ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Ocean View High

Huntington Beach, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,154 students · Huntington Beach Union High

The scores are below where anyone wants them. Here's what they don't tell you.

43% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 20% in math. 91.1% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Math

20%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

43%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,154

Total enrollment

Graduation

91.1%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 18%2022: 20%2023: 19%2024: 16%2025: 20%2019: 59%2022: 64%2023: 61%2024: 46%2025: 43%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 18%2022: 20%2023: 19%2024: 16%2025: 20%2019: 59%2022: 64%2023: 61%2024: 46%2025: 43%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201918%59%
202220%64%
202319%61%
202416%46%
202520%43%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has stayed near the 19th percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “31% proficient” and call it done. Ocean View deserves a closer read. Three in four of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Test scores are one lens, and at this school they're a rough one right now. The sections below show the fuller picture — including the parts that are working.

282 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Ocean View High scores 43 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 19th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 31% meet the standard today, versus 38% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 26th percentile · Scope Score 46 of 1002022 · 43rd percentile · Scope Score 49 of 1002023 · 35th percentile · Scope Score 48 of 1002024 · 22nd percentile · Scope Score 43 of 1002025 · 19th percentile · Scope Score 43 of 100
ELAOrange(Declined)MathYellow(Increased Significantly)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1159%64%61%46%43%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1118%20%19%16%20%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in four of students here meet the standard. One in ten clear it by a lot.

ELA43% met or exceeded
Exceeded 18%Met 26%Nearly Met 19%Not Met 38%
Math20% met or exceeded
Exceeded 9%Met 11%Nearly Met 21%Not Met 59%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school4313%31%91.1%16.3%30.1%3.9%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope4354
% Exceeded13%20%
% Met+31%43%
Grad rate91.1%92.5%
College readiness16.3%43.0%
Absence30.1%23.1%
Suspension3.9%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard about even with the same group statewide.

At Ocean View High in Huntington Beach, 35.6% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 60.2% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Ocean View High trails its district average for low-income students by 24.6 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (14.3% Math proficient); Hispanic students (33.7% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 43.3 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 225 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 31% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 31%, district —, state 43%31%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 25%, district 49%, state 32%25% · −6 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 22%, district 38%, state 32%22% · −9 vs school
MaleMale: this school 32%, district 54%, state 42%32% · +1 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 30%, district 60%, state 44%30% · −1 vs school
HomelessHomeless: this school 16%, district 23%, state 22%16% · −15 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 4%, district 14%, state 15%4% · −28 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 45%, district 56%, state 56%45% · +13 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 1%, district 11%, state 11%1% · −30 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 63%, district 77%, state 72%63% · +32 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 36%, district 61%, state 56%36% · +5 vs school
FilipinoFilipino: too few students to report‹11
Military-ConnectedMilitary-Connected: too few students to report‹11
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: too few students to report‹11
American Indian/Alaska NativeAmerican Indian/Alaska Native: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic52.8% AP · 65.8% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.2% enroll.
Asian15.3% AP · 7.8% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.5% enroll.
Black0.9% AP · 1.0% enroll.
White30.7% AP · 22.5% enroll.
Two or more races0.3% AP · 2.2% enroll.
English learners4.0% AP · 22.9% enroll.
Students with disabilities0.6% AP · 16.9% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

70%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 199 of 286 completers · includes community colleges

286Completers
25%
Other colleges72 completers · Outside the California community college system
44%
California community colleges127 completers · Enrolled within a year
30%
Not recorded enrolled87 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

70%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Ocean View's class of 2023, 70% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 286 completers, 70% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 17 (6%)California State University 32 (11%)California community college 127 (44%)In-state private 4 (1%)Out-of-state, 4-year 17 (6%)Out-of-state, 2-year 2 (1%)Not enrolled 87 (30%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 20 of Ocean View's 267 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Santa Cruz the most common landing, with 4 enrollees.

Applied62fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted47
Enrolled20
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Santa Cruz 4Davis 3Los Angeles 3Riverside 3San Diego 3Berkeley ‹3Irvine ‹3Merced ‹3Santa Barbara ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 25 enrolled, 2024

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 70% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (127) than at UC (17).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 19 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Ocean View's teachers are authorized to teach 5 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Statistics.

Students per teacher19 · district 23
Teaching staff65 teachers
Avg. experience15.8 years
Fully credentialed76%
First-year teachers6%
PrincipalRobert Rasmussen
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$68,649 – $145,704
Principal salaryUp to $193,370
Superintendent salary$377,761

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers20 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers27 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught5
ShowHide the 5 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (3)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Statistics
World Languages & Cultures (2)Spanish Language and Culture · Spanish Literature and Culture
IBDiploma Programme (DP)

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended more, than the state average.

30.1% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — a school visit will tell you more than this number.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 30.1%, district 19.7%, state 23.1%30.1% · +7.0pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 3.9%, district —, state 3.3%3.9% · +0.6pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1230.0%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $24,059 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$218 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $24,059, CA average $14,491$24,059 · spent at this school
Federal share$218 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$18,559 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 57%Instruction support 12%Student services 9%Administration 9%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$13,062 per pupil
2019$12,471 per pupil
2018$12,816 per pupil
2017$12,190 per pupil
2016$11,795 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Three in four of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 23% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino69.8% · district 32.1% · CA 56.1%
White16.5% · district 31.0% · CA 19.9%
Asian6.3% · district 28.1% · CA 10.2%
Black1.6% · district 0.7% · CA 4.8%
Other5.8% · district 8.1% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch78.2% · CA 64%
Median income$105K · CA $85K
Median home value$1.03M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+40% · CA 35%
ZIP population59,047
Median age38 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Ocean View HighPublicNeeds Support13%31%School being viewed
Fountain Valley HighPublicStrong41%71%2.2 mi
Huntington Beach HighPublicStrong30%60%2.5 mi
Marina HighPublicStrong33%60%1.8 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Huntington Beach →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

