Public school · Antelope Valley Union High

Eastside High

Lancaster · 9–12 · 2,631 students (2024–25)

9thpercentileNeeds Support

Top: Antelope Valley Union High’s other 9 scored high schools. Bottom: California’s 1,500 scored public high schools by Scope Score, spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
40 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
In 2024–25, 89% of the class graduated in four years (593 of 666); across California, 89%. Source
Source
CDE four-year adjusted cohort graduation rate (ACGR), 2024–25
Students
students in the four-year graduation cohort: 666
Comparison
California: graduates divided by students in the four-year cohort across 2,281 public schools’ rows (our combination, not CDE’s published state rate; 432,702 of 487,177).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four high schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How are students doing in English and math?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
14%
Met standard
30%
Below standard
56%

44% met or exceeded · 539 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaAntelope Valley Union High
Exceeded14%27%13%
Met30%30%26%
Nearly met26%20%25%
Not met30%23%36%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
2%
Met standard
6%
Below standard
92%

8% met or exceeded · 537 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaAntelope Valley Union High
Exceeded2%14%4%
Met6%16%9%
Nearly met20%21%18%
Not met72%49%69%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Grade 11 tests are one part of the picture. Graduation, preparation and college destinations answer different questions below.

Ask: How do you help students strengthen their skills while keeping graduation and post-school plans on track?

Things worth knowing

Open a finding for the evidence
9.8% of students (285 of 2,920) were suspended at least once in 2024–25, about three times the rate at the average California high school.2024–25
9.8%of students were suspended at least once, 2024–25

Ask: When a student is suspended, what happens before and after, and who talks with the family?

Source
CDE suspension file, 2024–25
Students
all students enrolled during the year (CDE’s cumulative enrollment): 2,920
Comparison
285 of 2,920. District and California figures are averages of school rates (10 Antelope Valley Union High schools; 1,500 scored California high schools), our calculation.

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school44%
California57%

Tested: 539 here · 432,651 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school44%
Antelope Valley Union High39%

Tested: 539 here · 4,869 in Antelope Valley Union High. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 13 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaAntelope Valley Union High
Exceeded14%27%13%
Met30%30%26%
Nearly met26%20%25%
Not met30%23%36%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school8%
California30%

Tested: 537 here · 431,903 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school8%
Antelope Valley Union High13%

Tested: 537 here · 4,858 in Antelope Valley Union High. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 13 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaAntelope Valley Union High
Exceeded2%14%4%
Met6%16%9%
Nearly met20%21%18%
Not met72%49%69%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

How have results changed?

Ask: Most students in grade 11 haven’t yet met the state’s standards in English and math. What extra help do they get, and how do you know it’s working?

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

After graduation

Do students finish prepared, and where do they go?

Preparation · separate measures and cohorts

Graduated in four years

89%

Across California: 89%

2024–25 · 593 of 666 students in the four-year cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, adjusted cohort graduation records. Comparison is SchoolScope’s combination of graduates and cohort counts across the reference schools, not CDE’s published state rate.

College / career Prepared

36%

Across California: 52%

2024–25 · Students in the CDE College/Career Indicator cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, College/Career Indicator overall Prepared. Prepared is CDE’s overall classification, not AP participation or a college admission rate.

Completed UC/CSU courses

37%

Average California high school: 56%

2024–25 · High-school graduates completing A–G

Source and definition

California Department of Education, A–G completion records. Course completion is separate from college enrollment.

Destinations · class of 2023

Where graduates went

55% enrolled in college within 12 months · 514 high-school completers

  • University of California21 · 4%
  • California State University49 · 10%
  • California community college186 · 36%
  • In-state private5 · 1%
  • Out-of-state, 4-year17 · 3%
  • Out-of-state, 2-year3 · 1%
  • Not enrolled233 · 45%

Source: CDE college-going records, class of 2023. Shares are our arithmetic: count ÷ completers. A dash is unavailable, not zero. “Not enrolled” does not describe employment, military service or other routes.

One destination in detail

University of California

UC fall 2025 entry · matched school records · counts, not a school rating

Applied
67
Admitted
47
Enrolled
23

Source: UC admissions by source school. “Masked” gives no numeric bound; “+” marks a partial count; a dash is unavailable.

UC years and campus records

UC reports fall first-year applicants, admits and enrollees separately. These records do not establish the school’s effect on admission. “+” is a partial SchoolScope sum across linked codes; missing contributions may be zero. A reported zero remains zero. Never assume zero or a positive hidden value for missing or masked counts.

