ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Ark Independent Studies

Santa Cruz, CA · Grades 6-12 · 56 students · Santa Cruz City High

The scores are below where anyone wants them. Here's what they don't tell you.

53% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 13% in math. 88.6% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

Math

13%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

53%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

56

Total enrollment

Graduation

88.6%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2022: 12%2023: 35%2024: 20%2025: 13%2022: 74%2023: 70%2024: 56%2025: 53%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2022: 12%2023: 35%2024: 20%2025: 13%2022: 74%2023: 70%2024: 56%2025: 53%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
2019——
202212%74%
202335%70%
202420%56%
202513%53%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2022 to 2025

Slipped from the 25th to the 16th percentile since 2022.

Most rating sites would stop at “33% proficient” and call it done. Ark Independent Studies deserves a closer read. Two in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Test scores are one lens, and at this school they're a rough one right now. The sections below show the fuller picture — including the parts that are working.

15 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Ark Independent Studies scores 41 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 16th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2022 · 25th percentile · Scope Score 44 of 1002023 · 35th percentile · Scope Score 48 of 1002024 · 14th percentile · Scope Score 39 of 1002025 · 16th percentile · Scope Score 41 of 100
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade2022202320242025
Grade 1174%70%56%53%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade2022202320242025
Grade 1112%35%20%13%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in three of students here meet the standard. One in ten clear it by a lot.

ELA53% met or exceeded
Exceeded 27%Met 27%Nearly Met 27%Not Met 20%
Math13% met or exceeded
Exceeded 7%Met 7%Nearly Met 40%Not Met 47%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2022–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school4117%33%88.6%0.0%32.0%2.3%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope4154
% Exceeded17%20%
% Met+33%43%
Grad rate88.6%92.5%
College readiness0.0%43.0%
Absence32.0%23.1%
Suspension2.3%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

55%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 16 of 29 completers · includes community colleges

29Completers
14%
Other colleges4 completers · Outside the California community college system
41%
California community colleges12 completers · Enrolled within a year
45%
Not recorded enrolled13 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Where the class of 2023 went
55%enrolled in college within a year
  • California State University1 (3%)
  • California community college12 (41%)
  • In-state private1 (3%)
  • Out-of-state, 4-year1 (3%)
  • Out-of-state, 2-year1 (3%)
  • Not enrolled13 (45%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic

See the full roll →

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 28 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Students per teacher28 · district 21
Teaching staff4 teachers
Avg. experience14.0 years
Fully credentialed17%
First-year teachers25%
PrincipalCynthia Parris
Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended less, than the state average.

32.0% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — the data can't say why.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 32.0%, district 23.9%, state 23.1%32.0% · +8.9pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 2.3%, district —, state 3.3%2.3% · −0.9pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1232.3%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent

It spends $21,443 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$133 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $21,443, CA average $14,491$21,443 · spent at this school
Federal share$133 per student
This schoolCalifornia

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Two in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 56 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 26% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino50.0% · district 40.8% · CA 56.1%
White44.6% · district 47.1% · CA 19.9%
Other5.4% · district 9.4% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch41.1% · CA 64%
Median income$112K · CA $85K
Median home value$1.08M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+50% · CA 35%
ZIP population35,607
Median age43 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Ark Independent StudiesPublicNeeds Support17%33%School being viewed
Santa Cruz HighPublicStrong37%60%1.2 mi
Harbor HighPublicDeveloping20%43%1.2 mi
Costanoa Continuation Highcontinuation comparison groupPublicDeveloping0%2%School being viewed
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Santa Cruz →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

2 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Santa Cruz City High.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: proximity. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what changed in the last two years, and what the school is asking families for. Growth shows up in these numbers a year or two after it shows up in classrooms.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Ark Independent Studies a good high school?
Ark Independent Studies has a Scope Score of 41 out of 100, placing it in the 16th percentile of California high schools and ranked #1,389 statewide. 16.7% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 3.2 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Ark Independent Studies's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 33.3% of students at Ark Independent Studies met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 16.7% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 16.7% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 16.7% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 30 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Ark Independent Studies rank in California?
Ark Independent Studies ranks #1,389 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 16th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Ark Independent Studies?
32.0% of students at Ark Independent Studies are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 2.3%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Ark Independent Studies compare to other schools in Santa Cruz?
Ark Independent Studies scores 41/100 (16th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 56 students. Use the schools in Santa Cruz page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 6 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate88.6%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard16.7%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded33.3%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism32.0%23.1%5%
Suspension rate2.3%3.3%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Ark Independent Studies: reading the evidence

Ark Independent Studies posts low test scores — and test scores are one lens among several. If this is your zoned school, the numbers below are where to start a conversation, not where to end one.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Ark Independent Studies is ranked #1,389 statewide · #4 of 5 in Santa Cruz City High.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate88.6%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard16.7%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded33.3%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism32.0%23.1%5%
Suspension rate2.3%3.3%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 52 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 51 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 31 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 48 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 49 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 5.5pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 56 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.3pp lower vs 2024
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 40——————
Grade 111527%27%27%20%53%+5
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 40——————
Grade 11157%7%40%47%13%−10

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide195%21%74%0%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Ark Independent Studies ←—4116.7%33.3%2.3%
Santa Cruz High1.2 mi7237.5%59.8%1.5%
Harbor High1.2 mi4819.9%42.7%2.7%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
Costanoa Continuation Highscored within its class, not statewide0 mi210.0%2.2%3.0%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
88.6%
AP Exam Prepared
Not offered
This school may not offer AP courses
A-G Completion
16.1%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
55.2%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20224425#119318.7%42.7%45.1%1.9%
20234835#106622.5%52.6%30.7%2.1%
20243914#14116.3%38.1%26.5%2.7%
20254116#138916.7%33.3%32.0%2.3%
What we can't show
  • — No subgroup comparison could be shown for this school this year — either its group sizes fall under CDE's 15-student reporting floor, or district/state comparison data wasn't available for its groups.
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female50.0%26.4%-23.6pp
Male59.3%40.0%-19.3pp
Hispanic/Latino71.8%35.6%-36.2pp
White35.1%24.4%-10.7pp
Students with Disabilities66.7%46.2%-20.5pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged65.0%38.2%-26.8pp
All Students53.2%32.3%-20.9pp
English Learners—64.3%—
06Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 06 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot offered
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 1 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections1
Physics sections1
Chemistry sections1
Total enrollment (CRDC)76

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

07College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 07 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California00.0%
California State University13.5%
California community college1241.4%
In-state private13.5%
Out-of-state, 4-year13.5%
Out-of-state, 2-year13.5%
Not enrolled1344.8%

29 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 55% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/ark-independent-studies-0096"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Ark Independent Studies — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Ark Independent Studies

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.