ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Pinole Valley High

Pinole, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,245 students · West Contra Costa Unified

The scores are below where anyone wants them. Here's what they don't tell you.

58% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 38% in math. 87.3% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

PrincipalTodd Irving
Grades9-12
Enrollment1,245 students

Math

38%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

58%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,245

Total enrollment

Graduation

87.3%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 21%2022: 16%2023: 18%2024: 20%2025: 38%2019: 50%2022: 50%2023: 52%2024: 57%2025: 58%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 21%2022: 16%2023: 18%2024: 20%2025: 38%2019: 50%2022: 50%2023: 52%2024: 57%2025: 58%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201921%50%
202216%50%
202318%52%
202420%57%
202538%58%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has stayed near the 19th percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “48% proficient” and call it done. Pinole Valley deserves a closer read. Three in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Pinole Valley's low-income kids hit 51.5% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

245 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Pinole Valley High scores 43 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 19th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

The pandemic drop is behind this school: 48% of students meet the standard today, above the 35% who did in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 13th percentile · Scope Score 39 of 1002022 · 11th percentile · Scope Score 38 of 1002023 · 12th percentile · Scope Score 39 of 1002024 · 15th percentile · Scope Score 40 of 1002025 · 19th percentile · Scope Score 43 of 100
ELAYellow(Increased Significantly)MathYellow(Increased Significantly)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1150%50%52%57%58%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1121%16%18%20%38%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Two in five of students here meet the standard. One in five clear it by a lot.

ELA58% met or exceeded
Exceeded 22%Met 36%Nearly Met 22%Not Met 20%
Math38% met or exceeded
Exceeded 14%Met 24%Nearly Met 24%Not Met 38%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school4318%48%87.3%0.0%19.0%6.9%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope4354
% Exceeded18%20%
% Met+48%43%
Grad rate87.3%92.5%
College readiness0.0%43.0%
Absence19.0%23.1%
Suspension6.9%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

At Pinole Valley High in Pinole, 51.5% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 23.3% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Pinole Valley High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 28.2 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (34.7% Math proficient); Hispanic students (52.9% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 46.4 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 163 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 49% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 49%, district —, state 43%49%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 44%, district 20%, state 32%44% · −5 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 43%, district 18%, state 32%43% · −6 vs school
MaleMale: this school 41%, district 28%, state 42%41% · −7 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 56%, district 31%, state 44%56% · +8 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: this school 36%, district 17%, state 26%36% · −12 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 59%, district 50%, state 72%59% · +11 vs school
FilipinoFilipino: this school 55%, district 54%, state 65%55% · +6 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 16%, district 9%, state 15%16% · −33 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 61%, district 56%, state 56%61% · +13 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 13%, district 5%, state 11%13% · −36 vs school

5 of 16 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic36.0% AP · 45.7% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.4% AP · 0.2% enroll.
Asian31.1% AP · 20.7% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.4% AP · 0.3% enroll.
Black10.2% AP · 16.6% enroll.
White18.2% AP · 13.4% enroll.
Two or more races3.6% AP · 3.1% enroll.
English learners7.6% AP · 15.9% enroll.
Students with disabilities3.1% AP · 7.7% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

74%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 194 of 261 completers · includes community colleges

261Completers
26%
Other colleges69 completers · Outside the California community college system
48%
California community colleges125 completers · Enrolled within a year
26%
Not recorded enrolled67 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

74%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Pinole Valley's class of 2023, 74% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 261 completers, 74% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 25 (10%)California State University 27 (10%)California community college 125 (48%)In-state private 6 (2%)Out-of-state, 4-year 11 (4%)Out-of-state, 2-year 0 (0%)Not enrolled 67 (26%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 29 of Pinole Valley's 267 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Davis the most common landing, with 12 enrollees.

Applied75fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted63
Enrolled29
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)

5 of 9 campuses are masked below UC's privacy floor — a protection, not a verdict.

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 33 enrolled, 2024

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 74% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (125) than at UC (25).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 25 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Pinole Valley's teachers are authorized to teach 4 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — including Computer Science Principles, Biology, and English Language and Composition.

Students per teacher25 · district 23
Teaching staff54 teachers
Avg. experience11.9 years
Fully credentialed75%
First-year teachers9%
Intern / emergency permit3.0%
PrincipalTodd Irving
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$58,573 – $119,395
Principal salary$139,320 – $164,698
Superintendent salary$315,895

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
CTE pathway completers27 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught4
ShowHide the 4 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (1)Computer Science Principles
Sciences (1)Biology
English (1)English Language and Composition
History & Social Science (1)United States History

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended more, than the state average.

6.9% of students were suspended, versus 3.3% statewide — the data can't say why.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 19.0%, district 26.5%, state 23.1%19.0% · −4.0pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 6.9%, district —, state 3.3%6.9% · +3.6pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1218.2%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $6,207 per student, less than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

$323 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $6,207, CA average $14,491$6,207 · spent at this school
Federal share$323 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$22,102 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 55%Instruction support 12%Student services 11%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 5%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$15,242 per pupil
2019$13,839 per pupil
2018$14,231 per pupil
2017$12,364 per pupil
2016$11,254 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Three in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Hispanic or Latino51.4% · district 58.5% · CA 56.1%
White10.2% · district 9.2% · CA 19.9%
Asian9.2% · district 10.0% · CA 10.2%
Black14.6% · district 10.6% · CA 4.8%
Other14.5% · district 11.7% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch61.9% · CA 64%
Median income$128K · CA $85K
Median home value$719K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+39% · CA 35%
ZIP population18,761
Median age45 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Find contact and visit details →

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Pinole Valley HighPublicNeeds Support18%48%School being viewed
Hercules HighPublicStrong25%52%1.9 mi
De Anza HighPublicNeeds Support10%25%1.6 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Pinole →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

6 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what changed in the last two years, and what the school is asking families for. Growth shows up in these numbers a year or two after it shows up in classrooms.

