ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Charter high school

Porterville Military Academy

Porterville, CA · Grades 7-12 · 255 students · Porterville Unified

No single number tells this school's story. Here's the honest picture.

71% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 9% in math. 100.0% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Math

9%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

71%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

255

Total enrollment

Graduation

100.0%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2022: 7%2023: 16%2024: 19%2025: 9%2022: 56%2023: 68%2024: 62%2025: 71%20222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2022: 7%2023: 16%2024: 19%2025: 9%2022: 56%2023: 68%2024: 62%2025: 71%2022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
20227%56%
202316%68%
202419%62%
20259%71%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2022 to 2025

Climbed from the 20th to the 35th percentile since 2022 — past roughly 200 high schools.

Most rating sites would stop at “40% proficient” and call it done. Porterville Military Academy deserves a closer read. Four in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Porterville Military Academy's low-income kids hit 50.0% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

As a charter, Porterville Military Academy enrolls by application rather than address. That changes how you get in, but it doesn't change the score.

131 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Porterville Military Academy scores 49 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 35th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2022 · 20th percentile · Scope Score 42 of 1002023 · 43rd percentile · Scope Score 51 of 1002024 · 40th percentile · Scope Score 49 of 1002025 · 35th percentile · Scope Score 49 of 100
ELAGreen(Increased Significantly)MathYellow(Increased)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 732%23%38%29%39%
Grade 831%26%27%31%48%
Grade 1156%68%62%71%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 721%20%23%35%18%
Grade 813%4%10%11%21%
Grade 117%16%19%9%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Two in five of students here meet the standard. One in ten clear it by a lot.

ELA51% met or exceeded
Exceeded 13%Met 38%Nearly Met 28%Not Met 21%
Math17% met or exceeded
Exceeded 5%Met 12%Nearly Met 38%Not Met 45%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2022–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school4917%40%100.0%0.0%18.0%2.2%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope4954
% Exceeded17%20%
% Met+40%43%
Grad rate100.0%92.5%
College readiness0.0%43.0%
Absence18.0%23.1%
Suspension2.2%3.3%
California’s growth results and student groups
State growth model · CDE growth model 2024–25

California's own growth model splits here — the 35th percentile in reading against the 13th in math, among high schools.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

California runs its own growth model — it follows individual children in grades 4 through 8 and compares each one against a prediction from their own prior scores. On that measure this school sits well below the middle of California high schools in reading, and the 13th in math. We show it; we don't score it.

pts vs expected is scale-score points above or below what California's model predicted for these same children from their own prior-year scores. It is not a percentage and not a percent of anything. A typical California high school lands at −3 in reading, and the middle half of them fall between −13 and +5 — the spread is wide, so read the rank, not the sign. CDE blends two consecutive years into each published figure, so adjacent years share input data and no year-over-year trend can honestly be drawn from them. It covers grades 4-8 only, and it is not part of the Scope Score — we assessed it and left it out: it tracks school demographics roughly three times as strongly as our own growth measure does, and one published year is not enough to test how stable it is.

California's growth model, ranked against the schools it scores
State model · readingmatched students, grades 4-8California growth model, reading: −3 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 35th percentile of 7,519 reported schools.35th pctile · −3 pts
State model · mathmatched students, grades 4-8California growth model, math: −14 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 13th percentile of 7,518 reported schools.13th pctile · −14 pts
this school| the tick is the middle of the California field

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

50.0% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 34% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 34%, district —, state 43%34%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 32%, district 33%, state 32%32% · −2 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 35%, district 34%, state 32%35% · +1 vs school
MaleMale: this school 35%, district 34%, state 42%35% · +1 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 33%, district 36%, state 44%33% · −1 vs school

9 of 14 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group
The state's growth model, by student group

California follows these children individually and predicts each one's score from their own prior year. Each row is read against the same group at a typical California high school — not against zero, and not against this school's all-students figure, because the state's expectation already differs by group.

Reading
Low-income students89 studentsLow-income students, reading: −4 scale-score points versus expectation, against −5 for the same group at a typical California high school, 89 students.−4 pts · +1 vs typical
Hispanic or Latino students78 studentsHispanic or Latino students, reading: −5 scale-score points versus expectation, against −3 for the same group at a typical California high school, 78 students.−5 pts · −2 vs typical
English Only53 studentsEnglish Only, reading: +1 scale-score points versus expectation, against −3 for the same group at a typical California high school, 53 students.+1 pts · +4 vs typical
Math
Low-income students89 studentsLow-income students, math: −15 scale-score points versus expectation, against −15 for the same group at a typical California high school, 89 students.−15 pts · 0 vs typical
Hispanic or Latino students78 studentsHispanic or Latino students, math: −19 scale-score points versus expectation, against −13 for the same group at a typical California high school, 78 students.−19 pts · −6 vs typical
English Only53 studentsEnglish Only, math: −10 scale-score points versus expectation, against −12 for the same group at a typical California high school, 53 students.−10 pts · +2 vs typical
this school typical California high school, same group| the centre tick is 0 = as predicted

— 3 more groups are reported here with between 11 and 29 students. We hold those back on purpose: at that size the figure swings about 17 points on its own, and a quarter of such groups land past the state's top or bottom cut point by chance alone. They are listed with their student counts in the data appendix. — A group not listed at all had fewer than 11 students with a growth score, so California published nothing for it here. That is a privacy protection, not a judgment about those students. — Context only. None of this enters the Scope Score.

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

59%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 13 of 22 completers · includes community colleges

22Completers
14%
Other colleges3 completers · Outside the California community college system
45%
California community colleges10 completers · Enrolled within a year
41%
Not recorded enrolled9 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Where the class of 2023 went
59%enrolled in college within a year
  • California State University2 (9%)
  • California community college10 (45%)
  • Out-of-state, 4-year1 (5%)
  • Not enrolled9 (41%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic

See the full roll →

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 16 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Porterville Military Academy's teachers are authorized to teach 2 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — including Spanish Language and Culture and English Language and Composition.

Students per teacher16 · district 23
Teaching staff19 teachers
Avg. experience9.6 years
Fully credentialed66%
First-year teachers5%
Intern / emergency permit11.5%
PrincipalRudy Cardona
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$67,408 – $131,482
Principal salary$208,781 – $226,362
Superintendent salary$332,007

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
CTE pathway completers11 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught2
ShowHide the 2 AP courses by discipline
English (1)English Language and Composition
World Languages & Cultures (1)Spanish Language and Culture

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Grades 9–12 students miss school at roughly one and a half times the rate of Grades 7–8 students (13.9% vs 9.1%). Chronic absence here concentrates in the upper grades.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 18.0%, district 18.0%, state 23.1%18.0% · −5.1pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 2.2%, district —, state 3.3%2.2% · −1.1pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 7–89.1%
Grades 9–1213.9%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $30,029 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$249 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $30,029, CA average $14,491$30,029 · spent at this school
Federal share$249 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$21,080 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 55%Instruction support 13%Student services 12%Administration 6%Buildings & maintenance 12%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$13,250 per pupil
2019$12,791 per pupil
2018$13,584 per pupil
2017$12,321 per pupil
2016$11,848 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Four in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 255 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 36% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino76.5% · district 85.4% · CA 56.1%
White17.3% · district 8.5% · CA 19.9%
Asian0.8% · district 1.0% · CA 10.2%
Black0.8% · district 0.3% · CA 4.8%
Other4.7% · district 4.7% · CA 9.0%
GenderFemale 39.6% · Male 60.4%
Free or reduced lunch90.2% · CA 64%
Median income$60K · CA $85K
Median home value$288K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+14% · CA 35%
ZIP population80,467
Median age31 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Porterville Military AcademyCharterDeveloping17%40%School being viewed
Monache HighPublicSolid16%39%1.0 mi
Porterville HighPublicDeveloping16%44%2.0 mi
Citrus Highcontinuation comparison groupPublicNeeds Support1%4%1.6 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check enrollment with this charter school

Ask the school about applications, priorities and deadlines for your child’s grade.

