ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Ukiah Independent Study Academy

Ukiah, CA · Grades K-12 · 118 students · Ukiah Unified

The scores are below where anyone wants them. Here's what they don't tell you.

29% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 0% in math. 94.7% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

Contact

Math

0%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

29%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

118

Total enrollment

Graduation

94.7%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 14%2022: 0%2023: 4%2024: 9%2025: 0%2019: 54%2022: 19%2023: 58%2024: 44%2025: 29%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 14%2022: 0%2023: 4%2024: 9%2025: 0%2019: 54%2022: 19%2023: 58%2024: 44%2025: 29%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201914%54%
20220%19%
20234%58%
20249%44%
20250%29%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Slipped from the 16th to the 7th percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “15% proficient” and call it done. Ukiah Independent Study Academy deserves a closer read. Two-thirds of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Test scores are one lens, and at this school they're a rough one right now. The sections below show the fuller picture — including the parts that are working.

47 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Ukiah Independent Study Academy scores 35 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 7th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 15% meet the standard today, versus 34% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 16th percentile · Scope Score 42 of 1002022 · 7th percentile · Scope Score 34 of 1002023 · 25th percentile · Scope Score 44 of 1002024 · 12th percentile · Scope Score 38 of 1002025 · 7th percentile · Scope Score 35 of 100
ELAOrange(Declined Significantly)MathRed(Declined Significantly)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 8—25%45%——
Grade 1154%19%58%44%29%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1114%0%4%9%0%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in ten of students here meet the standard. 0% clear it by a lot.

ELA28% met or exceeded
Exceeded 4%Met 23%Nearly Met 45%Not Met 28%
Math6% met or exceeded
Exceeded 0%Met 6%Nearly Met 21%Not Met 72%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school350%15%94.7%0.0%30.5%1.4%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope3554
% Exceeded0%20%
% Met+15%43%
Grad rate94.7%92.5%
College readiness0.0%43.0%
Absence30.5%23.1%
Suspension1.4%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

How every group of students does here

At Ukiah Independent Study Academy in Ukiah, 29.4% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 28.4% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Ukiah Independent Study Academy outperforms its district average for low-income students by 1.0 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (0.0% Math proficient). Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 17 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 15% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 15%, district —, state 43%15%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 15%, district 23%, state 32%15% · +0 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 19%, district 29%, state 44%19% · +4 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 18%, district 39%, state 56%18% · +3 vs school

7 of 11 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

34%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 14 of 41 completers · includes community colleges

41Completers
12%
Other colleges5 completers · Outside the California community college system
22%
California community colleges9 completers · Enrolled within a year
66%
Not recorded enrolled27 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Where the class of 2023 went
34%enrolled in college within a year
  • University of California2 (5%)
  • California State University1 (2%)
  • California community college9 (22%)
  • Out-of-state, 4-year1 (2%)
  • Out-of-state, 2-year1 (2%)
  • Not enrolled27 (66%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic

See the full roll →

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 20 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Students per teacher20 · district 21
Teaching staff7 teachers
Avg. experience21.1 years
Fully credentialed42%
PrincipalKris Swett
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$59,318 – $114,807
Principal salary$136,841 – $155,579
Superintendent salary$251,911

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
CTE pathway completers1 students
Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Grades 9–12 students miss school at roughly three times the rate of Grades 7–8 students (34.6% vs 12.5%). Chronic absence here concentrates in the upper grades.

30.5% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — the data can't say why.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 30.5%, district 22.7%, state 23.1%30.5% · +7.4pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 1.4%, district —, state 3.3%1.4% · −1.8pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 4–618.2%
Grades 7–812.5%
Grades 9–1234.6%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $21,608 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$27 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $21,608, CA average $14,491$21,608 · spent at this school
Federal share$27 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$20,300 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 61%Instruction support 11%Student services 10%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$14,850 per pupil
2019$13,146 per pupil
2018$13,764 per pupil
2017$11,665 per pupil
2016$11,318 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Two-thirds of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 118 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 20% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino44.9% · district 56.8% · CA 56.1%
White43.2% · district 31.5% · CA 19.9%
Black0.8% · district 0.5% · CA 4.8%
Other11.0% · district 10.3% · CA 9.0%
GenderFemale 63.6% · Male 36.4%
Free or reduced lunch73.7% · CA 64%
Median income$70K · CA $85K
Median home value$491K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+21% · CA 35%
ZIP population33,164
Median age40 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Ukiah Independent Study AcademyPublicNeeds Support0%15%School being viewed
Redwood Collegiate AcademyCharterSolid29%54%1.0 mi
Ukiah HighPublicDeveloping13%33%1.2 mi
South Valley High (Continuation)continuation comparison groupPublicNeeds Support0%2%1.4 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Ukiah →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

