Public school · Lodi Unified

Elkhorn

Stockton · 4–8 · 263 students (2024–25)

99thpercentileStrong

The dots are California’s 2,177 scored public middle schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
97 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Well above California in English and math: 94% and 90% met or exceeded the standard in grades 6–8, against 49% and 36% statewide. Source
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grades 6–8: 197
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 6, 7 and 8 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 1,266,619 in English and 1,272,526 in math tested).

This rating covers grades 6–8. Elkhorn teaches 4–8: grades 4 and 5 results ↓

How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four middle schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Sign in to save this school

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How strong are the foundations for high school?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grades 6–8Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
54%
Met standard
40%
Below standard
6%

94% met or exceeded · 197 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaLodi Unified
Exceeded54%19%12%
Met40%30%29%
Nearly met6%23%27%
Not met0%28%32%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 6–8Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
67%
Met standard
23%
Below standard
10%

90% met or exceeded · 197 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaLodi Unified
Exceeded67%20%16%
Met23%16%14%
Nearly met8%23%23%
Not met2%41%47%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

English

grades 4 and 5Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
67%
Met standard
31%
Below standard
2%

98% met or exceeded · 60 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaLodi Unified
Exceeded67%24%16%
Met31%23%22%
Nearly met2%20%22%
Not met0%33%40%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 4 and 5Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
63%
Met standard
25%
Below standard
12%

88% met or exceeded · 60 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaLodi Unified
Exceeded63%20%14%
Met25%19%18%
Nearly met12%27%26%
Not met0%34%42%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Read English and math separately, then look at progress and the courses students can take.

Ask: How do students get support, choose courses, and prepare for the move to high school?

Things worth knowing

Open a finding for the evidence
54% in English and 67% in math reached the top of the state’s four levels, about three times California’s rate in the same grades (19% and 20%).grades 6–8 · spring 2025
54%English · exceeded the standard67%Math · exceeded the standard
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grades 6–8: 197
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 6, 7 and 8 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 1,266,619 in English and 1,272,526 in math tested).
21 of 265 students missed 10% or more of school days: about half the rate at the average Lodi Unified school.2024–25
8 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
Source
CDE chronic absenteeism file, 2024–25
Students
all students counted for chronic absence (CDE’s eligible enrollment): 265
Comparison
21 of 265. District and California figures are averages of school rates (6 Lodi Unified schools; 2,175 scored California middle schools), our calculation.
Low-income students here (107 tested, grades 4 and 6–8, spring 2025) met or exceeded the standard far more often than low-income students across California in the same grades (37% and 26%).grades 4 and 6–8 · spring 2025
93%English · met or exceeded84%Math · met or exceeded
Source
CDE CAASPP research file, spring 2025
Students
low-income students (CDE: “socioeconomically disadvantaged”) in grades 4 and 6–8: 107
Comparison
California: the same group in the same grades, CDE’s statewide rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation). Both gaps are more than twice the margin of error for 107 students.

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grades 6–8Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school94%
California49%

Tested: 197 here · 1,266,619 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school94%
Lodi Unified41%

Tested: 197 here · 6,728 in Lodi Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 34 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaLodi Unified
Exceeded54%19%12%
Met40%30%29%
Nearly met6%23%27%
Not met0%28%32%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 6–8Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school90%
California36%

Tested: 197 here · 1,272,526 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school90%
Lodi Unified30%

Tested: 197 here · 6,754 in Lodi Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 34 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaLodi Unified
Exceeded67%20%16%
Met23%16%14%
Nearly met8%23%23%
Not met2%41%47%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

English

grades 4 and 5Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school98%
California47%

Tested: 60 here · 826,162 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school98%
Lodi Unified38%

Tested: 60 here · 4,363 in Lodi Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 35 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaLodi Unified
Exceeded67%24%16%
Met31%23%22%
Nearly met2%20%22%
Not met0%33%40%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 4 and 5Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school88%
California39%

Tested: 60 here · 832,484 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school88%
Lodi Unified32%

Tested: 60 here · 4,369 in Lodi Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 35 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaLodi Unified
Exceeded63%20%14%
Met25%19%18%
Nearly met12%27%26%
Not met0%34%42%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

How are results changing through the middle years?