  • Fall 2025Applied 67 · Admitted 47 · Enrolled 23
  • Fall 2024Applied 82 · Admitted 58 · Enrolled 24
  • Fall 2023Applied 74 · Admitted 51 · Enrolled 24
  • Fall 2022Applied 96 · Admitted 64 · Enrolled 26
  • Fall 2021Applied 98 · Admitted 61 · Enrolled 26
  • Fall 2020Applied 61 · Admitted 40 · Enrolled 13
  • Fall 2019Applied 97 · Admitted 55 · Enrolled 30
  • Fall 2018Applied 96 · Admitted 51 · Enrolled 26
  • Fall 2017Applied 76 · Admitted 45 · Enrolled 26
  • Fall 2016Applied 81 · Admitted 59 · Enrolled 46
  • Fall 2015Applied 96 · Admitted 49 · Enrolled 34
  • Fall 2014Applied 76 · Admitted 39 · Enrolled 29
  • Fall 2013Applied 86 · Admitted 42 · Enrolled 29
  • Fall 2012Applied 54 · Admitted 38 · Enrolled 23
  • Fall 2011Applied 50 · Admitted 31 · Enrolled 23
  • Fall 2010Applied 56 · Admitted 44 · Enrolled 28
  • Fall 2009Applied 24 · Admitted 18 · Enrolled 10

Campus records · fall 2025

  • BerkeleyApplied 25 · Admitted 4 · Enrolled Masked
  • DavisApplied 23 · Admitted 11 · Enrolled Masked
  • IrvineApplied 45 · Admitted 12 · Enrolled 5
  • Los AngelesApplied 51 · Admitted 4 · Enrolled 4
  • MercedApplied 23 · Admitted 22 · Enrolled Masked
  • RiversideApplied 36 · Admitted 27 · Enrolled 3
  • San DiegoApplied 36 · Admitted 12 · Enrolled Masked
  • Santa BarbaraApplied 26 · Admitted 15 · Enrolled 5
  • Santa CruzApplied 12 · Admitted 9 · Enrolled Masked

Do not add campus application or admission counts: a student may appear at multiple campuses.

Courses and opportunities

What could my child study here?

AP course authorizations

College Board AP Course Audit Ledger · 2025 - 2026. Authorization does not confirm this term’s schedule, access or enrollment.

Math & Computer Science 3
  • Calculus AB
  • Computer Science Principles
  • Precalculus
Sciences 2
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
English 2
  • English Language and Composition
  • English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science 5
  • Human Geography
  • Psychology
  • U.S. Government and Politics
  • United States History
  • World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures 1
  • Spanish Language and Culture
Arts 2
  • 2-D Art and Design
  • Drawing

Courses, access and preparation

AP course or exam pathway qualifiers
192 of 241 Prepared students · 79.7%

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI, all students · 667 eligible students. Cohort includes the current four-year graduation cohort and only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Qualifies through two AP exams scored 3+, two AP courses completed with C− or better, or a qualifying combination in different subjects. Share among Prepared students, not all exam takers or course authorizations.

Career pathway: CCI CTE+ qualifiers
45 students

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI: completed a CTE pathway with C− or better in its capstone plus an additional criterion. Not all CTE completers or a list of courses offered.

Ask before choosing courses

Which courses will run when my child attends, what prerequisites apply, and how do students get support entering advanced or career pathways?

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

30 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
24in 100 at the average Antelope Valley Union High school22in 100 at the average California high school

856 of 2,828 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school30 in 100
at the average Antelope Valley Union High school24 in 100
at the average California high school22 in 100
9.8%of students were suspended at least once (285 of 2,920), 2024–25
8.2%at the average Antelope Valley Union High school3.2%at the average California high school

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grade 11 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

413 English · 411 math tested

English42% / 49%
Math7% / 21%

Hispanic or Latino

371 English · 370 math tested

English46% / 49%
Math9% / 19%

Black or African American

112 English · 111 math tested

English28% / 41%
Math4% / 16%

Two or more races

30 tested per subject

English43% / 67%
Math10% / 42%

English learners

44 tested per subject

English2% / 8%
Math7% / 6%

Students with disabilities

68 tested per subject

English7% / 18%
Math0% / 6%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrade 11 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Antelope Valley Union Highvs California
Low-income · 413 tested in English, 411 in math
English42%+834%−749%
Math7%−310%−1421%
Hispanic or Latino · 371 tested in English, 370 in math
English46%+739%−349%
Math9%−312%−1019%
Black or African American · 112 tested in English, 111 in math
English28%+523%−1341%
Math4%−37%−1216%
Two or more races · 30 tested
English43%−144%−2467%
Math10%−1020%−3242%
English learners · 44 tested
English2%−24%−68%
Math7%+43%+16%
Students with disabilities · 68 tested
English7%−310%−1118%
Math0%−33%−66%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Antelope Valley Union High, and across California. None is green: no group that is behind statewide does 10 or more points better here than the same group statewide.

White and homeless students and foster youth: fewer than 30 tested here. No published rate here for Asian, Filipino, American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander and military-family students. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

Low-income and Black or African American students, students of two or more races and students with disabilities did worse than the same groups statewide. Hispanic or Latino students did worse than the same group statewide in math.

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Eastside High in Lancaster, 41.9% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 34.0% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Eastside High’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 7.9 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (7.3% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (46.4% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 41.5 percentage points: English learners in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 413 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. Hispanic or Latino: 68%2. Black or African American: 23%3. Two or more races: 4%4. White: 4%5. Filipino: 1%Unallocated share: <1%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. Hispanic or Latino68%
  2. Black or African American23%
  3. Two or more races4%
  4. White4%
  5. Filipino1%
  6. Asian—
  7. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  8. Pacific Islander—
  9. Not reported—
  10. Unallocated share<1%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
Hispanic or Latino68%
Black or African American23%
Two or more races4%
White4%
Filipino1%
Asian—
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—
Not reported—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

About 7 in 10 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (68%, 1,801 of 2,631). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers109
Average experience10 years
First-year teachers20%
76% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 76.06%: 86.3 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 113.5 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

Getting in

Ask Antelope Valley Union High which school serves your address.

eastsidehigh.org

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
3200 East Avenue J-8, Lancaster 93535

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. When a student is suspended, what happens before and after, and who talks with the family?
  2. Most students in grade 11 haven’t yet met the state’s standards in English and math. What extra help do they get, and how do you know it’s working?
  3. Which courses and career pathways are running this year, and who can enroll?
  4. How do counselors help students plan for college, training or work?

Call (661) 946-3800 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar high schools2025 statewide percentile
  • Palmdale HighAntelope Valley Union High · 2,208 enrolled · 68.5% meal eligibility3rdNeeds Support
  • John A. Rowland HighRowland Unified · 2,016 enrolled · 68.1% meal eligibility68thSolid
  • Chatsworth Charter HighLos Angeles Unified · 1,743 enrolled · 68.9% meal eligibility55thSolid
  • River Valley HighYuba City Unified · 1,695 enrolled · 68.9% meal eligibility19thNeeds Support
  • El Modena HighOrange Unified · 1,795 enrolled · 69% meal eligibility65thSolid
  • Temescal Canyon HighLake Elsinore Unified · 2,373 enrolled · 67.8% meal eligibility54thSolid
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 60.5–76.5% meal eligibility and 1,316–5,262 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is Eastside High a good high school?
Eastside High is in the 9th percentile (Needs Support) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. Its Scope Score is 40 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In 2024–25, 89% of the class graduated in four years (593 of 666); across California, 89%. The Scope Score combines 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate, exceeded standard, college/career readiness, met or exceeded the standard, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Eastside High's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 44% of students tested in grade 11 met or exceeded the English standard and 8% the math standard; 14% and 2% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 57% and 30% met or exceeded, 27% and 14% exceeded. 539 students were tested in English and 537 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does Eastside High rank in California?
Eastside High is in the 9th percentile of 1,500 California comprehensive high schools (Needs Support, 2025). Eastside High ranks #1,360 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Eastside High?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 30.3% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 856 chronically absent of 2,828 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 9.8%; 285 unduplicated suspended students of 2,920 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 30.3%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 9.6%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Eastside High compare to other schools in Lancaster?
Eastside High is in the 9th percentile (Needs Support) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 2,631 students. Use the schools in Lancaster page or the map view to compare nearby high schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Eastside High?
At Eastside High in Lancaster, 41.9% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 34.0% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Eastside High’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 7.9 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (7.3% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (46.4% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 41.5 percentage points: English learners in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 413 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Eastside High?
Eastside High had own-school AP authorizations for 15 of the 40 subjects in the College Board's 2025–26 AP program: 2-D Art and Design, Biology, Calculus AB, Chemistry, Computer Science Principles, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Human Geography, Precalculus, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. The audit records authorization, not whether a section ran that year or how students performed on AP exams. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Eastside High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 23 Eastside High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

Eastside High is ranked #1,360 statewide · #6 of 10 in Antelope Valley Union High.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate89.0%92.9%25%
Exceeded standard8.1%20.3%22%
CCI overall Prepared36.1%51.7%20%
Met or exceeded26.1%43.8%18%
Chronic absenteeism30.3%22.7%5%
Suspension rate9.6%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)9.8%17.8%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.9% · index 53 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 20.3% · index 41 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
CCI overall Prepared
↓ vs CA 51.7% · index 45 on SchoolScope's high-school calibration scale; the state rate above is CDE's statewide student rate, not this school-model index
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.8% · index 43 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 22.7% · index 50 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · → no change vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 23 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 2.1pp higher vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 17.8% · index 40 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1153914%29%26%30%44%−5

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 115372%7%19%72%8%−15

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 11 · ELA59235.3%
2024 · Grade 11 · Math5905.4%
2023 · Grade 11 · ELA55134.7%
2023 · Grade 11 · Math5514.9%
2022 · Grade 11 · ELA52030.2%
2022 · Grade 11 · Math5227.3%
2019 · Grade 11 · ELA42536.5%
2019 · Grade 11 · Math4326.5%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide6361%9%73%17%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged41341.9%+8−7
Hispanic/Latino37146.4%+7−3
Black/African American11227.7%+5−13
Nearest high schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Susp
Eastside High ←—409th percentile · Needs Support · statewide · 20258.1%26.1%9.6%
California average—57School average · no percentile20.3%43.8%3.3%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders5.5%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$50,398 – $133,882
Average high school principal salary$181,958
Superintendent salary$336,653

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025: 40/100. Earlier scores are shown under the legacy model. The score models differ, so their results do not form one trend.

MeasureSource record
This school · CCI overall PreparedCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · all students in the current four-year graduation cohort, plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Overall CCI Prepared rate 36.1% · numerator 241 students classified Prepared · denominator 667 CCI students.
California · CCI overall PreparedCDE statewide CCI cohort · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · overall Prepared rate 51.7% · numerator 257,567 students classified Prepared · denominator 497,814 CCI students.
AP pathway among CCI Prepared studentsCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) ·AP pathway rate 79.7% · AP-pathway numerator 192 · denominator 241 (CCI Prepared students).This measure uses Prepared students as its denominator, not the whole CCI cohort; it is not an AP exam-taking rate or a count of AP courses offered. That cohort includes all students in the current four-year graduation cohort plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. In 2025 the pathway accepts two qualifying AP exams, two qualifying AP courses, or a combination of one of each in different subjects.

CDE's overall Prepared rate is this version's 20% high-school college-readiness score factor. The school rate is 241 of 667 CCI students, not the AP-only pathway or A–G completion rate. The California figure is CDE's statewide CCI student cohort, not an average of SchoolScope's comparable high schools or the SchoolScope school-rank pool.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201949/10033#1012California comprehensive high schools · 1,512 schools
202248/10036#1012California comprehensive high schools · 1,599 schools
202348/10034#1073California comprehensive high schools · 1,633 schools
202448/10035#1052California comprehensive high schools · 1,641 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

The legacy high-school model uses 2024–25 graduation records. Its readiness input uses the 2025 AP pathway share among Prepared students when available; otherwise it uses 2024–25 A-G completion. A reported zero remains zero. These inputs do not describe graduation or readiness in the earlier assessment years. The newer 2025 model instead uses CDE's overall Prepared rate.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 30.4% → 2025 · 30.3% · −0.1pp
Suspension rate2024 · 7.6% → 2025 · 9.8% · +2.2pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA53914.5%43.8%
2025 · Math5371.7%8.4%
2024 · ELA59210.3%35.3%
2024 · Math5900.8%5.4%
2023 · ELA5518.5%34.7%
2023 · Math5510.7%4.9%
2022 · ELA52010.8%30.2%
2022 · Math5221.7%7.3%
2019 · ELA42511.3%36.5%
2019 · Math4320.9%6.5%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

Graduation Rate
89.0%
AP pathway among Prepared
79.7%
2025 CDE CCI cohort · AP courses, exams, or both; share of students already Prepared, not course offerings
A-G Completion
36.6%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
54.7%

These source periods and populations differ: graduation uses an adjusted cohort, while A-G completion and college-going use separately reported groups. The rates are shown individually, without a shared performance tier.

YearExcMet+AbsentSusp
20196.1%21.5%21.8%8.6%
20226.3%18.7%34.5%7.1%
20234.6%19.8%29.8%7.3%
20245.6%20.4%30.4%7.5%
20258.1%26.1%30.3%9.6%

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female20.7%30.5%+9.8pp
Male22.5%30.0%+7.5pp
Asian0.0%——
Black/African American32.5%36.6%+4.1pp
Filipino0.0%21.9%+21.9pp
Hispanic/Latino16.8%28.0%+11.2pp
Two or More Races30.8%39.3%+8.5pp
White22.8%22.8%+0.0pp
Students with Disabilities37.1%44.1%+7.0pp
English Learners19.2%31.0%+11.8pp
Foster Youth34.1%44.0%+9.9pp
Homeless39.7%64.0%+24.3pp
Military-Connected17.4%25.0%+7.6pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged22.5%32.4%+9.9pp
All Students21.6%30.3%+8.7pp

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

UC admissions, universitywideFollow separately reported UC application, admission and enrollment counts.2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledMean GPA (applied)Mean GPA (admitted)Mean GPA (enrolled)
20256747233.703.834.00
20248258243.693.904.01
20237451243.723.964.03
20229664263.693.864.09
20219861263.593.884.02
20206140133.673.904.03
20199755303.703.933.96
20189651263.673.963.97
20177645263.754.004.06
20168159463.683.903.91
20159649343.593.843.90
20147639293.523.863.91

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. GPA is each group's mean weighted, capped high-school GPA for 10th/11th-grade college-preparatory courses. SchoolScope leaves GPA unavailable when several CEEB codes contribute rather than combining their means. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here. Complete, matching counts can support a historical descriptive rate, but do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances. Series shown from 2014.

UC admissions by campusInspect campus records without adding overlapping populations.latest falls on file
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley2025254masked
Berkeley202430maskedmasked
Berkeley20233593
Berkeley2022396masked
Berkeley2021273masked
Davis20252311masked
Davis202429143
Davis2023227masked
Davis2022306masked
Davis20213714masked
Irvine202545125
Irvine20245511masked
Irvine202341103
Irvine2022576masked
Irvine20216183
Los Angeles20255144
Los Angeles20245144
Los Angeles20235354
Los Angeles20227499
Los Angeles20215444
Merced20252322masked
Merced20241816masked
Merced202314134
Merced20222221masked
Merced20212519masked
Riverside202536273
Riverside20242416masked
Riverside20232416masked
Riverside202240275
Riverside20214721masked
San Diego20253612masked
San Diego202437196
San Diego20233821masked
San Diego202251245
San Diego202150219
Santa Barbara202526155
Santa Barbara202427198
Santa Barbara202330144
Santa Barbara20224814masked
Santa Barbara202141163
Santa Cruz2025129masked
Santa Cruz20241710masked
Santa Cruz20231915masked
Santa Cruz2022184masked
Santa Cruz20212411masked
Universitywide2025674723
Universitywide2024825824
Universitywide2023745124
Universitywide2022966426
Universitywide2021986126

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. Campus totals are not interchangeable with Universitywide; students can apply to several campuses. Universitywide is separately reported; never derive it by adding campus rows. Universitywide applicant and admit counts are unduplicated. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here; these records do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances.

AP course catalogCheck course authorizations and distinguish outside providers.2025 - 2026
SubjectAuthorization recorded for
2-D Art and Designthis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Chemistrythis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Human Geographythis school
Precalculusthis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotInspect the dated federal advanced-coursework snapshot.dated historical snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count16
AP enrollment783
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections3
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections14
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,665

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

College destinationsRead the completion cohort and its reported college destinations.class of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California214.1%
California State University499.5%
California community college18636.2%
In-state private51.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year173.3%
Out-of-state, 2-year30.6%
Not enrolled23345.3%

514 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 55% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · an unavailable or suppressed cell is marked as missing; a reported zero remains distinct · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$13,452 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 21,991 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$292 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 2,631

Central federal expenditures attributed here$525 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 2,631

District current expense · FY 2024–25$19,987 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 59%Instruction support 12%Student services 12%Administration 5%Buildings & maintenance 11%Other 1%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$13,452 per pupil
2020$13,747 per pupil
2019$13,693 per pupil
2018$13,553 per pupil
2017$12,151 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

12ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 93535
ShowHide table 12 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 93535
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$70,360
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)15.17%
ZCTA population79,409
Median age31.9 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/eastside-high-8407"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Eastside High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,500 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · UC fall first-year source records — masked = no numeric bound; + = partial observed count; Universitywide separately reported · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction