
202111092603.944.024.11
20208665433.833.944.06
201910466373.783.974.08
20189556323.844.054.12
20179142253.734.014.11
20168864493.773.933.97
20159459423.773.994.05
20146042343.743.933.97

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley2025794‹3
Berkeley20246543
Berkeley20237463
Berkeley2022971712
Berkeley202180159
Davis2025854219
Davis2024672310
Davis2023803219
Davis20221164116
Davis2021894919
Irvine20255883
Irvine2024468‹3
Irvine2023609‹3
Irvine202288133
Irvine2021776‹3
Los Angeles2025603‹3
Los Angeles20244454
Los Angeles20236333
Los Angeles20228853
Los Angeles20217583
Merced20254039‹3
Merced20242726‹3
Merced202330264
Merced202240384
Merced20212423‹3
Riverside20252824‹3
Riverside20242518‹3
Riverside2023149‹3
Riverside20222620‹3
Riverside202127203
San Diego2025562915
San Diego2024409‹3
San Diego2023515‹3
San Diego20227713‹3
San Diego202149135
Santa Barbara20254618‹3
Santa Barbara20243512‹3
Santa Barbara20233710‹3
Santa Barbara20225415‹3
Santa Barbara20215120‹3
Santa Cruz202545314
Santa Cruz202454314
Santa Cruz202353244
Santa Cruz2022845113
Santa Cruz2021746016
Universitywide2025937147
Universitywide2024886528
Universitywide2023956740
Universitywide202213210155
Universitywide20211109260

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Chinese Language and Culturethis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Physics 1this school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count11
AP enrollment339
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 47 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections6
Physics sections12
Chemistry sections10
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,149

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California4017.7%
California State University6127.0%
California community college7131.4%
In-state private31.3%
Out-of-state, 4-year10.4%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled5022.1%

226 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 78% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/burton-phillip-and-sala-academic-high-0254"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Burton (Phillip and Sala) Academic High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.