ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Sunnyside High

Fresno, CA · Grades 9-12 · 2,858 students · Fresno Unified

The scores are below where anyone wants them. Here's what they don't tell you.

48% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 15% in math. 93.7% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

Contact

Math

15%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

48%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

2,858

Total enrollment

Graduation

93.7%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 16%2022: 10%2023: 10%2024: 9%2025: 15%2019: 54%2022: 36%2023: 46%2024: 47%2025: 48%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 16%2022: 10%2023: 10%2024: 9%2025: 15%2019: 54%2022: 36%2023: 46%2024: 47%2025: 48%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201916%54%
202210%36%
202310%46%
20249%47%
202515%48%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Slipped from the 35th to the 24th percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “31% proficient” and call it done. Sunnyside deserves a closer read. Four in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Test scores are one lens, and at this school they're a rough one right now. The sections below show the fuller picture — including the parts that are working.

618 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Sunnyside High scores 45 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 24th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 31% meet the standard today, versus 35% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 35th percentile · Scope Score 49 of 1002022 · 24th percentile · Scope Score 43 of 1002023 · 28th percentile · Scope Score 45 of 1002024 · 26th percentile · Scope Score 45 of 1002025 · 24th percentile · Scope Score 45 of 100
ELAYellow(Increased)MathOrange(Increased Significantly)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1154%36%46%47%48%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1116%10%10%9%15%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in four of students here meet the standard. One in ten clear it by a lot.

ELA48% met or exceeded
Exceeded 14%Met 34%Nearly Met 27%Not Met 26%
Math15% met or exceeded
Exceeded 5%Met 11%Nearly Met 19%Not Met 66%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school459%31%93.7%44.9%39.0%7.6%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope4554
% Exceeded9%20%
% Met+31%43%
Grad rate93.7%92.5%
College readiness44.9%43.0%
Absence39.0%23.1%
Suspension7.6%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

At Sunnyside High in Fresno, 46.1% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 34.0% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Sunnyside High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 12.2 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (15.0% Math proficient); Hispanic students (45.7% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 37.9 percentage points for disabilities students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 548 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 32% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 32%, district —, state 43%32%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 31%, district 29%, state 32%31% · −1 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 30%, district 30%, state 32%30% · −2 vs school
MaleMale: this school 30%, district 31%, state 42%30% · −2 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 34%, district 33%, state 44%34% · +2 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 43%, district 39%, state 72%43% · +11 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 7%, district 8%, state 11%7% · −25 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 5%, district 10%, state 15%5% · −27 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: this school 11%, district 19%, state 26%11% · −21 vs school

7 of 16 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic65.5% AP · 69.1% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.4% AP · 0.4% enroll.
Asian26.9% AP · 19.3% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.4% AP · 0.3% enroll.
Black3.1% AP · 5.8% enroll.
White1.9% AP · 2.5% enroll.
Two or more races1.8% AP · 2.6% enroll.
English learners5.9% AP · 15.8% enroll.
Students with disabilities0.7% AP · 9.2% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

74%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 476 of 645 completers · includes community colleges

645Completers
34%
Other colleges222 completers · Outside the California community college system
39%
California community colleges254 completers · Enrolled within a year
26%
Not recorded enrolled169 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

74%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Sunnyside's class of 2023, 74% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 645 completers, 74% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 25 (4%)California State University 184 (29%)California community college 254 (39%)In-state private 7 (1%)Out-of-state, 4-year 4 (1%)Out-of-state, 2-year 2 (0%)Not enrolled 169 (26%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 39 of Sunnyside's 621 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Davis the most common landing, with 13 enrollees.

Applied131fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted116
Enrolled39
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Davis 13Merced 6Santa Cruz 5Los Angeles 4San Diego 4Berkeley ‹3Irvine ‹3Riverside ‹3Santa Barbara ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 74% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (254) than at UC (25).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 21 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Sunnyside's teachers are authorized to teach 23 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Computer Science A.

