ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

John Marshall Senior High

Los Angeles, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,842 students · Los Angeles Unified

An academic strength in the reported results. Look at who shares in it.

63% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 42% in math. 94.9% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

Contact

Math

42%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

63%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,842

Total enrollment

Graduation

94.9%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 43%2022: 38%2023: 40%2024: 46%2025: 42%2019: 70%2022: 62%2023: 64%2024: 64%2025: 63%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 43%2022: 38%2023: 40%2024: 46%2025: 42%2019: 70%2022: 62%2023: 64%2024: 64%2025: 63%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201943%70%
202238%62%
202340%64%
202446%64%
202542%63%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has held the 82nd-percentile line every tested year since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “52% proficient” and call it done. John Marshall deserves a closer read. Two-thirds of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

John Marshall's low-income kids hit 55.0% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

415 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

John Marshall Senior High scores 66 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 82nd percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 52% meet the standard today, versus 57% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 83rd percentile · Scope Score 69 of 1002022 · 81st percentile · Scope Score 65 of 1002023 · 84th percentile · Scope Score 67 of 1002024 · 84th percentile · Scope Score 68 of 1002025 · 82nd percentile · Scope Score 66 of 100
ELAYellow(Maintained)MathYellow(Maintained)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1170%62%64%64%63%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1143%38%40%46%42%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

More than half of students here meet the standard. One in four clear it by a lot.

ELA63% met or exceeded
Exceeded 33%Met 30%Nearly Met 19%Not Met 18%
Math42% met or exceeded
Exceeded 24%Met 18%Nearly Met 25%Not Met 33%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school6628%52%94.9%73.4%32.7%0.3%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope6654
% Exceeded28%20%
% Met+52%43%
Grad rate94.9%92.5%
College readiness73.4%43.0%
Absence32.7%23.1%
Suspension0.3%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

55.0% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 53% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 53%, district —, state 43%53%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 44%, district 36%, state 32%44% · −9 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 38%, district 36%, state 32%38% · −15 vs school
MaleMale: this school 50%, district 41%, state 42%50% · −3 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 55%, district 42%, state 44%55% · +3 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 74%, district 65%, state 56%74% · +21 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 14%, district 14%, state 15%14% · −38 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 80%, district 78%, state 72%80% · +27 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 65%, district 56%, state 56%65% · +13 vs school
FilipinoFilipino: this school 75%, district 70%, state 65%75% · +22 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 3%, district 9%, state 11%3% · −49 vs school
HomelessHomeless: this school 36%, district 18%, state 22%36% · −16 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: this school 42%, district 30%, state 26%42% · −11 vs school
Pacific IslanderPacific Islander: too few students to report‹11
Foster YouthFoster Youth: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored

In the 2020-21 federal collection — the newest there is — Hispanic students were 61% of John Marshall's enrollment but 45% of its AP seats; ask the school what's changed since.

Hispanic44.8% AP · 60.8% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.1% AP · 0.2% enroll.
Asian30.2% AP · 18.9% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.5% AP · 0.3% enroll.
Black1.6% AP · 2.0% enroll.
White20.3% AP · 16.1% enroll.
Two or more races2.4% AP · 1.7% enroll.
English learners0.7% AP · 6.8% enroll.
Students with disabilities1.1% AP · 11.3% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

73%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 306 of 422 completers · includes community colleges

422Completers
45%
Other colleges188 completers · Outside the California community college system
28%
California community colleges118 completers · Enrolled within a year
27%
Not recorded enrolled116 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

73%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of John Marshall's class of 2023, 73% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 422 completers, 73% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 57 (14%)California State University 96 (23%)California community college 118 (28%)In-state private 13 (3%)Out-of-state, 4-year 22 (5%)Out-of-state, 2-year 0 (0%)Not enrolled 116 (27%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 53 of John Marshall's 412 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Santa Cruz the most common landing, with 12 enrollees.

