ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Charter high school

High Tech High Media Arts

San Diego, CA · Grades 9-12 · 355 students · San Diego Unified

The scores are below where anyone wants them. Here's what they don't tell you.

33% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 9% in math. 96.9% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Math

9%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

33%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

355

Total enrollment

Graduation

96.9%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 43%2022: 18%2023: 25%2024: 22%2025: 9%2019: 75%2022: 65%2023: 57%2024: 55%2025: 33%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 43%2022: 18%2023: 25%2024: 22%2025: 9%2019: 75%2022: 65%2023: 57%2024: 55%2025: 33%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201943%75%
202218%65%
202325%57%
202422%55%
20259%33%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Slipped from the 61st to the 10th percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “21% proficient” and call it done. High Tech High Media Arts deserves a closer read. Two in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Test scores are one lens, and at this school they're a rough one right now. The sections below show the fuller picture — including the parts that are working.

As a charter, High Tech High Media Arts enrolls by application rather than address. That changes how you get in, but it doesn't change the score.

79 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

High Tech High Media Arts scores 38 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 10th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 21% meet the standard today, versus 59% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 61st percentile · Scope Score 58 of 1002022 · 31st percentile · Scope Score 46 of 1002023 · 37th percentile · Scope Score 49 of 1002024 · 31st percentile · Scope Score 46 of 1002025 · 10th percentile · Scope Score 38 of 100
ELARed(Declined Significantly)MathRed(Declined Significantly)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1175%65%57%55%33%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1143%18%25%22%9%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in five of students here meet the standard. 6% clear it by a lot.

ELA33% met or exceeded
Exceeded 10%Met 23%Nearly Met 27%Not Met 41%
Math9% met or exceeded
Exceeded 1%Met 8%Nearly Met 20%Not Met 71%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school386%21%96.9%2.6%31.7%4.2%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope3854
% Exceeded6%20%
% Met+21%43%
Grad rate96.9%92.5%
College readiness2.6%43.0%
Absence31.7%23.1%
Suspension4.2%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard behind the same group statewide.

At High Tech High Media Arts in San Diego, 31.7% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 42.6% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. High Tech High Media Arts trails its district average for low-income students by 10.9 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (2.4% Math proficient); Hispanic students (31.5% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 28.6 percentage points for disabilities students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 41 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 21% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 21%, district —, state 43%21%
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 20%, district 35%, state 32%20% · −1 vs school
MaleMale: this school 16%, district 50%, state 42%16% · −5 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 17%, district 36%, state 32%17% · −4 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 26%, district 51%, state 44%26% · +5 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 4%, district 21%, state 15%4% · −17 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 30%, district 71%, state 56%30% · +9 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 0%, district 10%, state 11%0% · −21 vs school

5 of 13 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

77%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 67 of 87 completers · includes community colleges

87Completers
43%
Other colleges37 completers · Outside the California community college system
34%
California community colleges30 completers · Enrolled within a year
23%
Not recorded enrolled20 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

77%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of High Tech High Media Arts's class of 2023, 77% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 87 completers, 77% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 17 (20%)California State University 16 (18%)California community college 30 (34%)In-state private 3 (3%)Out-of-state, 4-year 1 (1%)Out-of-state, 2-year 0 (0%)Not enrolled 20 (23%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 11 of High Tech High Media Arts's 95 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Los Angeles the most common landing, with 4 enrollees.

Applied52fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted34
Enrolled11
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)

7 of 9 campuses are masked below UC's privacy floor — a protection, not a verdict.

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 24 enrolled, 2017

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 77% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (30) than at UC (17).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 17 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Students per teacher17 · district 23
Teaching staff25 teachers
Avg. experience3.1 years
Fully credentialed65%
First-year teachers20%
PrincipalPaul Yumbla
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$55,375 – $124,275
Principal salaryUp to $187,294
Superintendent salary$300,404

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers1 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended more, than the state average.

31.7% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — the data can't say why.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 31.7%, district 20.2%, state 23.1%31.7% · +8.6pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 4.2%, district —, state 3.3%4.2% · +1.0pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

Its district spends $15,976 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $15,976, CA average $14,491$15,976 · district average
District current expense · FY 2024–25$21,967 per student
District averageCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 63%Instruction support 12%Student services 12%Administration 5%Buildings & maintenance 7%Other 1%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$15,976 per pupil
2019$14,540 per pupil
2018$14,457 per pupil
2017$11,416 per pupil
2016$11,708 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Two in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 355 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 26% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino60.6% · district 47.0% · CA 56.1%
White22.3% · district 22.9% · CA 19.9%
Asian3.9% · district 8.7% · CA 10.2%
Black6.2% · district 7.5% · CA 4.8%
Other7.0% · district 13.8% · CA 9.0%
GenderFemale 43.1% · Male 55.5% · Non-binary 1.4%
Free or reduced lunch43.1% · CA 64%
Median income$143K · CA $85K
Median home value$1.52M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+63% · CA 35%
ZIP population21,651
Median age37 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
High Tech High Media ArtsCharterNeeds Support6%21%School being viewed
Point Loma HighPublicStrong29%60%0.6 mi
High Tech High InternationalCharterSolid27%58%0.2 mi
High Tech HighCharterDeveloping23%49%0.3 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in San Diego →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

9 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check enrollment with this charter school

Ask the school about applications, priorities and deadlines for your child’s grade.

School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: proximity. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Charter enrollment details

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what changed in the last two years, and what the school is asking families for. Growth shows up in these numbers a year or two after it shows up in classrooms.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is High Tech High Media Arts a good high school?
High Tech High Media Arts has a Scope Score of 38 out of 100, placing it in the 10th percentile of California high schools and ranked #1,476 statewide. 5.7% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 14.1 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are High Tech High Media Arts's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 20.9% of students at High Tech High Media Arts met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 5.7% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 15.2% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 5.7% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 158 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does High Tech High Media Arts rank in California?
High Tech High Media Arts ranks #1,476 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 10th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at High Tech High Media Arts?
31.7% of students at High Tech High Media Arts are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 4.2%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does High Tech High Media Arts compare to other schools in San Diego?
High Tech High Media Arts scores 38/100 (10th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 355 students. Use the schools in San Diego page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does High Tech High Media Arts serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At High Tech High Media Arts in San Diego, 31.7% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 42.6% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. High Tech High Media Arts trails its district average for low-income students by 10.9 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (2.4% Math proficient); Hispanic students (31.5% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 28.6 percentage points for disabilities students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 41 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
How many students from High Tech High Media Arts go to UC?
In fall 2025, 11 High Tech High Media Arts graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 6 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate96.9%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard5.7%19.8%22%
College readiness2.6%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded20.9%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism31.7%23.1%5%
Suspension rate4.2%3.3%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

High Tech High Media Arts: reading the evidence

High Tech High Media Arts posts low test scores — and test scores are one lens among several. If this is your zoned school, the numbers below are where to start a conversation, not where to end one.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

High Tech High Media Arts is ranked #1,476 statewide · #32 of 37 in San Diego Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate96.9%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard5.7%19.8%22%
College readiness2.6%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded20.9%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism31.7%23.1%5%
Suspension rate4.2%3.3%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 61 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 39 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 32 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 39 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 49 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 1.8pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 47 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 1.9pp higher vs 2024
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 117910%23%27%41%33%−16
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11791%8%20%71%9%−15

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide812%23%65%9%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged4131.7%−11−7
Hispanic/Latino5431.5%−10−7
Students with Disabilities234.3%−19−13
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
High Tech High Media Arts ←385.7%20.9%4.2%
Point Loma High0.6 mi7029.2%60.3%2.3%
High Tech High International0.2 mi5626.9%58.1%2.2%
High Tech High0.3 mi5223.3%48.8%1.9%
California average5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
96.9%
AP Exam Prepared
2.6%
A-G Completion
98.9%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
77.0%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20195861#59732.0%59.1%11.6%2.0%
20224631#110514.0%41.5%36.1%4.3%
20234937#103619.4%41.1%30.1%4.3%
20244631#113414.0%38.5%29.9%2.3%
20253810#14765.7%20.9%31.7%4.2%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 05 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
20255234113.893.994.11
20244635154.044.134.16
20234336183.964.094.16
20224531153.954.044.17
20215740184.054.214.25
20204330154.114.204.28
20195128133.864.114.15
20184626133.954.134.17
20175138243.994.084.07
20164625123.924.134.12
20155531213.844.013.98
20145232163.863.984.10

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

06UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20252363
Berkeley2024286‹3
Berkeley20233053
Berkeley20222653
Berkeley20212533
Davis2025238‹3
Davis202419133
Davis2023138‹3
Davis2022216‹3
Davis20212412‹3
Irvine2025214‹3
Irvine202432133
Irvine202331146
Irvine2022234‹3
Irvine202126145
Los Angeles20252254
Los Angeles2024284‹3
Los Angeles20232644
Los Angeles2022283‹3
Los Angeles20213663
Merced202588‹3
Merced202211113
Riverside20251512‹3
Riverside20241212‹3
Riverside2023136‹3
Riverside2022126‹3
Riverside2021139‹3
San Diego2025323‹3
San Diego20244112‹3
San Diego2023318‹3
San Diego202231104
San Diego20213816‹3
Santa Barbara20252710‹3
Santa Barbara20242511‹3
Santa Barbara2023197‹3
Santa Barbara2022267‹3
Santa Barbara2021267‹3
Santa Cruz20252915‹3
Santa Cruz202419164
Santa Cruz20232618‹3
Santa Cruz20222913‹3
Santa Cruz202123193
Universitywide2025523411
Universitywide2024463515
Universitywide2023433618
Universitywide2022453115
Universitywide2021574018

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

07Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 07 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot offered
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections8
Physics sections28
Chemistry sections10
Total enrollment (CRDC)414

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

08College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 08 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California1719.5%
California State University1618.4%
California community college3034.5%
In-state private33.5%
Out-of-state, 4-year11.1%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled2023.0%

87 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 77% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/high-tech-high-media-arts-8787"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="High Tech High Media Arts — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

High Tech High Media Arts

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.