ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Fairfax Senior High

Los Angeles, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,495 students · Los Angeles Unified

No single number tells this school's story. Here's the honest picture.

54% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 23% in math. 91.7% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

Math

23%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

54%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,495

Total enrollment

Graduation

91.7%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 38%2022: 15%2023: 25%2024: 23%2025: 23%2019: 71%2022: 31%2023: 58%2024: 56%2025: 54%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 38%2022: 15%2023: 25%2024: 23%2025: 23%2019: 71%2022: 31%2023: 58%2024: 56%2025: 54%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201938%71%
202215%31%
202325%58%
202423%56%
202523%54%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Slipped from the 73rd to the 57th percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “39% proficient” and call it done. Fairfax deserves a closer read. Four in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Fairfax's low-income kids hit 53.8% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

338 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Fairfax Senior High scores 55 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 57th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 39% meet the standard today, versus 55% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 73rd percentile · Scope Score 63 of 1002022 · 45th percentile · Scope Score 50 of 1002023 · 67th percentile · Scope Score 58 of 1002024 · 62nd percentile · Scope Score 57 of 1002025 · 57th percentile · Scope Score 55 of 100
ELAYellow(Declined)MathOrange(Maintained)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1171%31%58%56%54%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1138%15%25%23%23%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in three of students here meet the standard. One in ten clear it by a lot.

ELA54% met or exceeded
Exceeded 25%Met 29%Nearly Met 25%Not Met 21%
Math23% met or exceeded
Exceeded 10%Met 14%Nearly Met 25%Not Met 51%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school5517%39%91.7%65.3%35.9%0.9%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope5554
% Exceeded17%20%
% Met+39%43%
Grad rate91.7%92.5%
College readiness65.3%43.0%
Absence35.9%23.1%
Suspension0.9%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

53.8% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 39% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 39%, district —, state 43%39%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 39%, district 36%, state 32%39% · +0 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 33%, district 36%, state 32%33% · −6 vs school
MaleMale: this school 37%, district 41%, state 42%37% · −1 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 40%, district 42%, state 44%40% · +2 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: this school 32%, district 30%, state 26%32% · −6 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 13%, district 14%, state 15%13% · −26 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 73%, district 78%, state 72%73% · +34 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 40%, district 65%, state 56%40% · +1 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 11%, district 9%, state 11%11% · −28 vs school
FilipinoFilipino: too few students to report‹11
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: too few students to report‹11
HomelessHomeless: too few students to report‹11
Foster YouthFoster Youth: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic46.6% AP · 59.3% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.4% AP · 0.2% enroll.
Asian37.7% AP · 18.4% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.1% enroll.
Black6.8% AP · 14.5% enroll.
White8.1% AP · 6.8% enroll.
Two or more races0.4% AP · 0.8% enroll.
English learners0.7% AP · 6.7% enroll.
Students with disabilities1.3% AP · 10.4% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

72%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 253 of 353 completers · includes community colleges

353Completers
35%
Other colleges122 completers · Outside the California community college system
37%
California community colleges131 completers · Enrolled within a year
28%
Not recorded enrolled100 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

72%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Fairfax's class of 2023, 72% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 353 completers, 72% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 47 (13%)California State University 60 (17%)California community college 131 (37%)In-state private 6 (2%)Out-of-state, 4-year 9 (3%)Out-of-state, 2-year 0 (0%)Not enrolled 100 (28%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 38 of Fairfax's 354 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Los Angeles the most common landing, with 10 enrollees.

Applied109fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted85
Enrolled38
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Los Angeles 10Berkeley 7San Diego 7Riverside 6Davis 4Irvine ‹3Merced ‹3Santa Barbara ‹3Santa Cruz ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 53 enrolled, 2023

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 72% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (131) than at UC (47).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 18 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Fairfax's teachers are authorized to teach 23 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics 1.