3 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Ukiah Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: proximity. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what changed in the last two years, and what the school is asking families for. Growth shows up in these numbers a year or two after it shows up in classrooms.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Ukiah Independent Study Academy a good high school?
Ukiah Independent Study Academy has a Scope Score of 35 out of 100, placing it in the 7th percentile of California high schools and ranked #1,535 statewide. 0.0% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 19.8 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Ukiah Independent Study Academy's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 14.6% of students at Ukiah Independent Study Academy met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 0.0% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 14.6% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 0.0% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 48 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Ukiah Independent Study Academy rank in California?
Ukiah Independent Study Academy ranks #1,535 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 7th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Ukiah Independent Study Academy?
30.5% of students at Ukiah Independent Study Academy are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 1.4%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Ukiah Independent Study Academy compare to other schools in Ukiah?
Ukiah Independent Study Academy scores 35/100 (7th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 118 students. Use the schools in Ukiah page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Ukiah Independent Study Academy serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Ukiah Independent Study Academy in Ukiah, 29.4% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 28.4% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Ukiah Independent Study Academy outperforms its district average for low-income students by 1.0 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (0.0% Math proficient). Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 17 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 6 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate94.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard0.0%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded14.6%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism30.5%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.4%3.3%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Ukiah Independent Study Academy: reading the evidence

Ukiah Independent Study Academy posts low test scores — and suspensions run below the state rate (1.4% vs 3.3%). If this is your zoned school, the numbers below are where to start a conversation, not where to end one.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Ukiah Independent Study Academy is ranked #1,535 statewide · #3 of 4 in Ukiah Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate94.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard0.0%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded14.6%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism30.5%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.4%3.3%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 59 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 34 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 31 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 35 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 50 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.9pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 60 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 0.1pp higher vs 2024
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 3———————
Grade 44——————
Grade 5———————
Grade 6———————
Grade 75——————
Grade 88——————
Grade 11240%29%46%25%29%−19
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 3———————
Grade 44——————
Grade 5———————
Grade 6———————
Grade 75——————
Grade 88——————
Grade 11240%0%17%83%0%−24

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide250%20%68%12%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged1729.4%+1−9
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Ukiah Independent Study Academy ←—350.0%14.6%1.4%
Redwood Collegiate Academy1 mi6129.2%54.2%3.7%
Ukiah High1.2 mi4913.3%32.5%6.3%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
South Valley High (Continuation)scored within its class, not statewide1.4 mi180.0%2.2%6.2%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
94.7%
AP Exam Prepared
Not offered
This school may not offer AP courses
A-G Completion
13.9%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
34.1%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20194216#126710.0%34.3%25.4%2.5%
2022347#14871.4%9.7%39.2%1.2%
20234425#122614.5%31.2%28.4%1.8%
20243812#14402.9%26.5%31.4%1.3%
2025357#15350.0%14.6%30.5%1.4%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
What we can't show
  • — Scored here as a high school — other grade spans appear in the data appendix.
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female30.4%30.9%+0.5pp
Male17.6%27.6%+10.0pp
Hispanic/Latino37.1%25.0%-12.1pp
Two or More Races40.0%——
White18.6%32.0%+13.4pp
Students with Disabilities46.2%23.1%-23.1pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged27.8%29.5%+1.7pp
All Students25.0%29.8%+4.8pp
American Indian/Alaska Native—45.5%—
English Learners—18.2%—
06Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 06 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot offered
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8offered · 1 enrolled
Calculus sections0
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections5
Total enrollment (CRDC)137

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

07College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 07 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California24.9%
California State University12.4%
California community college921.9%
In-state private00.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year12.4%
Out-of-state, 2-year12.4%
Not enrolled2765.9%

41 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 34% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/ukiah-independent-study-academy-8280"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Ukiah Independent Study Academy — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Ukiah Independent Study Academy

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.