ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

West Hills High

Santee, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,624 students · Grossmont Union High

An academic strength in the reported results. Look at who shares in it.

71% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 49% in math. 93.5% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

Patterns to investigate · 2025

On the Rise

Reading +17.0 pp · math +12.6 pp · 2023–2025 · same-grade averages

What has changed, and is the improvement reaching students with different starting points?

Findings can overlap. They describe reported results, not what caused them. Definitions and limits →

Contact

Math

49%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

71%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,624

Total enrollment

Graduation

93.5%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 43%2022: 40%2023: 37%2024: 38%2025: 49%2019: 61%2022: 69%2023: 54%2024: 61%2025: 71%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 43%2022: 40%2023: 37%2024: 38%2025: 49%2019: 61%2022: 69%2023: 54%2024: 61%2025: 71%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201943%61%
202240%69%
202337%54%
202438%61%
202549%71%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Climbed from the 76th to the 87th percentile since 2019 — past roughly 100 high schools.

Most rating sites would stop at “60% proficient” and call it done. West Hills deserves a closer read. Two in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

West Hills's low-income kids hit 62.0% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

323 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

West Hills High scores 69 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 87th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

The pandemic drop is behind this school: 60% of students meet the standard today, above the 52% who did in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 76th percentile · Scope Score 64 of 1002022 · 82nd percentile · Scope Score 66 of 1002023 · 72nd percentile · Scope Score 61 of 1002024 · 76th percentile · Scope Score 63 of 1002025 · 87th percentile · Scope Score 69 of 100
ELABlue(Increased Significantly)MathGreen(Increased Significantly)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1161%69%54%61%71%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1143%40%37%38%49%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Three in five of students here meet the standard. One in four clear it by a lot.

ELA71% met or exceeded
Exceeded 40%Met 31%Nearly Met 15%Not Met 14%
Math49% met or exceeded
Exceeded 22%Met 27%Nearly Met 20%Not Met 31%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school6931%60%93.5%75.0%18.8%2.5%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope6954
% Exceeded31%20%
% Met+60%43%
Grad rate93.5%92.5%
College readiness75.0%43.0%
Absence18.8%23.1%
Suspension2.5%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

62.0% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 60% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 60%, district —, state 43%60%
MaleMale: this school 59%, district 38%, state 42%59% · −1 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 62%, district 46%, state 56%62% · +2 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 61%, district 40%, state 44%61% · +1 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 53%, district 32%, state 32%53% · −7 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 48%, district 32%, state 32%48% · −12 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 7%, district 11%, state 15%7% · −53 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 72%, district 47%, state 56%72% · +12 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 86%, district 37%, state 72%86% · +26 vs school
Military-ConnectedMilitary-Connected: this school 60%, district 48%, state 46%60% · −0 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 24%, district 5%, state 11%24% · −36 vs school
FilipinoFilipino: too few students to report‹11
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: too few students to report‹11
Pacific IslanderPacific Islander: too few students to report‹11
Foster YouthFoster Youth: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic22.5% AP · 28.2% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native1.1% AP · 1.3% enroll.
Asian9.5% AP · 6.2% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.4% AP · 0.6% enroll.
Black1.1% AP · 2.3% enroll.
White58.6% AP · 56.1% enroll.
Two or more races6.8% AP · 5.4% enroll.
English learners0.4% AP · 2.5% enroll.
Students with disabilities2.0% AP · 14.2% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

75%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 251 of 335 completers · includes community colleges

335Completers
28%
Other colleges95 completers · Outside the California community college system
47%
California community colleges156 completers · Enrolled within a year
25%
Not recorded enrolled84 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

75%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of West Hills's class of 2023, 75% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 335 completers, 75% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 23 (7%)California State University 45 (13%)California community college 156 (47%)In-state private 3 (1%)Out-of-state, 4-year 24 (7%)Out-of-state, 2-year 0 (0%)Not enrolled 84 (25%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 25 of West Hills's 361 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — San Diego the most common landing, with 10 enrollees.

Applied65fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted44
Enrolled25
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)

6 of 9 campuses are masked below UC's privacy floor — a protection, not a verdict.

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 75% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (156) than at UC (23).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 24 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

West Hills's teachers are authorized to teach 17 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics C: Mechanics.

Students per teacher24 · district 23
Teaching staff87 teachers
Avg. experience19.1 years
Fully credentialed83%
First-year teachers2%
PrincipalJohn Hoadley
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$60,339 – $126,286
Principal salaryUp to $184,237
Superintendent salary$310,000

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers180 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers68 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught17
ShowHide the 17 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (3)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Statistics
Sciences (3)Biology · Chemistry · Physics C: Mechanics
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (4)Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (2)German Language and Culture · Spanish Language and Culture
Arts (3)2-D Art and Design · 3-D Art and Design · Drawing

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 18.8%, district 23.2%, state 23.1%18.8% · −4.3pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 2.5%, district —, state 3.3%2.5% · −0.8pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1218.2%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $18,967 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$569 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $18,967, CA average $14,491$18,967 · spent at this school
Federal share$569 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$21,618 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 59%Instruction support 12%Student services 11%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 1%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$15,094 per pupil
2019$14,426 per pupil
2018$14,539 per pupil
2017$10,759 per pupil
2016$10,591 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Two in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 46% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino35.2% · district 44.5% · CA 56.1%
White48.1% · district 36.9% · CA 19.9%
Asian4.1% · district 3.5% · CA 10.2%
Black1.0% · district 5.8% · CA 4.8%
Other11.5% · district 9.4% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch42.7% · CA 64%
Median income$114K · CA $85K
Median home value$729K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+35% · CA 35%
ZIP population59,590
Median age40 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
West Hills HighPublicStrong31%60%School being viewed
Grossmont Middle College HighPublicStrong53%90%2.4 mi
IDEA CenterPublicNeeds Support4%21%3.0 mi
Chaparral Highcontinuation comparison groupPublicNeeds Support0%4%3.0 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Santee →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

2 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Grossmont Union High.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is West Hills High a good high school?
West Hills High has a Scope Score of 69 out of 100, placing it in the 87th percentile of California high schools and ranked #220 statewide. 31.2% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 11.4 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are West Hills High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 60.1% of students at West Hills High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 31.2% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 28.9% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 31.2% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 647 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does West Hills High rank in California?
West Hills High ranks #220 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 87th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at West Hills High?
18.8% of students at West Hills High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 2.5%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does West Hills High compare to other schools in Santee?
West Hills High scores 69/100 (87th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,624 students. Use the schools in Santee page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does West Hills High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At West Hills High in Santee, 62.0% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 43.3% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. West Hills High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 18.7 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (43.4% Math proficient); White students (73.9% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 57.4 percentage points for disabilities students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 144 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at West Hills High?
West Hills High's teachers are authorized to teach 17 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, 3-D Art and Design, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, German Language and Culture, Physics C: Mechanics, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from West Hills High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 25 West Hills High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

College readiness carries this score. The test levels clear the state's too.

75.0% of students leave measurably college-ready, versus 43.0% statewide.

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate93.5%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard31.2%19.8%22%
College readiness75.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded60.1%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism18.8%23.1%5%
Suspension rate2.5%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)28.1%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

West Hills High: reading the evidence

West Hills posts 31.2% exceeding the standard — versus 19.8% statewide in the available reporting. Look across subjects and student groups, then ask about the classroom experience.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

What has changed, and is the improvement reaching students with different starting points?

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

West Hills High is ranked #220 statewide · #2 of 14 in Grossmont Union High.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate93.5%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard31.2%19.8%22%
College readiness75.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded60.1%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism18.8%23.1%5%
Suspension rate2.5%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)28.1%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 57 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 67 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 73 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 68 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 59 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.3pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 55 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 0.4pp higher vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 18.0% · index 69 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1132340%31%15%14%71%+22
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1132422%27%20%31%49%+26

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide33111%35%48%7%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged14462.0%+19+24
White15473.9%+15+12
Hispanic/Latino11161.8%+18+23
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
West Hills High ←—6931.2%60.1%2.5%
Grossmont Middle College High2.4 mi7653.3%90.0%1.8%
IDEA Center3 mi214.3%20.5%4.8%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
Chaparral Highscored within its class, not statewide3 mi70.0%4.2%12.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
93.5%
AP Exam Prepared
75.0%
A-G Completion
61.2%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
74.9%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20196476#36322.2%52.1%14.7%2.4%
20226682#28125.1%54.5%24.1%2.9%
20236172#45316.5%45.4%22.9%3.2%
20246376#39518.9%49.2%20.1%2.1%
20256987#22031.2%60.1%18.8%2.5%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female14.7%19.5%+4.8pp
Male13.7%17.0%+3.3pp
Asian9.8%13.4%+3.6pp
Black/African American26.5%16.7%-9.8pp
Filipino3.1%9.4%+6.3pp
Hispanic/Latino12.9%20.1%+7.2pp
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0%——
Two or More Races14.3%17.9%+3.6pp
White15.2%17.3%+2.1pp
Students with Disabilities22.6%27.5%+4.9pp
English Learners20.5%18.0%-2.5pp
Homeless42.9%——
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged18.5%23.7%+5.2pp
All Students14.2%18.2%+4.0pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
20256544253.994.104.18
20247238163.944.064.10
20238847243.954.074.16
20227844233.984.164.26
20215535183.914.094.15
20205932203.764.014.05
20196032193.894.104.21
20187143243.793.974.08
20177839183.773.954.02
20167239203.773.924.01
20155737213.854.024.06
20147034193.724.034.07

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley2025254‹3
Berkeley202426‹3‹3
Berkeley2023396‹3
Berkeley20223563
Berkeley202111‹3‹3
Davis2025138‹3
Davis20241863
Davis2023175‹3
Davis20222811‹3
Davis2021178‹3
Irvine2025356‹3
Irvine202450123
Irvine2023486‹3
Irvine2022387‹3
Irvine202127‹3‹3
Los Angeles20254275
Los Angeles202445‹3‹3
Los Angeles20234873
Los Angeles20224253
Los Angeles202128‹3‹3
Merced202599‹3
Merced2023109‹3
Merced202266‹3
Riverside20251815‹3
Riverside2024119‹3
Riverside202395‹3
Riverside2022128‹3
Riverside2021116‹3
San Diego2025622110
San Diego2024554‹3
San Diego202370167
San Diego2022612011
San Diego202141229
Santa Barbara202525123
Santa Barbara202432113
Santa Barbara202345164
Santa Barbara20224011‹3
Santa Barbara202124113
Santa Cruz20251310‹3
Santa Cruz20241915‹3
Santa Cruz202334184
Santa Cruz2022209‹3
Santa Cruz2021138‹3
Universitywide2025654425
Universitywide2024723816
Universitywide2023884724
Universitywide2022784423
Universitywide2021553518

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
3-D Art and Designthis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
German Language and Culturethis school
Physics C: Mechanicsthis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count16
AP enrollment454
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections2
Physics sections6
Chemistry sections11
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,617

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California236.9%
California State University4513.4%
California community college15646.6%
In-state private30.9%
Out-of-state, 4-year247.2%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled8425.1%

335 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 75% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/west-hills-high-0702"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="West Hills High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

West Hills High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.