Students per teacher18 · district 20
Teaching staff85 teachers
Avg. experience15.5 years
Fully credentialed83%
First-year teachers4%
Intern / emergency permit1.2%
PrincipalLeonard Choi
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$60,420 – $122,706
Principal salary$154,576 – $170,030
Superintendent salary$440,000

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers124 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers33 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught23
ShowHide the 23 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (6)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science A · Computer Science Principles · Precalculus · Statistics
Sciences (3)Biology · Chemistry · Physics 1
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (7)African American Studies · Human Geography · Macroeconomics · Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (2)Spanish Language and Culture · Spanish Literature and Culture
Arts (2)2-D Art and Design · Drawing
AP Capstone (1)Seminar
IBDiploma Programme (DP)

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended less, than the state average.

35.9% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — a school visit will tell you more than this number.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 35.9%, district 22.8%, state 23.1%35.9% · +12.9pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 0.9%, district —, state 3.3%0.9% · −2.3pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1236.1%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $23,837 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

$2,032 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $23,837, CA average $14,491$23,837 · spent at this school
Federal share$2,032 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$29,292 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 52%Instruction support 16%Student services 12%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$18,180 per pupil
2019$16,355 per pupil
2018$15,793 per pupil
2017$13,247 per pupil
2016$13,549 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Four in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 28% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino58.4% · district 73.2% · CA 56.1%
White11.0% · district 9.9% · CA 19.9%
Asian12.0% · district 3.4% · CA 10.2%
Black13.2% · district 7.2% · CA 4.8%
Other5.4% · district 6.3% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch87.4% · CA 64%
Median income$96K · CA $85K
Median home value$1.51M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+65% · CA 35%
ZIP population48,296
Median age40 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Fairfax Senior HighPublicSolid17%39%School being viewed
Hollywood Senior HighPublicStrong26%54%1.6 mi
Los Angeles Senior HighPublicDeveloping7%21%2.4 mi
Whitman Continuationcontinuation comparison groupPublicStrong7%25%0.3 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Los Angeles →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

20 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Los Angeles Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Elementary · K–5

Wilshire Park ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 52/100
Hancock Park ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 48/100
Wilshire Crest ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 35/100
Wilton Place ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 28/100
Gardner Street ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 47/100
Valley View ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 52/100
Wonderland Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 89/100
Third Street ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 89/100
Vine Street ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 40/100
West Hollywood ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 54/100
Rosewood Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 43/100
Queen Anne Place ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 52/100
Van Ness Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 34/100
Charles H. Kim ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 58/100
Hollywood ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 34/100
Melrose Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 67/100
Laurel ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 30/100

Middle · 6–8

High school · 9–12

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Fairfax Senior High a good high school?
Fairfax Senior High has a Scope Score of 55 out of 100, placing it in the 57th percentile of California high schools and ranked #716 statewide. 17.3% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 2.5 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Fairfax Senior High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 38.7% of students at Fairfax Senior High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 17.3% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 21.4% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 17.3% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 678 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Fairfax Senior High rank in California?
Fairfax Senior High ranks #716 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 57th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Fairfax Senior High?
35.9% of students at Fairfax Senior High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 0.9%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Fairfax Senior High compare to other schools in Los Angeles?
Fairfax Senior High scores 55/100 (57th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,495 students. Use the schools in Los Angeles page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Fairfax Senior High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Fairfax Senior High in Los Angeles, 53.8% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 40.9% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Fairfax Senior High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 12.9 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (23.8% Math proficient); Hispanic students (51.9% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 49.8 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 290 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Fairfax Senior High?
Fairfax Senior High's teachers are authorized to teach 23 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, African American Studies, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Computer Science A, Computer Science Principles, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Human Geography, Macroeconomics, Physics 1, Precalculus, Psychology, Seminar, Spanish Language and Culture, Spanish Literature and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Fairfax Senior High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 38 Fairfax Senior High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate91.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard17.3%19.8%22%
College readiness65.3%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded38.7%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism35.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.9%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)12.2%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Fairfax Senior High: reading the evidence