The state’s growth measure256 students · grades 4–8 · 2025
English+1ptsCDE level: Average (3 of 5)
Math+17ptsCDE level: Accelerated (4 of 5)

What the number means. California predicts each student’s score from that student’s own English and math scores the year before, based on how students with similar scores did across the state. Zero would mean students here scored as predicted. In English they scored 1 point above that prediction, and in math 17 points above it.

The levels. CDE sorts every school’s result into five levels, from Minimal to Exceptional. The bar under each number shows where this school landed.

Two years at once. For most schools, this one included, CDE’s figure blends the two most recent years of growth, so it moves more slowly than a single year’s scores.

School pattern, spring 2025High CeilingThe average Exceeded rate across the reported grades and subjects is at least 50%.
School pattern, spring 2025Solid BaseThe average Met + Exceeded rate across the reported grades and subjects is at least 65%.

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

8 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
15in 100 at the average Lodi Unified school18in 100 at the average California middle school

21 of 265 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school8 in 100
at the average Lodi Unified school15 in 100
at the average California middle school18 in 100
1.1%of students were suspended at least once (3 of 272), 2024–25
0.4%at the average Lodi Unified school3.5%at the average California middle school
Attendance by grade
Chronically absent, 2024–25Per 100 studentsStudents
Grades 4–644 of 91
Grades 7–81017 of 174

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grades 4–8 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

107 tested per subject · grades 4 and 6–8

English93% / 37%
Math84% / 26%

Asian

85 tested per subject · grades 5–8

English98% / 76%
Math92% / 70%

Hispanic or Latino

50 tested per subject · grades 4 and 7 and 8

English92% / 37%
Math84% / 25%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrades 4–8 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Lodi Unifiedvs California
Low-income · 107 tested · grades 4 and 6–8 only
English93%+6033%+5637%
Math84%+5925%+5826%
Asian · 85 tested · grades 5–8 only
English98%+5147%+2276%
Math92%+5636%+2270%
Hispanic or Latino · 50 tested · grades 4 and 7 and 8 only
English92%+6131%+5537%
Math84%+6123%+5925%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Lodi Unified, and across California. ■ Green: a group that is behind statewide does much better here, by 10 points or more and more than twice the margin of error.

Filipino and White students and students of two or more races: fewer than 30 tested here. No published rate here for Black or African American, American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander, homeless and military-family students, English learners, students with disabilities and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

Low-income and Hispanic or Latino students here did far better than the same groups statewide.

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Elkhorn in Stockton, 93.5% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grades 4, 6, 7 and 8, compared to 33.3% district-wide for those same grades and 36.9% statewide for those same grades. Elkhorn’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 60.2 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (84.1% met or exceeded the Math standard); Asian students (97.6% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 7.3 percentage points: Hispanic students in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 107 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. Asian: 35%2. Hispanic or Latino: 24%3. White: 14%4. Filipino: 11%5. Two or more races: 7%6. Black or African American: 7%Unallocated share: 2%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. Asian35%
  2. Hispanic or Latino24%
  3. White14%
  4. Filipino11%
  5. Two or more races7%
  6. Black or African American7%
  7. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  8. Pacific Islander—
  9. Not reported—
  10. Unallocated share2%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
Asian35%
Hispanic or Latino24%
White14%
Filipino11%
Two or more races7%
Black or African American7%
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—
Not reported—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

About 2 in 5 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (44%, 117 of 263). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers13
Average experience18 years
First-year teachers8%
91% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 90.97%: 10 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 11 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

The school path beyond this campus

Explore schools on the map ↗

Historical links and nearby options · confirm your child’s address and current assignment with the district.

  1. ElementaryJohn Muir ElementaryHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  2. MiddleElkhornThis campus · grades 4-8
  3. High schoolBear Creek HighHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
All recorded links and nearby alternatives

Elementary links

  • John Muir Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    61st percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

High-school links

  • Bear Creek High

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    26th percentile · Developing · high · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Middle College High

    Historical partial-area overlap · NCES SABS 2015–16

    99th percentile · Strong · high · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

Links do not guarantee placement. Charter, magnet, transfer and other admission routes can differ. Each school’s percentile compares its own level and peer class; the stages are not one ranking.