Applied175fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted136
Enrolled53
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Santa Cruz 12Riverside 11Los Angeles 8Berkeley 7San Diego 5Santa Barbara 4Davis 3Irvine 3Merced ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 107 enrolled, 2021

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 73% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (118) than at UC (57).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 19 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

John Marshall's teachers are authorized to teach 23 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics C: Mechanics.

Students per teacher19 · district 20
Teaching staff97 teachers
Avg. experience16.3 years
Fully credentialed88%
First-year teachers2%
Intern / emergency permit1.9%
PrincipalJuan Puentes
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$60,420 – $122,706
Principal salary$154,576 – $170,030
Superintendent salary$440,000

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers213 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers24 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught23
ShowHide the 23 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (5)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science Principles · Precalculus · Statistics
Sciences (4)Biology · Chemistry · Environmental Science · Physics C: Mechanics
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (6)European History · Macroeconomics · Microeconomics · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (2)Spanish Language and Culture · Spanish Literature and Culture
Arts (4)2-D Art and Design · 3-D Art and Design · Art History · Drawing

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended less, than the state average.

32.7% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — worth asking about on a tour.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 32.7%, district 22.8%, state 23.1%32.7% · +9.6pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 0.3%, district —, state 3.3%0.3% · −2.9pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1232.7%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $21,818 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

$1,575 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $21,818, CA average $14,491$21,818 · spent at this school
Federal share$1,575 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$29,292 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 52%Instruction support 16%Student services 12%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$18,180 per pupil
2019$16,355 per pupil
2018$15,793 per pupil
2017$13,247 per pupil
2016$13,549 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Two-thirds of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 39% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino60.9% · district 73.2% · CA 56.1%
White18.7% · district 9.9% · CA 19.9%
Asian7.9% · district 3.4% · CA 10.2%
Black1.9% · district 7.2% · CA 4.8%
Other10.5% · district 6.3% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch71.2% · CA 64%
Median income$95K · CA $85K
Median home value$1.78M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+58% · CA 35%
ZIP population46,558
Median age38 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
John Marshall Senior HighPublicStrong28%52%School being viewed
Alliance Leichtman-Levine Family Foundation EnviroCharterStrong32%69%1.8 mi
Ednovate - Brio College PrepCharterStrong23%54%2.8 mi
Rise Kohyang HighCharterSolid19%46%2.5 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Los Angeles →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

20 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Los Angeles Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: proximity. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is John Marshall Senior High a good high school?
John Marshall Senior High has a Scope Score of 66 out of 100, placing it in the 82nd percentile of California high schools and ranked #301 statewide. 28.1% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 8.2 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are John Marshall Senior High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 52.5% of students at John Marshall Senior High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 28.1% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 24.4% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 28.1% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 826 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does John Marshall Senior High rank in California?
John Marshall Senior High ranks #301 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 82nd percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at John Marshall Senior High?
32.7% of students at John Marshall Senior High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 0.3%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does John Marshall Senior High compare to other schools in Los Angeles?
John Marshall Senior High scores 66/100 (82nd percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,842 students. Use the schools in Los Angeles page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does John Marshall Senior High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At John Marshall Senior High in Los Angeles, 55.0% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 40.9% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. John Marshall Senior High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 14.1 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (33.0% Math proficient); Hispanic students (49.6% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 62.9 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 271 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at John Marshall Senior High?
John Marshall Senior High's teachers are authorized to teach 23 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, 3-D Art and Design, Art History, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Computer Science Principles, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, European History, Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, Physics C: Mechanics, Precalculus, Spanish Language and Culture, Spanish Literature and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from John Marshall Senior High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 53 John Marshall Senior High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

College readiness carries this score. The test levels clear the state's too.

73.4% of students leave measurably college-ready, versus 43.0% statewide.