Fairfax posts 39% meeting the standard and 17.3% exceeding it, against 43% and 19.8% statewide. The gaps and the bright spots below are the real read.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Fairfax Senior High is ranked #716 statewide · #111 of 196 in Los Angeles Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate91.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard17.3%19.8%22%
College readiness65.3%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded38.7%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism35.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.9%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)12.2%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 55 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 51 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 68 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 52 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 45 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 6.0pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 62 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 0.4pp higher vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 44 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1133825%29%25%21%54%+6
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1134010%14%25%51%23%−1

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide3525%23%63%9%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged29053.8%+13+16
Hispanic/Latino21051.9%+11+13
Black/African American5542.6%+7+10
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Fairfax Senior High ←—5517.3%38.7%0.9%
Hollywood Senior High1.6 mi6426.4%54.4%0.7%
Los Angeles Senior High2.4 mi476.9%21.4%0.6%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
Whitman Continuationscored within its class, not statewide0.3 mi366.8%25.0%1.5%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
91.7%
AP Exam Prepared
65.3%
A-G Completion
53.1%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
71.7%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20196373#41223.3%54.5%23.6%0.3%
20225045#8748.6%23.2%39.0%0.6%
20235867#54417.4%41.4%34.4%0.3%
20245762#62015.8%39.6%29.9%0.6%
20255557#71617.3%38.7%35.9%0.9%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female22.6%36.9%+14.3pp
Male24.4%35.5%+11.1pp
Asian17.8%24.2%+6.4pp
Black/African American33.3%38.5%+5.2pp
Filipino14.5%22.9%+8.4pp
Hispanic/Latino21.9%36.9%+15.0pp
Two or More Races43.8%38.5%-5.3pp
White27.8%41.8%+14.0pp
Students with Disabilities38.6%40.0%+1.4pp
English Learners33.3%43.9%+10.6pp
Homeless56.7%68.6%+11.9pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged23.6%37.2%+13.6pp
All Students23.5%36.1%+12.6pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
202510985383.713.834.02
202414484383.603.884.01
2023154101533.733.924.11
202213594493.763.964.11
202115898413.623.863.94
20209967303.613.783.86
201911167333.673.873.91
201817187503.583.853.95
201711877423.623.813.89
201614786533.523.773.86
201513964383.463.853.91
201412063403.583.863.93

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley202558107
Berkeley202479124
Berkeley2023882713
Berkeley202279159
Berkeley202174186
Davis202548234
Davis202442123
Davis20236121‹3
Davis20225523‹3
Davis202157223
Irvine20257717‹3
Irvine20249916‹3
Irvine202312115‹3
Irvine2022100218
Irvine202112515‹3
Los Angeles2025881410
Los Angeles2024119119
Los Angeles20231261412
Los Angeles2022108117
Los Angeles20211351511
Merced20253429‹3
Merced20241612‹3
Merced20232822‹3
Merced20223532‹3
Merced202136295
Riverside202572566
Riverside202453355
Riverside202365316
Riverside202267375
Riverside202186529
San Diego202569277
San Diego202495288
San Diego20231035015
San Diego2022865616
San Diego20219129‹3
Santa Barbara20255716‹3
Santa Barbara202469184
Santa Barbara20236120‹3
Santa Barbara20227829‹3
Santa Barbara202192233
Santa Cruz20253224‹3
Santa Cruz202446213
Santa Cruz202344233
Santa Cruz20223620‹3
Santa Cruz20213919‹3
Universitywide20251098538
Universitywide20241448438
Universitywide202315410153
Universitywide20221359449
Universitywide20211589841

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
African American Studiesthis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Computer Science Athis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Human Geographythis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Physics 1this school
Precalculusthis school
Psychologythis school
Seminarthis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Spanish Literature and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count21
AP enrollment541
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 25 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections3
Physics sections6
Chemistry sections13
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,847

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California4713.3%
California State University6017.0%
California community college13137.1%
In-state private61.7%
Out-of-state, 4-year92.5%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled10028.3%

353 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 72% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/fairfax-senior-high-2920"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Fairfax Senior High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · IB World Schools directory (name-matched, 0.90 gate) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Fairfax Senior High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.