ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Chico High

Chico, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,804 students · Chico Unified

Most kids here clear the bar, year after year. The question is what happens after that.

75% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 40% in math. 92.5% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

PrincipalErica Sheridan
Grades9-12
Enrollment1,804 students

Math

40%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

75%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,804

Total enrollment

Graduation

92.5%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 41%2022: 40%2023: 36%2024: 31%2025: 40%2019: 74%2022: 76%2023: 71%2024: 67%2025: 75%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 41%2022: 40%2023: 36%2024: 31%2025: 40%2019: 74%2022: 76%2023: 71%2024: 67%2025: 75%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201941%74%
202240%76%
202336%71%
202431%67%
202540%75%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has held the 79th-percentile line every tested year since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “57% proficient” and call it done. Chico deserves a closer read. More than half of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Chico's low-income kids hit 69.5% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

414 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Chico High scores 65 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 79th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Proficiency here is back to its pre-pandemic level — 57% meet the standard, about where the school stood in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 77th percentile · Scope Score 65 of 1002022 · 83rd percentile · Scope Score 66 of 1002023 · 78th percentile · Scope Score 64 of 1002024 · 77th percentile · Scope Score 63 of 1002025 · 79th percentile · Scope Score 65 of 100
ELAGreen(Increased)MathGreen(Increased Significantly)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1174%76%71%67%75%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1141%40%36%31%40%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

More than half of students here meet the standard. One in four clear it by a lot.

ELA75% met or exceeded
Exceeded 43%Met 31%Nearly Met 13%Not Met 12%
Math40% met or exceeded
Exceeded 18%Met 22%Nearly Met 23%Not Met 37%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school6531%57%92.5%69.4%20.6%5.0%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope6554
% Exceeded31%20%
% Met+57%43%
Grad rate92.5%92.5%
College readiness69.4%43.0%
Absence20.6%23.1%
Suspension5.0%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

69.5% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 57% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 57%, district —, state 43%57%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 50%, district 36%, state 32%50% · −8 vs school
MaleMale: this school 56%, district 47%, state 42%56% · −2 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 69%, district 57%, state 56%69% · +11 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 59%, district 47%, state 44%59% · +1 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 46%, district 32%, state 32%46% · −12 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 13%, district 17%, state 15%13% · −44 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 47%, district 49%, state 56%47% · −10 vs school
HomelessHomeless: this school 29%, district 21%, state 22%29% · −29 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 0%, district 8%, state 11%0% · −57 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 47%, district 50%, state 72%47% · −11 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: this school 32%, district 21%, state 26%32% · −26 vs school
American Indian/Alaska NativeAmerican Indian/Alaska Native: too few students to report‹11
Pacific IslanderPacific Islander: too few students to report‹11
FilipinoFilipino: too few students to report‹11
Foster YouthFoster Youth: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic14.6% AP · 28.0% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 1.1% enroll.
Asian9.8% AP · 5.0% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.3% enroll.
Black0.0% AP · 2.7% enroll.
White68.3% AP · 56.4% enroll.
Two or more races7.3% AP · 6.4% enroll.
English learners0.0% AP · 2.4% enroll.
Students with disabilities0.0% AP · 13.3% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

82%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 330 of 402 completers · includes community colleges

402Completers
27%
Other colleges110 completers · Outside the California community college system
55%
California community colleges220 completers · Enrolled within a year
18%
Not recorded enrolled72 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

82%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Chico's class of 2023, 82% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 402 completers, 82% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 18 (4%)California State University 48 (12%)California community college 220 (55%)In-state private 7 (2%)Out-of-state, 4-year 33 (8%)Out-of-state, 2-year 4 (1%)Not enrolled 72 (18%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 25 of Chico's 417 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Santa Cruz the most common landing, with 9 enrollees.

Applied73fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted57
Enrolled25
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)

6 of 9 campuses are masked below UC's privacy floor — a protection, not a verdict.

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 82% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (220) than at UC (18).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 23 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Chico's teachers are authorized to teach 14 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — including Calculus AB, Physics 1, and Statistics.

Students per teacher23 · district 21
Teaching staff83 teachers
Avg. experience15.5 years
Fully credentialed93%
First-year teachers2%
PrincipalErica Sheridan
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$56,997 – $121,381
Principal salary$136,971 – $157,138
Superintendent salary$293,354

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers184 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers93 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught14
ShowHide the 14 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (2)Calculus AB · Statistics
Sciences (3)Biology · Environmental Science · Physics 1
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (5)European History · Macroeconomics · Microeconomics · Psychology · United States History
World Languages & Cultures (1)Spanish Language and Culture
Arts (1)2-D Art and Design

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended more, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 20.6%, district 18.5%, state 23.1%20.6% · −2.4pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 5.0%, district —, state 3.3%5.0% · +1.7pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1220.2%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $13,130 per student, less than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

$353 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $13,130, CA average $14,491$13,130 · spent at this school
Federal share$353 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$17,653 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 62%Instruction support 9%Student services 13%Administration 6%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 1%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$13,999 per pupil
2019$12,801 per pupil
2018$13,350 per pupil
2017$10,215 per pupil
2016$10,157 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

More than half of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 48% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino33.0% · district 28.8% · CA 56.1%
White49.0% · district 52.3% · CA 19.9%
Asian4.7% · district 4.3% · CA 10.2%
Black2.5% · district 2.2% · CA 4.8%
Other10.9% · district 12.4% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch56.8% · CA 64%
Median income$62K · CA $85K
Median home value$474K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+46% · CA 35%
ZIP population40,567
Median age27 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Find contact and visit details →

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Chico HighPublicStrong31%57%School being viewed
Pleasant Valley HighPublicStrong32%60%2.3 mi
Inspire School of Arts and SciencesCharterSolid29%58%0.2 mi
Fair View High (Continuation)continuation comparison groupPublicNeeds Support0%2%1.7 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Chico →

What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask how the school challenges kids who clear the standard early. The gap between meeting and exceeding is where pacing shows.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Chico High a good high school?
Chico High has a Scope Score of 65 out of 100, placing it in the 79th percentile of California high schools and ranked #339 statewide. 30.8% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 11.0 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Chico High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 57.4% of students at Chico High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 30.8% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 26.6% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 30.8% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 823 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Chico High rank in California?
Chico High ranks #339 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 79th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Chico High?
20.6% of students at Chico High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 5.0%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Chico High compare to other schools in Chico?
Chico High scores 65/100 (79th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,804 students. Use the schools in Chico page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Chico High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Chico High in Chico, 69.5% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 42.4% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Chico High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 27.0 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (29.6% Math proficient); White students (84.1% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 74.9 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 236 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Chico High?
Chico High's teachers are authorized to teach 14 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, Biology, Calculus AB, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, European History, Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, Physics 1, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, United States History. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Chico High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 25 Chico High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate92.5%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard30.8%19.8%22%
College readiness69.4%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded57.4%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism20.6%23.1%5%
Suspension rate5.0%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)14.0%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Chico High: reading the evidence

Chico posts 57% meeting the standard, and 30.8% going well past it. Most kids here keep up. Fewer get pushed further. Ask the school what it does for a child who already finds the work easy.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Chico High is ranked #339 statewide · #2 of 5 in Chico Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate92.5%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard30.8%19.8%22%
College readiness69.4%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded57.4%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism20.6%23.1%5%
Suspension rate5.0%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)14.0%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 56 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 66 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 70 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 66 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 58 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 2.9pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 44 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 1.4pp higher vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 46 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1141443%31%13%12%75%+26
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1140918%22%23%37%40%+16

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide41516%33%44%8%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged23669.5%+27+31
White20784.1%+20+22
Hispanic/Latino13265.9%+27+27
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Chico High ←6530.8%57.4%5.0%
Pleasant Valley High2.3 mi6531.9%59.7%2.4%
Inspire School of Arts and Sciences0.2 mi6228.5%57.6%2.0%
California average5419.8%43.2%3.3%
Fair View High (Continuation)scored within its class, not statewide1.7 mi150.0%1.6%16.8%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
92.5%
AP Exam Prepared
69.4%
A-G Completion
45.1%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
82.1%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20196577#34325.8%57.7%10.8%4.5%
20226683#27031.5%58.4%27.6%6.8%
20236478#36026.0%53.4%21.8%5.8%
20246377#37624.4%49.1%17.7%3.5%
20256579#33930.8%57.4%20.6%5.0%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female11.0%21.1%+10.1pp
Male9.4%19.4%+10.0pp
Asian8.0%10.7%+2.7pp
Black/African American19.3%29.8%+10.5pp
Hispanic/Latino10.1%25.3%+15.2pp
American Indian/Alaska Native20.8%22.2%+1.4pp
Two or More Races12.7%25.4%+12.7pp
White9.7%16.5%+6.8pp
Students with Disabilities16.6%31.0%+14.4pp
English Learners17.2%29.5%+12.3pp
Foster Youth14.3%66.7%+52.4pp
Homeless19.9%48.2%+28.3pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged13.9%27.6%+13.7pp
All Students10.2%20.2%+10.0pp
Pacific Islander25.0%
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
20257357253.974.084.08
20246846244.054.174.17
20237547183.954.084.10
20226335154.064.164.24
20214432144.054.124.18
20204839194.144.184.15
20196240163.924.084.17
20187138233.944.174.20
20175531163.964.134.03
20165442254.064.154.21
20156135203.914.164.18
20144227153.894.064.18

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20254344
Berkeley20244096
Berkeley20233674
Berkeley2022383‹3
Berkeley202122‹3‹3
Davis202544257
Davis202454255
Davis202345194
Davis202237143
Davis202127154
Irvine202529‹3‹3
Irvine2024215‹3
Irvine2023305‹3
Irvine2022235‹3
Irvine202114‹3‹3
Los Angeles2025363‹3
Los Angeles20243243
Los Angeles202332‹3‹3
Los Angeles2022333‹3
Los Angeles202125‹3‹3
Merced20251212‹3
Merced202366‹3
Merced20221010‹3
Riverside20251311‹3
Riverside202383‹3
Riverside202299‹3
San Diego2025288‹3
San Diego2024388‹3
San Diego2023357‹3
San Diego2022344‹3
San Diego202129‹3‹3
Santa Barbara20254214‹3
Santa Barbara20243818‹3
Santa Barbara20234613‹3
Santa Barbara202240145
Santa Barbara202133139
Santa Cruz202538319
Santa Cruz202438306
Santa Cruz202338307
Santa Cruz202238154
Santa Cruz20212520‹3
Universitywide2025735725
Universitywide2024684624
Universitywide2023754718
Universitywide2022633515
Universitywide2021443214

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
European Historythis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Microeconomicsthis school
Physics 1this school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
United States Historythis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count4
AP enrollment41
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections2
Physics sections4
Chemistry sections18
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,774

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California184.5%
California State University4811.9%
California community college22054.7%
In-state private71.7%
Out-of-state, 4-year338.2%
Out-of-state, 2-year41.0%
Not enrolled7217.9%

402 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 82% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/chico-high-1676"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Chico High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Chico High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.