School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: proximity. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Charter enrollment details

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Porterville Military Academy a good high school?
Porterville Military Academy has a Scope Score of 49 out of 100, placing it in the 35th percentile of California high schools and ranked #1,063 statewide. 17.1% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 2.7 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Porterville Military Academy's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 40.0% of students at Porterville Military Academy met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 17.1% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 22.9% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 17.1% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 70 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Porterville Military Academy rank in California?
Porterville Military Academy ranks #1,063 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 35th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Porterville Military Academy?
18.0% of students at Porterville Military Academy are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 2.2%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Porterville Military Academy compare to other schools in Porterville?
Porterville Military Academy scores 49/100 (35th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 255 students. Use the schools in Porterville page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Porterville Military Academy serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Porterville Military Academy in Porterville, 50.0% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 40.5% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Porterville Military Academy outperforms its district average for low-income students by 9.5 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (14.8% Math proficient); Hispanic students (53.3% ELA proficient). Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 122 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Porterville Military Academy?
Porterville Military Academy's teachers are authorized to teach 2 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: English Language and Composition, Spanish Language and Culture. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 6 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate100.0%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard17.1%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded40.0%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism18.0%23.1%5%
Suspension rate2.2%3.3%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Porterville Military Academy: reading the evidence

Porterville Military Academy posts 40% meeting the standard and 17.1% exceeding it, against 43% and 19.8% statewide. The gaps and the bright spots below are the real read.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Porterville Military Academy is ranked #1,063 statewide · #4 of 7 in Porterville Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate100.0%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard17.1%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded40.0%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism18.0%23.1%5%
Suspension rate2.2%3.3%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 64 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 51 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 31 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 53 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 60 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 3.5pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 57 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 3.8pp lower vs 2024
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 7445%34%27%34%39%−9
Grade 8528%40%33%19%48%+2
Grade 113531%40%23%6%71%+23
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 7447%11%48%34%18%−16
Grade 8524%17%31%48%21%−11
Grade 11353%6%37%54%9%−15

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide8810%26%60%3%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged12250.0%+10+12
Hispanic/Latino10753.3%+12+14
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Porterville Military Academy ←4917.1%40.0%2.2%
Monache High1 mi5316.1%39.4%2.8%
Porterville High2 mi4915.8%44.2%4.7%
California average5419.8%43.2%3.3%
Citrus Highscored within its class, not statewide1.6 mi161.0%4.2%4.2%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
100.0%
AP Exam Prepared
Not offered
This school may not offer AP courses
A-G Completion
57.9%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
59.1%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20224220#12763.7%31.5%27.6%3.5%
20235143#92318.9%41.9%18.4%3.1%
20244940#98321.4%40.5%21.4%5.9%
20254935#106317.1%40.0%18.0%2.2%
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female14.6%13.7%-0.9pp
Male15.1%11.0%-4.1pp
Hispanic/Latino12.5%12.7%+0.2pp
White17.4%9.1%-8.3pp
Students with Disabilities23.1%
English Learners9.5%19.0%+9.5pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged17.6%13.4%-4.2pp
All Students14.9%12.1%-2.8pp
Military-Connected16.7%
06AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 06 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
English Language and Compositionthis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

07Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 07 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot offered
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8offered · 7 enrolled
Calculus sections0
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections0
Total enrollment (CRDC)223

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

08College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 08 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California00.0%
California State University29.1%
California community college1045.5%
In-state private00.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year14.5%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled940.9%

22 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 59% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

09California growth model, by student group2025 · scale-score points vs the state's prediction · shown, never scored
ShowHide table 09 — California growth model, by student group
GroupReadingnCDE bandMathnCDE band
All Students−395Average−1495Moderate
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged−489Average−1589Moderate
Hispanic or Latino−578Average−1978Moderate
English Only+153not categorised−1053not categorised
English Learner−1824Moderate−2124Minimal
Recently Reclassified Fluent-English Proficient Only−1219not categorised−2519not categorised
White−414Average+214Average

Whole scale-score points above or below what CDE's model predicted for these same children from their own prior-year scores — not a percentage, not a percentile. Statewide a typical school lands near +1 with a spread of about 13 points either side, so read a figure against its group's own typical value, not against zero. Muted rows have fewer than 30 students with a growth score — published by CDE, held back from the narrative sections above because at that size the figure swings about 17 points on its own. “Not categorised” is CDE assigning no band — English Only, Recently Reclassified, and English Learners Only receive a value and no band, for every school in the state. It is not a missing number. Most figures blend two consecutive years, so adjacent published years share input data and no trend line can honestly be drawn across them. A group absent from this table had fewer than 11 students with a growth score and was never published. Grades 4-8 only. None of this enters the Scope Score — it is more strongly correlated with school demographics than our own growth measure, and one published year is not enough to test its reliability.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/porterville-military-academy-7968"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Porterville Military Academy — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Porterville Military Academy

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.