ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Ulysses S. Grant Senior High

Van Nuys, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,774 students · Los Angeles Unified

This school runs ahead of the state average. The bar itself is the harder conversation.

64% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 29% in math. 91.3% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

Patterns to investigate · 2025

On the Rise

Reading +5.0 pp · math +9.6 pp · 2023–2025 · same-grade averages

What has changed, and is the improvement reaching students with different starting points?

Findings can overlap. They describe reported results, not what caused them. Definitions and limits →

Contact

PrincipalRebecca McMurrin
Grades9-12
Enrollment1,774 students

Math

29%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

64%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,774

Total enrollment

Graduation

91.3%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 36%2022: 19%2023: 19%2024: 27%2025: 29%2019: 58%2022: 54%2023: 59%2024: 62%2025: 64%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 36%2022: 19%2023: 19%2024: 27%2025: 29%2019: 58%2022: 54%2023: 59%2024: 62%2025: 64%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201936%58%
202219%54%
202319%59%
202427%62%
202529%64%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has stayed near the 42nd percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “46% proficient” and call it done. Ulysses S. Grant deserves a closer read. Four in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Ulysses S. Grant's low-income kids hit 63.2% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

384 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Ulysses S. Grant Senior High scores 50 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 42nd percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Proficiency here is back to its pre-pandemic level — 46% meet the standard, about where the school stood in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 38th percentile · Scope Score 51 of 1002022 · 33rd percentile · Scope Score 46 of 1002023 · 34th percentile · Scope Score 48 of 1002024 · 42nd percentile · Scope Score 50 of 1002025 · 42nd percentile · Scope Score 50 of 100
ELAGreen(Increased)MathYellow(Increased)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1158%54%59%62%64%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1136%19%19%27%29%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Two in five of students here meet the standard. One in five clear it by a lot.

ELA64% met or exceeded
Exceeded 33%Met 31%Nearly Met 22%Not Met 15%
Math29% met or exceeded
Exceeded 10%Met 18%Nearly Met 24%Not Met 47%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school5021%46%91.3%18.1%35.2%1.2%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope5054
% Exceeded21%20%
% Met+46%43%
Grad rate91.3%92.5%
College readiness18.1%43.0%
Absence35.2%23.1%
Suspension1.2%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

63.2% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 46% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 46%, district —, state 43%46%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 46%, district 36%, state 32%46% · +0 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 41%, district 36%, state 32%41% · −5 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 49%, district 42%, state 44%49% · +3 vs school
MaleMale: this school 43%, district 41%, state 42%43% · −3 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 58%, district 65%, state 56%58% · +12 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 11%, district 9%, state 11%11% · −35 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 13%, district 14%, state 15%13% · −33 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: this school 27%, district 30%, state 26%27% · −19 vs school

7 of 16 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic43.0% AP · 53.6% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.3% enroll.
Asian6.4% AP · 3.2% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.1% enroll.
Black2.1% AP · 3.1% enroll.
White47.3% AP · 38.8% enroll.
Two or more races1.2% AP · 1.0% enroll.
English learners0.9% AP · 6.8% enroll.
Students with disabilities3.0% AP · 13.3% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

56%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 208 of 370 completers · includes community colleges

370Completers
35%
Other colleges130 completers · Outside the California community college system
21%
California community colleges78 completers · Enrolled within a year
44%
Not recorded enrolled162 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

56%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Ulysses S. Grant's class of 2023, 56% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 370 completers, 56% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 25 (7%)California State University 93 (25%)California community college 78 (21%)In-state private 7 (2%)Out-of-state, 4-year 4 (1%)Out-of-state, 2-year 1 (0%)Not enrolled 162 (44%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 35 of Ulysses S. Grant's 410 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Irvine the most common landing, with 8 enrollees.

Applied123fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted93
Enrolled35
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Irvine 8Los Angeles 7Berkeley 6Davis 5Merced 3Riverside ‹3San Diego ‹3Santa Barbara ‹3Santa Cruz ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 56% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (78) than at UC (25).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 20 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Ulysses S. Grant's teachers are authorized to teach 19 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Statistics.

