ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Huntington Beach High

Huntington Beach, CA · Grades 9-12 · 2,645 students · Huntington Beach Union High

Most kids here clear the bar, year after year. The question is what happens after that.

66% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 54% in math. 97.3% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Strong All-Around

What this means for your family

Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.

How archetypes are assigned →

Math

54%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

66%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

2,645

Total enrollment

Graduation

97.3%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 60%2022: 48%2023: 48%2024: 42%2025: 54%2019: 83%2022: 75%2023: 77%2024: 68%2025: 66%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 60%2022: 48%2023: 48%2024: 42%2025: 54%2019: 83%2022: 75%2023: 77%2024: 68%2025: 66%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201960%83%
202248%75%
202348%77%
202442%68%
202554%66%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has held the 87th-percentile line every tested year since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “60% proficient” and call it done. Huntington Beach deserves a closer read. One in three of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Huntington Beach's low-income kids hit 52.6% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

613 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Huntington Beach High scores 70 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 87th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 60% meet the standard today, versus 72% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 91st percentile · Scope Score 75 of 1002022 · 88th percentile · Scope Score 70 of 1002023 · 89th percentile · Scope Score 71 of 1002024 · 84th percentile · Scope Score 67 of 1002025 · 87th percentile · Scope Score 70 of 100
ELAGreen(Declined Significantly)MathGreen(Increased Significantly)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1183%75%77%68%66%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1160%48%48%42%54%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

More than half of students here meet the standard. One in four clear it by a lot.

ELA66% met or exceeded
Exceeded 35%Met 31%Nearly Met 19%Not Met 15%
Math54% met or exceeded
Exceeded 25%Met 28%Nearly Met 21%Not Met 25%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school7030%60%97.3%62.6%19.4%0.9%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope7054
% Exceeded30%20%
% Met+60%43%
Grad rate97.3%92.5%
College readiness62.6%43.0%
Absence19.4%23.1%
Suspension0.9%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

52.6% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 60% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 60%, district —, state 43%60%
FemaleFemale: this school 64%, district 60%, state 44%64% · +4 vs school
MaleMale: this school 56%, district 54%, state 42%56% · −4 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 63%, district 56%, state 56%63% · +3 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 46%, district 49%, state 32%46% · −14 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 41%, district 38%, state 32%41% · −19 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 78%, district 77%, state 72%78% · +18 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 69%, district 61%, state 56%69% · +9 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 11%, district 14%, state 15%11% · −49 vs school
HomelessHomeless: this school 18%, district 23%, state 22%18% · −42 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 5%, district 11%, state 11%5% · −55 vs school

5 of 16 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic17.1% AP · 21.4% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.4% AP · 0.5% enroll.
Asian27.1% AP · 13.1% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.5% AP · 0.3% enroll.
Black1.4% AP · 1.1% enroll.
White53.0% AP · 56.1% enroll.
Two or more races0.5% AP · 7.4% enroll.
English learners0.4% AP · 3.2% enroll.
Students with disabilities0.8% AP · 7.1% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

87%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 584 of 674 completers · includes community colleges

674Completers
49%
Other colleges330 completers · Outside the California community college system
38%
California community colleges254 completers · Enrolled within a year
13%
Not recorded enrolled90 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

87%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Huntington Beach's class of 2023, 87% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 674 completers, 87% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 58 (9%)California State University 110 (16%)California community college 254 (38%)In-state private 37 (5%)Out-of-state, 4-year 123 (18%)Out-of-state, 2-year 2 (0%)Not enrolled 90 (13%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 84 of Huntington Beach's 686 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Irvine the most common landing, with 16 enrollees.

Applied216fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted154
Enrolled84
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Irvine 16Berkeley 13San Diego 13Los Angeles 10Santa Cruz 10Riverside 7Santa Barbara 7Davis 5Merced 3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 92 enrolled, 2022

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 87% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (254) than at UC (58).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 23 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Huntington Beach's teachers are authorized to teach 26 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — well above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics C: Mechanics.

Students per teacher23 · district 23
Teaching staff119 teachers
Avg. experience14.2 years
Fully credentialed86%
First-year teachers11%
PrincipalDaniel Morris
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$68,649 – $145,704
Principal salaryUp to $193,370
Superintendent salary$377,761

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers305 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers133 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught26
ShowHide the 26 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (4)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science Principles · Statistics
Sciences (5)Biology · Chemistry · Environmental Science · Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism · Physics C: Mechanics
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (7)African American Studies · Human Geography · Macroeconomics · Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (3)French Language and Culture · Spanish Language and Culture · Spanish Literature and Culture
Arts (5)2-D Art and Design · 3-D Art and Design · Art History · Drawing · Music Theory

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 19.4%, district 19.7%, state 23.1%19.4% · −3.7pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 0.9%, district —, state 3.3%0.9% · −2.4pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1219.1%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $18,492 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$251 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $18,492, CA average $14,491$18,492 · spent at this school
Federal share$251 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$18,559 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 57%Instruction support 12%Student services 9%Administration 9%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$13,062 per pupil
2019$12,471 per pupil
2018$12,816 per pupil
2017$12,190 per pupil
2016$11,795 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

One in three of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 2,645 students, this school is well above the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 54% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino25.3% · district 32.1% · CA 56.1%
White49.7% · district 31.0% · CA 19.9%
Asian12.6% · district 28.1% · CA 10.2%
Black0.7% · district 0.7% · CA 4.8%
Other11.7% · district 8.1% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch33.8% · CA 64%
Median income$130K · CA $85K
Median home value$1.24M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+55% · CA 35%
ZIP population45,827
Median age45 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Huntington Beach HighPublicStrong30%60%School being viewed
Fountain Valley HighPublicStrong41%71%2.9 mi
Edison HighPublicStrong29%61%2.4 mi
Ocean View HighPublicNeeds Support13%31%2.5 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Huntington Beach →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

11 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Huntington Beach Union High.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask how the school challenges kids who clear the standard early. The gap between meeting and exceeding is where pacing shows.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Huntington Beach High a good high school?
Huntington Beach High has a Scope Score of 70 out of 100, placing it in the 87th percentile of California high schools and ranked #208 statewide. 30.1% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 10.3 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Huntington Beach High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 60.0% of students at Huntington Beach High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 30.1% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 29.8% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 30.1% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 1,228 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Huntington Beach High rank in California?
Huntington Beach High ranks #208 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 87th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Huntington Beach High?
19.4% of students at Huntington Beach High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 0.9%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Huntington Beach High compare to other schools in Huntington Beach?
Huntington Beach High scores 70/100 (87th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 2,645 students. Use the schools in Huntington Beach page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Huntington Beach High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Huntington Beach High in Huntington Beach, 52.6% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 60.2% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Huntington Beach High trails its district average for low-income students by 7.6 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (38.7% Math proficient); White students (69.0% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 50.3 percentage points for disabilities students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 200 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Huntington Beach High?
Huntington Beach High's teachers are authorized to teach 26 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, 3-D Art and Design, African American Studies, Art History, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Computer Science Principles, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, French Language and Culture, Human Geography, Macroeconomics, Music Theory, Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism, Physics C: Mechanics, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Spanish Literature and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Huntington Beach High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 84 Huntington Beach High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

How fast English learners gain fluency carries this score. The test levels clear the state's too.

37.1% of English learners reached the top ELPAC level, versus 18.0% statewide.