13 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Huntington Beach Union High.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what changed in the last two years, and what the school is asking families for. Growth shows up in these numbers a year or two after it shows up in classrooms.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Ocean View High a good high school?
Ocean View High has a Scope Score of 43 out of 100, placing it in the 19th percentile of California high schools and ranked #1,332 statewide. 13.2% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 6.7 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Ocean View High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 31.4% of students at Ocean View High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 13.2% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 18.3% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 13.2% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 562 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Ocean View High rank in California?
Ocean View High ranks #1,332 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 19th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Ocean View High?
30.1% of students at Ocean View High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 3.9%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Ocean View High compare to other schools in Huntington Beach?
Ocean View High scores 43/100 (19th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,154 students. Use the schools in Huntington Beach page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Ocean View High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Ocean View High in Huntington Beach, 35.6% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 60.2% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Ocean View High trails its district average for low-income students by 24.6 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (14.3% Math proficient); Hispanic students (33.7% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 43.3 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 225 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Ocean View High?
Ocean View High's teachers are authorized to teach 5 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Spanish Language and Culture, Spanish Literature and Culture, Statistics. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Ocean View High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 20 Ocean View High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate91.1%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard13.2%19.8%22%
College readiness16.3%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded31.4%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism30.1%23.1%5%
Suspension rate3.9%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)11.8%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Ocean View High: reading the evidence

Ocean View posts low test scores — and test scores are one lens among several. If this is your zoned school, the numbers below are where to start a conversation, not where to end one.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Ocean View High is ranked #1,332 statewide · #7 of 7 in Huntington Beach Union High.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate91.1%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard13.2%19.8%22%
College readiness16.3%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded31.4%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism30.1%23.1%5%
Suspension rate3.9%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)11.8%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 55 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 47 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 40 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 47 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 50 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 1.8pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 49 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 0.8pp higher vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 43 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 80——————
Grade 1128218%26%19%38%43%−5
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 80——————
Grade 112809%11%21%59%20%−4

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide2995%19%65%11%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged22535.6%−25−3
Hispanic/Latino19033.7%−17−5
Students with Disabilities517.8%−11−9
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Ocean View High ←—4313.2%31.4%3.9%
Fountain Valley High2.2 mi7741.0%71.4%1.7%
Huntington Beach High2.5 mi7030.1%60.0%0.9%
Marina High1.8 mi6833.0%59.8%2.5%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
91.1%
AP Exam Prepared
16.3%
A-G Completion
46.4%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
69.6%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20194626#112214.6%38.1%18.8%3.5%
20224943#91620.7%42.2%30.2%3.7%
20234835#105818.2%39.7%26.8%3.8%
20244322#127910.2%31.5%28.3%3.1%
20254319#133213.2%31.4%30.1%3.9%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female21.7%32.7%+11.0pp
Male15.5%27.6%+12.1pp
Asian6.9%17.1%+10.2pp
Filipino10.5%18.2%+7.7pp
Hispanic/Latino19.2%31.1%+11.9pp
Two or More Races20.0%25.9%+5.9pp
White19.9%32.0%+12.1pp
Students with Disabilities23.8%37.9%+14.1pp
English Learners26.5%36.2%+9.7pp
Homeless25.9%34.8%+8.9pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged19.9%32.9%+13.0pp
All Students18.4%30.0%+11.6pp
Black/African American—52.4%—
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
20256247203.803.894.00
20246553254.004.134.17
20236345183.994.074.09
20227446183.934.094.19
20217247223.944.074.13
20206239123.924.004.11
20195929163.904.134.22
20188245213.954.144.18
20177235163.774.004.14
20166537183.713.933.99
20157544253.824.054.15
20146339213.773.954.04

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley2025244‹3
Berkeley20242674
Berkeley2023233‹3
Berkeley2022375‹3
Berkeley20212983
Davis20251473
Davis20241710‹3
Davis2023158‹3
Davis2022147‹3
Davis20211911‹3
Irvine2025496‹3
Irvine202458209
Irvine202353205
Irvine202262153
Irvine202158175
Los Angeles20253833
Los Angeles20245143
Los Angeles20234275
Los Angeles20225754
Los Angeles20214655
Merced20251717‹3
Merced202377‹3
Merced20221212‹3
Merced202177‹3
Riverside202532313
Riverside20242018‹3
Riverside20232419‹3
Riverside202224183
Riverside20213124‹3
San Diego20253793
San Diego202446193
San Diego202344164
San Diego202246124
San Diego20214315‹3
Santa Barbara2025278‹3
Santa Barbara20242414‹3
Santa Barbara202330163
Santa Barbara2022199‹3
Santa Barbara2021309‹3
Santa Cruz202518164
Santa Cruz20241714‹3
Santa Cruz20231210‹3
Santa Cruz202294‹3
Santa Cruz202118114
Universitywide2025624720
Universitywide2024655325
Universitywide2023634518
Universitywide2022744618
Universitywide2021724722

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Spanish Literature and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count6
AP enrollment326
IB participationoffered · 262 enrolled
Dual enrollmentoffered · 35 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections8
Physics sections11
Chemistry sections8
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,346

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California175.9%
California State University3211.2%
California community college12744.4%
In-state private41.4%
Out-of-state, 4-year175.9%
Out-of-state, 2-year20.7%
Not enrolled8730.4%

286 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 70% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/ocean-view-high-0145"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Ocean View High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · IB World Schools directory (name-matched, 0.90 gate) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Ocean View High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.