ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

El Capitan High

Lakeside, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,810 students · Grossmont Union High

An academic strength in the reported results. Look at who shares in it.

49% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 22% in math. 89.3% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

Math

22%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

49%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,810

Total enrollment

Graduation

89.3%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 31%2022: 23%2023: 20%2024: 25%2025: 22%2019: 61%2022: 60%2023: 54%2024: 56%2025: 49%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 31%2022: 23%2023: 20%2024: 25%2025: 22%2019: 61%2022: 60%2023: 54%2024: 56%2025: 49%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201931%61%
202223%60%
202320%54%
202425%56%
202522%49%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Slipped from the 69th to the 53rd percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “35% proficient” and call it done. El Capitan deserves a closer read. More than half of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

The headline number: 75.7% of students leave measurably college-ready, versus 43.0% statewide.

394 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

El Capitan High scores 54 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 53rd percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 35% meet the standard today, versus 46% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 69th percentile · Scope Score 61 of 1002022 · 67th percentile · Scope Score 58 of 1002023 · 59th percentile · Scope Score 55 of 1002024 · 66th percentile · Scope Score 58 of 1002025 · 53rd percentile · Scope Score 54 of 100
ELAOrange(Declined)MathOrange(Declined Significantly)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1161%60%54%56%49%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1131%23%20%25%22%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in three of students here meet the standard. One in ten clear it by a lot.

ELA49% met or exceeded
Exceeded 15%Met 33%Nearly Met 22%Not Met 29%
Math22% met or exceeded
Exceeded 8%Met 14%Nearly Met 16%Not Met 62%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school5412%35%89.3%75.7%25.1%3.2%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope5454
% Exceeded12%20%
% Met+35%43%
Grad rate89.3%92.5%
College readiness75.7%43.0%
Absence25.1%23.1%
Suspension3.2%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard about even with the same group statewide.

At El Capitan High in Lakeside, 40.6% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 43.3% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. El Capitan High trails its district average for low-income students by 2.6 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (17.0% Math proficient); White students (59.4% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 43.8 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 214 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 35% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 35%, district —, state 43%35%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 29%, district 32%, state 32%29% · −6 vs school
MaleMale: this school 32%, district 38%, state 42%32% · −3 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 38%, district 40%, state 44%38% · +3 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 44%, district 46%, state 56%44% · +9 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 28%, district 32%, state 32%28% · −7 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 13%, district 11%, state 15%13% · −22 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 6%, district 5%, state 11%6% · −29 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 37%, district 47%, state 56%37% · +2 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 14%, district 37%, state 72%14% · −21 vs school
Military-ConnectedMilitary-Connected: this school 42%, district 48%, state 46%42% · +7 vs school

5 of 16 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored

In the 2020-21 federal collection — the newest there is — Students with disabilities students were 20% of El Capitan's enrollment but 4% of its AP seats; ask the school what's changed since.

Hispanic17.3% AP · 24.0% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native2.6% AP · 2.6% enroll.
Asian3.5% AP · 3.3% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.5% enroll.
Black1.8% AP · 2.8% enroll.
White70.0% AP · 62.8% enroll.
Two or more races4.8% AP · 4.0% enroll.
English learners1.8% AP · 5.3% enroll.
Students with disabilities3.7% AP · 19.7% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

64%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 216 of 336 completers · includes community colleges

336Completers
19%
Other colleges65 completers · Outside the California community college system
45%
California community colleges151 completers · Enrolled within a year
36%
Not recorded enrolled120 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

64%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of El Capitan's class of 2023, 64% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 336 completers, 64% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 5 (1%)California State University 36 (11%)California community college 151 (45%)In-state private 3 (1%)Out-of-state, 4-year 15 (4%)Out-of-state, 2-year 6 (2%)Not enrolled 120 (36%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 27 of El Capitan's 424 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — San Diego the most common landing, with 8 enrollees.

Applied81fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted59
Enrolled27
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)

5 of 9 campuses are masked below UC's privacy floor — a protection, not a verdict.

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 64% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (151) than at UC (5).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 22 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

El Capitan's teachers are authorized to teach 19 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus AB, Physics 1, and Computer Science Principles.

Students per teacher22 · district 23
Teaching staff101 teachers
Avg. experience14.6 years
Fully credentialed77%
First-year teachers2%
Intern / emergency permit0.7%
PrincipalCarrie Gaeir
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$60,339 – $126,286
Principal salaryUp to $184,237
Superintendent salary$310,000

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers181 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers41 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught19
ShowHide the 19 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (3)Calculus AB · Computer Science Principles · Statistics
Sciences (2)Biology · Physics 1
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (6)Human Geography · Macroeconomics · Microeconomics · Psychology · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (3)Chinese Language and Culture · Spanish Language and Culture · Spanish Literature and Culture
Arts (3)2-D Art and Design · 3-D Art and Design · Drawing

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 25.1%, district 23.2%, state 23.1%25.1% · +2.1pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 3.2%, district —, state 3.3%3.2% · −0.0pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1224.9%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $20,257 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$619 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $20,257, CA average $14,491$20,257 · spent at this school
Federal share$619 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$21,618 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 59%Instruction support 12%Student services 11%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 1%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$15,094 per pupil
2019$14,426 per pupil
2018$14,539 per pupil
2017$10,759 per pupil
2016$10,591 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

More than half of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 25% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino38.3% · district 44.5% · CA 56.1%
White48.5% · district 36.9% · CA 19.9%
Asian2.4% · district 3.5% · CA 10.2%
Black1.6% · district 5.8% · CA 4.8%
Other9.2% · district 9.4% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch52.1% · CA 64%
Median income$108K · CA $85K
Median home value$723K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+27% · CA 35%
ZIP population46,216
Median age39 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
El Capitan HighPublicSolid12%35%School being viewed
River Valley CharterCharterStrong49%76%1.8 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Lakeside →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

5 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Grossmont Union High.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is El Capitan High a good high school?
El Capitan High has a Scope Score of 54 out of 100, placing it in the 53rd percentile of California high schools and ranked #777 statewide. 11.7% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 8.1 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are El Capitan High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 35.2% of students at El Capitan High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 11.7% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 23.5% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 11.7% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 786 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does El Capitan High rank in California?
El Capitan High ranks #777 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 53rd percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at El Capitan High?
25.1% of students at El Capitan High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 3.2%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does El Capitan High compare to other schools in Lakeside?
El Capitan High scores 54/100 (53rd percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,810 students. Use the schools in Lakeside page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does El Capitan High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At El Capitan High in Lakeside, 40.6% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 43.3% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. El Capitan High trails its district average for low-income students by 2.6 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (17.0% Math proficient); White students (59.4% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 43.8 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 214 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at El Capitan High?
El Capitan High's teachers are authorized to teach 19 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, 3-D Art and Design, Biology, Calculus AB, Chinese Language and Culture, Computer Science Principles, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Human Geography, Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, Physics 1, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Spanish Literature and Culture, Statistics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from El Capitan High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 27 El Capitan High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

College readiness carries this score. The test levels sit just under the state's.

75.7% of students leave measurably college-ready, versus 43.0% statewide.

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate89.3%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard11.7%19.8%22%
College readiness75.7%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded35.2%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism25.1%23.1%5%
Suspension rate3.2%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)18.0%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

El Capitan High: reading the evidence

El Capitan posts 35.2% meeting the standard — versus 43.2% statewide in the available reporting. Look across subjects and student groups, then ask about the classroom experience.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

El Capitan High is ranked #777 statewide · #7 of 14 in Grossmont Union High.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate89.3%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard11.7%19.8%22%
College readiness75.7%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded35.2%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism25.1%23.1%5%
Suspension rate3.2%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)18.0%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 53 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 45 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 74 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 49 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 54 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · → no change vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 52 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.2pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 18.0% · index 53 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1139415%33%22%29%49%+0
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 113928%14%16%62%22%−2

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide4123%22%61%13%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged21440.6%−3+2
White18059.4%+1−2
Hispanic/Latino16141.0%−3+2
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
El Capitan High ←—5411.7%35.2%3.2%
River Valley Charter1.8 mi7148.6%75.7%1.1%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
89.3%
AP Exam Prepared
75.7%
A-G Completion
50.7%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
64.3%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20196169#47122.7%46.4%20.8%4.4%
20225867#52018.4%41.5%31.1%4.8%
20235559#66213.6%36.8%27.6%4.9%
20245866#55118.9%40.9%25.2%3.4%
20255453#77711.7%35.2%25.1%3.2%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female22.4%26.1%+3.7pp
Male18.7%23.8%+5.1pp
Asian5.6%20.0%+14.4pp
Black/African American27.1%12.1%-15.0pp
Filipino0.0%14.3%+14.3pp
Hispanic/Latino25.2%27.3%+2.1pp
American Indian/Alaska Native27.0%26.9%-0.1pp
Two or More Races25.3%31.0%+5.7pp
White17.9%23.1%+5.2pp
Students with Disabilities27.7%34.3%+6.6pp
English Learners26.8%31.4%+4.6pp
Homeless47.8%——
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged25.8%28.5%+2.7pp
All Students20.6%24.9%+4.3pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
20258159273.954.024.13
20245028143.914.034.09
2023472153.884.074.05
20223723113.994.144.18
20213928133.924.114.21
20204330133.903.994.13
20194219123.824.104.15
20184927133.814.104.14
20172819103.814.044.02
2016261783.613.743.71
20153120123.813.904.04
20142715123.794.064.03

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley2025363‹3
Berkeley202411‹3‹3
Berkeley202319‹3‹3
Berkeley202216‹3‹3
Berkeley202113‹3‹3
Davis202532197
Davis2024117‹3
Davis2023113‹3
Davis202211‹3‹3
Davis2021146‹3
Irvine2025405‹3
Irvine202425‹3‹3
Irvine202322‹3‹3
Irvine202212‹3‹3
Irvine202114‹3‹3
Los Angeles20254973
Los Angeles2024273‹3
Los Angeles202326‹3‹3
Los Angeles202220‹3‹3
Los Angeles202119‹3‹3
Merced20252221‹3
Merced202454‹3
Merced202255‹3
Riverside20252322‹3
Riverside20241111‹3
Riverside202395‹3
Riverside202177‹3
San Diego202563168
San Diego20243773
San Diego2023384‹3
San Diego20222994
San Diego202133197
Santa Barbara20254714‹3
Santa Barbara202420104
Santa Barbara2023189‹3
Santa Barbara20222110‹3
Santa Barbara202115104
Santa Cruz202533285
Santa Cruz2024104‹3
Santa Cruz2023114‹3
Santa Cruz2022128‹3
Santa Cruz20217‹3‹3
Universitywide2025815927
Universitywide2024502814
Universitywide202347215
Universitywide2022372311
Universitywide2021392813

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
3-D Art and Designthis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Chinese Language and Culturethis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Human Geographythis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Microeconomicsthis school
Physics 1this school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Spanish Literature and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count18
AP enrollment544
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections1
Physics sections9
Chemistry sections8
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,614

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California51.5%
California State University3610.7%
California community college15144.9%
In-state private30.9%
Out-of-state, 4-year154.5%
Out-of-state, 2-year61.8%
Not enrolled12035.7%

336 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 64% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/el-capitan-high-1809"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="El Capitan High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

El Capitan High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.