ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Van Nuys Senior High

Van Nuys, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,969 students · Los Angeles Unified

This school runs ahead of the state average. The bar itself is the harder conversation.

56% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 34% in math. 92.7% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

PrincipalLourdes De Santiago Ramirez
Grades9-12
Enrollment1,969 students

Math

34%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

56%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,969

Total enrollment

Graduation

92.7%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 36%2022: 32%2023: 35%2024: 32%2025: 34%2019: 58%2022: 55%2023: 59%2024: 54%2025: 56%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 36%2022: 32%2023: 35%2024: 32%2025: 34%2019: 58%2022: 55%2023: 59%2024: 54%2025: 56%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201936%58%
202232%55%
202335%59%
202432%54%
202534%56%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has stayed near the 65th percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “45% proficient” and call it done. Van Nuys deserves a closer read. Four in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Van Nuys's low-income kids hit 54.3% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

470 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Van Nuys Senior High scores 58 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 65th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Proficiency here is back to its pre-pandemic level — 45% meet the standard, about where the school stood in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 68th percentile · Scope Score 61 of 1002022 · 73rd percentile · Scope Score 61 of 1002023 · 75th percentile · Scope Score 63 of 1002024 · 73rd percentile · Scope Score 61 of 1002025 · 65th percentile · Scope Score 58 of 100
ELAYellow(Declined)MathYellow(Increased)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1158%55%59%54%56%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1136%32%35%32%34%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Two in five of students here meet the standard. One in five clear it by a lot.

ELA56% met or exceeded
Exceeded 25%Met 31%Nearly Met 20%Not Met 24%
Math34% met or exceeded
Exceeded 14%Met 21%Nearly Met 22%Not Met 44%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school5819%45%92.7%65.6%30.2%0.8%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope5854
% Exceeded19%20%
% Met+45%43%
Grad rate92.7%92.5%
College readiness65.6%43.0%
Absence30.2%23.1%
Suspension0.8%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

54.3% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 45% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 45%, district —, state 43%45%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 44%, district 36%, state 32%44% · −2 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 39%, district 36%, state 32%39% · −7 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 46%, district 42%, state 44%46% · +0 vs school
MaleMale: this school 45%, district 41%, state 42%45% · −0 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 15%, district 9%, state 11%15% · −30 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 75%, district 78%, state 72%75% · +30 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 51%, district 65%, state 56%51% · +6 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 10%, district 14%, state 15%10% · −35 vs school
FilipinoFilipino: this school 75%, district 70%, state 65%75% · +30 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: too few students to report‹11
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: too few students to report‹11
HomelessHomeless: too few students to report‹11
Pacific IslanderPacific Islander: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored

In the 2020-21 federal collection — the newest there is — Hispanic students were 66% of Van Nuys's enrollment but 42% of its AP seats; ask the school what's changed since.

Hispanic42.2% AP · 66.1% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.1% AP · 0.1% enroll.
Asian36.4% AP · 16.1% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.8% AP · 0.5% enroll.
Black3.2% AP · 3.7% enroll.
White16.2% AP · 12.5% enroll.
Two or more races1.1% AP · 1.2% enroll.
English learners1.8% AP · 12.7% enroll.
Students with disabilities1.9% AP · 9.3% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

55%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 270 of 490 completers · includes community colleges

490Completers
42%
Other colleges205 completers · Outside the California community college system
13%
California community colleges65 completers · Enrolled within a year
45%
Not recorded enrolled220 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

55%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Van Nuys's class of 2023, 55% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 490 completers, 55% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 61 (12%)California State University 111 (23%)California community college 65 (13%)In-state private 18 (4%)Out-of-state, 4-year 13 (3%)Out-of-state, 2-year 2 (0%)Not enrolled 220 (45%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 53 of Van Nuys's 467 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Berkeley the most common landing, with 11 enrollees.

Applied156fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted116
Enrolled53
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Berkeley 11Los Angeles 11San Diego 9Riverside 6Irvine 5Davis 4Santa Cruz 4Santa Barbara 3Merced ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 77 enrolled, 2019

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 55% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (65) than at UC (61).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 19 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Van Nuys's teachers are authorized to teach 26 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — well above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics 1.

Students per teacher19 · district 20
Teaching staff104 teachers
Avg. experience15.8 years
Fully credentialed92%
First-year teachers1%
Intern / emergency permit2.5%
PrincipalLourdes De Santiago Ramirez
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$60,420 – $122,706
Principal salary$154,576 – $170,030
Superintendent salary$440,000

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers193 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers61 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught26
ShowHide the 26 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (5)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science A · Computer Science Principles · Statistics
Sciences (4)Biology · Chemistry · Environmental Science · Physics 1
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (6)Human Geography · Macroeconomics · Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (2)Spanish Language and Culture · Spanish Literature and Culture
Arts (5)2-D Art and Design · 3-D Art and Design · Art History · Drawing · Music Theory
AP Capstone (2)Research · Seminar

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended less, than the state average.

30.2% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — worth asking about on a tour.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 30.2%, district 22.8%, state 23.1%30.2% · +7.2pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 0.8%, district —, state 3.3%0.8% · −2.5pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1230.2%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $22,002 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

$2,074 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $22,002, CA average $14,491$22,002 · spent at this school
Federal share$2,074 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$29,292 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 52%Instruction support 16%Student services 12%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$18,180 per pupil
2019$16,355 per pupil
2018$15,793 per pupil
2017$13,247 per pupil
2016$13,549 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Four in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 31% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino70.2% · district 73.2% · CA 56.1%
White11.6% · district 9.9% · CA 19.9%
Asian9.0% · district 3.4% · CA 10.2%
Black3.0% · district 7.2% · CA 4.8%
Other6.3% · district 6.3% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch85.0% · CA 64%
Median income$75K · CA $85K
Median home value$1.02M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+38% · CA 35%
ZIP population23,185
Median age35 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Van Nuys Senior HighPublicSolid19%45%School being viewed
CHAMPS - Charter HS of Arts-Multimedia & PerforminCharterSolid17%41%0.5 mi
Ulysses S. Grant Senior HighPublicDeveloping21%46%2.2 mi
Panorama HighPublicDeveloping12%31%1.9 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Van Nuys →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

20 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Los Angeles Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Elementary · K–5

Kester Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 70/100
Sylvan Park ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 50/100
Van Nuys ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 34/100
Sherman Oaks Elementary CharterPublished boundary overlapScope Score 58/100
Chandler ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 50/100
Coldwater Canyon ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 24/100
Kittridge Street ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 41/100
John B. Monlux ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 51/100
Columbus AvenueAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 31/100
Andres and Maria Cardenas ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 27/100
Hazeltine Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 33/100
Ranchito Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 32/100
Saticoy ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 29/100
Strathern Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 37/100
Erwin ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 52/100
Hesby Oaks Leadership CharterAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 61/100

Middle · 6–8

High school · 9–12

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask how the school challenges kids who clear the standard early. The gap between meeting and exceeding is where pacing shows.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Van Nuys Senior High a good high school?
Van Nuys Senior High has a Scope Score of 58 out of 100, placing it in the 65th percentile of California high schools and ranked #577 statewide. 19.2% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is near the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Van Nuys Senior High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 45.4% of students at Van Nuys Senior High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 19.2% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 26.2% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 19.2% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 941 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Van Nuys Senior High rank in California?
Van Nuys Senior High ranks #577 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 65th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Van Nuys Senior High?
30.2% of students at Van Nuys Senior High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 0.8%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Van Nuys Senior High compare to other schools in Van Nuys?
Van Nuys Senior High scores 58/100 (65th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,969 students. Use the schools in Van Nuys page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Van Nuys Senior High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Van Nuys Senior High in Van Nuys, 54.3% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 40.9% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Van Nuys Senior High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 13.4 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (33.2% Math proficient); Hispanic students (50.0% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 42.7 percentage points for disabilities students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 409 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Van Nuys Senior High?
Van Nuys Senior High's teachers are authorized to teach 26 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, 3-D Art and Design, Art History, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Computer Science A, Computer Science Principles, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, Human Geography, Macroeconomics, Music Theory, Physics 1, Psychology, Research, Seminar, Spanish Language and Culture, Spanish Literature and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Van Nuys Senior High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 53 Van Nuys Senior High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate92.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard19.2%19.8%22%
College readiness65.6%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded45.4%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism30.2%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.8%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)11.5%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Van Nuys Senior High: reading the evidence

Van Nuys posts 45% meeting the standard against 43% statewide — ahead of most, with real headroom above the bar.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Van Nuys Senior High is ranked #577 statewide · #97 of 196 in Los Angeles Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate92.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard19.2%19.8%22%
College readiness65.6%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded45.4%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism30.2%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.8%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)11.5%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 57 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 54 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 68 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 57 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 50 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 3.1pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 63 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.9pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 42 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1147025%31%20%24%56%+8
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1147114%21%22%44%34%+11

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide5008%23%57%12%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged40954.3%+13+16
Hispanic/Latino33650.0%+9+11
English Learners6018.3%+11+8
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Van Nuys Senior High ←—5819.2%45.4%0.8%
CHAMPS - Charter HS of Arts-Multimedia & Performin0.5 mi5617.0%41.2%0.7%
Ulysses S. Grant Senior High2.2 mi5021.5%46.1%1.2%
Panorama High1.9 mi4911.7%31.0%0.4%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
92.7%
AP Exam Prepared
65.6%
A-G Completion
62.7%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
55.1%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20196168#48119.6%47.1%18.4%0.1%
20226173#43321.3%43.7%26.8%0.5%
20236375#41323.9%46.6%24.5%1.4%
20246173#44423.7%43.3%27.1%1.7%
20255865#57719.2%45.4%30.2%0.8%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female19.0%31.9%+12.9pp
Male17.5%28.6%+11.1pp
Asian10.5%16.6%+6.1pp
Black/African American24.5%35.0%+10.5pp
Filipino11.0%9.5%-1.5pp
Hispanic/Latino20.1%33.1%+13.0pp
Pacific Islander15.4%——
Two or More Races17.9%33.3%+15.4pp
White17.4%27.1%+9.7pp
Students with Disabilities29.8%36.6%+6.8pp
English Learners27.6%44.3%+16.7pp
Homeless54.9%54.2%-0.7pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged20.4%32.0%+11.6pp
All Students18.2%30.2%+12.0pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
2025156116533.783.924.00
2024188134573.693.894.04
2023207141633.733.914.03
202214296543.874.044.10
2021177108563.693.893.92
2020155111583.783.873.92
2019179118773.673.883.91
201816489463.693.984.01
201712570403.523.723.78
2016170118713.683.883.94
2015180115583.633.843.88
2014160112703.703.903.92

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley2025832011
Berkeley202488165
Berkeley20231202413
Berkeley2022852517
Berkeley202190237
Davis202559254
Davis202485414
Davis202379244
Davis20225619‹3
Davis202167269
Irvine2025122185
Irvine2024128335
Irvine2023149203
Irvine202210510‹3
Irvine2021125163
Los Angeles20251291411
Los Angeles20241501712
Los Angeles20231731612
Los Angeles2022124129
Los Angeles20211451712
Merced20254743‹3
Merced20243329‹3
Merced20235448‹3
Merced20222019‹3
Merced202133285
Riverside202581716
Riverside202498623
Riverside202398608
Riverside202247344
Riverside202179457
San Diego2025110439
San Diego20241275317
San Diego20231295414
San Diego20221015820
San Diego202197253
Santa Barbara202587283
Santa Barbara202499314
Santa Barbara202312328‹3
Santa Barbara20228531‹3
Santa Barbara2021107336
Santa Cruz202552384
Santa Cruz202466336
Santa Cruz202354295
Santa Cruz20223019‹3
Santa Cruz202160314
Universitywide202515611653
Universitywide202418813457
Universitywide202320714163
Universitywide20221429654
Universitywide202117710856

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
3-D Art and Designthis school
Art Historythis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Computer Science Athis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
Human Geographythis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Music Theorythis school
Physics 1this school
Psychologythis school
Researchthis school
Seminarthis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Spanish Literature and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count25
AP enrollment723
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections7
Physics sections6
Chemistry sections21
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,582

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California6112.4%
California State University11122.6%
California community college6513.3%
In-state private183.7%
Out-of-state, 4-year132.6%
Out-of-state, 2-year20.4%
Not enrolled22044.9%

490 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 55% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/van-nuys-senior-high-8968"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Van Nuys Senior High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Van Nuys Senior High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.