ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Valley Center High

Valley Center, CA · Grades 9-12 · 1,075 students · Valley Center-Pauma Unified

No single number tells this school's story. Here's the honest picture.

42% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 14% in math. 94.3% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Math

14%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

42%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

1,075

Total enrollment

Graduation

94.3%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 22%2022: 12%2023: 20%2024: 19%2025: 14%2019: 57%2022: 38%2023: 52%2024: 51%2025: 42%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 22%2022: 12%2023: 20%2024: 19%2025: 14%2019: 57%2022: 38%2023: 52%2024: 51%2025: 42%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201922%57%
202212%38%
202320%52%
202419%51%
202514%42%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Slipped from the 60th to the 51st percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “28% proficient” and call it done. Valley Center deserves a closer read. Three in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

231 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Valley Center High scores 53 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 51st percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 28% meet the standard today, versus 40% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 60th percentile · Scope Score 58 of 1002022 · 47th percentile · Scope Score 51 of 1002023 · 64th percentile · Scope Score 57 of 1002024 · 59th percentile · Scope Score 55 of 1002025 · 51st percentile · Scope Score 53 of 100
ELAOrange(Declined Significantly)MathRed(Declined)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1157%38%52%51%42%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1122%12%20%19%14%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in four of students here meet the standard. One in ten clear it by a lot.

ELA42% met or exceeded
Exceeded 16%Met 26%Nearly Met 24%Not Met 34%
Math14% met or exceeded
Exceeded 6%Met 9%Nearly Met 19%Not Met 67%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school5311%28%94.3%69.8%25.3%3.0%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope5354
% Exceeded11%20%
% Met+28%43%
Grad rate94.3%92.5%
College readiness69.8%43.0%
Absence25.3%23.1%
Suspension3.0%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard about even with the same group statewide.

At Valley Center High in Valley Center, 38.0% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 22.9% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Valley Center High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 15.1 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (9.4% Math proficient); Hispanic students (37.8% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 42.0 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 150 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 28% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 28%, district —, state 43%28%
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 24%, district 19%, state 32%24% · −4 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 24%, district 18%, state 32%24% · −4 vs school
MaleMale: this school 23%, district 22%, state 42%23% · −5 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 34%, district 25%, state 44%34% · +6 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 42%, district 40%, state 56%42% · +14 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 7%, district 6%, state 15%7% · −22 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 4%, district 3%, state 11%4% · −24 vs school
American Indian/Alaska NativeAmerican Indian/Alaska Native: this school 16%, district 9%, state 29%16% · −12 vs school
HomelessHomeless: this school 12%, district 9%, state 22%12% · −17 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 38%, district 29%, state 56%38% · +9 vs school
AsianAsian: too few students to report‹11
Foster YouthFoster Youth: too few students to report‹11
Military-ConnectedMilitary-Connected: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored

In the 2020-21 federal collection — the newest there is — Hispanic students were 59% of Valley Center's enrollment but 44% of its AP seats; ask the school what's changed since.

Hispanic43.6% AP · 58.7% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native2.1% AP · 8.7% enroll.
Asian2.1% AP · 0.9% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.1% enroll.
Black0.0% AP · 0.6% enroll.
White48.7% AP · 28.0% enroll.
Two or more races3.4% AP · 3.0% enroll.
English learners5.5% AP · 16.2% enroll.
Students with disabilities1.7% AP · 15.4% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

57%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 144 of 255 completers · includes community colleges

255Completers
22%
Other colleges57 completers · Outside the California community college system
34%
California community colleges87 completers · Enrolled within a year
44%
Not recorded enrolled111 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

57%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Valley Center's class of 2023, 57% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 255 completers, 57% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 13 (5%)California State University 21 (8%)California community college 87 (34%)In-state private 3 (1%)Out-of-state, 4-year 18 (7%)Out-of-state, 2-year 2 (1%)Not enrolled 111 (44%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 15 of Valley Center's 248 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — San Diego the most common landing, with 5 enrollees.

Applied36fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted25
Enrolled15
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)

6 of 9 campuses are masked below UC's privacy floor — a protection, not a verdict.

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 57% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (87) than at UC (13).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

The people teaching here

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Valley Center's teachers are authorized to teach 16 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics 1.

Teaching staff54 teachers
Avg. experience15.7 years
Fully credentialed79%
First-year teachers4%
Intern / emergency permit2.0%
PrincipalNicole Clymer
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$55,317 – $124,180
Principal salary$143,798 – $180,232
Superintendent salary$278,588

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers81 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers27 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught16
ShowHide the 16 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (5)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science A · Computer Science Principles · Statistics
Sciences (2)Biology · Physics 1
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (6)Macroeconomics · Microeconomics · Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (1)Spanish Language and Culture

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 25.3%, district 29.7%, state 23.1%25.3% · +2.3pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 3.0%, district —, state 3.3%3.0% · −0.2pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1224.9%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $18,234 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$1,041 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $18,234, CA average $14,491$18,234 · spent at this school
Federal share$1,041 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$19,399 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 54%Instruction support 14%Student services 10%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 11%Other 3%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$12,715 per pupil
2019$11,926 per pupil
2018$12,289 per pupil
2017$12,404 per pupil
2016$12,162 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Three in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 23% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino63.3% · district 64.6% · CA 56.1%
White20.6% · district 19.1% · CA 19.9%
Asian1.5% · district 1.0% · CA 10.2%
Black0.7% · district 0.7% · CA 4.8%
Other14.1% · district 14.6% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch61.7% · CA 64%
Median income$127K · CA $85K
Median home value$834K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+34% · CA 35%
ZIP population21,727
Median age42 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Valley Center HighPublicSolid11%28%School being viewed
Oak Glen Highcontinuation comparison groupPublicDeveloping0%3%0.2 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Valley Center →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

2 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Valley Center-Pauma Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Valley Center High a good high school?
Valley Center High has a Scope Score of 53 out of 100, placing it in the 51st percentile of California high schools and ranked #807 statewide. 11.1% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 8.8 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Valley Center High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 28.2% of students at Valley Center High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 11.1% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 17.1% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 11.1% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 461 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Valley Center High rank in California?
Valley Center High ranks #807 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 51st percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Valley Center High?
25.3% of students at Valley Center High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 3.0%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Valley Center High compare to other schools in Valley Center?
Valley Center High scores 53/100 (51st percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 1,075 students. Use the schools in Valley Center page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Valley Center High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Valley Center High in Valley Center, 38.0% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 22.9% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Valley Center High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 15.1 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (9.4% Math proficient); Hispanic students (37.8% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 42.0 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 150 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Valley Center High?
Valley Center High's teachers are authorized to teach 16 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Computer Science A, Computer Science Principles, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, Physics 1, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Valley Center High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 15 Valley Center High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate94.3%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard11.1%19.8%22%
College readiness69.8%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded28.2%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism25.3%23.1%5%
Suspension rate3.0%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)19.0%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Valley Center High: reading the evidence

Valley Center posts 28% meeting the standard and 11.1% exceeding it, against 43% and 19.8% statewide. The gaps and the bright spots below are the real read.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Valley Center High is ranked #807 statewide.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate94.3%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard11.1%19.8%22%
College readiness69.8%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded28.2%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism25.3%23.1%5%
Suspension rate3.0%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)19.0%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 58 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 44 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 70 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 44 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 54 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 3.7pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 53 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.9pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 18.0% · index 54 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1123116%26%24%34%42%−7
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 112306%9%19%67%14%−9

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide4854%19%64%14%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged15038.0%+15−0
Hispanic/Latino15637.8%+13−1
White4556.8%+10−5
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Valley Center High ←—5311.1%28.2%3.0%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
Oak Glen Highscored within its class, not statewide0.2 mi210.0%3.0%11.5%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
94.3%
AP Exam Prepared
69.8%
A-G Completion
35.1%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
56.5%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20195860#60115.3%39.6%14.0%6.1%
20225147#8469.8%25.1%30.1%8.9%
20235764#58416.7%36.1%34.9%5.0%
20245559#66812.5%35.3%29.0%3.9%
20255351#80711.1%28.2%25.3%3.0%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female12.4%26.6%+14.2pp
Male13.9%23.3%+9.4pp
Asian10.0%0.0%-10.0pp
Hispanic/Latino11.6%23.2%+11.6pp
American Indian/Alaska Native29.3%47.1%+17.8pp
Two or More Races13.3%34.4%+21.1pp
White10.7%21.1%+10.4pp
Students with Disabilities19.6%38.1%+18.5pp
English Learners19.1%30.3%+11.2pp
Homeless25.0%34.1%+9.1pp
Military-Connected17.6%24.0%+6.4pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged15.9%29.1%+13.2pp
All Students13.2%24.9%+11.7pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
20253625153.953.994.04
20243823133.894.074.09
20233017133.834.084.13
20223621103.904.094.15
2021402273.834.123.99
20203423133.894.054.08
20195025143.934.244.30
20183527114.024.154.18
20174323113.804.024.11
20162922113.873.963.94
2015351883.784.093.97
2014411793.864.154.25

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley202517‹3‹3
Berkeley202493‹3
Berkeley202311‹3‹3
Berkeley202214‹3‹3
Berkeley202110‹3‹3
Davis2025148‹3
Davis2024138‹3
Davis202312‹3‹3
Davis2022166‹3
Davis2021177‹3
Irvine2025215‹3
Irvine20241954
Irvine202310‹3‹3
Irvine2022183‹3
Irvine202118‹3‹3
Los Angeles202520‹3‹3
Los Angeles202421‹3‹3
Los Angeles202313‹3‹3
Los Angeles202223‹3‹3
Los Angeles2021273‹3
Merced202566‹3
Riverside2025119‹3
Riverside20246‹3‹3
Riverside20235‹3‹3
Riverside202263‹3
Riverside202193‹3
San Diego20252975
San Diego20243094
San Diego2023205‹3
San Diego2022277‹3
San Diego202134123
Santa Barbara20252083
Santa Barbara2024299‹3
Santa Barbara20231875
Santa Barbara20221983
Santa Barbara2021257‹3
Santa Cruz20251193
Santa Cruz20241510‹3
Santa Cruz20231373
Santa Cruz20221711‹3
Santa Cruz2021104‹3
Universitywide2025362515
Universitywide2024382313
Universitywide2023301713
Universitywide2022362110
Universitywide202140227

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Computer Science Athis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Microeconomicsthis school
Physics 1this school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count12
AP enrollment236
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections3
Physics sections2
Chemistry sections4
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,173

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California135.1%
California State University218.2%
California community college8734.1%
In-state private31.2%
Out-of-state, 4-year187.1%
Out-of-state, 2-year20.8%
Not enrolled11143.5%

255 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 57% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/valley-center-high-1114"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Valley Center High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Valley Center High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.