Public school · Santa Monica-Malibu Unified

Santa Monica High

Santa Monica · 9–12 · 2,588 students (2024–25)

93rdpercentileStrong

The dots are California’s 1,500 scored public high schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
79 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
In 2024–25, 99% of the class graduated in four years (696 of 704); across California, 89%. Source
Source
CDE four-year adjusted cohort graduation rate (ACGR), 2024–25
Students
students in the four-year graduation cohort: 704
Comparison
California: graduates divided by students in the four-year cohort across 2,281 public schools’ rows (our combination, not CDE’s published state rate; 432,702 of 487,177).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four high schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Sign in to save this school

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How are students doing in English and math?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
58%
Met standard
25%
Below standard
17%

83% met or exceeded · 599 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaSanta Monica-Malibu Unified
Exceeded58%27%54%
Met25%30%26%
Nearly met10%20%11%
Not met7%23%9%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
35%
Met standard
22%
Below standard
43%

57% met or exceeded · 591 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaSanta Monica-Malibu Unified
Exceeded35%14%32%
Met22%16%22%
Nearly met19%21%21%
Not met24%49%25%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Grade 11 tests are one part of the picture. Graduation, preparation and college destinations answer different questions below.

Ask: How do you help students strengthen their skills while keeping graduation and post-school plans on track?

Things worth knowing

Open a finding for the evidence
In grade 11, 83% met or exceeded the standard in English and 57% in math, against 57% and 30% statewide.grade 11 · spring 2025
83%English · met or exceeded the standard57%Math · met or exceeded the standard
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grade 11: 599 in English, 591 in math
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 11 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 432,651 in English and 431,903 in math tested).
1.4% of students (37 of 2,679) were suspended at least once in 2024–25, against 3.2% at the average California high school.2024–25
1.4%of students were suspended at least once, 2024–25
Source
CDE suspension file, 2024–25
Students
all students enrolled during the year (CDE’s cumulative enrollment): 2,679
Comparison
37 of 2,679. District and California figures are averages of school rates (2 Santa Monica-Malibu Unified schools; 1,500 scored California high schools), our calculation.
Low-income students here (187 tested in English, 188 in math, grade 11, spring 2025) met or exceeded the standard far more often than low-income students across California in the same grades (49% and 21%).grade 11 · spring 2025
70%English · met or exceeded32%Math · met or exceeded
Source
CDE CAASPP research file, spring 2025
Students
low-income students (CDE: “socioeconomically disadvantaged”) in grade 11: 187 in English, 188 in math
Comparison
California: the same group in the same grades, CDE’s statewide rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation). Both gaps are more than twice the margin of error for 187 students in English and 188 in math.

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school83%
California57%

Tested: 599 here · 432,651 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school83%
Santa Monica-Malibu Unified80%

Tested: 599 here · 713 in Santa Monica-Malibu Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 3 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaSanta Monica-Malibu Unified
Exceeded58%27%54%
Met25%30%26%
Nearly met10%20%11%
Not met7%23%9%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school57%
California30%

Tested: 591 here · 431,903 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school57%
Santa Monica-Malibu Unified54%

Tested: 591 here · 706 in Santa Monica-Malibu Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 3 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaSanta Monica-Malibu Unified
Exceeded35%14%32%
Met22%16%22%
Nearly met19%21%21%
Not met24%49%25%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

How have results changed?

School pattern, spring 2025Solid BaseThe average Met + Exceeded rate across the reported grades and subjects is at least 65%.

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

After graduation

Do students finish prepared, and where do they go?

Preparation · separate measures and cohorts

Graduated in four years

99%

Across California: 89%

2024–25 · 696 of 704 students in the four-year cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, adjusted cohort graduation records. Comparison is SchoolScope’s combination of graduates and cohort counts across the reference schools, not CDE’s published state rate.

College / career Prepared

73%

Across California: 52%

2024–25 · Students in the CDE College/Career Indicator cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, College/Career Indicator overall Prepared. Prepared is CDE’s overall classification, not AP participation or a college admission rate.

Completed UC/CSU courses

65%

Average California high school: 56%

2024–25 · High-school graduates completing A–G

Source and definition

California Department of Education, A–G completion records. Course completion is separate from college enrollment.

Destinations · class of 2023

Where graduates went

82% enrolled in college within 12 months · 646 high-school completers

  • University of California107 · 17%
  • California State University83 · 13%
  • California community college185 · 29%
  • In-state private45 · 7%
  • Out-of-state, 4-year106 · 16%
  • Out-of-state, 2-year1 · 0%
  • Not enrolled119 · 18%

Source: CDE college-going records, class of 2023. Shares are our arithmetic: count ÷ completers. A dash is unavailable, not zero. “Not enrolled” does not describe employment, military service or other routes.

One destination in detail

University of California

UC fall 2025 entry · matched school records · counts, not a school rating

Applied
370
Admitted
274
Enrolled
130

Source: UC admissions by source school. “Masked” gives no numeric bound; “+” marks a partial count; a dash is unavailable.

UC years and campus records

UC reports fall first-year applicants, admits and enrollees separately. These records do not establish the school’s effect on admission. “+” is a partial SchoolScope sum across linked codes; missing contributions may be zero. A reported zero remains zero. Never assume zero or a positive hidden value for missing or masked counts.

  • Fall 2025Applied 370 · Admitted 274 · Enrolled 130
  • Fall 2024Applied 366 · Admitted 254 · Enrolled 99
  • Fall 2023Applied 383 · Admitted 269 · Enrolled 114
  • Fall 2022Applied 398 · Admitted 260 · Enrolled 127
  • Fall 2021Applied 396 · Admitted 264 · Enrolled 138
  • Fall 2020Applied 330 · Admitted 259 · Enrolled 132
  • Fall 2019Applied 332 · Admitted 225 · Enrolled 123
  • Fall 2018Applied 332 · Admitted 206 · Enrolled 105
  • Fall 2017Applied 313 · Admitted 190 · Enrolled 95
  • Fall 2016Applied 316 · Admitted 203 · Enrolled 102
  • Fall 2015Applied 310 · Admitted 184 · Enrolled 92
  • Fall 2014Applied 273 · Admitted 185 · Enrolled 76
  • Fall 2013Applied 324 · Admitted 226 · Enrolled 109
  • Fall 2012Applied 319 · Admitted 212 · Enrolled 90
  • Fall 2011Applied 297 · Admitted 220 · Enrolled 103
  • Fall 2010Applied 312 · Admitted 277 · Enrolled 106
  • Fall 2009Applied 330 · Admitted 298 · Enrolled 124
  • Fall 2008Applied 335 · Admitted 295 · Enrolled 133
  • Fall 2007Applied 300 · Admitted 259 · Enrolled 140
  • Fall 2006Applied 304 · Admitted 269 · Enrolled 136
  • Fall 2005Applied 311 · Admitted 274 · Enrolled 126
  • Fall 2004Applied 298 · Admitted 222 · Enrolled 106
  • Fall 2003Applied 300 · Admitted 264 · Enrolled 128
  • Fall 2002Applied 270 · Admitted 232 · Enrolled 124
  • Fall 2001Applied 243 · Admitted 197 · Enrolled 108
  • Fall 2000Applied 202 · Admitted 178 · Enrolled 101
  • Fall 1999Applied 212 · Admitted 171 · Enrolled 102
  • Fall 1998Applied 151 · Admitted 135 · Enrolled 66
  • Fall 1997Applied 202 · Admitted 154 · Enrolled 92
  • Fall 1996Applied 178 · Admitted 151 · Enrolled 84
  • Fall 1995Applied 177 · Admitted 149 · Enrolled 84
  • Fall 1994Applied 167 · Admitted 141 · Enrolled 78

Campus records · fall 2025

  • BerkeleyApplied 259 · Admitted 67 · Enrolled 38
  • DavisApplied 194 · Admitted 83 · Enrolled 12
  • IrvineApplied 175 · Admitted 28 · Enrolled 5
  • Los AngelesApplied 276 · Admitted 31 · Enrolled 15
  • MercedApplied 75 · Admitted 72 · Enrolled Masked
  • RiversideApplied 93 · Admitted 78 · Enrolled 5
  • San DiegoApplied 257 · Admitted 58 · Enrolled 10
  • Santa BarbaraApplied 296 · Admitted 79 · Enrolled 16
  • Santa CruzApplied 204 · Admitted 149 · Enrolled 28

Do not add campus application or admission counts: a student may appear at multiple campuses.

Courses and opportunities

What could my child study here?

AP course authorizations

College Board AP Course Audit Ledger · 2025 - 2026. Authorization does not confirm this term’s schedule, access or enrollment.

