ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Cobalt Institute of Math and Science

Victorville, CA · Grades 7-12 · 1,058 students · Victor Valley Union High

A foundation in the reported results. Look across subjects and student groups.

88% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 36% in math. 99.4% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

Contact

Math

36%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

88%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,058

Total enrollment

Graduation

99.4%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 40%2022: 29%2023: 32%2024: 39%2025: 36%2019: 66%2022: 80%2023: 77%2024: 94%2025: 88%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 40%2022: 29%2023: 32%2024: 39%2025: 36%2019: 66%2022: 80%2023: 77%2024: 94%2025: 88%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201940%66%
202229%80%
202332%77%
202439%94%
202536%88%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Climbed from the 72nd to the 86th percentile since 2019 — past roughly 200 high schools.

Most rating sites would stop at “62% proficient” and call it done. Cobalt Institute of Math and Science deserves a closer read. Three in four of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Cobalt Institute of Math and Science's low-income kids hit 72.0% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

505 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Cobalt Institute of Math and Science scores 69 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 86th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

The pandemic drop is behind this school: 62% of students meet the standard today, above the 53% who did in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 72nd percentile · Scope Score 63 of 1002022 · 77th percentile · Scope Score 63 of 1002023 · 77th percentile · Scope Score 64 of 1002024 · 89th percentile · Scope Score 71 of 1002025 · 86th percentile · Scope Score 69 of 100
ELAGreen(Declined Significantly)MathGreen(Increased)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 755%54%68%76%66%
Grade 855%56%49%66%68%
Grade 1166%80%77%94%88%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 732%30%49%53%47%
Grade 828%22%22%41%49%
Grade 1140%29%32%39%36%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Three in five of students here meet the standard. One in four clear it by a lot.

ELA73% met or exceeded
Exceeded 25%Met 48%Nearly Met 21%Not Met 7%
Math45% met or exceeded
Exceeded 21%Met 24%Nearly Met 32%Not Met 24%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school6933%62%99.4%48.4%7.1%1.9%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope6954
% Exceeded33%20%
% Met+62%43%
Grad rate99.4%92.5%
College readiness48.4%43.0%
Absence7.1%23.1%
Suspension1.9%3.3%
California’s growth results and student groups
State growth model · CDE growth model 2024–25

California's own growth model places it near the 27th percentile of high schools.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

California runs its own growth model — it follows individual children in grades 4 through 8 and compares each one against a prediction from their own prior scores. On that measure this school sits well below the middle of California high schools in reading and math together. We show it; we don't score it.

— pts vs expected is scale-score points above or below what California's model predicted for these same children from their own prior-year scores. It is not a percentage and not a percent of anything. A typical California high school lands at −3 in reading, and the middle half of them fall between −13 and +5 — the spread is wide, so read the rank, not the sign. CDE blends two consecutive years into each published figure, so adjacent years share input data and no year-over-year trend can honestly be drawn from them. It covers grades 4-8 only, and it is not part of the Scope Score — we assessed it and left it out: it tracks school demographics roughly three times as strongly as our own growth measure does, and one published year is not enough to test how stable it is.

California's growth model, ranked against the schools it scores
State model · readingmatched students, grades 4-8California growth model, reading: −6 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 26th percentile of 7,519 reported schools.26th pctile · −6 pts
State model · mathmatched students, grades 4-8California growth model, math: −7 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 28th percentile of 7,518 reported schools.28th pctile · −7 pts
this school| the tick is the middle of the California field

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

72.0% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 59% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 59%, district —, state 43%59%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 57%, district 31%, state 32%57% · −1 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 58%, district 34%, state 32%58% · −1 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 52%, district 35%, state 44%52% · −7 vs school
MaleMale: this school 66%, district 31%, state 42%66% · +7 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 64%, district 44%, state 56%64% · +5 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: this school 32%, district 22%, state 26%32% · −27 vs school

10 of 17 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group
The state's growth model, by student group

California follows these children individually and predicts each one's score from their own prior year. Each row is read against the same group at a typical California high school — not against zero, and not against this school's all-students figure, because the state's expectation already differs by group.

Reading
Low-income students282 studentsLow-income students, reading: −3 scale-score points versus expectation, against −5 for the same group at a typical California high school, 282 students.−3 pts · +2 vs typical
Hispanic or Latino students278 studentsHispanic or Latino students, reading: −5 scale-score points versus expectation, against −3 for the same group at a typical California high school, 278 students.−5 pts · −2 vs typical
English Only248 studentsEnglish Only, reading: −7 scale-score points versus expectation, against −3 for the same group at a typical California high school, 248 students.−7 pts · −4 vs typical
English Learner62 studentsEnglish Learner, reading: 0 scale-score points versus expectation, against −8 for the same group at a typical California high school, 62 students.0 pts · +8 vs typical
Recently reclassified44 studentsRecently reclassified, reading: +5 scale-score points versus expectation, against −5 for the same group at a typical California high school, 44 students.+5 pts · +10 vs typical
Math
Low-income students282 studentsLow-income students, math: −7 scale-score points versus expectation, against −15 for the same group at a typical California high school, 282 students.−7 pts · +8 vs typical
Hispanic or Latino students278 studentsHispanic or Latino students, math: −9 scale-score points versus expectation, against −13 for the same group at a typical California high school, 278 students.−9 pts · +4 vs typical
English Only248 studentsEnglish Only, math: −10 scale-score points versus expectation, against −12 for the same group at a typical California high school, 248 students.−10 pts · +2 vs typical
English Learner62 studentsEnglish Learner, math: −7 scale-score points versus expectation, against −11 for the same group at a typical California high school, 62 students.−7 pts · +4 vs typical
Recently reclassified44 studentsRecently reclassified, math: −6 scale-score points versus expectation, against −15 for the same group at a typical California high school, 44 students.−6 pts · +9 vs typical
this school typical California high school, same group| the centre tick is 0 = as predicted

— 4 more groups are reported here with between 11 and 29 students. We hold those back on purpose: at that size the figure swings about 17 points on its own, and a quarter of such groups land past the state's top or bottom cut point by chance alone. They are listed with their student counts in the data appendix. — A group not listed at all had fewer than 11 students with a growth score, so California published nothing for it here. That is a privacy protection, not a judgment about those students. — Context only. None of this enters the Scope Score.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic67.5% AP · 73.5% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.2% enroll.
Asian6.3% AP · 4.9% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.8% AP · 0.3% enroll.
Black11.9% AP · 7.5% enroll.
White11.1% AP · 9.6% enroll.
Two or more races2.4% AP · 4.1% enroll.
English learners2.4% AP · 4.3% enroll.
Students with disabilities0.8% AP · 1.2% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

86%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 138 of 161 completers · includes community colleges

161Completers
32%
Other colleges52 completers · Outside the California community college system
53%
California community colleges86 completers · Enrolled within a year
14%
Not recorded enrolled23 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

86%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Cobalt Institute of Math and Science's class of 2023, 86% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 161 completers, 86% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 13 (8%)California State University 31 (19%)California community college 86 (53%)In-state private 6 (4%)Out-of-state, 4-year 0 (0%)Out-of-state, 2-year 2 (1%)Not enrolled 23 (14%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 27 of Cobalt Institute of Math and Science's 175 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Riverside the most common landing, with 7 enrollees.

Applied106fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted91
Enrolled27
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2016–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)

5 of 9 campuses are masked below UC's privacy floor — a protection, not a verdict.

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2016–2025

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 86% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (86) than at UC (13).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 25 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Cobalt Institute of Math and Science's teachers are authorized to teach 11 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Computer Science A.

Students per teacher25 · district 23
Teaching staff45 teachers
Avg. experience12.5 years
Fully credentialed81%
First-year teachers11%
Intern / emergency permit2.3%
PrincipalClarissa McNally
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$67,627 – $151,191
Principal salaryUp to $181,876
Superintendent salary$370,260

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers74 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught11
ShowHide the 11 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (3)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science A
Sciences (2)Biology · Environmental Science
History & Social Science (3)Psychology · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (1)Spanish Language and Culture
Arts (2)2-D Art and Design · Drawing

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Grades 9–12 students miss school at roughly three times the rate of Grades 7–8 students (6.1% vs 1.3%). Chronic absence here concentrates in the upper grades.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 7.1%, district 30.2%, state 23.1%7.1% · −16.0pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 1.9%, district —, state 3.3%1.9% · −1.4pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 7–81.3%
Grades 9–126.1%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

Its district spends $14,420 per student, about the same as the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $14,420, CA average $14,491$14,420 · district average
District current expense · FY 2024–25$22,861 per student
District averageCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 60%Instruction support 10%Student services 10%Administration 6%Buildings & maintenance 12%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$14,420 per pupil
2019$13,403 per pupil
2018$13,948 per pupil
2017$10,398 per pupil
2016$8,767 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Three in four of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 41% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino77.9% · district 70.6% · CA 56.1%
White8.6% · district 6.2% · CA 19.9%
Asian2.4% · district 1.4% · CA 10.2%
Black5.7% · district 15.7% · CA 4.8%
Other5.5% · district 6.1% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch80.0% · CA 64%
Median income$88K · CA $85K
Median home value$410K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+14% · CA 35%
ZIP population65,429
Median age32 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Cobalt Institute of Math and SciencePublicStrong33%62%School being viewed
University PreparatoryPublicStrong57%87%1.4 mi
Silverado HighPublicNeeds Support10%31%0.5 mi
Options for Youth-Victor Valley Charteralternative comparison groupCharterDeveloping14%35%2.6 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Victorville →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

2 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Victor Valley Union High.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask how the school challenges kids who clear the standard early. The gap between meeting and exceeding is where pacing shows.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Cobalt Institute of Math and Science a good high school?
Cobalt Institute of Math and Science has a Scope Score of 69 out of 100, placing it in the 86th percentile of California high schools and ranked #226 statewide. 32.7% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 12.9 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Cobalt Institute of Math and Science's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 61.9% of students at Cobalt Institute of Math and Science met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 32.7% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 29.1% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 32.7% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 278 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Cobalt Institute of Math and Science rank in California?
Cobalt Institute of Math and Science ranks #226 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 86th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Cobalt Institute of Math and Science?
7.1% of students at Cobalt Institute of Math and Science are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 1.9%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Cobalt Institute of Math and Science compare to other schools in Victorville?
Cobalt Institute of Math and Science scores 69/100 (86th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,058 students. Use the schools in Victorville page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Cobalt Institute of Math and Science serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Cobalt Institute of Math and Science in Victorville, 72.0% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 42.3% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Cobalt Institute of Math and Science outperforms its district average for low-income students by 29.6 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (42.7% Math proficient); Hispanic students (72.4% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 5.5 percentage points for white students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 403 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Cobalt Institute of Math and Science?
Cobalt Institute of Math and Science's teachers are authorized to teach 11 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Computer Science A, Drawing, Environmental Science, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Cobalt Institute of Math and Science go to UC?
In fall 2025, 27 Cobalt Institute of Math and Science graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate99.4%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard32.7%19.8%22%
College readiness48.4%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded61.9%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism7.1%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.9%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)30.0%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Cobalt Institute of Math and Science: reading the evidence

Cobalt Institute of Math and Science has an average Met + Exceeded rate of 62% and an Exceeded rate of 32.7% across the reported grades and subjects. Ask how students are supported and challenged at different starting points.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Cobalt Institute of Math and Science is ranked #226 statewide · #2 of 8 in Victor Valley Union High.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate99.4%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard32.7%19.8%22%
College readiness48.4%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded61.9%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism7.1%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.9%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)30.0%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 64 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 68 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 58 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 69 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 69 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · → no change vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 58 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 0.9pp higher vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 18.0% · index 71 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 718314%52%24%10%66%+19
Grade 818317%51%24%8%68%+22
Grade 1113948%40%12%1%88%+39
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 718319%28%34%19%47%+13
Grade 818326%24%28%23%49%+17
Grade 1113917%19%33%31%36%+12

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide32410%31%56%3%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged40372.0%+30+34
Hispanic/Latino38872.4%+28+34
White4772.3%+20+11
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Cobalt Institute of Math and Science ←—6932.7%61.9%1.9%
University Preparatory1.4 mi9056.7%86.6%0.7%
Silverado High0.5 mi4510.4%31.3%3.5%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
Options for Youth-Victor Valley Charterscored within its class, not statewide2.6 mi2014.3%34.8%0.4%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
99.4%
AP Exam Prepared
48.4%
A-G Completion
94.3%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
85.7%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20196372#41921.7%53.3%4.6%2.5%
20226377#36220.9%54.6%13.0%1.9%
20236477#37422.2%54.5%8.2%2.7%
20247189#18333.7%66.6%7.0%1.0%
20256986#22632.7%61.9%7.1%1.9%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female2.8%5.8%+3.0pp
Male0.9%2.8%+1.9pp
Asian0.0%0.0%+0.0pp
Black/African American4.9%8.3%+3.4pp
Filipino0.0%14.3%+14.3pp
Hispanic/Latino1.6%4.7%+3.1pp
Two or More Races6.7%2.9%-3.8pp
White0.0%0.0%+0.0pp
Students with Disabilities0.0%7.7%+7.7pp
English Learners2.9%0.0%-2.9pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged1.9%4.6%+2.7pp
All Students1.9%4.4%+2.5pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2016–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
202510691273.893.974.15
20249156263.763.964.07
20239457143.744.004.14
20229650253.653.933.99
20217333143.563.883.98
2020512793.583.864.05
2019391683.483.934.04
20183718123.583.863.86
20173523143.673.883.92
20168643.703.98—

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley2025324‹3
Berkeley202432‹3‹3
Berkeley202330‹3‹3
Berkeley2022334‹3
Berkeley20219‹3‹3
Davis20252815‹3
Davis2024187‹3
Davis2023175‹3
Davis2022173‹3
Davis2021164‹3
Irvine202579276
Irvine2024731810
Irvine2023564‹3
Irvine2022564‹3
Irvine2021524‹3
Los Angeles20256675
Los Angeles202458‹3‹3
Los Angeles20235633
Los Angeles20226843
Los Angeles20213955
Merced20251818‹3
Merced20241210‹3
Merced20231110‹3
Merced202287‹3
Merced202176‹3
Riverside202590757
Riverside2024554011
Riverside202360333
Riverside2022593213
Riverside202154255
San Diego202571356
San Diego20244420‹3
San Diego202340214
San Diego202252244
San Diego2021458‹3
Santa Barbara2025288‹3
Santa Barbara2024165‹3
Santa Barbara2023134‹3
Santa Barbara2022325‹3
Santa Barbara2021214‹3
Santa Cruz2025148‹3
Santa Cruz2024115‹3
Santa Cruz2023124‹3
Santa Cruz2022174‹3
Santa Cruz2021157‹3
Universitywide20251069127
Universitywide2024915626
Universitywide2023945714
Universitywide2022965025
Universitywide2021733314

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Computer Science Athis school
Drawingthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count5
AP enrollment126
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections3
Chemistry sections6
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,127

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California138.1%
California State University3119.3%
California community college8653.4%
In-state private63.7%
Out-of-state, 4-year00.0%
Out-of-state, 2-year21.2%
Not enrolled2314.3%

161 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 86% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

11California growth model, by student group2025 · scale-score points vs the state's prediction · shown, never scored
ShowHide table 11 — California growth model, by student group
GroupReadingnCDE bandMathnCDE band
All Students−6365Moderate−7365Moderate
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged−3282Average−7282Moderate
Hispanic or Latino−5278Average−9278Moderate
English Only−7248not categorised−10248not categorised
English Learner062Average−762Moderate
Recently Reclassified Fluent-English Proficient Only+544not categorised−644not categorised
White−1134Moderate+534Accelerated
Black or African American+923Accelerated−523Average
Long-Term English Learner (grades 6-8 only)−1522Moderate−2422Minimal
English Learners Only−918not categorised−218not categorised
Two or More Races−613Moderate−2713Minimal

Whole scale-score points above or below what CDE's model predicted for these same children from their own prior-year scores — not a percentage, not a percentile. Statewide a typical school lands near +1 with a spread of about 13 points either side, so read a figure against its group's own typical value, not against zero. Muted rows have fewer than 30 students with a growth score — published by CDE, held back from the narrative sections above because at that size the figure swings about 17 points on its own. “Not categorised” is CDE assigning no band — English Only, Recently Reclassified, and English Learners Only receive a value and no band, for every school in the state. It is not a missing number. Long-Term English Learner counts cover grades 6-8 only (CDE), so that row is not comparable to the All Students row. Most figures blend two consecutive years, so adjacent published years share input data and no trend line can honestly be drawn across them. A group absent from this table had fewer than 11 students with a growth score and was never published. Grades 4-8 only. None of this enters the Scope Score — it is more strongly correlated with school demographics than our own growth measure, and one published year is not enough to test its reliability.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/cobalt-institute-of-math-and-science-4698"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Cobalt Institute of Math and Science — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Cobalt Institute of Math and Science

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.