Students per teacher20 · district 20
Teaching staff89 teachers
Avg. experience14.0 years
Fully credentialed84%
First-year teachers7%
Intern / emergency permit1.2%
PrincipalRebecca McMurrin
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$60,420 – $122,706
Principal salary$154,576 – $170,030
Superintendent salary$440,000

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers49 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers82 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught19
ShowHide the 19 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (4)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Precalculus · Statistics
Sciences (2)Biology · Environmental Science
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (7)African American Studies · Human Geography · Microeconomics · Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (2)French Language and Culture · Spanish Language and Culture
AP Capstone (2)Research · Seminar

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended less, than the state average.

35.2% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — the data can't say why.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 35.2%, district 22.8%, state 23.1%35.2% · +12.1pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 1.2%, district —, state 3.3%1.2% · −2.1pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1235.3%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $22,434 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

$2,159 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $22,434, CA average $14,491$22,434 · spent at this school
Federal share$2,159 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$29,292 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 52%Instruction support 16%Student services 12%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$18,180 per pupil
2019$16,355 per pupil
2018$15,793 per pupil
2017$13,247 per pupil
2016$13,549 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Four in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 20% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino53.1% · district 73.2% · CA 56.1%
White37.1% · district 9.9% · CA 19.9%
Asian1.4% · district 3.4% · CA 10.2%
Black3.4% · district 7.2% · CA 4.8%
Other5.0% · district 6.3% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch94.7% · CA 64%
Median income$80K · CA $85K
Median home value$1.05M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+39% · CA 35%
ZIP population39,231
Median age38 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Ulysses S. Grant Senior HighPublicDeveloping21%46%School being viewed
North Hollywood Senior HighPublicStrong36%57%1.8 mi
Van Nuys Senior HighPublicSolid19%45%2.2 mi
CHAMPS - Charter HS of Arts-Multimedia & PerforminCharterSolid17%41%2.1 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Van Nuys →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

18 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Los Angeles Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Elementary · K–5

Dixie Canyon Community CharterPublished boundary overlapScope Score 55/100
Riverside Drive CharterPublished boundary overlapScope Score 48/100
Erwin ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 52/100
Coldwater Canyon ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 24/100
Kittridge Street ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 41/100
Victory Boulevard ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 45/100
Bellingham ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 41/100
Maurice Sendak ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 40/100
John B. Monlux ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 51/100
Saticoy ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 29/100
Hazeltine Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 33/100
Chandler ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 50/100
Strathern Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 37/100
Andres and Maria Cardenas ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 27/100
Burbank Boulevard ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 39/100
Fair Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 41/100
Ranchito Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 32/100
Oxnard Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 36/100
Camellia Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 25/100

Middle · 6–8

High school · 9–12

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask how the school challenges kids who clear the standard early. The gap between meeting and exceeding is where pacing shows.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Ulysses S. Grant Senior High a good high school?
Ulysses S. Grant Senior High has a Scope Score of 50 out of 100, placing it in the 42nd percentile of California high schools and ranked #949 statewide. 21.5% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is near the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Ulysses S. Grant Senior High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 46.1% of students at Ulysses S. Grant Senior High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 21.5% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 24.6% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 21.5% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 767 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Ulysses S. Grant Senior High rank in California?
Ulysses S. Grant Senior High ranks #949 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 42nd percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Ulysses S. Grant Senior High?
35.2% of students at Ulysses S. Grant Senior High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 1.2%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Ulysses S. Grant Senior High compare to other schools in Van Nuys?
Ulysses S. Grant Senior High scores 50/100 (42nd percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,774 students. Use the schools in Van Nuys page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Ulysses S. Grant Senior High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Ulysses S. Grant Senior High in Van Nuys, 63.2% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 40.9% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Ulysses S. Grant Senior High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 22.3 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (29.0% Math proficient); Hispanic students (60.6% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 49.5 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 367 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Ulysses S. Grant Senior High?
Ulysses S. Grant Senior High's teachers are authorized to teach 19 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: African American Studies, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, French Language and Culture, Human Geography, Microeconomics, Precalculus, Psychology, Research, Seminar, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Ulysses S. Grant Senior High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 35 Ulysses S. Grant Senior High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate91.3%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard21.5%19.8%22%
College readiness18.1%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded46.1%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism35.2%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.2%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)17.0%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Ulysses S. Grant Senior High: reading the evidence

Ulysses S. Grant posts 46% meeting the standard against 43% statewide — ahead of most, with real headroom above the bar.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

What has changed, and is the improvement reaching students with different starting points?

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Ulysses S. Grant Senior High is ranked #949 statewide · #137 of 196 in Los Angeles Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate91.3%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard21.5%19.8%22%
College readiness18.1%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded46.1%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism35.2%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.2%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)17.0%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 55 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 56 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 41 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 58 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 46 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 4.6pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 61 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · → no change vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 51 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1138433%31%22%15%64%+15
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1138310%18%24%47%29%+5

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide4004%16%69%12%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged36763.2%+22+25
Hispanic/Latino22160.6%+20+22
White12573.6%+5+12
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Ulysses S. Grant Senior High ←—5021.5%46.1%1.2%
North Hollywood Senior High1.8 mi7036.2%56.9%0.6%
Van Nuys Senior High2.2 mi5819.2%45.4%0.8%
CHAMPS - Charter HS of Arts-Multimedia & Performin2.1 mi5617.0%41.2%0.7%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
91.3%
AP Exam Prepared
18.1%
A-G Completion
73.7%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
56.2%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20195138#93019.3%47.0%24.0%0.2%
20224633#107814.3%36.8%41.8%0.2%
20234834#107615.8%38.8%36.7%0.8%
20245042#95917.9%44.3%30.5%1.1%
20255042#94921.5%46.1%35.2%1.2%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female21.9%36.0%+14.1pp
Male25.7%34.7%+9.0pp
Asian10.3%17.9%+7.6pp
Black/African American31.8%43.8%+12.0pp
Filipino5.9%5.9%+0.0pp
Hispanic/Latino24.4%33.5%+9.1pp
Two or More Races18.2%29.6%+11.4pp
White24.0%37.1%+13.1pp
Students with Disabilities36.6%40.1%+3.5pp
English Learners30.9%42.6%+11.7pp
Foster Youth50.0%——
Homeless39.6%58.1%+18.5pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged24.0%35.4%+11.4pp
All Students23.9%35.3%+11.4pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
202512393353.753.884.01
202410866253.673.904.01
20239257253.783.964.07
20229260163.773.984.11
20217247163.803.934.02
20207044243.823.994.08
20198451263.663.923.92
20184823143.773.994.03
20174829203.824.024.10
20166139243.653.833.94
20157844243.673.924.06
20146238203.703.843.84

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20255596
Berkeley2024495‹3
Berkeley2023396‹3
Berkeley2022317‹3
Berkeley2021359‹3
Davis202539185
Davis2024339‹3
Davis20232911‹3
Davis2022226‹3
Davis2021207‹3
Irvine202581248
Irvine202469154
Irvine202376104
Irvine20226911‹3
Irvine20215874
Los Angeles202599107
Los Angeles202495107
Los Angeles20238253
Los Angeles20227687
Los Angeles20215463
Merced202530293
Merced20241212‹3
Merced20231311‹3
Merced20222220‹3
Merced20211311‹3
Riverside20255044‹3
Riverside202439213
Riverside20233420‹3
Riverside20224723‹3
Riverside202129173
San Diego20256129‹3
San Diego202462225
San Diego202348216
San Diego202233194
San Diego202137143
Santa Barbara20256720‹3
Santa Barbara20246420‹3
Santa Barbara202356165
Santa Barbara20224813‹3
Santa Barbara20213814‹3
Santa Cruz20251911‹3
Santa Cruz2024246‹3
Santa Cruz20232010‹3
Santa Cruz2022218‹3
Santa Cruz20211383
Universitywide20251239335
Universitywide20241086625
Universitywide2023925725
Universitywide2022926016
Universitywide2021724716

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
African American Studiesthis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
French Language and Culturethis school
Human Geographythis school
Microeconomicsthis school
Precalculusthis school
Psychologythis school
Researchthis school
Seminarthis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count19
AP enrollment330
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 44 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections1
Physics sections9
Chemistry sections15
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,886

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California256.8%
California State University9325.1%
California community college7821.1%
In-state private71.9%
Out-of-state, 4-year41.1%
Out-of-state, 2-year10.3%
Not enrolled16243.8%

370 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 56% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/ulysses-s-grant-senior-high-3795"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Ulysses S. Grant Senior High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Ulysses S. Grant Senior High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.