ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Phineas Banning Senior High

Wilmington, CA · Grades 9-12 · 2,422 students · Los Angeles Unified

No single number tells this school's story. Here's the honest picture.

51% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 25% in math. 90.6% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

Contact

Math

25%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

51%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

2,422

Total enrollment

Graduation

90.6%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 26%2022: 12%2023: 17%2024: 17%2025: 25%2019: 59%2022: 37%2023: 42%2024: 49%2025: 51%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 26%2022: 12%2023: 17%2024: 17%2025: 25%2019: 59%2022: 37%2023: 42%2024: 49%2025: 51%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201926%59%
202212%37%
202317%42%
202417%49%
202525%51%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has stayed near the 40th percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “38% proficient” and call it done. Phineas Banning deserves a closer read. Four in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Phineas Banning's low-income kids hit 51.3% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

480 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Phineas Banning Senior High scores 50 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 40th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 38% meet the standard today, versus 42% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 42nd percentile · Scope Score 52 of 1002022 · 29th percentile · Scope Score 45 of 1002023 · 31st percentile · Scope Score 47 of 1002024 · 39th percentile · Scope Score 49 of 1002025 · 40th percentile · Scope Score 50 of 100
ELAYellow(Increased)MathYellow(Increased)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1159%37%42%49%51%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1126%12%17%17%25%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in three of students here meet the standard. One in ten clear it by a lot.

ELA51% met or exceeded
Exceeded 22%Met 29%Nearly Met 23%Not Met 26%
Math25% met or exceeded
Exceeded 5%Met 19%Nearly Met 26%Not Met 50%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school5014%38%90.6%41.5%34.2%0.1%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope5054
% Exceeded14%20%
% Met+38%43%
Grad rate90.6%92.5%
College readiness41.5%43.0%
Absence34.2%23.1%
Suspension0.1%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

51.3% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 38% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 38%, district —, state 43%38%
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 38%, district 36%, state 32%38% · +0 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 38%, district 36%, state 32%38% · +0 vs school
MaleMale: this school 36%, district 41%, state 42%36% · −2 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 40%, district 42%, state 44%40% · +2 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 8%, district 14%, state 15%8% · −30 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 9%, district 9%, state 11%9% · −29 vs school

8 of 15 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic97.6% AP · 94.5% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.2% AP · 0.2% enroll.
Asian0.0% AP · 0.7% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.4% AP · 1.1% enroll.
Black0.7% AP · 2.0% enroll.
White0.7% AP · 1.1% enroll.
Two or more races0.4% AP · 0.4% enroll.
English learners4.4% AP · 7.3% enroll.
Students with disabilities2.0% AP · 14.0% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

51%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 250 of 490 completers · includes community colleges

490Completers
28%
Other colleges137 completers · Outside the California community college system
23%
California community colleges113 completers · Enrolled within a year
49%
Not recorded enrolled240 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

51%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Phineas Banning's class of 2023, 51% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 490 completers, 51% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 25 (5%)California State University 101 (21%)California community college 113 (23%)In-state private 6 (1%)Out-of-state, 4-year 2 (0%)Out-of-state, 2-year 3 (1%)Not enrolled 240 (49%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 29 of Phineas Banning's 575 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — San Diego the most common landing, with 6 enrollees.

Applied110fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted81
Enrolled29
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
San Diego 6Los Angeles 4Merced 4Riverside 4Santa Barbara 4Irvine 3Berkeley ‹3Davis ‹3Santa Cruz ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 31 enrolled, 2022

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 51% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (113) than at UC (25).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 18 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Phineas Banning's teachers are authorized to teach 21 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics 1.

Students per teacher18 · district 20
Teaching staff137 teachers
Avg. experience13.8 years
Fully credentialed83%
First-year teachers9%
Intern / emergency permit3.0%
PrincipalAdela Retana
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$60,420 – $122,706
Principal salary$154,576 – $170,030
Superintendent salary$440,000

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers162 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers131 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught21
ShowHide the 21 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (4)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Precalculus · Statistics
Sciences (4)Biology · Chemistry · Environmental Science · Physics 1
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (6)European History · Human Geography · Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (2)Spanish Language and Culture · Spanish Literature and Culture
Arts (3)2-D Art and Design · 3-D Art and Design · Drawing

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended less, than the state average.

34.2% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — worth asking about on a tour.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 34.2%, district 22.8%, state 23.1%34.2% · +11.2pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 0.1%, district —, state 3.3%0.1% · −3.1pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1234.3%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $22,346 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

$1,715 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $22,346, CA average $14,491$22,346 · spent at this school
Federal share$1,715 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$29,292 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 52%Instruction support 16%Student services 12%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$18,180 per pupil
2019$16,355 per pupil
2018$15,793 per pupil
2017$13,247 per pupil
2016$13,549 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Four in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 2,422 students, this school is well above the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 29% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino94.0% · district 73.2% · CA 56.1%
White1.9% · district 9.9% · CA 19.9%
Asian0.4% · district 3.4% · CA 10.2%
Black1.6% · district 7.2% · CA 4.8%
Other2.0% · district 6.3% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch91.5% · CA 64%
Median income$61K · CA $85K
Median home value$632K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+9% · CA 35%
ZIP population52,800
Median age34 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Phineas Banning Senior HighPublicDeveloping14%38%School being viewed
Dr. Richard A. Vladovic Harbor Teacher PreparationPublicStrong61%88%1.4 mi
Academies of Education and Empowerment at Carson HPublicSolid13%38%2.2 mi
Academy of Medical Arts at Carson HighPublicSolid18%53%2.2 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Wilmington →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

11 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Los Angeles Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Elementary · K–5

Cabrillo Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 55/100
Fifteenth Street ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 29/100
Leland Street ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 33/100
South Shores/CSUDH Visual and Performing ArtsPublished boundary overlapScope Score 44/100
White Point ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 56/100
Hawaiian Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 32/100
Park Western Place ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 67/100
Barton Hill ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 22/100
Taper Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 58/100
Bandini Street ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 45/100
Crestwood Street STEAM MagnetAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 37/100
Seventh Street Elementary Arts Integration MagnetAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 55/100
Wilmington Park ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 37/100
Point Fermin ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 68/100
George De La Torre Jr. ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 38/100
Harry Bridges SpanAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 35/100

Middle · 6–8

High school · 9–12

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Phineas Banning Senior High a good high school?
Phineas Banning Senior High has a Scope Score of 50 out of 100, placing it in the 40th percentile of California high schools and ranked #983 statewide. 13.8% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 6.0 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Phineas Banning Senior High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 37.9% of students at Phineas Banning Senior High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 13.8% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 24.0% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 13.8% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 961 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Phineas Banning Senior High rank in California?
Phineas Banning Senior High ranks #983 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 40th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Phineas Banning Senior High?
34.2% of students at Phineas Banning Senior High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 0.1%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Phineas Banning Senior High compare to other schools in Wilmington?
Phineas Banning Senior High scores 50/100 (40th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 2,422 students. Use the schools in Wilmington page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Phineas Banning Senior High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Phineas Banning Senior High in Wilmington, 51.3% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 40.9% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Phineas Banning Senior High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 10.3 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (24.7% Math proficient); Hispanic students (51.0% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 41.2 percentage points for disabilities students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 437 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Phineas Banning Senior High?
Phineas Banning Senior High's teachers are authorized to teach 21 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, 3-D Art and Design, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, European History, Human Geography, Physics 1, Precalculus, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Spanish Literature and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Phineas Banning Senior High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 29 Phineas Banning Senior High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate90.6%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard13.8%19.8%22%
College readiness41.5%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded37.9%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism34.2%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.1%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)15.1%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Phineas Banning Senior High: reading the evidence

Phineas Banning posts 38% meeting the standard and 13.8% exceeding it, against 43% and 19.8% statewide. The gaps and the bright spots below are the real read.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Phineas Banning Senior High is ranked #983 statewide · #141 of 196 in Los Angeles Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate90.6%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard13.8%19.8%22%
College readiness41.5%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded37.9%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism34.2%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.1%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)15.1%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 54 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 48 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 54 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 51 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 47 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 1.2pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 66 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · → no change vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 48 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1148022%29%23%26%51%+2
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 114815%19%26%50%25%+1

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide5203%25%65%7%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged43751.3%+10+13
Hispanic/Latino44751.0%+10+12
Students with Disabilities619.8%−6−7
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Phineas Banning Senior High ←—5013.8%37.9%0.1%
Dr. Richard A. Vladovic Harbor Teacher Preparation1.4 mi9461.1%88.4%0.4%
Academies of Education and Empowerment at Carson H2.2 mi6112.9%37.5%0.8%
Academy of Medical Arts at Carson High2.2 mi6117.9%52.8%0.4%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
90.6%
AP Exam Prepared
41.5%
A-G Completion
67.5%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
51.0%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20195242#87914.1%42.4%24.8%0.2%
20224529#11397.4%24.9%41.0%0.1%
20234731#11308.7%29.4%43.2%0.1%
20244939#100111.6%33.0%33.1%0.1%
20255040#98313.8%37.9%34.2%0.1%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female25.4%36.1%+10.7pp
Male24.2%32.7%+8.5pp
Black/African American40.4%52.3%+11.9pp
Filipino25.0%26.3%+1.3pp
Hispanic/Latino24.1%33.8%+9.7pp
Pacific Islander52.4%50.0%-2.4pp
Two or More Races45.5%——
White31.4%35.4%+4.0pp
Students with Disabilities37.8%38.1%+0.3pp
English Learners30.0%52.6%+22.6pp
Foster Youth50.0%33.3%-16.7pp
Homeless38.0%50.8%+12.8pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged25.7%35.5%+9.8pp
All Students24.8%34.3%+9.5pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
202511081293.713.863.96
202412688263.733.843.99
20239872273.843.994.12
202212480313.834.054.09
20219348173.603.944.16
20207944123.613.853.98
20196444183.783.964.04
2018773493.583.863.97
20175025123.583.873.92
20166435203.603.773.80
20158945273.663.893.96
20146839233.683.943.91

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley2025484‹3
Berkeley202441‹3‹3
Berkeley20234553
Berkeley20225074
Berkeley2021325‹3
Davis2025307‹3
Davis20244011‹3
Davis20232813‹3
Davis20224221‹3
Davis202125103
Irvine202585123
Irvine2024101144
Irvine202381254
Irvine202293308
Irvine2021685‹3
Los Angeles20257754
Los Angeles20249354
Los Angeles20236365
Los Angeles20229897
Los Angeles20216984
Merced202533304
Merced20241818‹3
Merced20232121‹3
Merced20221716‹3
Merced20211310‹3
Riverside202546404
Riverside202454415
Riverside20233120‹3
Riverside20224528‹3
Riverside20213615‹3
San Diego202564226
San Diego2024863410
San Diego202365304
San Diego202251327
San Diego20213812‹3
Santa Barbara202551214
Santa Barbara20245719‹3
Santa Barbara202344226
Santa Barbara20224717‹3
Santa Barbara20213715‹3
Santa Cruz20253523‹3
Santa Cruz20243624‹3
Santa Cruz20231610‹3
Santa Cruz202235173
Santa Cruz2021227‹3
Universitywide20251108129
Universitywide20241268826
Universitywide2023987227
Universitywide20221248031
Universitywide2021934817

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
3-D Art and Designthis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
European Historythis school
Human Geographythis school
Physics 1this school
Precalculusthis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Spanish Literature and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count13
AP enrollment455
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections2
Physics sections8
Chemistry sections20
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,490

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California255.1%
California State University10120.6%
California community college11323.1%
In-state private61.2%
Out-of-state, 4-year20.4%
Out-of-state, 2-year30.6%
Not enrolled24049.0%

490 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 51% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/phineas-banning-senior-high-0650"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Phineas Banning Senior High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Phineas Banning Senior High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.