ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

John H. Francis Polytechnic

Sun Valley, CA · Grades 9-12 · 2,124 students · Los Angeles Unified

No single number tells this school's story. Here's the honest picture.

45% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 24% in math. 91.7% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

Math

24%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

45%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

2,124

Total enrollment

Graduation

91.7%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 29%2022: 26%2023: 24%2024: 19%2025: 24%2019: 54%2022: 48%2023: 48%2024: 44%2025: 45%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 29%2022: 26%2023: 24%2024: 19%2025: 24%2019: 54%2022: 48%2023: 48%2024: 44%2025: 45%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201929%54%
202226%48%
202324%48%
202419%44%
202524%45%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has stayed near the 29th percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “34% proficient” and call it done. John H. Francis Polytechnic deserves a closer read. Four in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

453 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

John H. Francis Polytechnic scores 47 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 29th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 34% meet the standard today, versus 41% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 36th percentile · Scope Score 50 of 1002022 · 36th percentile · Scope Score 47 of 1002023 · 33rd percentile · Scope Score 47 of 1002024 · 30th percentile · Scope Score 46 of 1002025 · 29th percentile · Scope Score 47 of 100
ELAYellow(Increased)MathYellow(Increased)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1154%48%48%44%45%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1129%26%24%19%24%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in three of students here meet the standard. One in ten clear it by a lot.

ELA45% met or exceeded
Exceeded 20%Met 25%Nearly Met 24%Not Met 31%
Math24% met or exceeded
Exceeded 9%Met 14%Nearly Met 24%Not Met 53%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school4715%34%91.7%25.7%30.2%0.6%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope4754
% Exceeded15%20%
% Met+34%43%
Grad rate91.7%92.5%
College readiness25.7%43.0%
Absence30.2%23.1%
Suspension0.6%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

At John H. Francis Polytechnic in Sun Valley, 44.5% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 40.9% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. John H. Francis Polytechnic outperforms its district average for low-income students by 3.6 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (23.9% Math proficient); Hispanic students (44.4% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 45.0 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 422 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 34% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 34%, district —, state 43%34%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 34%, district 36%, state 32%34% · −0 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 34%, district 36%, state 32%34% · −0 vs school
MaleMale: this school 31%, district 41%, state 42%31% · −4 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 38%, district 42%, state 44%38% · +4 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 6%, district 14%, state 15%6% · −28 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 0%, district 9%, state 11%0% · −34 vs school
HomelessHomeless: this school 19%, district 18%, state 22%19% · −15 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 26%, district 65%, state 56%26% · −9 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 69%, district 78%, state 72%69% · +35 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: too few students to report‹11
FilipinoFilipino: too few students to report‹11
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: too few students to report‹11
Foster YouthFoster Youth: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic87.1% AP · 92.0% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.1% AP · 0.1% enroll.
Asian8.9% AP · 4.3% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.4% AP · 0.2% enroll.
Black0.9% AP · 0.9% enroll.
White2.3% AP · 2.3% enroll.
Two or more races0.3% AP · 0.2% enroll.
English learners2.2% AP · 13.9% enroll.
Students with disabilities2.3% AP · 15.4% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

56%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 258 of 459 completers · includes community colleges

459Completers
36%
Other colleges163 completers · Outside the California community college system
21%
California community colleges95 completers · Enrolled within a year
44%
Not recorded enrolled201 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Where the class of 2023 went
56%enrolled in college within a year
  • University of California43 (9%)
  • California State University105 (23%)
  • California community college95 (21%)
  • In-state private8 (2%)
  • Out-of-state, 4-year6 (1%)
  • Out-of-state, 2-year1 (0%)
  • Not enrolled201 (44%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic

See the full roll →

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 19 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

John H. Francis Polytechnic's teachers are authorized to teach 22 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics C: Mechanics.

Students per teacher19 · district 20
Teaching staff113 teachers
Avg. experience16.6 years
Fully credentialed87%
Intern / emergency permit1.4%
PrincipalWalter Rich
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$60,420 – $122,706
Principal salary$154,576 – $170,030
Superintendent salary$440,000

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers92 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers111 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught22
ShowHide the 22 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (5)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science Principles · Precalculus · Statistics
Sciences (6)Biology · Chemistry · Environmental Science · Physics 1 · Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism · Physics C: Mechanics
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (6)African American Studies · European History · Human Geography · Macroeconomics · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History
World Languages & Cultures (1)Spanish Language and Culture
AP Capstone (2)Research · Seminar

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended less, than the state average.

30.2% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — a school visit will tell you more than this number.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 30.2%, district 22.8%, state 23.1%30.2% · +7.2pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 0.6%, district —, state 3.3%0.6% · −2.6pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1230.2%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $23,789 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

$2,008 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $23,789, CA average $14,491$23,789 · spent at this school
Federal share$2,008 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$29,292 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 52%Instruction support 16%Student services 12%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$18,180 per pupil
2019$16,355 per pupil
2018$15,793 per pupil
2017$13,247 per pupil
2016$13,549 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Four in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 23% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino90.3% · district 73.2% · CA 56.1%
White4.0% · district 9.9% · CA 19.9%
Asian1.9% · district 3.4% · CA 10.2%
Black1.0% · district 7.2% · CA 4.8%
Other2.7% · district 6.3% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch93.5% · CA 64%
Median income$78K · CA $85K
Median home value$765K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+18% · CA 35%
ZIP population46,899
Median age37 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
John H. Francis PolytechnicPublicDeveloping15%34%School being viewed
Arleta HighPublicNeeds Support8%23%3.0 mi
Robert H. Lewis Continuationcontinuation comparison groupPublicNeeds Support0%4%0.3 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Sun Valley →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

13 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Los Angeles Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Elementary · K–5

Coldwater Canyon ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 24/100
Kittridge Street ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 41/100
Fernangeles ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 32/100
Canterbury Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 46/100
Strathern Street ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 37/100
Vena Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 52/100
John B. Monlux ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 51/100
Saticoy ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 29/100
Andres and Maria Cardenas ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 27/100
Hazeltine Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 33/100
Stonehurst Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 48/100
Ranchito Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 32/100
Arminta Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 29/100
Julie Korenstein ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 27/100
Vinedale College Preparatory AcademyAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 24/100
Roscoe ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 30/100
Glenwood ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 35/100

Middle · 6–8

High school · 9–12

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is John H. Francis Polytechnic a good high school?
John H. Francis Polytechnic has a Scope Score of 47 out of 100, placing it in the 29th percentile of California high schools and ranked #1,163 statewide. 14.5% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 5.3 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are John H. Francis Polytechnic's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 34.3% of students at John H. Francis Polytechnic met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 14.5% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 19.8% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 14.5% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 902 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does John H. Francis Polytechnic rank in California?
John H. Francis Polytechnic ranks #1,163 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 29th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at John H. Francis Polytechnic?
30.2% of students at John H. Francis Polytechnic are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 0.6%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does John H. Francis Polytechnic compare to other schools in Sun Valley?
John H. Francis Polytechnic scores 47/100 (29th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 2,124 students. Use the schools in Sun Valley page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does John H. Francis Polytechnic serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At John H. Francis Polytechnic in Sun Valley, 44.5% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 40.9% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. John H. Francis Polytechnic outperforms its district average for low-income students by 3.6 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (23.9% Math proficient); Hispanic students (44.4% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 45.0 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 422 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at John H. Francis Polytechnic?
John H. Francis Polytechnic's teachers are authorized to teach 22 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: African American Studies, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Computer Science Principles, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, European History, Human Geography, Macroeconomics, Physics 1, Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism, Physics C: Mechanics, Precalculus, Research, Seminar, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate91.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard14.5%19.8%22%
College readiness25.7%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded34.3%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism30.2%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.6%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)11.6%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

John H. Francis Polytechnic: reading the evidence

John H. Francis Polytechnic posts 34% meeting the standard and 14.5% exceeding it, against 43% and 19.8% statewide. The gaps and the bright spots below are the real read.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

John H. Francis Polytechnic is ranked #1,163 statewide · #157 of 196 in Los Angeles Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate91.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard14.5%19.8%22%
College readiness25.7%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded34.3%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism30.2%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.6%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)11.6%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 55 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 48 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 45 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 49 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 50 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.4pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 64 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · → no change vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 42 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1145320%25%24%31%45%−4
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 114499%14%24%53%24%−0

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide4625%18%65%11%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged42244.5%+4+6
Hispanic/Latino40844.4%+3+6
Students with Disabilities5010.0%−6−7
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
John H. Francis Polytechnic ←—4714.5%34.3%0.6%
Arleta High3 mi437.8%23.4%0.5%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
Robert H. Lewis Continuationscored within its class, not statewide0.3 mi160.0%3.9%1.0%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
91.7%
AP Exam Prepared
25.7%
A-G Completion
79.7%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
56.2%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20195036#97015.1%41.4%18.9%0.3%
20224736#101813.3%36.7%40.2%0.6%
20234733#109512.0%36.1%34.1%0.9%
20244630#115210.8%31.4%31.6%0.5%
20254729#116314.5%34.3%30.2%0.6%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female20.3%31.2%+10.9pp
Male17.3%29.2%+11.9pp
Asian13.1%17.1%+4.0pp
Black/African American33.3%37.9%+4.6pp
Filipino4.1%20.0%+15.9pp
Hispanic/Latino19.1%29.8%+10.7pp
White19.5%38.5%+19.0pp
Students with Disabilities29.1%40.4%+11.3pp
English Learners27.4%40.2%+12.8pp
Foster Youth33.3%63.6%+30.3pp
Homeless45.2%47.2%+2.0pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged19.1%30.6%+11.5pp
All Students18.7%30.2%+11.5pp
Two or More Races—57.1%—
06AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 06 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
African American Studiesthis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
European Historythis school
Human Geographythis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Physics 1this school
Physics C: Electricity and Magnetismthis school
Physics C: Mechanicsthis school
Precalculusthis school
Researchthis school
Seminarthis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

07Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 07 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count20
AP enrollment768
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 38 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections8
Physics sections7
Chemistry sections18
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,532

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

08College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 08 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California439.4%
California State University10522.9%
California community college9520.7%
In-state private81.7%
Out-of-state, 4-year61.3%
Out-of-state, 2-year10.2%
Not enrolled20143.8%

459 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 56% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/john-h-francis-polytechnic-2987"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="John H. Francis Polytechnic — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

John H. Francis Polytechnic

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.