  • Ask what typically leads to a suspension, and what happens before it gets there.
  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Pinole Valley High a good high school?
Pinole Valley High has a Scope Score of 43 out of 100, placing it in the 19th percentile of California high schools and ranked #1,328 statewide. 18.4% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is near the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Pinole Valley High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 48.2% of students at Pinole Valley High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 18.4% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 29.8% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 18.4% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 469 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Pinole Valley High rank in California?
Pinole Valley High ranks #1,328 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 19th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Pinole Valley High?
19.0% of students at Pinole Valley High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 6.9%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Pinole Valley High compare to other schools in Pinole?
Pinole Valley High scores 43/100 (19th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,245 students. Use the schools in Pinole page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Pinole Valley High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Pinole Valley High in Pinole, 51.5% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 23.3% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Pinole Valley High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 28.2 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (34.7% Math proficient); Hispanic students (52.9% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 46.4 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 163 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Pinole Valley High?
Pinole Valley High's teachers are authorized to teach 4 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: Biology, Computer Science Principles, English Language and Composition, United States History. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Pinole Valley High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 29 Pinole Valley High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate87.3%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard18.4%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded48.2%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism19.0%23.1%5%
Suspension rate6.9%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)7.5%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Pinole Valley High: reading the evidence

Pinole Valley posts low test scores — and attendance holds near the state average — families haven't checked out. If this is your zoned school, the numbers below are where to start a conversation, not where to end one.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Pinole Valley High is ranked #1,328 statewide · #8 of 11 in West Contra Costa Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate87.3%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard18.4%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded48.2%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism19.0%23.1%5%
Suspension rate6.9%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)7.5%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 51 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 53 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 31 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 59 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 59 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 4.2pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 35 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.4pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 36 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1124522%36%22%20%58%+9
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1122414%24%24%38%38%+15

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged16351.5%+28+13
Hispanic/Latino12452.9%+31+14
Black/African American3136.7%+16+4
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Pinole Valley High ←—4318.4%48.2%6.9%
Hercules High1.9 mi6524.9%51.7%4.6%
De Anza High1.6 mi449.9%24.6%4.7%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
87.3%
AP Exam Prepared
Not offered
This school may not offer AP courses
A-G Completion
53.2%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
74.3%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20193913#131912.8%35.4%16.1%6.0%
20223811#142210.9%33.2%29.0%7.5%
20233912#143310.7%34.9%23.1%8.0%
20244015#139612.8%38.6%23.2%7.3%
20254319#132818.4%48.2%19.0%6.9%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female14.1%18.4%+4.3pp
Male16.8%18.0%+1.2pp
Asian8.3%12.0%+3.7pp
Black/African American16.0%24.6%+8.6pp
Filipino14.3%8.7%-5.6pp
Hispanic/Latino17.2%18.3%+1.1pp
Two or More Races26.9%26.2%-0.7pp
White12.5%18.6%+6.1pp
Students with Disabilities26.2%27.2%+1.0pp
English Learners19.0%25.8%+6.8pp
Foster Youth26.1%——
Homeless18.4%36.8%+18.4pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged17.8%20.6%+2.8pp
All Students15.5%18.2%+2.7pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
20257563293.873.924.01
20247657333.803.913.96
20237747253.743.984.11
20226052333.954.004.14
20216642203.653.814.01
20204838253.803.924.00
20195727183.723.984.01
20186235233.784.014.08
20174833273.773.964.01
20165738283.653.863.89
20155331243.733.994.03
20146241303.773.974.01

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20255964
Berkeley2024581410
Berkeley202350105
Berkeley202246108
Berkeley202147118
Davis2025592112
Davis202457203
Davis202366259
Davis202248228
Davis202143145
Irvine202540‹3‹3
Irvine2024398‹3
Irvine20233910‹3
Irvine2022337‹3
Irvine2021225‹3
Los Angeles202541‹3‹3
Los Angeles2024465‹3
Los Angeles2023405‹3
Los Angeles2022364‹3
Los Angeles2021364‹3
Merced20253737‹3
Merced20242017‹3
Merced202322214
Merced20221313‹3
Merced20211514‹3
Riverside20253028‹3
Riverside2024106‹3
Riverside2023187‹3
Riverside20221510‹3
Riverside2021145‹3
San Diego2025344‹3
San Diego202435126
San Diego2023339‹3
San Diego2022272210
San Diego2021309‹3
Santa Barbara202525103
Santa Barbara2024247‹3
Santa Barbara2023167‹3
Santa Barbara2022208‹3
Santa Barbara2021206‹3
Santa Cruz202532253
Santa Cruz202443357
Santa Cruz20234727‹3
Santa Cruz20223018‹3
Santa Cruz202129154
Universitywide2025756329
Universitywide2024765733
Universitywide2023774725
Universitywide2022605233
Universitywide2021664220

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
Biologythis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
United States Historythis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count6
AP enrollment225
IB participationoffered · 396 enrolled
Dual enrollmentnot reported
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections1
Physics sections13
Chemistry sections14
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,303

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California259.6%
California State University2710.3%
California community college12547.9%
In-state private62.3%
Out-of-state, 4-year114.2%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled6725.7%

261 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 74% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/pinole-valley-high-5316"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Pinole Valley High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Pinole Valley High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.