ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Hercules High

Hercules, CA · Grades 9-12 · 767 students · West Contra Costa Unified

High scores, healthy climate, strong attendance. We looked for a catch — we didn't find one.

65% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 39% in math. 95.2% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

PrincipalRocquel Colbert
Grades9-12
Enrollment767 students

Math

39%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

65%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

767

Total enrollment

Graduation

95.2%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 38%2022: 28%2023: 28%2024: 26%2025: 39%2019: 60%2022: 69%2023: 63%2024: 71%2025: 65%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 38%2022: 28%2023: 28%2024: 26%2025: 39%2019: 60%2022: 69%2023: 63%2024: 71%2025: 65%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201938%60%
202228%69%
202328%63%
202426%71%
202539%65%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has held the 80th-percentile line every tested year since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “52% proficient” and call it done. Hercules deserves a closer read. Two in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Hercules's low-income kids hit 65.5% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

186 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Hercules High scores 65 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 80th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Proficiency here is back to its pre-pandemic level — 52% meet the standard, about where the school stood in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 78th percentile · Scope Score 66 of 1002022 · 81st percentile · Scope Score 65 of 1002023 · 77th percentile · Scope Score 64 of 1002024 · 79th percentile · Scope Score 64 of 1002025 · 80th percentile · Scope Score 65 of 100
ELAGreen(Declined)MathGreen(Increased Significantly)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1160%69%63%71%65%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1138%28%28%26%39%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

More than half of students here meet the standard. One in five clear it by a lot.

ELA65% met or exceeded
Exceeded 34%Met 31%Nearly Met 19%Not Met 16%
Math39% met or exceeded
Exceeded 16%Met 23%Nearly Met 28%Not Met 33%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school6525%52%95.2%85.3%21.0%4.6%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope6554
% Exceeded25%20%
% Met+52%43%
Grad rate95.2%92.5%
College readiness85.3%43.0%
Absence21.0%23.1%
Suspension4.6%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

65.5% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 52% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 52%, district —, state 43%52%
MaleMale: this school 51%, district 28%, state 42%51% · −1 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 52%, district 31%, state 44%52% · +1 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 54%, district 20%, state 32%54% · +2 vs school
FilipinoFilipino: this school 61%, district 54%, state 65%61% · +9 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 42%, district 18%, state 32%42% · −10 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 58%, district 50%, state 72%58% · +6 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: this school 42%, district 17%, state 26%42% · −10 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 50%, district 50%, state 56%50% · −2 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 13%, district 9%, state 15%13% · −38 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 14%, district 5%, state 11%14% · −37 vs school
WhiteWhite: too few students to report‹11
American Indian/Alaska NativeAmerican Indian/Alaska Native: too few students to report‹11
Pacific IslanderPacific Islander: too few students to report‹11
Military-ConnectedMilitary-Connected: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic20.2% AP · 23.0% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.1% enroll.
Asian59.8% AP · 47.5% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.8% AP · 0.5% enroll.
Black13.6% AP · 20.1% enroll.
White3.0% AP · 4.6% enroll.
Two or more races2.5% AP · 4.1% enroll.
English learners3.0% AP · 6.7% enroll.
Students with disabilities0.8% AP · 7.3% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

79%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 129 of 164 completers · includes community colleges

164Completers
33%
Other colleges54 completers · Outside the California community college system
46%
California community colleges75 completers · Enrolled within a year
21%
Not recorded enrolled35 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

79%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Hercules's class of 2023, 79% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 164 completers, 79% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 28 (17%)California State University 12 (7%)California community college 75 (46%)In-state private 7 (4%)Out-of-state, 4-year 7 (4%)Out-of-state, 2-year 0 (0%)Not enrolled 35 (21%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 22 of Hercules's 157 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Berkeley the most common landing, with 11 enrollees.

Applied76fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted49
Enrolled22
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)

7 of 9 campuses are masked below UC's privacy floor — a protection, not a verdict.

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 47 enrolled, 2020

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 79% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (75) than at UC (28).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 24 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Hercules's teachers are authorized to teach 12 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Computer Science A.

Students per teacher24 · district 23
Teaching staff36 teachers
Avg. experience10.4 years
Fully credentialed75%
First-year teachers17%
PrincipalRocquel Colbert
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$58,573 – $119,395
Principal salary$139,320 – $164,698
Superintendent salary$315,895

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers99 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers5 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught12
ShowHide the 12 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (4)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science A · Computer Science Principles
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (5)African American Studies · Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (1)Spanish Language and Culture

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended more, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 21.0%, district 26.5%, state 23.1%21.0% · −2.1pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 4.6%, district —, state 3.3%4.6% · +1.4pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1220.1%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $6,194 per student, less than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

$328 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $6,194, CA average $14,491$6,194 · spent at this school
Federal share$328 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$22,102 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 55%Instruction support 12%Student services 11%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 5%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$15,242 per pupil
2019$13,839 per pupil
2018$14,231 per pupil
2017$12,364 per pupil
2016$11,254 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Two in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 767 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 42% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino26.6% · district 58.5% · CA 56.1%
White6.4% · district 9.2% · CA 19.9%
Asian19.4% · district 10.0% · CA 10.2%
Black14.3% · district 10.6% · CA 4.8%
Other33.3% · district 11.7% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch41.7% · CA 64%
Median income$129K · CA $85K
Median home value$769K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+46% · CA 35%
ZIP population26,302
Median age44 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Find contact and visit details →

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Hercules HighPublicStrong25%52%School being viewed
De Anza HighPublicNeeds Support10%25%2.8 mi
Pinole Valley HighPublicNeeds Support18%48%1.9 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Hercules →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

4 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with West Contra Costa Unified.