Math & Computer Science 4
  • Calculus AB
  • Calculus BC
  • Computer Science Principles
  • Statistics
Sciences 6
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Environmental Science
  • Physics 1
  • Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism
  • Physics C: Mechanics
English 2
  • English Language and Composition
  • English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science 6
  • Human Geography
  • Macroeconomics
  • Psychology
  • U.S. Government and Politics
  • United States History
  • World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures 4
  • French Language and Culture
  • Japanese Language and Culture
  • Spanish Language and Culture
  • Spanish Literature and Culture
Arts 1
  • 2-D Art and Design

Courses, access and preparation

AP course or exam pathway qualifiers
446 of 515 Prepared students · 86.6%

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI, all students · 704 eligible students. Cohort includes the current four-year graduation cohort and only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Qualifies through two AP exams scored 3+, two AP courses completed with C− or better, or a qualifying combination in different subjects. Share among Prepared students, not all exam takers or course authorizations.

Career pathway: CCI CTE+ qualifiers
64 students

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI: completed a CTE pathway with C− or better in its capstone plus an additional criterion. Not all CTE completers or a list of courses offered.

Ask before choosing courses

Which courses will run when my child attends, what prerequisites apply, and how do students get support entering advanced or career pathways?

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

20 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
24in 100 at the average Santa Monica-Malibu Unified school22in 100 at the average California high school

544 of 2,654 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school20 in 100
at the average Santa Monica-Malibu Unified school24 in 100
at the average California high school22 in 100
1.4%of students were suspended at least once (37 of 2,679), 2024–25
3.0%at the average Santa Monica-Malibu Unified school3.2%at the average California high school

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grade 11 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

187 English · 188 math tested

English70% / 49%
Math32% / 21%

White

220 English · 212 math tested

English92% / 68%
Math76% / 42%

Hispanic or Latino

211 tested per subject

English73% / 49%
Math34% / 19%

Two or more races

69 English · 68 math tested

English96% / 67%
Math74% / 42%

Asian

49 tested per subject

English88% / 80%
Math78% / 67%

Black or African American

45 English · 46 math tested

English69% / 41%
Math28% / 16%

Students with disabilities

74 English · 72 math tested

English41% / 18%
Math17% / 6%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrade 11 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Santa Monica-Malibu Unifiedvs California
Low-income · 187 tested in English, 188 in math
English70%+268%+2149%
Math32%−133%+1121%
White · 220 tested in English, 212 in math
English92%+488%+2468%
Math76%+769%+3442%
Hispanic or Latino · 211 tested
English73%+568%+2449%
Math34%+133%+1519%
Two or more races · 69 tested in English, 68 in math
English96%+393%+2967%
Math74%+173%+3242%
Asian · 49 tested
English88%088%+880%
Math78%078%+1167%
Black or African American · 45 tested in English, 46 in math
English69%+267%+2841%
Math28%−230%+1216%
Students with disabilities · 74 tested in English, 72 in math
English41%+437%+2318%
Math17%+215%+116%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Santa Monica-Malibu Unified, and across California. ■ Green: a group that is behind statewide does much better here, by 10 points or more and more than twice the margin of error.

English learners: fewer than 30 tested here. No published rate here for Filipino, American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander, homeless and military-family students and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

Low-income and Hispanic or Latino students here did far better than the same groups statewide.

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Santa Monica High in Santa Monica, 70.0% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 68.3% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Santa Monica High’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 1.8 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (32.5% met or exceeded the Math standard); White students (91.8% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 66.6 percentage points: English learners in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 187 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. White: 41%2. Hispanic or Latino: 34%3. Two or more races: 10%4. Black or African American: 7%5. Asian: 7%6. Filipino: <1%Unallocated share: <1%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. White41%
  2. Hispanic or Latino34%
  3. Two or more races10%
  4. Black or African American7%
  5. Asian7%
  6. Filipino<1%
  7. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  8. Pacific Islander—
  9. Not reported—
  10. Unallocated share<1%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
White41%
Hispanic or Latino34%
Two or more races10%
Black or African American7%
Asian7%
Filipino<1%
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—
Not reported—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

About 1 in 3 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (35%, 916 of 2,588). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers141
Average experience12 years
First-year teachers8%
81% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 80.87%: 107.6 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 133.1 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

Schools on the path into this high school

Explore schools on the map ↗

Historical links and nearby options · confirm your child’s address and current assignment with the district.

  1. ElementaryEdison ElementaryHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  2. MiddleJohn Adams MiddleHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  3. High schoolSanta Monica HighThis campus · grades 9-12
All recorded links and nearby alternatives

Elementary links

  • Edison Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    96th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Grant Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    88th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Will Rogers Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    64th percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Franklin Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    98th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • McKinley Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    83rd percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Roosevelt Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    92nd percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Santa Monica Alternative (K-8)

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    76th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

Middle-school links

  • John Adams Middle

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    76th percentile · Strong · middle · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Lincoln Middle

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    88th percentile · Strong · middle · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Santa Monica Alternative (K-8)

    Inferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder

Links do not guarantee placement. Charter, magnet, transfer and other admission routes can differ. Each school’s percentile compares its own level and peer class; the stages are not one ranking.

Getting in

Ask Santa Monica-Malibu Unified which school serves your address.

samohi.smmusd.org

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
601 Pico Boulevard, Santa Monica 90405

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. How do you support kids who arrive ahead, and kids who arrive behind?
  2. Which courses and career pathways are running this year, and who can enroll?
  3. How do counselors help students plan for college, training or work?
  4. What support is available when a student falls behind on graduation requirements?

Call (310) 395-3204 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Nearby high schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar high schools2025 statewide percentile
  • El Dorado HighPlacentia-Yorba Linda Unified · 1,998 enrolled · 35.5% meal eligibility84thStrong
  • Buchanan HighClovis Unified · 2,551 enrolled · 35.2% meal eligibility90thStrong
  • Bella Vista HighSan Juan Unified · 1,939 enrolled · 35.6% meal eligibility56thSolid
  • Liberty HighLiberty Union High · 2,836 enrolled · 35.7% meal eligibility60thSolid
  • Frontier HighKern High · 2,098 enrolled · 35.8% meal eligibility70thSolid
  • Temple City HighTemple City Unified · 1,779 enrolled · 35.9% meal eligibility88thStrong
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 27.4–43.4% meal eligibility and 1,294–5,176 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is Santa Monica High a good high school?
Santa Monica High is in the 93rd percentile (Strong) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. Its Scope Score is 79 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In 2024–25, 99% of the class graduated in four years (696 of 704); across California, 89%. The Scope Score combines 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate, exceeded standard, college/career readiness, met or exceeded the standard, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Santa Monica High's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 83% of students tested in grade 11 met or exceeded the English standard and 57% the math standard; 58% and 35% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 57% and 30% met or exceeded, 27% and 14% exceeded. 599 students were tested in English and 591 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does Santa Monica High rank in California?
Santa Monica High is in the 93rd percentile of 1,500 California comprehensive high schools (Strong, 2025). Santa Monica High ranks #104 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Santa Monica High?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 20.5% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 544 chronically absent of 2,654 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 1.4%; 37 unduplicated suspended students of 2,679 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 20.8%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 1.5%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Santa Monica High compare to other schools in Santa Monica?
Santa Monica High is in the 93rd percentile (Strong) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 2,588 students. Use the schools in Santa Monica page or the map view to compare nearby high schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Santa Monica High?
At Santa Monica High in Santa Monica, 70.0% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 68.3% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Santa Monica High’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 1.8 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (32.5% met or exceeded the Math standard); White students (91.8% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 66.6 percentage points: English learners in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 187 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Santa Monica High?
Santa Monica High had own-school AP authorizations for 23 of the 40 subjects in the College Board's 2025–26 AP program: 2-D Art and Design, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Computer Science Principles, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, French Language and Culture, Human Geography, Japanese Language and Culture, Macroeconomics, Physics 1, Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism, Physics C: Mechanics, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Spanish Literature and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. The audit records authorization, not whether a section ran that year or how students performed on AP exams. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Santa Monica High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 130 Santa Monica High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

Santa Monica High is ranked #104 statewide.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate98.9%92.9%25%
Exceeded standard46.3%20.3%22%
CCI overall Prepared73.2%51.7%20%
Met or exceeded69.9%43.8%18%
Chronic absenteeism20.8%22.7%5%
Suspension rate1.5%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)31.8%17.8%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.9% · index 63 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 20.3% · index 84 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
CCI overall Prepared
↑ vs CA 51.7% · index 68 on SchoolScope's high-school calibration scale; the state rate above is CDE's statewide student rate, not this school-model index
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.8% · index 75 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 22.7% · index 58 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 2.0pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 60 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.3pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 17.8% · index 76 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1159958%26%10%7%83%+35

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1159135%22%20%24%57%+33

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 11 · ELA64783.8%
2024 · Grade 11 · Math64756.9%
2023 · Grade 11 · ELA63883.1%
2023 · Grade 11 · Math62950.9%
2022 · Grade 11 · ELA58582.0%
2022 · Grade 11 · Math58951.1%
2019 · Grade 11 · ELA60981.3%
2019 · Grade 11 · Math61756.4%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide63022%37%37%5%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged18770.0%+2+21
White22091.8%+4+24
Hispanic/Latino21172.5%+4+24
Nearest high schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Susp
Santa Monica High ←—7993rd percentile · Strong · statewide · 202546.3%69.9%1.5%
Animo Venice Charter High1.6 mi5548th percentile · Developing · statewide · 202513.3%39.1%0.9%
University High School Charter2.7 mi5547th percentile · Developing · statewide · 202517.3%40.6%0.4%
California average—57School average · no percentile20.3%43.8%3.3%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders0.8%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$62,469 – $125,576
Average elementary principal salary$157,428
Average middle school principal salary$168,539
Average high school principal salary$180,392
Superintendent salary$297,412

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025: 79/100. Earlier scores are shown under the legacy model. The score models differ, so their results do not form one trend.

MeasureSource record
This school · CCI overall PreparedCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · all students in the current four-year graduation cohort, plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Overall CCI Prepared rate 73.2% · numerator 515 students classified Prepared · denominator 704 CCI students.
California · CCI overall PreparedCDE statewide CCI cohort · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · overall Prepared rate 51.7% · numerator 257,567 students classified Prepared · denominator 497,814 CCI students.
AP pathway among CCI Prepared studentsCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) ·AP pathway rate 86.6% · AP-pathway numerator 446 · denominator 515 (CCI Prepared students).This measure uses Prepared students as its denominator, not the whole CCI cohort; it is not an AP exam-taking rate or a count of AP courses offered. That cohort includes all students in the current four-year graduation cohort plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. In 2025 the pathway accepts two qualifying AP exams, two qualifying AP courses, or a combination of one of each in different subjects.

CDE's overall Prepared rate is this version's 20% high-school college-readiness score factor. The school rate is 515 of 704 CCI students, not the AP-only pathway or A–G completion rate. The California figure is CDE's statewide CCI student cohort, not an average of SchoolScope's comparable high schools or the SchoolScope school-rank pool.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201980/10094#82California comprehensive high schools · 1,512 schools
202278/10094#96California comprehensive high schools · 1,599 schools
202380/10094#83California comprehensive high schools · 1,633 schools
202481/10095#70California comprehensive high schools · 1,641 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

The legacy high-school model uses 2024–25 graduation records. Its readiness input uses the 2025 AP pathway share among Prepared students when available; otherwise it uses 2024–25 A-G completion. A reported zero remains zero. These inputs do not describe graduation or readiness in the earlier assessment years. The newer 2025 model instead uses CDE's overall Prepared rate.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 22.6% → 2025 · 20.5% · −2.1pp
Suspension rate2024 · 2.7% → 2025 · 1.4% · −1.3pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA59957.8%83.3%
2025 · Math59134.9%56.5%
2024 · ELA64754.9%83.8%
2024 · Math64730.6%56.9%
2023 · ELA63856.0%83.1%
2023 · Math62926.6%50.9%
2022 · ELA58551.8%82.0%
2022 · Math58927.3%51.1%
2019 · ELA60954.5%81.3%
2019 · Math61731.6%56.4%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

Graduation Rate
98.9%
AP pathway among Prepared
86.6%
2025 CDE CCI cohort · AP courses, exams, or both; share of students already Prepared, not course offerings
A-G Completion
64.7%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
81.6%

These source periods and populations differ: graduation uses an adjusted cohort, while A-G completion and college-going use separately reported groups. The rates are shown individually, without a shared performance tier.

YearExcMet+AbsentSusp
201943.1%68.8%11.9%3.7%
202239.6%66.6%30.8%3.6%
202341.3%67.0%24.4%3.7%
202442.7%70.3%22.8%2.7%
202546.3%69.9%20.8%1.5%

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female12.3%20.4%+8.1pp
Male10.7%20.7%+10.0pp
Asian5.9%13.6%+7.7pp
Black/African American14.1%22.2%+8.1pp
Filipino5.0%27.8%+22.8pp
Hispanic/Latino12.6%23.5%+10.9pp
Two or More Races9.2%17.8%+8.6pp
White11.4%19.3%+7.9pp
Students with Disabilities22.0%35.6%+13.6pp
English Learners8.2%26.1%+17.9pp
Homeless38.2%31.6%-6.6pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged13.5%25.4%+11.9pp
All Students11.5%20.5%+9.0pp

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

UC admissions, universitywideFollow separately reported UC application, admission and enrollment counts.2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledMean GPA (applied)Mean GPA (admitted)Mean GPA (enrolled)
20253702741303.893.984.06
2024366254993.823.964.05
20233832691143.924.014.10
20223982601273.924.034.11
20213962641383.884.004.10
20203302591323.863.954.01
20193322251233.904.024.06
20183322061053.794.003.98
2017313190953.743.943.98
20163162031023.763.943.97
2015310184923.783.994.00
2014273185763.803.994.00

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. GPA is each group's mean weighted, capped high-school GPA for 10th/11th-grade college-preparatory courses. SchoolScope leaves GPA unavailable when several CEEB codes contribute rather than combining their means. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here. Complete, matching counts can support a historical descriptive rate, but do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances. Series shown from 2014.

UC admissions by campusInspect campus records without adding overlapping populations.latest falls on file
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20252596738
Berkeley20242474822
Berkeley20232704322
Berkeley20222994728
Berkeley20212616336
Davis20251948312
Davis2024199755
Davis20231978414
Davis20222066514
Davis20212059313
Irvine2025175285
Irvine2024175263
Irvine2023173275
Irvine2022194426
Irvine2021196397
Los Angeles20252763115
Los Angeles20242622215
Los Angeles20232823116
Los Angeles20223043020
Los Angeles20212813217
Merced20257572masked
Merced20244639masked
Merced20235957masked
Merced202279747
Merced202167624
Riverside202593785
Riverside202476565
Riverside202392699
Riverside202298594
Riverside202186476
San Diego20252575810
San Diego2024260464
San Diego2023245427
San Diego20222785015
San Diego20212497311
Santa Barbara20252967916
Santa Barbara20242778118
Santa Barbara20233016517
Santa Barbara20222994913
Santa Barbara20212936818
Santa Cruz202520414928
Santa Cruz202421514226
Santa Cruz202325116122
Santa Cruz20222519820
Santa Cruz202122713526
Universitywide2025370274130
Universitywide202436625499
Universitywide2023383269114
Universitywide2022398260127
Universitywide2021396264138

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. Campus totals are not interchangeable with Universitywide; students can apply to several campuses. Universitywide is separately reported; never derive it by adding campus rows. Universitywide applicant and admit counts are unduplicated. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here; these records do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances.

AP course catalogCheck course authorizations and distinguish outside providers.2025 - 2026
SubjectAuthorization recorded for
2-D Art and Designthis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
French Language and Culturethis school
Human Geographythis school
Japanese Language and Culturethis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Physics 1this school
Physics C: Electricity and Magnetismthis school
Physics C: Mechanicsthis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Spanish Literature and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotInspect the dated federal advanced-coursework snapshot.dated historical snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count12
AP enrollment405
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections14
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections0
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,803

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

College destinationsRead the completion cohort and its reported college destinations.class of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California10716.6%
California State University8312.8%
California community college18528.6%
In-state private457.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year10616.4%
Out-of-state, 2-year10.1%
Not enrolled11918.4%

646 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 82% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · an unavailable or suppressed cell is marked as missing; a reported zero remains distinct · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$17,123 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 9,929 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

District current expense · FY 2024–25$25,939 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 58%Instruction support 11%Student services 9%Administration 8%Buildings & maintenance 13%Other 1%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$17,123 per pupil
2020$15,913 per pupil
2019$16,566 per pupil
2018$15,621 per pupil
2017$15,269 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

12ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 90405
ShowHide table 12 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 90405
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$121,241
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)69.95%
ZCTA population27,298
Median age43.1 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/santa-monica-high-8000"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Santa Monica High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,500 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · UC fall first-year source records — masked = no numeric bound; + = partial observed count; Universitywide separately reported · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction