ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

West Covina High

West Covina, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,756 students · West Covina Unified

High scores, healthy climate, strong attendance. We looked for a catch — we didn't find one.

63% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 29% in math. 98.7% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

PrincipalCharles Park
Grades9-12
Enrollment1,756 students

Math

29%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

63%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,756

Total enrollment

Graduation

98.7%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 36%2022: 22%2023: 29%2024: 26%2025: 29%2019: 65%2022: 46%2023: 43%2024: 52%2025: 63%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 36%2022: 22%2023: 29%2024: 26%2025: 29%2019: 65%2022: 46%2023: 43%2024: 52%2025: 63%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201936%65%
202222%46%
202329%43%
202426%52%
202529%63%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has held the 82nd-percentile line every tested year since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “46% proficient” and call it done. West Covina deserves a closer read. Four in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

West Covina's low-income kids hit 60.6% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

435 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

West Covina High scores 66 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 82nd percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 46% meet the standard today, versus 50% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 80th percentile · Scope Score 67 of 1002022 · 74th percentile · Scope Score 61 of 1002023 · 72nd percentile · Scope Score 60 of 1002024 · 76th percentile · Scope Score 63 of 1002025 · 82nd percentile · Scope Score 66 of 100
ELAGreen(Increased Significantly)MathOrange(Declined)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1165%46%43%52%63%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1136%22%29%26%29%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Two in five of students here meet the standard. One in five clear it by a lot.

ELA63% met or exceeded
Exceeded 28%Met 35%Nearly Met 18%Not Met 20%
Math29% met or exceeded
Exceeded 14%Met 15%Nearly Met 21%Not Met 50%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school6621%46%98.7%80.3%13.6%0.5%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope6654
% Exceeded21%20%
% Met+46%43%
Grad rate98.7%92.5%
College readiness80.3%43.0%
Absence13.6%23.1%
Suspension0.5%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

60.6% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 46% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 46%, district —, state 43%46%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 44%, district 38%, state 32%44% · −2 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 36%, district 36%, state 32%36% · −10 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 43%, district 42%, state 44%43% · −3 vs school
MaleMale: this school 49%, district 43%, state 42%49% · +3 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 77%, district 69%, state 72%77% · +32 vs school
HomelessHomeless: this school 42%, district 37%, state 22%42% · −4 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 5%, district 12%, state 15%5% · −41 vs school
FilipinoFilipino: this school 63%, district 66%, state 65%63% · +17 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 10%, district 14%, state 11%10% · −36 vs school
WhiteWhite: too few students to report‹11
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: too few students to report‹11
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: too few students to report‹11
Foster YouthFoster Youth: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored

In the 2020-21 federal collection — the newest there is — Hispanic students were 75% of West Covina's enrollment but 58% of its AP seats; ask the school what's changed since.

Hispanic57.8% AP · 74.9% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.3% AP · 0.3% enroll.
Asian34.0% AP · 16.1% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander1.1% AP · 0.4% enroll.
Black1.3% AP · 2.6% enroll.
White5.1% AP · 5.0% enroll.
Two or more races0.5% AP · 0.7% enroll.
English learners0.8% AP · 4.5% enroll.
Students with disabilities0.8% AP · 11.3% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

71%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 325 of 459 completers · includes community colleges

459Completers
29%
Other colleges133 completers · Outside the California community college system
42%
California community colleges192 completers · Enrolled within a year
29%
Not recorded enrolled134 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

71%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of West Covina's class of 2023, 71% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 459 completers, 71% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 26 (6%)California State University 71 (15%)California community college 192 (42%)In-state private 25 (5%)Out-of-state, 4-year 8 (2%)Out-of-state, 2-year 3 (1%)Not enrolled 134 (29%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 42 of West Covina's 447 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Riverside the most common landing, with 13 enrollees.

Applied115fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted82
Enrolled42
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)

5 of 9 campuses are masked below UC's privacy floor — a protection, not a verdict.

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 45 enrolled, 2017

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 71% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (192) than at UC (26).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 21 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

West Covina's teachers are authorized to teach 27 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — well above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics 1.

Students per teacher21 · district 24
Teaching staff87 teachers
Avg. experience17.0 years
Fully credentialed87%
First-year teachers2%
PrincipalCharles Park
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$59,724 – $131,874
Principal salary$168,229 – $207,991
Superintendent salary$382,257

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers191 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers70 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught27
ShowHide the 27 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (6)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science A · Computer Science Principles · Precalculus · Statistics
Sciences (4)Biology · Chemistry · Environmental Science · Physics 1
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (7)European History · Human Geography · Microeconomics · Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (3)Chinese Language and Culture · Spanish Language and Culture · Spanish Literature and Culture
Arts (3)2-D Art and Design · 3-D Art and Design · Drawing
AP Capstone (2)Research · Seminar

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 13.6%, district 10.5%, state 23.1%13.6% · −9.4pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 0.5%, district —, state 3.3%0.5% · −2.7pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1213.0%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $22,523 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$1,146 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $22,523, CA average $14,491$22,523 · spent at this school
Federal share$1,146 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$21,897 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 55%Instruction support 16%Student services 8%Administration 9%Buildings & maintenance 11%Other 1%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$15,130 per pupil
2019$13,872 per pupil
2018$14,780 per pupil
2017$10,578 per pupil
2016$10,234 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Four in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 33% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino75.8% · district 68.4% · CA 56.1%
White2.7% · district 7.0% · CA 19.9%
Asian14.5% · district 10.7% · CA 10.2%
Black1.5% · district 7.8% · CA 4.8%
Other5.5% · district 6.1% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch81.9% · CA 64%
Median income$102K · CA $85K
Median home value$844K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+33% · CA 35%
ZIP population33,028
Median age43 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Find contact and visit details →

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
West Covina HighPublicStrong21%46%School being viewed
South Hills HighPublicSolid22%51%1.8 mi
Covina HighPublicSolid14%40%1.6 mi
Mt. SAC Early College Academy at West CovinaPublicSolid26%53%1.0 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in West Covina →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

8 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with West Covina Unified.

District information →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: proximity. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is West Covina High a good high school?
West Covina High has a Scope Score of 66 out of 100, placing it in the 82nd percentile of California high schools and ranked #289 statewide. 20.8% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is near the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are West Covina High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 45.8% of students at West Covina High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 20.8% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 25.0% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 20.8% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 869 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does West Covina High rank in California?
West Covina High ranks #289 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 82nd percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at West Covina High?
13.6% of students at West Covina High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 0.5%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does West Covina High compare to other schools in West Covina?
West Covina High scores 66/100 (82nd percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,756 students. Use the schools in West Covina page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does West Covina High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At West Covina High in West Covina, 60.6% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 43.7% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. West Covina High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 16.9 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (27.4% Math proficient); Hispanic students (56.4% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 62.5 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 348 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at West Covina High?
West Covina High's teachers are authorized to teach 27 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, 3-D Art and Design, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Chinese Language and Culture, Computer Science A, Computer Science Principles, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, European History, Human Geography, Microeconomics, Physics 1, Precalculus, Psychology, Research, Seminar, Spanish Language and Culture, Spanish Literature and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from West Covina High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 42 West Covina High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

College readiness carries this score. The test levels sit close to the state's.

80.3% of students leave measurably college-ready, versus 43.0% statewide.

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate98.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard20.8%19.8%22%
College readiness80.3%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded45.8%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism13.6%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.5%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)25.3%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

West Covina High: reading the evidence

West Covina posts 20.8% exceeding the standard — versus 19.8% statewide — with climate numbers better than most. That doesn't make it perfect. It makes it worth a visit to find what numbers can't measure.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

West Covina High is ranked #289 statewide · #1 of 4 in West Covina Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate98.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard20.8%19.8%22%
College readiness80.3%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded45.8%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism13.6%23.1%5%
Suspension rate0.5%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)25.3%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 63 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 55 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 76 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 57 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 64 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 2.6pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 64 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.7pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 18.0% · index 65 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1143528%35%18%20%63%+14
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1143414%15%21%50%29%+5

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide4407%26%58%9%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged34860.6%+17+22
Hispanic/Latino30756.4%+14+18
Asian8679.1%+11+5
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
West Covina High ←—6620.8%45.8%0.5%
South Hills High1.8 mi6121.9%50.7%1.7%
Covina High1.6 mi5713.7%40.2%2.8%
Mt. SAC Early College Academy at West Covina1 mi5526.0%52.9%0.8%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
98.7%
AP Exam Prepared
80.3%
A-G Completion
46.5%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
70.8%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20196780#30220.1%50.2%9.3%1.6%
20226174#42312.8%34.0%19.8%0.4%
20236072#46311.4%35.8%20.2%3.0%
20246376#38615.8%38.8%16.3%1.2%
20256682#28920.8%45.8%13.6%0.5%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female8.8%14.6%+5.8pp
Male8.7%11.6%+2.9pp
Asian1.7%6.9%+5.2pp
Black/African American6.0%22.2%+16.2pp
Filipino10.0%4.7%-5.3pp
Hispanic/Latino10.0%14.3%+4.3pp
White8.1%17.0%+8.9pp
Students with Disabilities13.2%25.8%+12.6pp
English Learners13.9%17.7%+3.8pp
Foster Youth30.4%——
Homeless10.1%17.0%+6.9pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged9.7%14.7%+5.0pp
All Students8.7%13.0%+4.3pp
Two or More Races—9.5%—
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
202511582423.833.904.02
202411467283.773.833.96
20239263273.863.984.04
202213584403.894.034.16
20219755293.804.004.03
202011979363.763.934.01
201912680343.713.883.97
20189663323.713.833.95
201710666453.773.964.03
20169363393.653.833.85
201510162353.673.883.98
20148951293.583.833.91

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley202552‹3‹3
Berkeley2024516‹3
Berkeley2023426‹3
Berkeley202252117
Berkeley2021424‹3
Davis202535206
Davis202435113
Davis202329124
Davis2022246‹3
Davis20212616‹3
Irvine2025966‹3
Irvine2024906‹3
Irvine20237712‹3
Irvine2022105104
Irvine20217763
Los Angeles20258987
Los Angeles20248887
Los Angeles20236884
Los Angeles20229666
Los Angeles20217643
Merced20253636‹3
Merced20241212‹3
Merced20231010‹3
Merced20221111‹3
Merced202154‹3
Riverside2025655913
Riverside202453387
Riverside202352406
Riverside202260436
Riverside202130216
San Diego2025832611
San Diego202480145
San Diego202375133
San Diego2022812111
San Diego202158179
Santa Barbara20255217‹3
Santa Barbara202452175
Santa Barbara202351164
Santa Barbara202259143
Santa Barbara202135154
Santa Cruz20251510‹3
Santa Cruz2024168‹3
Santa Cruz20232014‹3
Santa Cruz20222412‹3
Santa Cruz20212013‹3
Universitywide20251158242
Universitywide20241146728
Universitywide2023926327
Universitywide20221358440
Universitywide2021975529

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
3-D Art and Designthis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Chinese Language and Culturethis school
Computer Science Athis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
European Historythis school
Human Geographythis school
Microeconomicsthis school
Physics 1this school
Precalculusthis school
Psychologythis school
Researchthis school
Seminarthis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Spanish Literature and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count23
AP enrollment374
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections4
Physics sections3
Chemistry sections14
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,917

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California265.7%
California State University7115.5%
California community college19241.8%
In-state private255.5%
Out-of-state, 4-year81.7%
Out-of-state, 2-year30.7%
Not enrolled13429.2%

459 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 71% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/west-covina-high-9537"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="West Covina High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

West Covina High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.