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate94.9%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard28.1%19.8%22%
College readiness73.4%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded52.5%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism32.7%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.3%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)19.4%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

John Marshall Senior High: reading the evidence

John Marshall posts 28.1% exceeding the standard — versus 19.8% statewide in the available reporting. Look across subjects and student groups, then ask about the classroom experience.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

John Marshall Senior High is ranked #301 statewide · #35 of 196 in Los Angeles Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate94.9%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard28.1%19.8%22%
College readiness73.4%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded52.5%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism32.7%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.3%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)19.4%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 59 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 63 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 73 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 62 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 48 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 2.3pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 65 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 0.2pp higher vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 18.0% · index 55 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1141533%30%19%18%63%+14
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1141124%18%25%33%42%+18

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide41613%26%48%13%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged27155.0%+14+17
Hispanic/Latino24249.6%+9+11
White8081.0%+12+19
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
John Marshall Senior High ←—6628.1%52.5%0.3%
Alliance Leichtman-Levine Family Foundation Enviro1.8 mi7232.3%69.0%1.1%
Ednovate - Brio College Prep2.8 mi6522.6%54.4%3.6%
Rise Kohyang High2.5 mi6018.7%45.7%0.8%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
94.9%
AP Exam Prepared
73.4%
A-G Completion
70.6%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
72.5%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20196983#26429.5%56.8%24.1%0.2%
20226581#29923.4%50.2%30.3%0.1%
20236784#25726.7%52.1%26.1%0.2%
20246884#25827.7%55.0%30.4%0.2%
20256682#30128.1%52.5%32.7%0.3%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female25.8%34.6%+8.8pp
Male22.3%31.0%+8.7pp
Asian13.2%17.8%+4.6pp
Black/African American41.2%48.6%+7.4pp
Filipino15.0%15.6%+0.6pp
Hispanic/Latino25.0%35.3%+10.3pp
Pacific Islander25.0%——
Two or More Races19.2%31.3%+12.1pp
White32.4%32.7%+0.3pp
Students with Disabilities36.2%42.2%+6.0pp
English Learners39.7%48.1%+8.4pp
Homeless34.5%60.3%+25.8pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged24.1%34.7%+10.6pp
All Students24.0%32.7%+8.7pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
2025175136533.803.884.00
2024194139603.823.934.01
2023181129613.843.964.04
2022215147623.904.044.09
20212671911073.864.004.08
2020240178993.874.004.03
2019247165863.773.913.96
2018220133683.763.964.00
2017222139753.613.813.89
2016190126853.643.883.89
2015199116603.603.873.98
2014180105603.643.883.93

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley202592117
Berkeley20241141511
Berkeley202392179
Berkeley20221197‹3
Berkeley20211472515
Davis202577193
Davis202483377
Davis2023722610
Davis202288335
Davis20211044314
Irvine2025108183
Irvine2024113173
Irvine2023120195
Irvine2022148249
Irvine2021183406
Los Angeles2025146168
Los Angeles2024140116
Los Angeles2023153105
Los Angeles2022161118
Los Angeles20212001910
Merced20255552‹3
Merced202424224
Merced20232927‹3
Merced202229285
Merced202151435
Riverside2025786711
Riverside202460444
Riverside2023755211
Riverside202285588
Riverside20211077015
San Diego2025121235
San Diego2024117234
San Diego202311514‹3
San Diego2022143246
San Diego20211384813
Santa Barbara2025105304
Santa Barbara2024119419
Santa Barbara2023122276
Santa Barbara20221283311
Santa Barbara20211685914
Santa Cruz2025926512
Santa Cruz20241076612
Santa Cruz2023934811
Santa Cruz202282458
Santa Cruz20211157315
Universitywide202517513653
Universitywide202419413960
Universitywide202318112961
Universitywide202221514762
Universitywide2021267191107

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
3-D Art and Designthis school
Art Historythis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
European Historythis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Microeconomicsthis school
Physics C: Mechanicsthis school
Precalculusthis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Spanish Literature and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count18
AP enrollment744
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 50 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections5
Physics sections6
Chemistry sections15
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,222

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California5713.5%
California State University9622.8%
California community college11828.0%
In-state private133.1%
Out-of-state, 4-year225.2%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled11627.5%

422 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 73% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/john-marshall-senior-high-5568"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="John Marshall Senior High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

John Marshall Senior High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.