Students per teacher21 · district 20
Teaching staff138 teachers
Avg. experience16.2 years
Fully credentialed87%
First-year teachers3%
PrincipalMichele Anderson
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$59,054 – $147,789
Principal salary$163,984 – $192,581
Superintendent salary$370,370

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers186 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers94 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught23
ShowHide the 23 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (5)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science A · Computer Science Principles · Statistics
Sciences (3)Biology · Chemistry · Environmental Science
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (7)European History · Human Geography · Macroeconomics · Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (3)French Language and Culture · Spanish Language and Culture · Spanish Literature and Culture
Arts (3)2-D Art and Design · 3-D Art and Design · Drawing

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended more, than the state average.

39.0% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — worth asking about on a tour.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 39.0%, district 27.8%, state 23.1%39.0% · +16.0pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 7.6%, district —, state 3.3%7.6% · +4.4pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1239.2%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $20,090 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

$1,065 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $20,090, CA average $14,491$20,090 · spent at this school
Federal share$1,065 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$24,938 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 54%Instruction support 12%Student services 10%Administration 5%Buildings & maintenance 11%Other 7%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$12,375 per pupil
2019$11,575 per pupil
2018$11,404 per pupil
2017$11,038 per pupil
2016$10,611 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Four in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 2,858 students, this school is well above the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 16% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino68.8% · district 69.6% · CA 56.1%
White2.2% · district 7.6% · CA 19.9%
Asian20.6% · district 10.7% · CA 10.2%
Black5.8% · district 7.4% · CA 4.8%
Other2.7% · district 4.7% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch87.2% · CA 64%
Median income$87K · CA $85K
Median home value$396K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+25% · CA 35%
ZIP population84,107
Median age32 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Sunnyside HighPublicNeeds Support9%31%School being viewed
Sanger West HighPublicSolid16%39%2.6 mi
Roosevelt HighPublicDeveloping9%24%2.1 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Fresno →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

3 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what changed in the last two years, and what the school is asking families for. Growth shows up in these numbers a year or two after it shows up in classrooms.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask what typically leads to a suspension, and what happens before it gets there.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Sunnyside High a good high school?
Sunnyside High has a Scope Score of 45 out of 100, placing it in the 24th percentile of California high schools and ranked #1,257 statewide. 9.4% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 10.4 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Sunnyside High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 31.5% of students at Sunnyside High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 9.4% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 22.1% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 9.4% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 1,228 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Sunnyside High rank in California?
Sunnyside High ranks #1,257 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 24th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Sunnyside High?
39.0% of students at Sunnyside High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 7.6%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Sunnyside High compare to other schools in Fresno?
Sunnyside High scores 45/100 (24th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 2,858 students. Use the schools in Fresno page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Sunnyside High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Sunnyside High in Fresno, 46.1% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 34.0% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Sunnyside High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 12.2 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (15.0% Math proficient); Hispanic students (45.7% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 37.9 percentage points for disabilities students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 548 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Sunnyside High?
Sunnyside High's teachers are authorized to teach 23 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, 3-D Art and Design, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Computer Science A, Computer Science Principles, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, European History, French Language and Culture, Human Geography, Macroeconomics, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Spanish Literature and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Sunnyside High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 39 Sunnyside High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate93.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard9.4%19.8%22%
College readiness44.9%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded31.5%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism39.0%23.1%5%
Suspension rate7.6%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)5.2%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Sunnyside High: reading the evidence

Sunnyside posts low test scores — and low-income students here beat the state average for their group by 8 points in ELA. If this is your zoned school, the numbers below are where to start a conversation, not where to end one.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Sunnyside High is ranked #1,257 statewide · #10 of 15 in Fresno Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate93.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard9.4%19.8%22%
College readiness44.9%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded31.5%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism39.0%23.1%5%
Suspension rate7.6%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)5.2%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 58 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 43 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 56 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 47 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 43 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 4.9pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 32 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 2.0pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 32 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1161814%34%27%26%48%−1
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 116105%11%19%66%15%−8

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide6372%14%69%15%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged54846.1%+12+8
Hispanic/Latino44445.7%+10+7
Asian12662.7%+18−12
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Sunnyside High ←—459.4%31.5%7.6%
Sanger West High2.6 mi5315.6%39.2%3.6%
Roosevelt High2.1 mi458.5%24.2%5.1%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
93.7%
AP Exam Prepared
44.9%
A-G Completion
59.4%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
73.8%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20194935#98111.5%35.0%19.0%8.0%
20224324#12096.3%22.7%52.3%6.3%
20234528#11847.7%28.0%41.4%9.1%
20244526#12107.0%27.9%34.1%9.6%
20254524#12579.4%31.5%39.0%7.6%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female20.3%42.0%+21.7pp
Male17.3%36.3%+19.0pp
Asian9.4%24.0%+14.6pp
Black/African American25.8%47.4%+21.6pp
Hispanic/Latino20.7%43.1%+22.4pp
American Indian/Alaska Native35.7%——
Two or More Races18.2%48.9%+30.7pp
White25.3%38.2%+12.9pp
Students with Disabilities24.4%44.8%+20.4pp
English Learners20.1%38.7%+18.6pp
Foster Youth35.7%43.5%+7.8pp
Homeless53.2%69.2%+16.0pp
Military-Connected12.8%28.8%+16.0pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged19.5%40.9%+21.4pp
All Students18.8%39.2%+20.4pp
Pacific Islander—25.0%—
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
2025131116393.773.844.07
2024142112323.623.734.13
202313399283.683.864.00
2022187143263.633.774.00
202111295213.643.743.82
2020135118283.713.754.00
201911976233.713.904.01
20188150123.723.924.07
201710763253.673.883.96
201610868333.673.873.93
20159066393.783.933.97
201410668393.663.933.99

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley2025575‹3
Berkeley202468106
Berkeley20236017‹3
Berkeley20227811‹3
Berkeley2021578‹3
Davis2025903613
Davis202487418
Davis202359233
Davis20229122‹3
Davis202163256
Irvine20256419‹3
Irvine20246714‹3
Irvine2023583‹3
Irvine2022615‹3
Irvine202143‹3‹3
Los Angeles20258684
Los Angeles202410194
Los Angeles20237885
Los Angeles2022129105
Los Angeles2021607‹3
Merced202592886
Merced202489817
Merced2023847212
Merced20221251157
Merced2021797311
Riverside20254135‹3
Riverside20242312‹3
Riverside20232217‹3
Riverside20223117‹3
Riverside20211910‹3
San Diego202561284
San Diego20246221‹3
San Diego202367243
San Diego202268223
San Diego2021267‹3
Santa Barbara20253819‹3
Santa Barbara20243413‹3
Santa Barbara202333193
Santa Barbara20224718‹3
Santa Barbara20213018‹3
Santa Cruz202550295
Santa Cruz20245416‹3
Santa Cruz20236932‹3
Santa Cruz20228314‹3
Santa Cruz20214724‹3
Universitywide202513111639
Universitywide202414211232
Universitywide20231339928
Universitywide202218714326
Universitywide20211129521

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
3-D Art and Designthis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Computer Science Athis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
European Historythis school
French Language and Culturethis school
Human Geographythis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Spanish Literature and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count19
AP enrollment833
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 46 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections2
Physics sections5
Chemistry sections36
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,944

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California253.9%
California State University18428.5%
California community college25439.4%
In-state private71.1%
Out-of-state, 4-year40.6%
Out-of-state, 2-year20.3%
Not enrolled16926.2%

645 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 74% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/sunnyside-high-0675"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Sunnyside High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Sunnyside High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.