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate97.3%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard30.1%19.8%22%
College readiness62.6%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded60.0%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism19.4%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.9%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)37.1%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Huntington Beach High: reading the evidence

Huntington Beach posts 60% meeting the standard, and 30.1% going well past it. Most kids here keep up. Fewer get pushed further. Ask the school what it does for a child who already finds the work easy.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Huntington Beach High is ranked #208 statewide · #2 of 7 in Huntington Beach Union High.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate97.3%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard30.1%19.8%22%
College readiness62.6%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded60.0%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism19.4%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.9%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)37.1%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 62 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 66 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 66 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 68 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 59 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 0.3pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 62 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.5pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 18.0% · index 84 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1161335%31%19%15%66%+18
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1161525%28%21%25%54%+30

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide64316%38%44%3%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged20052.6%−8+14
White28769.0%+4+7
Hispanic/Latino16049.1%−2+10
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Huntington Beach High ←—7030.1%60.0%0.9%
Fountain Valley High2.9 mi7741.0%71.4%1.7%
Edison High2.4 mi6729.3%61.0%1.8%
Ocean View High2.5 mi4313.2%31.4%3.9%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
97.3%
AP Exam Prepared
62.6%
A-G Completion
69.5%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
86.6%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20197591#14139.5%71.5%13.2%2.1%
20227088#19032.6%61.4%24.9%0.6%
20237189#18033.7%62.0%20.8%1.3%
20246784#26928.3%54.9%19.1%1.4%
20257087#20830.1%60.0%19.4%0.9%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female14.2%21.2%+7.0pp
Male11.5%16.7%+5.2pp
Asian6.1%9.7%+3.6pp
Black/African American14.3%20.0%+5.7pp
Filipino3.9%20.5%+16.6pp
Hispanic/Latino14.8%18.7%+3.9pp
American Indian/Alaska Native10.5%——
Pacific Islander9.1%——
Two or More Races7.6%16.3%+8.7pp
White14.3%21.8%+7.5pp
Students with Disabilities23.7%24.1%+0.4pp
English Learners19.4%17.5%-1.9pp
Homeless24.2%18.4%-5.8pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged21.8%25.1%+3.3pp
All Students12.9%19.1%+6.2pp
Foster Youth—36.4%—
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
2025216154843.923.984.08
2024221147803.914.044.11
2023228132643.934.064.13
2022286167923.974.084.10
2021216126753.884.024.06
2020212140843.883.943.96
201917499533.833.963.99
201819792423.774.044.11
2017199103633.773.943.97
2016175119683.843.984.01
2015184109653.763.994.05
201415687463.743.944.03

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20251142213
Berkeley2024109179
Berkeley20231035‹3
Berkeley2022133148
Berkeley2021981911
Davis202595315
Davis202488375
Davis202371356
Davis20221124010
Davis202177328
Irvine20251534416
Irvine20241475014
Irvine20231744720
Irvine20221915523
Irvine20211364019
Los Angeles20251521510
Los Angeles20241641812
Los Angeles2023158118
Los Angeles20221911812
Los Angeles2021144157
Merced202548483
Merced20241918‹3
Merced20231717‹3
Merced202226265
Merced20211818‹3
Riverside202581757
Riverside202465497
Riverside202354353
Riverside202275568
Riverside2021553912
San Diego20251623813
San Diego20241675017
San Diego2023163228
San Diego20221963411
San Diego2021143369
Santa Barbara2025158377
Santa Barbara2024156547
Santa Barbara2023144339
Santa Barbara2022166256
Santa Barbara202113926‹3
Santa Cruz2025735310
Santa Cruz202490588
Santa Cruz2023100597
Santa Cruz2022107509
Santa Cruz202184416
Universitywide202521615484
Universitywide202422114780
Universitywide202322813264
Universitywide202228616792
Universitywide202121612675

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
3-D Art and Designthis school
African American Studiesthis school
Art Historythis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
French Language and Culturethis school
Human Geographythis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Music Theorythis school
Physics C: Electricity and Magnetismthis school
Physics C: Mechanicsthis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Spanish Literature and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count25
AP enrollment990
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 123 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections10
Physics sections10
Chemistry sections34
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,957

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California588.6%
California State University11016.3%
California community college25437.7%
In-state private375.5%
Out-of-state, 4-year12318.3%
Out-of-state, 2-year20.3%
Not enrolled9013.4%

674 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 87% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/huntington-beach-high-2943"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Huntington Beach High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Huntington Beach High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.