ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Gardena Senior High

Gardena, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,343 students · Los Angeles Unified

No single number tells this school's story. Here's the honest picture.

46% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 35% in math. 95.8% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

Math

35%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

46%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,343

Total enrollment

Graduation

95.8%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 17%2022: 14%2023: 7%2024: 16%2025: 35%2019: 38%2022: 36%2023: 31%2024: 28%2025: 46%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 17%2022: 14%2023: 7%2024: 16%2025: 35%2019: 38%2022: 36%2023: 31%2024: 28%2025: 46%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201917%38%
202214%36%
20237%31%
202416%28%
202535%46%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Climbed from the 20th to the 32nd percentile of California high schools since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “40% proficient” and call it done. Gardena deserves a closer read. Four in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

The headline number: 0.2% suspension rate — versus 3.3% statewide.

333 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Gardena Senior High scores 47 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 32nd percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

The pandemic drop is behind this school: 40% of students meet the standard today, above the 27% who did in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 20th percentile · Scope Score 44 of 1002022 · 21st percentile · Scope Score 42 of 1002023 · 15th percentile · Scope Score 41 of 1002024 · 19th percentile · Scope Score 42 of 1002025 · 32nd percentile · Scope Score 47 of 100
ELAYellow(Increased Significantly)MathYellow(Increased Significantly)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1138%36%31%28%46%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1117%14%7%16%35%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Two in five of students here meet the standard. One in ten clear it by a lot.

ELA46% met or exceeded
Exceeded 18%Met 28%Nearly Met 26%Not Met 28%
Math35% met or exceeded
Exceeded 9%Met 26%Nearly Met 22%Not Met 44%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school4714%40%95.8%14.9%36.0%0.2%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope4754
% Exceeded14%20%
% Met+40%43%
Grad rate95.8%92.5%
College readiness14.9%43.0%
Absence36.0%23.1%
Suspension0.2%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

At Gardena Senior High in Gardena, 45.1% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 40.9% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Gardena Senior High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 4.2 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (33.2% Math proficient); Hispanic students (45.2% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 38.9 percentage points for disabilities students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 300 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 40% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 40%, district —, state 43%40%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 39%, district 36%, state 32%39% · −1 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 40%, district 36%, state 32%40% · −1 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 44%, district 42%, state 44%44% · +3 vs school
MaleMale: this school 37%, district 41%, state 42%37% · −3 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: this school 33%, district 30%, state 26%33% · −8 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 8%, district 14%, state 15%8% · −32 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 22%, district 9%, state 11%22% · −19 vs school
FilipinoFilipino: this school 62%, district 70%, state 65%62% · +21 vs school

6 of 15 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic72.3% AP · 66.0% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.1% enroll.
Asian8.3% AP · 5.1% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.6% AP · 0.6% enroll.
Black16.9% AP · 25.8% enroll.
White1.5% AP · 1.3% enroll.
Two or more races0.3% AP · 1.1% enroll.
English learners5.5% AP · 9.1% enroll.
Students with disabilities1.5% AP · 15.3% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

64%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 245 of 382 completers · includes community colleges

382Completers
26%
Other colleges101 completers · Outside the California community college system
38%
California community colleges144 completers · Enrolled within a year
36%
Not recorded enrolled137 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

64%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Gardena's class of 2023, 64% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 382 completers, 64% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 11 (3%)California State University 81 (21%)California community college 144 (38%)In-state private 3 (1%)Out-of-state, 4-year 5 (1%)Out-of-state, 2-year 1 (0%)Not enrolled 137 (36%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 15 of Gardena's 341 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Irvine the most common landing, with 3 enrollees.

Applied60fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted44
Enrolled15
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)

7 of 9 campuses are masked below UC's privacy floor — a protection, not a verdict.

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 20 enrolled, 2022

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 64% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (144) than at UC (11).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 18 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Gardena's teachers are authorized to teach 9 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — including Calculus AB, Biology, and Environmental Science.

Students per teacher18 · district 20
Teaching staff78 teachers
Avg. experience11.9 years
Fully credentialed81%
First-year teachers4%
Intern / emergency permit7.2%
PrincipalSonia Buenrostro
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$60,420 – $122,706
Principal salary$154,576 – $170,030
Superintendent salary$440,000

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers27 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers40 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught9
ShowHide the 9 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (2)Calculus AB · Precalculus
Sciences (2)Biology · Environmental Science
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (2)U.S. Government and Politics · United States History
World Languages & Cultures (1)Spanish Language and Culture

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended less, than the state average.

36.0% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — worth asking about on a tour.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 36.0%, district 22.8%, state 23.1%36.0% · +13.0pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 0.2%, district —, state 3.3%0.2% · −3.1pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1236.2%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $25,557 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$2,312 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $25,557, CA average $14,491$25,557 · spent at this school
Federal share$2,312 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$29,292 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 52%Instruction support 16%Student services 12%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$18,180 per pupil
2019$16,355 per pupil
2018$15,793 per pupil
2017$13,247 per pupil
2016$13,549 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Four in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 18% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino65.5% · district 73.2% · CA 56.1%
White1.6% · district 9.9% · CA 19.9%
Asian2.1% · district 3.4% · CA 10.2%
Black24.9% · district 7.2% · CA 4.8%
Other5.9% · district 6.3% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch93.5% · CA 64%
Median income$91K · CA $85K
Median home value$724K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+37% · CA 35%
ZIP population11,235
Median age43 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Gardena Senior HighPublicDeveloping14%40%School being viewed
California Academy of Mathematics and SciencePublicStrong81%97%2.2 mi
North HighPublicStrong39%70%2.3 mi
Torrance HighPublicStrong36%66%2.8 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Gardena →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

10 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Los Angeles Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Elementary · K–5

Amestoy ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 39/100
Chapman ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 54/100
Denker Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 43/100
Gardena ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 38/100
One Hundred Fifty-Sixth Street ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 60/100
One Hundred Fifty-Third StreetPublished boundary overlapScope Score 35/100
One Hundred Thirty-Fifth Street ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 42/100
Purche Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 27/100
Avalon Gardens ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 25/100
Annalee Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 43/100
Leapwood Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 32/100
Towne Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 44/100
Caroldale Learning CommunityPublished boundary overlapScope Score 40/100
Two Hundred Thirty-Second PlacePublished boundary overlapScope Score 53/100
Van Deene Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 53/100
Ambler Avenue ElementaryPublished boundary overlapScope Score 33/100
Del Amo ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 41/100
Carson Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 53/100
Catskill Avenue ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 41/100
Dolores Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 35/100
Halldale ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 50/100
Meyler Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 27/100
One Hundred Eighty-Sixth Street ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 41/100
Broadacres Avenue Elementary Visual & Performing AAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 30/100
Dominguez ElementaryAlternative · verify enrollment routeScope Score 50/100

Middle · 6–8

High school · 9–12

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Gardena Senior High a good high school?
Gardena Senior High has a Scope Score of 47 out of 100, placing it in the 32nd percentile of California high schools and ranked #1,126 statewide. 13.5% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 6.3 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Gardena Senior High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 40.4% of students at Gardena Senior High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 13.5% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 26.9% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 13.5% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 666 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Gardena Senior High rank in California?
Gardena Senior High ranks #1,126 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 32nd percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Gardena Senior High?
36.0% of students at Gardena Senior High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 0.2%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Gardena Senior High compare to other schools in Gardena?
Gardena Senior High scores 47/100 (32nd percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,343 students. Use the schools in Gardena page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Gardena Senior High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Gardena Senior High in Gardena, 45.1% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 40.9% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Gardena Senior High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 4.2 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (33.2% Math proficient); Hispanic students (45.2% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 38.9 percentage points for disabilities students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 300 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Gardena Senior High?
Gardena Senior High's teachers are authorized to teach 9 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: Biology, Calculus AB, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, Precalculus, Spanish Language and Culture, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Gardena Senior High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 15 Gardena Senior High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate95.8%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard13.5%19.8%22%
College readiness14.9%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded40.4%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism36.0%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.2%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)13.7%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Gardena Senior High: reading the evidence

Gardena posts 40% meeting the standard and 13.5% exceeding it, against 43% and 19.8% statewide. The gaps and the bright spots below are the real read.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Gardena Senior High is ranked #1,126 statewide · #152 of 196 in Los Angeles Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate95.8%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard13.5%19.8%22%
College readiness14.9%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded40.4%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism36.0%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.2%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)13.7%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 60 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 47 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 39 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 53 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 45 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 6.4pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 66 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · → no change vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 46 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1133318%28%26%28%46%−2
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 113339%26%22%44%35%+11

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide3492%16%70%12%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged30045.1%+4+7
Hispanic/Latino21845.2%+4+6
Black/African American8038.8%+3+6
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Gardena Senior High ←—4713.5%40.4%0.2%
California Academy of Mathematics and Science2.2 mi9680.6%96.8%0.4%
North High2.3 mi7439.5%69.8%2.2%
Torrance High2.8 mi7435.7%65.6%2.0%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
95.8%
AP Exam Prepared
14.9%
A-G Completion
72.7%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
64.1%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20194420#12128.7%27.3%25.0%0.4%
20224221#12597.1%25.0%42.9%0.2%
20234115#13805.9%19.5%48.9%0.2%
20244219#13377.9%21.8%42.4%0.2%
20254732#112613.5%40.4%36.0%0.2%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female25.1%39.4%+14.3pp
Male24.7%33.3%+8.6pp
Asian6.0%10.0%+4.0pp
Black/African American30.5%44.0%+13.5pp
Filipino24.4%20.6%-3.8pp
Hispanic/Latino23.0%35.0%+12.0pp
Pacific Islander45.5%——
Two or More Races40.0%27.3%-12.7pp
White44.4%36.4%-8.0pp
Students with Disabilities29.2%36.7%+7.5pp
English Learners25.3%36.4%+11.1pp
Foster Youth52.0%55.0%+3.0pp
Homeless38.0%52.4%+14.4pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged25.9%37.0%+11.1pp
All Students24.9%36.2%+11.3pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
20256044153.703.834.14
20247655123.693.874.03
20236046133.703.854.06
20226849203.713.853.96
20216745173.693.824.01
20205435123.733.954.19
2019512893.543.763.90
20185124113.483.844.04
20174921103.463.743.96
20163217103.493.723.73
20153325153.623.823.84
20144219143.413.763.79

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley2025194‹3
Berkeley202431‹3‹3
Berkeley2023296‹3
Berkeley202224‹3‹3
Berkeley2021223‹3
Davis2025106‹3
Davis20241912‹3
Davis2023186‹3
Davis2022133‹3
Davis20212093
Irvine20254883
Irvine202463156
Irvine20234263
Irvine20225010‹3
Irvine2021488‹3
Los Angeles20254853
Los Angeles2024604‹3
Los Angeles20234333
Los Angeles2022575‹3
Los Angeles20215344
Merced20251515‹3
Merced202486‹3
Merced202398‹3
Merced202213113
Merced202176‹3
Riverside20253530‹3
Riverside20243521‹3
Riverside20233018‹3
Riverside20223321‹3
Riverside20213822‹3
San Diego20253313‹3
San Diego20244625‹3
San Diego202339134
San Diego202238226
San Diego202137166
Santa Barbara20252212‹3
Santa Barbara2024229‹3
Santa Barbara20232315‹3
Santa Barbara2022188‹3
Santa Barbara2021198‹3
Santa Cruz2025106‹3
Santa Cruz20241610‹3
Santa Cruz2023135‹3
Santa Cruz2022145‹3
Santa Cruz2021166‹3
Universitywide2025604415
Universitywide2024765512
Universitywide2023604613
Universitywide2022684920
Universitywide2021674517

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
Precalculusthis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count11
AP enrollment325
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections1
Physics sections2
Chemistry sections9
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,489

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California112.9%
California State University8121.2%
California community college14437.7%
In-state private30.8%
Out-of-state, 4-year51.3%
Out-of-state, 2-year10.3%
Not enrolled13735.9%

382 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 64% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/gardena-senior-high-3241"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Gardena Senior High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Gardena Senior High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.