Getting in

Elkhorn runs through 8th grade, so there’s no middle-school move.

Ask Lodi Unified which school serves your address.

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
10505 North Davis Road, Stockton 95209

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. How do you support kids who arrive ahead, and kids who arrive behind?
  2. Which math courses can students take, and how are placements decided?
  3. How do students get academic help and connect with a trusted adult?
  4. Which electives and high-school transition supports are available?

Call (209) 953-8312 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar middle schools2025 statewide percentile
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 36.5–52.5% meal eligibility and 132–526 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is Elkhorn a good middle school?
Elkhorn is in the 99th percentile (Strong) of California’s regular public and charter middle schools. Its Scope Score is 97 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In spring 2025, on California's state tests (CAASPP), Elkhorn was well above California in English and math: 94% and 90% met or exceeded the standard in grades 6–8, against 49% and 36% statewide. The Scope Score combines 6 dimensions for middle schools: exceeded standard, met or exceeded the standard, grade 6-to-8 growth, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Elkhorn's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 94% of students tested in grades 6–8 met or exceeded the English standard and 90% the math standard; 54% and 67% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 49% and 36% met or exceeded, 19% and 20% exceeded. 197 students were tested in English and 197 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does Elkhorn rank in California?
Elkhorn is in the 99th percentile of 2,177 California comprehensive middle schools (Strong, 2025). Elkhorn ranks #1 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Elkhorn?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 7.9% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 21 chronically absent of 265 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 1.1%; 3 unduplicated suspended students of 272 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 8.7%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 1.3%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Elkhorn compare to other schools in Stockton?
Elkhorn is in the 99th percentile (Strong) of California’s regular public and charter middle schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 263 students. Use the schools in Stockton page or the map view to compare nearby middle schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Elkhorn?
At Elkhorn in Stockton, 93.5% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grades 4, 6, 7 and 8, compared to 33.3% district-wide for those same grades and 36.9% statewide for those same grades. Elkhorn’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 60.2 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (84.1% met or exceeded the Math standard); Asian students (97.6% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 7.3 percentage points: Hispanic students in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 107 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What high school does Elkhorn feed into?
By attendance boundary, Elkhorn is zoned to Bear Creek High. Bear Creek High has a Scope Score of 48 out of 100. Boundaries come from the U.S. Department of Education's School Attendance Boundary Survey, a 2015-16 collection and the most recent national one — they are approximate and may since have changed. A boundary is also not a placement guarantee: magnet, charter, open-enrollment and inter-district transfer options mean students from one school often continue to several different ones. Confirm your address with the district before making an enrollment or housing decision. Data source: NCES School Attendance Boundary Survey, analyzed by SchoolScope.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

Elkhorn is ranked #1 statewide · #1 of 6 in Lodi Unified.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Exceeded standard61.0%17.2%42%
Met or exceeded91.7%40.0%23%
Chronic absenteeism8.7%18.1%5%
Suspension rate1.3%3.6%5%
Grade gap (G6→G8, different students)+1.4pp+1.5ppnot scored
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 17.2% · index 99 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 40.0% · index 92 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 18.1% · index 64 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint · ▲ 1.6pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.6% · index 60 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint · ▲ 0.4pp higher vs 2024
Grade gap (G6→G8, different students)
↓ vs CA +1.5pp

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 43067%30%3%0%97%+52
Grade 53067%33%0%0%100%+52
Grade 63057%37%7%0%93%+47
Grade 78657%42%1%0%99%+51
Grade 88149%41%10%0%90%+44

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 4 ELA equal-school mean: 44.6%; n=5721 reporting schools

State grade 5 ELA equal-school mean: 47.7%; n=5721 reporting schools

State grade 6 ELA equal-school mean: 46.1%; n=4084 reporting schools

State grade 7 ELA equal-school mean: 47.6%; n=2631 reporting schools

State grade 8 ELA equal-school mean: 46.2%; n=2658 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 43053%33%13%0%87%+45
Grade 53073%17%10%0%90%+55
Grade 63070%17%13%0%87%+52
Grade 78665%23%8%3%88%+55
Grade 88168%25%6%1%93%+61

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 4 Math equal-school mean: 41.3%; n=5721 reporting schools

State grade 5 Math equal-school mean: 35.0%; n=5724 reporting schools

State grade 6 Math equal-school mean: 34.5%; n=4086 reporting schools

State grade 7 Math equal-school mean: 33.7%; n=2630 reporting schools

State grade 8 Math equal-school mean: 32.1%; n=2658 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 4 · ELA30100.0%
2024 · Grade 5 · ELA3090.0%
2024 · Grade 6 · ELA3093.3%
2024 · Grade 7 · ELA8795.4%
2024 · Grade 8 · ELA8998.9%
2024 · Grade 4 · Math30100.0%
2024 · Grade 5 · Math3086.7%
2024 · Grade 6 · Math3080.0%
2024 · Grade 7 · Math8792.0%
2024 · Grade 8 · Math8992.1%
2023 · Grade 4 · ELA3080.0%
2023 · Grade 5 · ELA3096.7%
2023 · Grade 6 · ELA30100.0%
2023 · Grade 7 · ELA9398.9%
2023 · Grade 8 · ELA8295.1%
2023 · Grade 4 · Math3080.0%
2023 · Grade 5 · Math3090.0%
2023 · Grade 6 · Math3096.7%
2023 · Grade 7 · Math9392.5%
2023 · Grade 8 · Math8286.6%
2022 · Grade 4 · ELA30100.0%
2022 · Grade 5 · ELA30100.0%
2022 · Grade 6 · ELA30100.0%
2022 · Grade 7 · ELA8698.8%
2022 · Grade 8 · ELA8796.5%
2022 · Grade 4 · Math3096.7%
2022 · Grade 5 · Math3093.3%
2022 · Grade 6 · Math3096.7%
2022 · Grade 7 · Math8695.3%
2022 · Grade 8 · Math8792.0%
2019 · Grade 4 · ELA3090.0%
2019 · Grade 5 · ELA30100.0%
2019 · Grade 6 · ELA30100.0%
2019 · Grade 7 · ELA9097.8%
2019 · Grade 8 · ELA7697.4%
2019 · Grade 4 · Math3096.7%
2019 · Grade 5 · Math3096.7%
2019 · Grade 6 · Math3093.3%
2019 · Grade 7 · Math9091.1%
2019 · Grade 8 · Math7694.7%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide11153%33%14%0%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged10793.5%+60+57
Asian8597.6%+51+22
Hispanic/Latino5092.0%+61+55
Nearest middle schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance · Grade gap = grade 6 vs grade 8, this year, different students; Cohort growth = school-level grade groups from different years, not matched children, in scale-score points — that's the measurement the Scope Score weights

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Grade gapCohort growthSusp
Elkhorn ←—9799th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202561.0%91.7%+1.4pp—1.3%
California average—39School average · no percentile17.2%40.0%+1.5pp—3.6%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders0.0%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$64,739 – $120,665
Average elementary principal salary$149,591
Average middle school principal salary$180,932
Average high school principal salary$184,788
Superintendent salary$313,635

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201995/10099#5California comprehensive middle schools · 1,953 schools
202296/10099#3California comprehensive middle schools · 2,113 schools
202395/10099#5California comprehensive middle schools · 2,125 schools
202497/10099#1California comprehensive middle schools · 2,152 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 6.2% → 2025 · 7.9% · +1.7pp
Suspension rate2024 · 0.7% → 2025 · 1.1% · +0.4pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA25756.8%95.3%
2025 · Math25766.2%89.5%
2024 · ELA26666.5%96.2%
2024 · Math26671.0%91.0%
2023 · ELA26560.4%95.5%
2023 · Math26566.8%89.4%
2022 · ELA26372.6%98.5%
2022 · Math26368.8%94.3%
2019 · ELA25667.2%97.3%
2019 · Math25676.6%93.8%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSuspGrade gap
2019———70.5%95.7%4.4%4.6%-0.6pp
2022———70.3%96.6%13.2%0.9%-4.1pp
2023———65.8%95.0%10.3%2.4%-7.5pp
2024———66.6%92.0%7.1%0.9%+8.8pp
20259799#161.0%91.7%8.7%1.3%+1.4pp

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

Grade gap = this year's grade 6 vs grade 8 result, two different sets of students, not a trend for any one child — it is not the measurement the Scope Score's growth dimension uses. See §01 above and /methodology#verdicts for the school's actual scored (cohort) growth.
NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female4.7%5.6%+0.9pp
Male3.0%9.5%+6.5pp
Asian1.0%6.4%+5.4pp
Filipino4.5%7.1%+2.6pp
Hispanic/Latino7.9%6.3%-1.6pp
White5.3%10.5%+5.2pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged3.4%9.3%+5.9pp
All Students3.8%7.9%+4.1pp
Black/African American—0.0%—
Two or More Races—21.1%—

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

California growth model, by student groupInspect CDE growth-model records and group sample sizes.2025 · scale-score points vs the state's prediction · shown, never scored
GroupELAnCDE bandMathnCDE band
All Students+1256Average+17256Accelerated
English Only+1178not categorised+17178not categorised
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged+3114Average+15114Accelerated
Asian+694Accelerated+2394Exceptional
Hispanic or Latino+958Accelerated+1658Accelerated
White−536Average+1836Accelerated
Filipino−1127Moderate+2527Exceptional
English Learner−120Average+1020Accelerated
Two or More Races−1019Moderate−219Average
Recently Reclassified Fluent-English Proficient Only−719not categorised+719not categorised
Black or African American+918Accelerated+818Accelerated

CDE reports scale-score points versus its growth-model prediction — not a percentage or percentile. The table keeps the group records SchoolScope imported for this school, including rows below our narrative display threshold. Muted rows have fewer than 30 students with a valid growth score. SchoolScope uses that threshold for the shorter narrative view; the reported values stay visible here. “Not categorised” means this imported CDE row has a growth value without a performance category. CDE labels at least one imported estimate here WEIGHTED; that describes its aggregation method, not a year-over-year trend. A group absent from this table has no imported record shown here. Its absence alone does not establish its size or performance. CDE growth covers grades 4–8. SchoolScope does not use these CDE figures in its Scope Score.

Growth source detailSeparate historical trends, cohort comparisons and matched growth.CDE matched-student model and school-grade cohort record · distinct measures
California growth model · reported-school field
State model · ELAmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

256 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,519 reported ELA ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, ELA: +1 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 48th percentile of 7,519 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.48th pctile · +1 pts
State model · mathmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

256 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,518 reported MATH ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, math: +17 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 88th percentile of 7,518 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.88th pctile · +17 pts
this school| center tick: 50th percentile in SchoolScope's retained-school field, calculated separately for ELA and Math

Source notes. CDE reports scale-score points versus its prediction for matched students, never a percentage. Among SchoolScope's retained California middle school records, the median ELA estimate is −1 and the middle half fall between −8 and +6 scale-score points — the spread is wide, so read its position among reported schools, not the sign. CDE's 2025 Dashboard weighted school estimate uses assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25; adjacent reporting editions should not be read as independent annual changes. The CDE measure covers grades 4–8 and is not part of the Scope Score.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$14,545 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 27,896 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

Central federal expenditures attributed here$1,629 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 263

District current expense · FY 2024–25$18,750 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 61%Instruction support 12%Student services 10%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 9%Other 1%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$14,545 per pupil
2020$12,593 per pupil
2019$12,898 per pupil
2018$11,165 per pupil
2017$10,723 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

09ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 95209
ShowHide table 09 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 95209
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$108,675
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)27.21%
ZCTA population47,409
Median age36.4 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/elkhorn-2063"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Elkhorn — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=2,177 middle schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction