ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Torrance High

Torrance, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,879 students · Torrance Unified

Most kids here clear the bar, year after year. The question is what happens after that.

80% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 51% in math. 99.1% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Strong All-Around

What this means for your family

Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

Math

51%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

80%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,879

Total enrollment

Graduation

99.1%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 50%2022: 48%2023: 43%2024: 52%2025: 51%2019: 60%2022: 79%2023: 79%2024: 80%2025: 80%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 50%2022: 48%2023: 43%2024: 52%2025: 51%2019: 60%2022: 79%2023: 79%2024: 80%2025: 80%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201950%60%
202248%79%
202343%79%
202452%80%
202551%80%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Climbed from the 75th to the 91st percentile since 2019 — past roughly 200 high schools.

Most rating sites would stop at “66% proficient” and call it done. Torrance deserves a closer read. One in three of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Torrance's low-income kids hit 71.0% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

480 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Torrance High scores 74 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 91st percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

The pandemic drop is behind this school: 66% of students meet the standard today, above the 55% who did in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 75th percentile · Scope Score 64 of 1002022 · 87th percentile · Scope Score 70 of 1002023 · 86th percentile · Scope Score 69 of 1002024 · 89th percentile · Scope Score 71 of 1002025 · 91st percentile · Scope Score 74 of 100
ELABlue(Increased)MathGreen(Increased)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1160%79%79%80%80%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1150%48%43%52%51%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Three in five of students here meet the standard. One in three clear it by a lot.

ELA80% met or exceeded
Exceeded 45%Met 35%Nearly Met 16%Not Met 5%
Math51% met or exceeded
Exceeded 26%Met 25%Nearly Met 25%Not Met 24%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school7436%66%99.1%57.9%11.9%2.0%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope7454
% Exceeded36%20%
% Met+66%43%
Grad rate99.1%92.5%
College readiness57.9%43.0%
Absence11.9%23.1%
Suspension2.0%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

71.0% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 65% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 65%, district —, state 43%65%
FemaleFemale: this school 67%, district 65%, state 44%67% · +1 vs school
MaleMale: this school 64%, district 65%, state 42%64% · −1 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 52%, district 49%, state 32%52% · −14 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 56%, district 51%, state 32%56% · −9 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 83%, district 82%, state 72%83% · +17 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 68%, district 66%, state 56%68% · +2 vs school
FilipinoFilipino: this school 84%, district 77%, state 65%84% · +18 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 79%, district 74%, state 56%79% · +14 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 23%, district 32%, state 15%23% · −43 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 28%, district 31%, state 11%28% · −37 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: this school 44%, district 43%, state 26%44% · −22 vs school
HomelessHomeless: too few students to report‹11
Pacific IslanderPacific Islander: too few students to report‹11
Foster YouthFoster Youth: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic32.1% AP · 42.7% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.3% AP · 0.2% enroll.
Asian44.0% AP · 29.5% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.3% AP · 0.7% enroll.
Black3.1% AP · 3.8% enroll.
White13.1% AP · 15.3% enroll.
Two or more races6.9% AP · 7.8% enroll.
English learners2.8% AP · 9.0% enroll.
Students with disabilities1.0% AP · 8.9% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

76%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 400 of 528 completers · includes community colleges

528Completers
38%
Other colleges198 completers · Outside the California community college system
38%
California community colleges202 completers · Enrolled within a year
24%
Not recorded enrolled128 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

76%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Torrance's class of 2023, 76% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 528 completers, 76% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 50 (9%)California State University 95 (18%)California community college 202 (38%)In-state private 23 (4%)Out-of-state, 4-year 28 (5%)Out-of-state, 2-year 2 (0%)Not enrolled 128 (24%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 60 of Torrance's 465 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Irvine the most common landing, with 16 enrollees.

Applied141fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted112
Enrolled60
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Irvine 16Riverside 12Los Angeles 10Davis 9San Diego 6Berkeley 3Santa Cruz 3Merced ‹3Santa Barbara ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 76% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (202) than at UC (50).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 25 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Torrance's teachers are authorized to teach 20 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics 1.

Students per teacher25 · district 26
Teaching staff84 teachers
Avg. experience17.1 years
Fully credentialed91%
First-year teachers1%
Intern / emergency permit1.2%
PrincipalKarim Girgis
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$62,009 – $122,300
Principal salary$154,486 – $196,119
Superintendent salary$335,280

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers213 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers36 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught20
ShowHide the 20 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (5)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science Principles · Precalculus · Statistics
Sciences (4)Biology · Chemistry · Environmental Science · Physics 1
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (6)Human Geography · Macroeconomics · Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (2)Japanese Language and Culture · Spanish Language and Culture
Arts (1)Music Theory

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 11.9%, district 9.4%, state 23.1%11.9% · −11.1pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 2.0%, district —, state 3.3%2.0% · −1.3pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1211.3%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $17,555 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$14 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $17,555, CA average $14,491$17,555 · spent at this school
Federal share$14 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$16,002 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 63%Instruction support 11%Student services 9%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 9%Other 1%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$11,441 per pupil
2019$11,279 per pupil
2018$11,194 per pupil
2017$10,632 per pupil
2016$10,442 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

One in three of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 40% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino44.3% · district 34.7% · CA 56.1%
White15.0% · district 18.5% · CA 19.9%
Asian17.0% · district 27.0% · CA 10.2%
Black4.3% · district 4.1% · CA 4.8%
Other19.4% · district 15.7% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch36.4% · CA 64%
Median income$93K · CA $85K
Median home value$923K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+40% · CA 35%
ZIP population41,787
Median age39 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Torrance HighPublicStrong36%66%School being viewed
North HighPublicStrong39%70%2.5 mi
Humanities and Arts (HARTS) Academy of Los AngelesPublicSolid25%49%2.0 mi
Nathaniel Narbonne Senior HighPublicDeveloping16%43%2.0 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Torrance →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

17 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Torrance Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask how the school challenges kids who clear the standard early. The gap between meeting and exceeding is where pacing shows.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Torrance High a good high school?
Torrance High has a Scope Score of 74 out of 100, placing it in the 91st percentile of California high schools and ranked #152 statewide. 35.7% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 15.9 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Torrance High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 65.6% of students at Torrance High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 35.7% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 29.9% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 35.7% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 965 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Torrance High rank in California?
Torrance High ranks #152 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 91st percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Torrance High?
11.9% of students at Torrance High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 2.0%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Torrance High compare to other schools in Torrance?
Torrance High scores 74/100 (91st percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,879 students. Use the schools in Torrance page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Torrance High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Torrance High in Torrance, 71.0% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 55.4% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Torrance High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 15.6 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (41.5% Math proficient); Hispanic students (70.1% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 48.4 percentage points for disabilities students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 193 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Torrance High?
Torrance High's teachers are authorized to teach 20 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Computer Science Principles, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, Human Geography, Japanese Language and Culture, Macroeconomics, Music Theory, Physics 1, Precalculus, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Torrance High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 60 Torrance High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

How fast English learners gain fluency carries this score. The test levels clear the state's too.

41.5% of English learners reached the top ELPAC level, versus 18.0% statewide.

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate99.1%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard35.7%19.8%22%
College readiness57.9%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded65.6%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism11.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate2.0%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)41.5%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Torrance High: reading the evidence

Torrance posts 66% meeting the standard, and 35.7% going well past it. Most kids here keep up. Fewer get pushed further. Ask the school what it does for a child who already finds the work easy.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Torrance High is ranked #152 statewide · #4 of 4 in Torrance Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate99.1%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard35.7%19.8%22%
College readiness57.9%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded65.6%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism11.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate2.0%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)41.5%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 63 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 72 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 64 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 72 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 65 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 1.1pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 58 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.6pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 18.0% · index 92 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1148045%35%16%5%80%+31
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1148526%25%25%24%51%+28

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide49913%27%56%4%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged19371.0%+16+33
Hispanic/Latino19470.1%+16+31
Asian9189.0%+7+15
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Torrance High ←—7435.7%65.6%2.0%
North High2.5 mi7439.5%69.8%2.2%
Humanities and Arts (HARTS) Academy of Los Angeles2 mi6124.6%49.2%0.7%
Nathaniel Narbonne Senior High2 mi5115.6%42.8%0.2%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
99.1%
AP Exam Prepared
57.9%
A-G Completion
72.0%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
75.8%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20196475#37821.4%54.8%12.0%3.3%
20227087#20029.8%63.2%16.1%1.8%
20236986#23528.1%60.9%13.7%3.1%
20247189#18231.9%65.6%10.8%2.6%
20257491#15235.7%65.6%11.9%2.0%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female10.7%10.9%+0.2pp
Male12.3%11.8%-0.5pp
Asian8.9%6.2%-2.7pp
Black/African American7.9%14.8%+6.9pp
Filipino4.6%4.0%-0.6pp
Hispanic/Latino13.6%12.5%-1.1pp
Pacific Islander18.2%36.4%+18.2pp
Two or More Races7.3%8.6%+1.3pp
White17.1%17.2%+0.1pp
Students with Disabilities23.3%23.6%+0.3pp
English Learners13.4%17.0%+3.6pp
Homeless53.8%50.0%-3.8pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged14.6%15.4%+0.8pp
All Students11.5%11.3%-0.2pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
2025141112603.994.044.13
2024156106533.934.004.09
2023181117513.883.974.05
2022167105513.974.114.17
202111979453.994.104.16
202011587583.964.084.15
201914585523.864.084.14
201811765433.834.094.11
201713883493.753.974.06
201613074493.743.944.01
201513070453.764.034.09
201411471493.854.084.15

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley202574103
Berkeley20247585
Berkeley202378137
Berkeley2022867‹3
Berkeley20216593
Davis202563289
Davis20244618‹3
Davis20236219‹3
Davis202264234
Davis20215019‹3
Irvine20251243216
Irvine20241373310
Irvine2023138248
Irvine20221383211
Irvine20211073612
Los Angeles20251091010
Los Angeles2024126108
Los Angeles20231381211
Los Angeles2022137139
Los Angeles202198117
Merced20253534‹3
Merced2024109‹3
Merced202326244
Merced20221817‹3
Merced20211010‹3
Riverside2025858212
Riverside2024796915
Riverside2023735513
Riverside2022625211
Riverside202149418
San Diego2025105256
San Diego2024114228
San Diego2023132254
San Diego2022115308
San Diego202197325
Santa Barbara20258425‹3
Santa Barbara202484254
Santa Barbara202311128‹3
Santa Barbara2022106254
Santa Barbara202172216
Santa Cruz202538303
Santa Cruz20244838‹3
Santa Cruz20236342‹3
Santa Cruz202252273
Santa Cruz20212213‹3
Universitywide202514111260
Universitywide202415610653
Universitywide202318111751
Universitywide202216710551
Universitywide20211197945

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
Human Geographythis school
Japanese Language and Culturethis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Music Theorythis school
Physics 1this school
Precalculusthis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count18
AP enrollment579
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 126 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections15
Physics sections7
Chemistry sections38
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,923

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California509.5%
California State University9518.0%
California community college20238.3%
In-state private234.4%
Out-of-state, 4-year285.3%
Out-of-state, 2-year20.4%
Not enrolled12824.2%

528 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 76% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/torrance-high-8752"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Torrance High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Torrance High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.