District information →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Hercules High a good high school?
Hercules High has a Scope Score of 65 out of 100, placing it in the 80th percentile of California high schools and ranked #330 statewide. 24.9% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 5.0 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Hercules High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 51.7% of students at Hercules High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 24.9% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 26.8% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 24.9% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 369 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Hercules High rank in California?
Hercules High ranks #330 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 80th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Hercules High?
21.0% of students at Hercules High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 4.6%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Hercules High compare to other schools in Hercules?
Hercules High scores 65/100 (80th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 767 students. Use the schools in Hercules page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Hercules High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Hercules High in Hercules, 65.5% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 23.3% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Hercules High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 42.2 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (41.5% Math proficient); Filipino students (81.6% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 64.5 percentage points for disabilities students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 84 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Hercules High?
Hercules High's teachers are authorized to teach 12 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: African American Studies, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Computer Science A, Computer Science Principles, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Hercules High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 22 Hercules High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

College readiness carries this score. The test levels clear the state's too.

85.3% of students leave measurably college-ready, versus 43.0% statewide.

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate95.2%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard24.9%19.8%22%
College readiness85.3%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded51.7%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism21.0%23.1%5%
Suspension rate4.6%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)12.5%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Hercules High: reading the evidence

Hercules posts 24.9% exceeding the standard — versus 19.8% statewide — with climate numbers better than most. That doesn't make it perfect. It makes it worth a visit to find what numbers can't measure.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Hercules High is ranked #330 statewide · #1 of 11 in West Contra Costa Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate95.2%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard24.9%19.8%22%
College readiness85.3%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded51.7%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism21.0%23.1%5%
Suspension rate4.6%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)12.5%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 59 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 60 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 79 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 62 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 58 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 1.2pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 46 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 2.1pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 44 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1118634%31%19%16%65%+16
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1118316%23%28%33%39%+15

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide1838%34%51%7%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged8465.5%+42+27
Filipino4981.6%+21+9
Hispanic/Latino4456.8%+35+18
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Hercules High ←—6524.9%51.7%4.6%
De Anza High2.8 mi449.9%24.6%4.7%
Pinole Valley High1.9 mi4318.4%48.2%6.9%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
95.2%
AP Exam Prepared
85.3%
A-G Completion
75.8%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
78.7%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20196678#32820.8%49.1%13.7%2.9%
20226581#30321.0%48.8%28.2%3.9%
20236477#38018.1%45.2%20.3%4.9%
20246479#33821.2%48.4%19.8%6.7%
20256580#33024.9%51.7%21.0%4.6%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female14.3%25.1%+10.8pp
Male11.5%15.9%+4.4pp
Asian3.6%11.1%+7.5pp
Black/African American15.1%27.9%+12.8pp
Filipino7.5%9.9%+2.4pp
Hispanic/Latino19.6%29.7%+10.1pp
Two or More Races24.0%16.7%-7.3pp
White28.6%30.0%+1.4pp
Students with Disabilities25.8%39.6%+13.8pp
English Learners19.3%27.6%+8.3pp
Homeless24.2%63.6%+39.4pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged19.0%27.8%+8.8pp
All Students12.8%20.1%+7.3pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
20257649223.803.984.17
20246651324.004.074.15
20236753334.064.124.16
20226538214.004.134.22
20217242233.693.944.00
20207160473.984.074.08
20195430193.833.974.07
20188858403.844.044.13
20178855373.743.984.01
20168362443.783.903.97
20157242343.724.004.05
20148942263.523.873.93

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley2025541211
Berkeley2024451712
Berkeley202355106
Berkeley20225199
Berkeley2021387‹3
Davis202565144
Davis202455233
Davis202356246
Davis202254165
Davis202155167
Irvine2025545‹3
Irvine2024488‹3
Irvine202347115
Irvine2022345‹3
Irvine20214463
Los Angeles202540‹3‹3
Los Angeles202441‹3‹3
Los Angeles2023454‹3
Los Angeles2022393‹3
Los Angeles202139‹3‹3
Merced20253231‹3
Merced202488‹3
Merced202377‹3
Merced20221313‹3
Merced20211411‹3
Riverside20253125‹3
Riverside202487‹3
Riverside202253‹3
Riverside2021115‹3
San Diego2025484‹3
San Diego2024473010
San Diego202336249
San Diego2022345‹3
San Diego2021345‹3
Santa Barbara2025305‹3
Santa Barbara2024247‹3
Santa Barbara2023268‹3
Santa Barbara2022146‹3
Santa Barbara2021258‹3
Santa Cruz20252010‹3
Santa Cruz20242824‹3
Santa Cruz202331203
Santa Cruz20222814‹3
Santa Cruz202134213
Universitywide2025764922
Universitywide2024665132
Universitywide2023675333
Universitywide2022653821
Universitywide2021724223

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
African American Studiesthis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Computer Science Athis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count12
AP enrollment361
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections1
Physics sections6
Chemistry sections7
Total enrollment (CRDC)796

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California2817.1%
California State University127.3%
California community college7545.7%
In-state private74.3%
Out-of-state, 4-year74.3%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled3521.3%

164 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 79% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/hercules-high-0598"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Hercules High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Hercules High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.