ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in
Technology High · Rohnert ParkPublic

Technology High: High scores, healthy climate, strong attendance. We looked for a catch — we didn't find one.

Technology posts 46.9% exceeding the standard — versus 19.8% statewide — with climate numbers better than most. That doesn't make it perfect. It makes it worth a visit to find what numbers can't measure.

550 Bonnie Avenue, 94928 (opens in new tab)·Cotati-Rohnert Park Unified·Rohnert Park·Grades 9-12·343 students·21% low-income·2024–25 CAASPP·(707) 792-4825·Website
Scope Score
85
Strong Strong All-Around
ranked #42 statewide · #1 of 3 in Cotati-Rohnert Park Unified
88 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Technology High scores 85 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 97th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How we score →

Strong All-Around — Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.

Most rating sites would stop at “81% proficient” and call it done. Technology deserves a closer read. It sits at the 97th percentile of 1,647 California high schools — but the ranking is the least interesting thing on this page.

Technology's low-income kids hit 86.7% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

Context — never part of the Scope Score
Where the class of 2023 went
81%enrolled in college within a year
  • University of California18 (24%)
  • California State University7 (9%)
  • California community college24 (32%)
  • In-state private3 (4%)
  • Out-of-state, 4-year9 (12%)
  • Not enrolled14 (19%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic

See the full roll and the UC register →
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
This schoolCA avg
Scope8554
% Exceeded47%20%
% Met+81%43%
Grad rate95.1%92.5%
College readiness96.1%43.0%
Absence10.6%23.1%
Suspension0.5%3.3%

The seven-year arc

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide

Has held the 97th-percentile line every tested year since 2019.

ELAGreen(Declined)MathGreen(Declined)

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 81% meet the standard today, versus 89% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1196%89%94%96%92%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1182%63%77%68%69%

Where its students land

ELA
Exceeded 57%Met 35%Nearly Met 6%Not Met 2%
Math
Exceeded 37%Met 32%Nearly Met 20%Not Met 11%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded

The story this school is actually telling

Proficient by 11th grade
81%
State 43%
Graduate
95%
State 92%
Pass an AP exam
96%
State 43%

Of 100 students here: 81 are proficient by 11th grade → 95 graduate → 96 pass an AP exam. The gaps between those bars are the questions to ask.

86.7%
Low-income · ELA · met standard

Technology's most underrated number

86.7% of low-income students met the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. That's the strongest kind of signal a school can post: it holds across income lines.

Technology low-income: 86.7%State low-income: 38.2%

The 6 things our score weighs

Graduation rate
95.1%
State 92.5%
2.6pp above state avg
Exceeded standard
46.9%
State 19.8%
27.0pp above state avg
College readiness
96.1%
State 43.0%
AP course or exam readiness above state avg
Met or exceeded
80.5%
State 43.2%
37.3pp above state avg
Chronic absenteeism
10.6%
State 23.1%
12.5pp below state avg
Suspension rate
0.5%
State 3.3%
2.7pp below state avg
Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.

How every group of students does here

At Technology High in Rohnert Park, 86.7% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 31.0% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Technology High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 55.7 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (60.7% Math proficient); White students (88.9% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 5.4 percentage points for low-income students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 30 students tested.

All students at this school: 81% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 81%, district —, state 43%81%
MaleMale: this school 82%, district 34%, state 42%82% · +1 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 81%, district 45%, state 56%81% · −0 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 79%, district 35%, state 44%79% · −2 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 74%, district 24%, state 32%74% · −7 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 74%, district 25%, state 32%74% · −6 vs school

6 of 12 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic19.2% AP · 19.6% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.5% AP · 0.6% enroll.
Asian8.4% AP · 7.3% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.5% AP · 0.3% enroll.
Black1.4% AP · 1.5% enroll.
White36.0% AP · 44.0% enroll.
Two or more races34.1% AP · 26.7% enroll.
English learners0.9% AP · 0.9% enroll.
Students with disabilities1.9% AP · 2.6% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Showing up, and staying in class

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 10.6%, district 18.3%, state 23.1%10.6% · −12.5pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 0.5%, district —, state 3.3%0.5% · −2.7pp vs state
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–126.9%

Where the path goes

The path below follows attendance boundaries — scores shown for each next step.

K-12 Feeder Path

Estimated path based on proximity within the same district. Contact your school district for official feeder information.

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score
81%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Technology's class of 2023, 81% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 75 completers, 81% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 18 (24%)California State University 7 (9%)California community college 24 (32%)In-state private 3 (4%)Out-of-state, 4-year 9 (12%)Out-of-state, 2-year 0 (0%)Not enrolled 14 (19%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate.

Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 11 of Technology's 78 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Santa Cruz the most common landing, with 3 enrollees.

Applied34fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted25
Enrolled11
Where they landed (fall 2025)

8 of 9 campuses are masked below UC's privacy floor — a protection, not a verdict.

campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 19 enrolled, 2022

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 81% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (24) than at UC (18).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The people teaching here

Context — never part of the Scope Score
Student : teacherStudent to teacher ratio: this school 23:1, district 22:123:1
PrincipalJessica Romero
Teaching staff19 teachers
Avg. experience13.9 years
Fully credentialed86%
First-year teachers11%
Salary Schedule
Teacher salary schedule$53,271 – $104,805
Principal salary$126,493 – $152,759
Superintendent salary$230,000

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course Breadth
AP exam qualifiers73 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers1 students
Advanced Coursework

Technology's teachers are authorized to teach 13 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — including Physics 1, Computer Science A, and Computer Science Principles.

AP subjects taught13
Math & Computer Science (3)Computer Science A · Computer Science Principles · Statistics
Sciences (4)Biology · Chemistry · Environmental Science · Physics 1
English (1)English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (4)Human Geography · Macroeconomics · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History
World Languages & Cultures (1)Spanish Language and Culture

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

What gets spent here

Context — never part of the Scope Score
Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $16,326, CA average $14,491$16,326 · spent at this school
Federal share$84 per student

$84 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

District current expense · FY 2024–25$18,291 per student

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction61%
Instruction support11%
Student services13%
Administration6%
Buildings & maintenance8%
Other1%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$12,800 per pupil
2019$12,681 per pupil
2018$13,081 per pupil
2017$12,358 per pupil
2016$11,462 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood it serves

Context — never part of the Scope Score
White57.4%
District 37.3% · CA 19.9%
Hispanic18.7%
District 45.5% · CA 56.1%
Asian12.5%
District 3.8% · CA 10.2%
Other8.4%
District 10.7% · CA 9.0%
Black2.9%
District 2.6% · CA 4.8%
GenderFemale 37.0%Male 62.4%Non-binary 0.6%
Low IncomeFree/reduced lunch eligible 20.7% (43pp below CA avg)
Neighborhood — American Community Survey
Median income$99K · CA $85K
Median home value$666K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+31% · CA 35%
ZIP population46,829
Median age34 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Worth Knowing

At 343 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 83% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Frequently asked questions

Is Technology High a good high school?

Technology High has a Scope Score of 85 out of 100, placing it in the 97th percentile of California high schools and ranked #42 statewide. 46.9% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 27.0 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.

What are Technology High's CAASPP test scores?

On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 80.5% of students at Technology High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 46.9% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 33.7% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 46.9% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 172 student-subject combinations were assessed.

How does Technology High rank in California?

Technology High ranks #42 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 97th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.

What is the attendance and school culture like at Technology High?

10.6% of students at Technology High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 0.5%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.

How does Technology High compare to other schools in Rohnert Park?

Technology High scores 85/100 (97th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 343 students. Use the schools in Rohnert Park page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.

How does Technology High serve low-income and underrepresented students?

At Technology High in Rohnert Park, 86.7% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 31.0% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Technology High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 55.7 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (60.7% Math proficient); White students (88.9% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 5.4 percentage points for low-income students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 30 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.

What AP courses are offered at Technology High?

Technology High's teachers are authorized to teach 13 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science A, Computer Science Principles, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, Human Geography, Macroeconomics, Physics 1, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.

How many students from Technology High go to UC?

In fall 2025, 11 Technology High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Your other options

Private alternatives nearby

Private schools within ~10 miles. These schools do not participate in state testing and cannot be scored or ranked.


For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Graduation rate · 25%
95.1%
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 59 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard · 22%
46.9%
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 83 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness · 20%
96.1%
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 85 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded · 18%
80.5%
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 82 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism · 5%
10.6%
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 66 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
▲ 3.2pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate · 5%
0.5%
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 64 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
▼ 2.1pp lower vs 2024
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 118857%35%6%2%92%+43
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 118437%32%20%11%69%+45

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, no valid result was published, or the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide8732%51%17%0%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged3086.7%+56+48
White4588.9%+38+27
Hispanic/Latino2095.0%+62+56
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Technology High ←8546.9%80.5%0.5%
Credo High1.2 mi5936.6%63.4%2.9%
Rancho Cotate High0.9 mi4710.6%32.1%3.1%
California average5419.8%43.2%3.3%
El Camino Highscored within its class, not statewide0.9 mi240.0%0.0%4.2%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
Graduation Rate
95.1%
AP Exam Prepared
96.1%
A-G Completion
82.1%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
81.3%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20199098#2458.6%88.8%9.7%2.6%
20228497#4948.1%75.6%26.8%1.8%
20238798#3849.4%85.5%13.3%3.0%
20248899#2453.1%82.1%7.4%2.6%
20258597#4246.9%80.5%10.6%0.5%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
Group20192025Δ
Female7.1%4.7%-2.4pp
Male6.0%8.3%+2.3pp
Asian6.3%4.5%-1.8pp
Hispanic/Latino1.4%4.6%+3.2pp
White9.4%7.7%-1.7pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged6.5%8.7%+2.2pp
All Students6.4%6.9%+0.5pp
Two or More Races4.3%
Students with Disabilities13.3%
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
20253425113.964.004.01
20243323153.943.994.00
20234024183.964.064.10
20223931193.964.104.13
2021281463.754.003.94
2020321583.784.094.16
201926943.734.02
20183518113.713.943.98
20173925103.713.943.93
20163224153.863.923.97
2015281273.533.873.86
2014301373.593.893.86

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley2025193‹3
Berkeley202424‹3‹3
Berkeley202326‹3‹3
Berkeley2022283‹3
Berkeley2021163‹3
Davis2025269‹3
Davis2024258‹3
Davis20233194
Davis202229113
Davis2021206‹3
Irvine2025203‹3
Irvine202415‹3‹3
Irvine202316‹3‹3
Irvine2022234‹3
Irvine202114‹3‹3
Los Angeles202519‹3‹3
Los Angeles202416‹3‹3
Los Angeles202321‹3‹3
Los Angeles202224‹3‹3
Los Angeles202115‹3‹3
Merced202588‹3
Merced2024884
Merced202376‹3
Merced202288‹3
Merced202154‹3
Riverside20251313‹3
Riverside202353‹3
Riverside2022108‹3
Riverside202154‹3
San Diego2025224‹3
San Diego2024234‹3
San Diego202326‹3‹3
San Diego20222853
San Diego202112‹3‹3
Santa Barbara2025216‹3
Santa Barbara2024207‹3
Santa Barbara2023213‹3
Santa Barbara2022243‹3
Santa Barbara202114‹3‹3
Santa Cruz202518133
Santa Cruz20241583
Santa Cruz202324155
Santa Cruz202221135
Santa Cruz2021105‹3
Universitywide2025342511
Universitywide2024332315
Universitywide2023402418
Universitywide2022393119
Universitywide202128146

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
SubjectTaught by
Biologythis school
Chemistrythis school
Computer Science Athis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
Human Geographythis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Physics 1this school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count8
AP enrollment214
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 32 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections4
Chemistry sections0
Total enrollment (CRDC)341

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California1824.0%
California State University79.3%
California community college2432.0%
In-state private34.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year912.0%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled1418.7%

75 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 81% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/technology-high-0384"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Technology High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-07methodology · data updates · CSV · report issue

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction