ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Design Science Middle College High

Fresno, CA · Grades 9-12 · 243 students · Fresno Unified

A foundation in the reported results. Look across subjects and student groups.

77% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 61% in math. 98.1% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

Patterns to investigate · 2025

Solid Base

69.3% Met or Exceeded · unweighted grade–subject rate average

Do those results extend across subjects and student groups?

Findings can overlap. They describe reported results, not what caused them. Definitions and limits →

Math

61%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

77%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

243

Total enrollment

Graduation

98.1%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 74%2022: 51%2023: 57%2024: 62%2025: 61%2019: 88%2022: 77%2023: 83%2024: 80%2025: 77%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 74%2022: 51%2023: 57%2024: 62%2025: 61%2019: 88%2022: 77%2023: 83%2024: 80%2025: 77%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201974%88%
202251%77%
202357%83%
202462%80%
202561%77%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has stayed near the 77th percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “69% proficient” and call it done. Design Science Middle College deserves a closer read. Three in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Design Science Middle College's low-income kids hit 73.5% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

57 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Design Science Middle College High scores 63 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 77th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 69% meet the standard today, versus 81% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 77th percentile · Scope Score 65 of 1002022 · 61st percentile · Scope Score 55 of 1002023 · 77th percentile · Scope Score 64 of 1002024 · 76th percentile · Scope Score 62 of 1002025 · 77th percentile · Scope Score 63 of 100
ELAGreen(Declined)MathBlue(Increased Significantly)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1188%77%83%80%77%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1174%51%57%62%61%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Two-thirds of students here meet the standard. Two in five clear it by a lot.

ELA77% met or exceeded
Exceeded 51%Met 26%Nearly Met 12%Not Met 11%
Math61% met or exceeded
Exceeded 37%Met 25%Nearly Met 25%Not Met 14%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school6344%69%98.1%0.0%18.5%3.6%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope6354
% Exceeded44%20%
% Met+69%43%
Grad rate98.1%92.5%
College readiness0.0%43.0%
Absence18.5%23.1%
Suspension3.6%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

73.5% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 69% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 69%, district —, state 43%69%
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 68%, district 30%, state 32%68% · −2 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 63%, district 29%, state 32%63% · −6 vs school
MaleMale: this school 67%, district 31%, state 42%67% · −2 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 70%, district 33%, state 44%70% · +1 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 71%, district 39%, state 72%71% · +2 vs school

6 of 12 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

96%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 52 of 54 completers · includes community colleges

54Completers
96%
Other colleges52 completers · Outside the California community college system
0%
California community colleges0 completers · Enrolled within a year
4%
Not recorded enrolled2 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

96%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Design Science Middle College's class of 2023, 96% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 54 completers, 96% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 12 (22%)California State University 39 (72%)California community college 0 (0%)In-state private 1 (2%)Out-of-state, 4-year 0 (0%)Out-of-state, 2-year 0 (0%)Not enrolled 2 (4%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 16 of Design Science Middle College's 53 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Berkeley the most common landing, with 5 enrollees.

Applied51fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted46
Enrolled16
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)

7 of 9 campuses are masked below UC's privacy floor — a protection, not a verdict.

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 28 enrolled, 2020

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 96% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year.

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 22 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Students per teacher22 · district 20
Teaching staff12 teachers
Avg. experience19.2 years
Fully credentialed100%
PrincipalFloridia Cheung
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$59,054 – $147,789
Principal salary$163,984 – $192,581
Superintendent salary$370,370

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended more, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 18.5%, district 27.8%, state 23.1%18.5% · −4.6pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 3.6%, district —, state 3.3%3.6% · +0.4pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1215.0%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $19,741 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

$555 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $19,741, CA average $14,491$19,741 · spent at this school
Federal share$555 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$24,938 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 54%Instruction support 12%Student services 10%Administration 5%Buildings & maintenance 11%Other 7%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$12,375 per pupil
2019$11,575 per pupil
2018$11,404 per pupil
2017$11,038 per pupil
2016$10,611 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Three in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 243 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 58% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino66.3% · district 69.6% · CA 56.1%
White11.1% · district 7.6% · CA 19.9%
Asian12.3% · district 10.7% · CA 10.2%
Black2.5% · district 7.4% · CA 4.8%
Other7.8% · district 4.7% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch63.8% · CA 64%
Bachelor's degree+0% · CA 35%
ZIP population73

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Design Science Middle College HighPublicStrong44%69%School being viewed
Phillip J Patino School of EntrepreneurshipPublicSolid19%46%0.4 mi
Career Technical Education CharterCharterDeveloping19%57%1.1 mi
Aspen Ridge PublicCharterNeeds Support12%44%1.5 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Fresno →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

3 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Fresno Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: proximity. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask how the school challenges kids who clear the standard early. The gap between meeting and exceeding is where pacing shows.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Design Science Middle College High a good high school?
Design Science Middle College High has a Scope Score of 63 out of 100, placing it in the 77th percentile of California high schools and ranked #377 statewide. 43.9% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 24.0 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Design Science Middle College High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 69.3% of students at Design Science Middle College High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 43.9% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 25.4% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 43.9% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 114 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Design Science Middle College High rank in California?
Design Science Middle College High ranks #377 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 77th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Design Science Middle College High?
18.5% of students at Design Science Middle College High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 3.6%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Design Science Middle College High compare to other schools in Fresno?
Design Science Middle College High scores 63/100 (77th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 243 students. Use the schools in Fresno page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Design Science Middle College High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Design Science Middle College High in Fresno, 73.5% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 34.0% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Design Science Middle College High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 39.6 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (52.9% Math proficient); Hispanic students (76.5% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 3.7 percentage points for low-income students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 34 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
How many students from Design Science Middle College High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 16 Design Science Middle College High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

How far the top scorers get carries this score.

43.9% of students scored in the top band on the state test. The California average is 19.8%.

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate98.1%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard43.9%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded69.3%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism18.5%23.1%5%
Suspension rate3.6%3.3%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Design Science Middle College High: reading the evidence

Design Science Middle College has an average Met + Exceeded rate of 69% and an Exceeded rate of 43.9% across the reported grades and subjects. Ask how students are supported and challenged at different starting points.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Do those results extend across subjects and student groups?

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Design Science Middle College High is ranked #377 statewide · #2 of 15 in Fresno Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate98.1%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard43.9%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded69.3%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism18.5%23.1%5%
Suspension rate3.6%3.3%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 62 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 79 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 31 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 74 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 60 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.6pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 50 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.2pp lower vs 2024
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 115751%26%12%11%77%+29
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 115737%25%25%14%61%+38

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide5718%40%42%0%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged3473.5%+40+35
Hispanic/Latino3476.5%+41+38
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Design Science Middle College High ←—6343.9%69.3%3.6%
Phillip J Patino School of Entrepreneurship0.4 mi5318.8%45.5%3.1%
Career Technical Education Charter1.1 mi5218.6%56.8%4.9%
Aspen Ridge Public1.5 mi4211.8%44.1%10.1%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
98.1%
AP Exam Prepared
Not offered
This school may not offer AP courses
A-G Completion
98.1%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
96.3%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20196577#34738.6%81.1%8.1%1.0%
20225561#62822.9%64.2%25.8%2.1%
20236477#37639.7%69.8%18.6%1.6%
20246276#40039.1%70.9%20.0%3.8%
20256377#37743.9%69.3%18.5%3.6%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female4.4%18.7%+14.3pp
Male3.6%10.7%+7.1pp
Asian0.0%10.0%+10.0pp
Hispanic/Latino4.3%15.3%+11.0pp
White2.4%10.7%+8.3pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged5.3%17.5%+12.2pp
All Students4.0%15.0%+11.0pp
Two or More Races—23.1%—
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
20255146163.903.944.29
20245742113.823.924.20
20235437123.924.044.26
20225950144.034.034.07
20216155193.873.914.02
20206460283.893.903.97
20195448283.893.943.99
20184934163.823.954.16
2017262283.893.934.08
2016372093.804.014.20
20155336193.753.894.05
20142519123.793.843.84

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20253365
Berkeley20243563
Berkeley20233383
Berkeley2022357‹3
Berkeley202136167
Davis20252313‹3
Davis202432143
Davis20233311‹3
Davis202234203
Davis20214527‹3
Irvine202534113
Irvine2024298‹3
Irvine2023253‹3
Irvine2022337‹3
Irvine20213112‹3
Los Angeles2025283‹3
Los Angeles2024283‹3
Los Angeles202334‹3‹3
Los Angeles2022373‹3
Los Angeles20213293
Merced20252828‹3
Merced20242827‹3
Merced20232017‹3
Merced20221615‹3
Merced202125254
Riverside20251613‹3
Riverside2024147‹3
Riverside20239‹3‹3
Riverside20222317‹3
Riverside2021228‹3
San Diego2025224‹3
San Diego2024238‹3
San Diego2023286‹3
San Diego2022233‹3
Santa Barbara20251810‹3
Santa Barbara2024178‹3
Santa Barbara2023126‹3
Santa Barbara2022153‹3
Santa Barbara2021197‹3
Santa Cruz20251711‹3
Santa Cruz20243011‹3
Santa Cruz20233018‹3
Santa Cruz202235216
Santa Cruz202135153
Universitywide2025514616
Universitywide2024574211
Universitywide2023543712
Universitywide2022595014
Universitywide2021615519

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 08 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot offered
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 180 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections2
Total enrollment (CRDC)266

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

09College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 09 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California1222.2%
California State University3972.2%
California community college00.0%
In-state private11.9%
Out-of-state, 4-year00.0%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled23.7%

54 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 96% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/design-science-middle-college-high-8555"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Design Science Middle College High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Design Science Middle College High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.