ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Novato High

Novato, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,287 students · Novato Unified

This school runs ahead of the state average. The bar itself is the harder conversation.

56% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 35% in math. 93.4% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

Contact

PrincipalLiz Seabury
Grades9-12
Enrollment1,287 students

Math

35%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

56%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,287

Total enrollment

Graduation

93.4%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 36%2022: 35%2023: 29%2024: 24%2025: 35%2019: 66%2022: 70%2023: 60%2024: 56%2025: 56%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 36%2022: 35%2023: 29%2024: 24%2025: 35%2019: 66%2022: 70%2023: 60%2024: 56%2025: 56%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201936%66%
202235%70%
202329%60%
202424%56%
202535%56%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Slipped from the 75th to the 64th percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “46% proficient” and call it done. Novato deserves a closer read. Two in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

305 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Novato High scores 57 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 64th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 46% meet the standard today, versus 51% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 75th percentile · Scope Score 64 of 1002022 · 81st percentile · Scope Score 65 of 1002023 · 74th percentile · Scope Score 62 of 1002024 · 65th percentile · Scope Score 58 of 1002025 · 64th percentile · Scope Score 57 of 100
ELAOrange(Maintained)MathYellow(Increased)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1166%70%60%56%56%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1136%35%29%24%35%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Two in five of students here meet the standard. One in ten clear it by a lot.

ELA56% met or exceeded
Exceeded 23%Met 33%Nearly Met 20%Not Met 24%
Math35% met or exceeded
Exceeded 13%Met 22%Nearly Met 26%Not Met 38%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school5718%46%93.4%72.2%21.6%3.5%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope5754
% Exceeded18%20%
% Met+46%43%
Grad rate93.4%92.5%
College readiness72.2%43.0%
Absence21.6%23.1%
Suspension3.5%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard about even with the same group statewide.

At Novato High in Novato, 40.1% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 34.4% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Novato High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 5.7 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (22.5% Math proficient); Hispanic students (34.6% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 52.6 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 151 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 46% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 46%, district —, state 43%46%
MaleMale: this school 44%, district 47%, state 42%44% · −2 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 47%, district 47%, state 44%47% · +1 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 31%, district 29%, state 32%31% · −14 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 25%, district 29%, state 32%25% · −21 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 63%, district 65%, state 56%63% · +17 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 6%, district 8%, state 11%6% · −39 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 13%, district 16%, state 15%13% · −32 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 63%, district 63%, state 56%63% · +18 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 68%, district 74%, state 72%68% · +22 vs school
Military-ConnectedMilitary-Connected: this school 41%, district 39%, state 46%41% · −5 vs school

5 of 16 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored

In the 2020-21 federal collection — the newest there is — Hispanic students were 40% of Novato's enrollment but 21% of its AP seats; ask the school what's changed since.

Hispanic20.7% AP · 40.3% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.8% AP · 1.3% enroll.
Asian11.0% AP · 6.4% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.3% enroll.
Black0.6% AP · 3.3% enroll.
White61.0% AP · 42.6% enroll.
Two or more races6.0% AP · 5.8% enroll.
English learners1.0% AP · 10.3% enroll.
Students with disabilities1.8% AP · 7.5% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

76%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 256 of 336 completers · includes community colleges

336Completers
48%
Other colleges161 completers · Outside the California community college system
28%
California community colleges95 completers · Enrolled within a year
24%
Not recorded enrolled80 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

76%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Novato's class of 2023, 76% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 336 completers, 76% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 36 (11%)California State University 59 (18%)California community college 95 (28%)In-state private 15 (4%)Out-of-state, 4-year 48 (14%)Out-of-state, 2-year 3 (1%)Not enrolled 80 (24%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 32 of Novato's 328 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Los Angeles the most common landing, with 7 enrollees.

Applied103fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted75
Enrolled32
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Los Angeles 7Santa Barbara 7Santa Cruz 6Berkeley 5Davis 4Irvine ‹3Merced ‹3Riverside ‹3San Diego ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 40 enrolled, 2021

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 76% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (95) than at UC (36).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 20 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Novato's teachers are authorized to teach 16 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Statistics.

Students per teacher20 · district 21
Teaching staff73 teachers
Avg. experience13.0 years
Fully credentialed89%
First-year teachers8%
Intern / emergency permit1.7%
PrincipalLiz Seabury
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$60,953 – $133,072
Principal salary$158,792 – $183,904
Superintendent salary$289,800

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers156 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers45 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught16
ShowHide the 16 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (3)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Statistics
Sciences (3)Biology · Chemistry · Environmental Science
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (4)European History · Human Geography · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History
World Languages & Cultures (1)Spanish Language and Culture
Arts (3)2-D Art and Design · 3-D Art and Design · Drawing

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended more, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 21.6%, district 11.9%, state 23.1%21.6% · −1.5pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 3.5%, district —, state 3.3%3.5% · +0.3pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1221.1%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $18,562 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$237 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $18,562, CA average $14,491$18,562 · spent at this school
Federal share$237 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$18,474 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 63%Instruction support 11%Student services 9%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 9%Other 1%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$12,709 per pupil
2019$12,337 per pupil
2018$13,101 per pupil
2017$11,526 per pupil
2016$11,161 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Two in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 19% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino49.5% · district 40.5% · CA 56.1%
White36.0% · district 43.1% · CA 19.9%
Asian4.7% · district 4.5% · CA 10.2%
Black2.3% · district 1.7% · CA 4.8%
Other7.4% · district 10.1% · CA 9.0%
GenderFemale 50.3% · Male 48.3% · Non-binary 1.5%
Free or reduced lunch48.3% · CA 64%
Median income$129K · CA $85K
Median home value$1.02M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+47% · CA 35%
ZIP population24,100
Median age48 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Novato HighPublicSolid18%46%School being viewed
San Marin HighPublicStrong29%52%2.8 mi
Marin Oaks Highcontinuation comparison groupPublicSolid0%6%0.5 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Novato →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

4 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Novato Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: proximity. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask how the school challenges kids who clear the standard early. The gap between meeting and exceeding is where pacing shows.

  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Novato High a good high school?
Novato High has a Scope Score of 57 out of 100, placing it in the 64th percentile of California high schools and ranked #591 statewide. 17.9% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is near the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Novato High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 45.6% of students at Novato High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 17.9% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 27.7% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 17.9% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 607 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Novato High rank in California?
Novato High ranks #591 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 64th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Novato High?
21.6% of students at Novato High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 3.5%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Novato High compare to other schools in Novato?
Novato High scores 57/100 (64th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,287 students. Use the schools in Novato page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Novato High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Novato High in Novato, 40.1% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 34.4% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Novato High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 5.7 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (22.5% Math proficient); Hispanic students (34.6% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 52.6 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 151 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Novato High?
Novato High's teachers are authorized to teach 16 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, 3-D Art and Design, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, European History, Human Geography, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Novato High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 32 Novato High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate93.4%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard17.9%19.8%22%
College readiness72.2%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded45.6%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism21.6%23.1%5%
Suspension rate3.5%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)3.7%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Novato High: reading the evidence

Novato posts 46% meeting the standard against 43% statewide — ahead of most, with real headroom above the bar.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Novato High is ranked #591 statewide · #2 of 3 in Novato Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate93.4%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard17.9%19.8%22%
College readiness72.2%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded45.6%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism21.6%23.1%5%
Suspension rate3.5%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)3.7%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 57 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 52 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 72 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 57 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 57 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 2.0pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 51 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.9pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 30 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1130523%33%20%24%56%+7
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1130213%22%26%38%35%+12

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide2364%14%57%25%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged15140.1%+6+2
Hispanic/Latino14034.6%+1−4
White12975.6%+4+14
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Novato High ←—5717.9%45.6%3.5%
San Marin High2.8 mi6828.8%52.0%1.3%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
Marin Oaks Highscored within its class, not statewide0.5 mi250.0%5.6%7.4%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
93.4%
AP Exam Prepared
72.2%
A-G Completion
55.5%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
76.2%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20196475#37924.0%50.8%14.2%4.3%
20226581#30723.6%52.4%16.2%2.8%
20236274#43219.8%44.9%18.4%3.5%
20245865#56715.2%40.0%19.6%4.4%
20255764#59117.9%45.6%21.6%3.5%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female14.0%20.3%+6.3pp
Male12.5%21.3%+8.8pp
Asian9.5%14.5%+5.0pp
Black/African American23.3%45.2%+21.9pp
Filipino7.7%16.7%+9.0pp
Hispanic/Latino14.4%23.6%+9.2pp
American Indian/Alaska Native6.7%——
Two or More Races14.9%18.6%+3.7pp
White12.3%17.4%+5.1pp
Students with Disabilities20.2%32.9%+12.7pp
English Learners22.4%26.1%+3.7pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged14.7%24.6%+9.9pp
All Students13.3%21.1%+7.8pp
Homeless—35.9%—
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
202510375323.863.964.10
202411377393.873.934.06
202312187393.964.044.11
202210864303.903.974.10
202112475403.894.004.10
202010770363.864.044.08
20198744203.793.994.10
20189348223.814.054.18
20179148223.753.954.04
20169362343.733.913.99
20159457253.844.014.03
20149854273.773.993.99

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley202554105
Berkeley202454115
Berkeley202365115
Berkeley20225773
Berkeley20215595
Davis202566234
Davis202474225
Davis202370279
Davis202263124
Davis2021712710
Irvine2025477‹3
Irvine2024609‹3
Irvine20236013‹3
Irvine202260103
Irvine2021608‹3
Los Angeles20256697
Los Angeles20246876
Los Angeles20237576
Los Angeles2022693‹3
Los Angeles20218755
Merced20251211‹3
Merced20242018‹3
Merced20231716‹3
Merced20222120‹3
Merced20212118‹3
Riverside20252625‹3
Riverside20242316‹3
Riverside20231714‹3
Riverside20221710‹3
Riverside20212416‹3
San Diego20256117‹3
San Diego202459145
San Diego202354143
San Diego202265164
San Diego20217315‹3
Santa Barbara202574227
Santa Barbara202471143
Santa Barbara202393237
Santa Barbara202261147
Santa Barbara202187115
Santa Cruz202567486
Santa Cruz2024715012
Santa Cruz202370448
Santa Cruz202272246
Santa Cruz2021704310
Universitywide20251037532
Universitywide20241137739
Universitywide20231218739
Universitywide20221086430
Universitywide20211247540

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
3-D Art and Designthis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
European Historythis school
Human Geographythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count18
AP enrollment502
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections4
Physics sections29
Chemistry sections26
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,433

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California3610.7%
California State University5917.6%
California community college9528.3%
In-state private154.5%
Out-of-state, 4-year4814.3%
Out-of-state, 2-year30.9%
Not enrolled8023.8%

336 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 76% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/novato-high-2272"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Novato High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Novato High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.