ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Northridge Academy High

Northridge, CA · Grades 9-12 · 832 students · Los Angeles Unified

This school runs ahead of the state average. The bar itself is the harder conversation.

62% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 24% in math. 98.2% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Math

24%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

62%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

832

Total enrollment

Graduation

98.2%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 31%2022: 14%2023: 25%2024: 23%2025: 24%2019: 61%2022: 52%2023: 54%2024: 46%2025: 62%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 31%2022: 14%2023: 25%2024: 23%2025: 24%2019: 61%2022: 52%2023: 54%2024: 46%2025: 62%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201931%61%
202214%52%
202325%54%
202423%46%
202524%62%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has stayed near the 65th percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “43% proficient” and call it done. Northridge Academy deserves a closer read. Four in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Northridge Academy's low-income kids hit 58.0% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

156 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Northridge Academy High scores 58 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 65th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Proficiency here is back to its pre-pandemic level — 43% meet the standard, about where the school stood in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 71st percentile · Scope Score 62 of 1002022 · 64th percentile · Scope Score 56 of 1002023 · 70th percentile · Scope Score 60 of 1002024 · 62nd percentile · Scope Score 56 of 1002025 · 65th percentile · Scope Score 58 of 100
ELAGreen(Increased Significantly)MathYellow(Increased)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1161%52%54%46%62%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1131%14%25%23%24%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Two in five of students here meet the standard. One in ten clear it by a lot.

ELA62% met or exceeded
Exceeded 26%Met 37%Nearly Met 17%Not Met 21%
Math24% met or exceeded
Exceeded 5%Met 19%Nearly Met 26%Not Met 49%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school5815%43%98.2%63.6%23.9%1.1%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope5854
% Exceeded15%20%
% Met+43%43%
Grad rate98.2%92.5%
College readiness63.6%43.0%
Absence23.9%23.1%
Suspension1.1%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

58.0% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 43% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 43%, district —, state 43%43%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 40%, district 36%, state 32%40% · −3 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 40%, district 36%, state 32%40% · −3 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 48%, district 42%, state 44%48% · +5 vs school
MaleMale: this school 38%, district 41%, state 42%38% · −6 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 20%, district 14%, state 15%20% · −24 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 56%, district 65%, state 56%56% · +13 vs school

7 of 14 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored

In the 2020-21 federal collection — the newest there is — Students with disabilities students were 19% of Northridge Academy's enrollment but 2% of its AP seats; ask the school what's changed since.

Hispanic57.5% AP · 70.8% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.1% enroll.
Asian21.2% AP · 11.3% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.7% AP · 0.1% enroll.
Black3.4% AP · 2.7% enroll.
White16.4% AP · 13.3% enroll.
Two or more races0.7% AP · 1.6% enroll.
English learners0.7% AP · 3.9% enroll.
Students with disabilities2.1% AP · 18.6% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

59%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 110 of 187 completers · includes community colleges

187Completers
45%
Other colleges85 completers · Outside the California community college system
13%
California community colleges25 completers · Enrolled within a year
41%
Not recorded enrolled77 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

59%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Northridge Academy's class of 2023, 59% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 187 completers, 59% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 9 (5%)California State University 65 (35%)California community college 25 (13%)In-state private 5 (3%)Out-of-state, 4-year 5 (3%)Out-of-state, 2-year 1 (1%)Not enrolled 77 (41%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 11 of Northridge Academy's 215 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Riverside the most common landing, with 3 enrollees.

Applied50fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted37
Enrolled11
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)

8 of 9 campuses are masked below UC's privacy floor — a protection, not a verdict.

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 18 enrolled, 2016

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 59% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (25) than at UC (9).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 18 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Northridge Academy's teachers are authorized to teach 12 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — including Calculus AB, Chemistry, and Biology.

Students per teacher18 · district 20
Teaching staff48 teachers
Avg. experience16.8 years
Fully credentialed91%
First-year teachers2%
Intern / emergency permit1.6%
PrincipalRoberto Lee
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$60,420 – $122,706
Principal salary$154,576 – $170,030
Superintendent salary$440,000

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers75 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught12
ShowHide the 12 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (2)Calculus AB · Precalculus
Sciences (2)Biology · Chemistry
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (5)Human Geography · Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (1)Spanish Language and Culture

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 23.9%, district 22.8%, state 23.1%23.9% · +0.9pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 1.1%, district —, state 3.3%1.1% · −2.1pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1223.2%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $24,031 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

$2,154 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $24,031, CA average $14,491$24,031 · spent at this school
Federal share$2,154 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$29,292 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 52%Instruction support 16%Student services 12%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$18,180 per pupil
2019$16,355 per pupil
2018$15,793 per pupil
2017$13,247 per pupil
2016$13,549 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Four in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 22% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino74.9% · district 73.2% · CA 56.1%
White11.8% · district 9.9% · CA 19.9%
Asian2.5% · district 3.4% · CA 10.2%
Black3.0% · district 7.2% · CA 4.8%
Other7.8% · district 6.3% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch85.5% · CA 64%
Median income$87K · CA $85K
Median home value$945K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+42% · CA 35%
ZIP population35,062
Median age38 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Northridge Academy HighPublicSolid15%43%School being viewed
Valley International Preparatory HighCharterStrong36%65%2.0 mi
Grover Cleveland Charter HighCharterStrong27%53%2.4 mi
John F. Kennedy HighPublicStrong19%46%2.9 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Northridge →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

13 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Los Angeles Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Elementary · K–5

Danube Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 36/100
Gledhill Street ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 44/100
San Jose Street ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 54/100
Carlos Santana Arts AcademyPublished boundary overlapScope Score 33/100
Lassen ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 40/100
Plummer ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 32/100
Dearborn Elementary Charter AcademyPublished boundary overlapScope Score 47/100
Rosa Parks Learning CenterPublished boundary overlapScope Score 31/100
El Oro Way Charter for Enriched StudiesPublished boundary overlapScope Score 49/100
Knollwood Preparatory AcademyPublished boundary overlapScope Score 47/100
Van Gogh CharterPublished boundary overlapScope Score 65/100
Castlebay Lane CharterPublished boundary overlapScope Score 69/100
Blythe Street ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 46/100
Cantara Street ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 45/100
Garden Grove ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 42/100
Lorne Street ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 44/100
Granada ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 28/100
Andasol Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 45/100
Parthenia Academy of Arts and TechnologyPublished boundary overlapScope Score 31/100
Darby Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 55/100
El Dorado Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 40/100
Beckford Charter for Enriched StudiesAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 74/100
Topeka Charter School for Advanced StudiesAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 65/100
Napa Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 35/100
Mayall Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 65/100
Panorama City ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 49/100
Alta California ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 51/100
Michelle Obama ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 35/100
Chase Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 37/100
Noble Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 31/100
Reseda ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 44/100
Stanley Mosk ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 36/100
Fullbright Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 25/100
Melvin Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 38/100
Shirley Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 46/100
Sunny Brae Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 30/100
Winnetka Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 28/100
Langdon Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 24/100
Tulsa Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 42/100
Anatola Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 33/100
Liggett Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 33/100
Superior Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 55/100
Vintage Math/Science/Technology MagnetAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 55/100
Stagg Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 42/100
Calahan Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 43/100
Limerick Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 39/100
Germain Academy For Academic AchievementAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 36/100
Vista del Valle Dual Language AcademyAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 41/100
Hillery T. Broadous ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 34/100
Harding Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 47/100
Morningside ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 30/100
O'Melveny ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 47/100
Osceola Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 37/100
San Fernando ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 39/100
Telfair Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 34/100
Burton Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 24/100
Cohasset Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 33/100
Gridley-Montañez Dual Language AcademyAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 22/100
Haskell Elementary Science Technology EngineeringAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 46/100
Valerio Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 32/100
Balboa Gifted/High Ability Magnet ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 86/100

Middle · 6–8

High school · 9–12

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask how the school challenges kids who clear the standard early. The gap between meeting and exceeding is where pacing shows.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Northridge Academy High a good high school?
Northridge Academy High has a Scope Score of 58 out of 100, placing it in the 65th percentile of California high schools and ranked #574 statewide. 15.4% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 4.4 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Northridge Academy High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 43.3% of students at Northridge Academy High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 15.4% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 27.9% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 15.4% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 312 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Northridge Academy High rank in California?
Northridge Academy High ranks #574 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 65th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Northridge Academy High?
23.9% of students at Northridge Academy High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 1.1%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Northridge Academy High compare to other schools in Northridge?
Northridge Academy High scores 58/100 (65th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 832 students. Use the schools in Northridge page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Northridge Academy High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Northridge Academy High in Northridge, 58.0% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 40.9% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Northridge Academy High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 17.1 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (22.1% Math proficient); Hispanic students (58.9% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 27.4 percentage points for disabilities students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 132 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Northridge Academy High?
Northridge Academy High's teachers are authorized to teach 12 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: Biology, Calculus AB, Chemistry, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Human Geography, Precalculus, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Northridge Academy High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 11 Northridge Academy High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate98.2%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard15.4%19.8%22%
College readiness63.6%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded43.3%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism23.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.1%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)9.6%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Northridge Academy High: reading the evidence

Northridge Academy posts 43% meeting the standard against 43% statewide — ahead of most, with real headroom above the bar.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Northridge Academy High is ranked #574 statewide · #96 of 196 in Los Angeles Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate98.2%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard15.4%19.8%22%
College readiness63.6%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded43.3%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism23.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.1%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)9.6%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 62 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 49 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 67 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 55 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 55 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.7pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 61 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 0.5pp higher vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 40 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1115626%37%17%21%62%+14
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 111565%19%26%49%24%+1

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide1564%19%69%9%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged13258.0%+17+20
Hispanic/Latino12558.9%+18+20
Students with Disabilities2334.8%+19+18
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Northridge Academy High ←—5815.4%43.3%1.1%
Valley International Preparatory High2 mi7535.7%65.2%0.8%
Grover Cleveland Charter High2.4 mi6426.7%53.0%0.3%
John F. Kennedy High2.9 mi6219.3%46.3%0.5%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
98.2%
AP Exam Prepared
63.6%
A-G Completion
59.5%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
58.8%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20196271#44618.9%46.0%18.2%0.9%
20225664#57711.8%33.3%30.8%1.1%
20236070#48916.6%39.5%32.0%1.2%
20245662#62411.3%34.5%25.6%0.6%
20255865#57415.4%43.3%23.9%1.1%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female19.3%25.2%+5.9pp
Male15.6%21.3%+5.7pp
Asian9.1%8.3%-0.8pp
Black/African American31.3%24.1%-7.2pp
Filipino3.7%15.2%+11.5pp
Hispanic/Latino19.6%22.5%+2.9pp
Two or More Races0.0%52.9%+52.9pp
White15.5%25.0%+9.5pp
Students with Disabilities28.4%24.2%-4.2pp
English Learners19.5%31.7%+12.2pp
Homeless44.0%35.0%-9.0pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged18.7%24.1%+5.4pp
All Students17.5%23.2%+5.7pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
20255037113.713.813.88
20245835113.713.874.05
2023472593.813.954.01
2022301864.004.164.25
20213924133.744.044.23
2020311873.753.964.04
2019452883.854.004.13
2018371963.753.863.95
20173021103.813.914.02
20165028183.653.923.96
20155031173.763.994.03
2014241163.593.903.90

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley202514‹3‹3
Berkeley202418‹3‹3
Berkeley202329‹3‹3
Berkeley202214‹3‹3
Berkeley202111‹3‹3
Davis2025145‹3
Davis2024154‹3
Davis202311‹3‹3
Davis2022116‹3
Davis2021167‹3
Irvine2025324‹3
Irvine2024447‹3
Irvine2023283‹3
Irvine202221‹3‹3
Irvine20213153
Los Angeles202534‹3‹3
Los Angeles202447‹3‹3
Los Angeles202338‹3‹3
Los Angeles202224‹3‹3
Los Angeles20212433
Merced20251412‹3
Merced202377‹3
Merced202186‹3
Riverside202526243
Riverside20242113‹3
Riverside2023119‹3
Riverside202287‹3
Riverside2021128‹3
San Diego2025217‹3
San Diego20243584
San Diego2023264‹3
San Diego202295‹3
San Diego202118103
Santa Barbara2025286‹3
Santa Barbara2024257‹3
Santa Barbara2023338‹3
Santa Barbara2022146‹3
Santa Barbara2021208‹3
Santa Cruz20252114‹3
Santa Cruz20241915‹3
Santa Cruz2023168‹3
Santa Cruz202284‹3
Santa Cruz2021128‹3
Universitywide2025503711
Universitywide2024583511
Universitywide202347259
Universitywide202230186
Universitywide2021392413

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Chemistrythis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Human Geographythis school
Precalculusthis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count11
AP enrollment146
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections1
Physics sections1
Chemistry sections6
Total enrollment (CRDC)970

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California94.8%
California State University6534.8%
California community college2513.4%
In-state private52.7%
Out-of-state, 4-year52.7%
Out-of-state, 2-year10.5%
Not enrolled7741.2%

187 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 59% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/northridge-academy-high-7003"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Northridge Academy High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Northridge Academy High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.